What is DesignSync: DesignSync is a design management system. It has following features: 1. Version control 2.

Ability to build and maintain client workplaces 3. Configuration management 4. Multi site access for projects distributed across geographies Basic definitions: Vault: Repository in which all the design data is stored Module: Any directory present on the server How it works: Data management: Data management: The maintenance of the revision history of a file is referred to as “Data management” • Version controlled files resides in a Vault and individuals work on local copies of files. • A version control system maintains a record of all the changes to a file over time Configuration management (CM): • A configuration management system maintains records of groups of revisions of files (or design objects) over time • A “Configuration” is defined as a group of file versions, where each version is identified by a unique “Tag” name • A configuration characterized by the tag “Latest” is automatically maintained • CM system records both automatically applied tags, as well as user applied tags. Ex: rel_1_1 Commands: • To invoke DesignSync gui: DesSync & • DesignSync Shell: dssc (or command field at the bottom of the browser can be used) • To get list of help options: dss > help help • To get help on a specific command dss> help [-brief] <command> or dss> <command> -help • To get list of all DS commands: dss> help • Setting up workspace: • setvault will set your working directory to the vault (design repository) • To create a workspace : dssc create_sync_workspace <ws_name> • To populate a workspace: dssc pop –get <top_design_name>@<tag_name>  If no tag is mentioned the latest version of all the files will be fetched. • To check-in a new file: dssc ci –new <file_name>. This will create a new file on the server. • To check-out a file, there are 2 options, locked check-out and unlocked check-out(local copy) • Locked checked out does not allow any one else to modify the file and the file should be checked-in from the same WS.  Only the person who has locked the file can check in the file.  Command: dssc co –lock <file_name>  Locked check-out will always fetch the latest version of the file.

Removing a directory/file:  dssc rmfolder <file_name> : Removes the directory.  Always use locked check-out to avoid multiple people modifying the same file and finally struggling to merge the changes. all the local modifications will be preserved. Care abouts:  All directories have a . Never delete it. Helpful to check difference between two file versions. This is helpful if an unused file is present in the workspace.  dssc rmfile <file_name > : Removes the file  dssc retire <file_name > : Retires the current file from the current branch. Other commands:  dssc vhistory <file_name> : Provides history of the file along with date and time and person who modified it last  dssc ls : Provides list of files in the directory  dssc diff <file_name>. This is the file used to keep track of changes in the WS along with the time stamp. Normally unlocked check-out should be avoided as it may lead to conflict in the server as it sees multiple updates to the file.  Unlocked check-out will fetch only the version of the file present in your current working directory Canceling the check-out:  dssc cancel –force <file_name>  force is required if the file is locally modified Unlocking a file:  dssc unlock <file_name>  Unlocks the file.sync file in the WS.  . <V1> <V2> : Diff’s two files. if the file is locally modified.• • • • • • Unlocked check out creates a local copy in the WS and cannot be checked-in.