You are on page 1of 1

Office of Ward 5 Councilmember Harry "Tommy" Thomas, Jr.

Victoria Leonard
202.727.8204 (desk)
202.403.7866 (cell)
January 3, 2011

Thomas Announces Ward 5 Council Staff for Second Term,

Thanks Outgoing Chief of Staff Grace Lewis
Washington, DC-Ward 5 Councilmember Harry "Tommy" Thomas, Jr. today announced several
staffing changes as members of his current staff are targeted for strategic roles in the new

Stepping down as Chief of Staff is Grace Lewis. "I thank Mrs. Lewis for her four years of dedicated
service and commitment to Ward 5. She left a comfortable retirement to work tirelessly on my first
campaign, and then returned to the workforce full time to manage my office from 2007 through
2010. She set the tone of professionalism for the staff and provided invaluable leadership. I am
deeply grateful to Mrs. Lewis and the thoroughness she brought to all tasks. Her "can do" attitude
and strong advocacy for Ward 5 are unparalleled. I look forward to working with Mrs. Lewis in her
continued capacity as president of the North Michigan Park Civic Association."

Ayawna (Chase) Webster will serve as Councilmember Thomas' Chief of Staff. During the
Councilmember's first term in office, Mrs. Webster was Director of Constituent Services and served
as campaign manager for Thomas 2010. Through these positions, Mrs. Webster demonstrated in-
depth management skills, goal attainment, and dedication to Ward 5. Joining Mrs. Webster on the
Ward 5 office staff (listed alphabetically) and their positions are:

· Carl Harris, Community Outreach Specialist

· Leonard Howard, Constituent Services Associate
· Nicole Johnson, Director of Community Outreach
· Patricia McLaurin, Executive Assistant
· Sheila Miles, Executive Assistant
· Barry Scott, Jr., Community Outreach Specialist
· Rachael Streeter, Administrative Assistant

Neil Rodgers, who brings a wealth of experience from his many years in government service, will
continue in his role as Councilmember Thomas' Committee Director. James Pittman will continue as
Committee Legal Counsel and Legislative Director, and Victoria Leonard as Director of Policy and
Strategic Communication. Committee staff will continue to evolve, along with other key positions.

Any additional staffing changes will be announced.