P. 1
Magic the Gathering Comprehensive Rules

Magic the Gathering Comprehensive Rules

|Views: 17|Likes:
Published by xenoash

More info:

Published by: xenoash on Jan 15, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

11/12/2011

pdf

text

original

A player draws a card by putting the top card of his or her library into his or her hand. This is done as
a game action during each player’s draw step. It may also be done as part of a cost or effect of a spell or
ability.

Cards may only be drawn one at a time. If a player is instructed to draw multiple cards, that player
performs that many individual card draws.
If an effect instructs more than one player to draw cards, the active player performs all of his or her
draws first, then each other player in turn order does the same.
If an effect instructs more than one player to draw cards in a Two-Headed Giant game, first the primary
player (seated on the right) on the active team performs all of his or her draws, then the secondary player
on that team performs all of his or her draws, then the nonactive team does the same.
If there are no cards in a player’s library and an effect offers that player the choice to draw a card, that
player may choose to do so. See section 4.14.
A player who attempts to draw a card from an empty library loses the game the next time a player would
receive priority. (This is a state-based effect. See section 4.21.)
If an effect moves cards from a player’s library to that player’s hand without using the word “draw,” the
player has not drawn those cards. This makes a difference for abilities that trigger on drawing cards or that
replace card draws, as well as if the player’s library is empty.
Some effects replace card draws.
An effect that replaces a card draw is applied even if no cards could be drawn because there are no cards
in the affected player’s library.
If an effect replaces a draw within a sequence of card draws, the replacement effect is completed before

resuming the sequence.

Some effects perform additional actions on a card after it’s drawn. If the draw is replaced, the additional
action is not performed on any cards that are drawn as a result of that replacement effect or any subsequent
replacement effects.

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->