P. 1
Continuum of Services

Continuum of Services

|Views: 52|Likes:
Published by Gena Aquino

More info:

Published by: Gena Aquino on Aug 03, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





New York State Regulations include thirteen (13) categories of disabilities. They include autism; deaf-blindness;
deafness; hearing impairment; emotional disturbance; learning disability; mental retardation; multiple disabilities;
orthopedic impairment; other health-impairment; speech or language impairment; traumatic brain injury and visual
impairment including blindness. Each of these has a specific definition and criteria that the student must meet in
order to be classified as having that disability. These disability classifications are described in Appendix A.

Eligibility for special education and related services is determined by documenting the existence of one or more of
the disabilities listed above, its adverse effect on educational performance and the consequent need for special
education services. If the IEP Team determines that one or more of these elements does not apply to a particular
student, that student is not eligible for special education services.

Page 12

PART II Section 1

Special Education Services

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->