P. 1
Bug Life Cycle Tutorial

Bug Life Cycle Tutorial

|Views: 6|Likes:
Published by Saurabh Sinha

More info:

Published by: Saurabh Sinha on Aug 04, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOCX, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Introduction: Bug can be defined as the abnormal behavior of the software. No software exists without a bug.

The elimination of bugs from the software depends upon the efficiency of testing done on the software. A bug is a specific concern about the quality of the Application under Test (AUT). Bug Life Cycle: In software development process, the bug has a life cycle. The bug should go through the life cycle to be closed. A specific life cycle ensures that the process is standardized. The bug attains different states in the life cycle. The life cycle of the bug can be shown diagrammatically as follows:

The different states of a bug can be summarized as follows:

1. New 2. Open 3. Assign 4. Test 5. Verified 6. Deferred 7. Reopened 8. Duplicate 9. Rejected and 10. Closed

Description of Various Stages: 1. New: When the bug is posted for the first time, its state will be ³NEW´. This means that the bug is not yet approved.

lack of time for the release or the bug may not have major effect on the software. it is tested by the tester. Closed: Once the bug is fixed. Duplicate: If the bug is repeated twice or the two bugs mention the same concept of the bug. then one bug status is changed to ³DUPLICATE´. he changes the status of the bug to ³CLOSED´. 5. he rejects the bug. Some of them are priority of the bug may be low. most organization conducts defect discovery and removal. the lead of the tester approves that the bug is genuine and he changes the state as ³OPEN´. The state of the bug now is changed to ³ASSIGN´. Rejected: If the developer feels that the bug is not genuine. he approves that the bug is fixed and changes the status to ³VERIFIED´. Deferred: The bug. Verified: Once the bug is fixed and the status is changed to ³TEST´. Then the state of the bug is changed to ³REJECTED´. Before he releases the software with bug fixed. The reasons for changing the bug to this state have many factors. This information is used by developers and management as the basis for assigning priorityof work on defects. . 9. It specifies that the bug has been fixed and is released to testing team. If the tester feels that the bug no longer exists in the software. Reopened: If the bug still exists even after the bug is fixed by the developer. 8. This state means that the bug is fixed. Open: After a tester has posted a bug. 7. he has to assign the bug to the testing team for next round of testing. he assigns the bug to corresponding developer or developer team. Assign: Once the lead changes the state as ³OPEN´. Test: Once the developer fixes the bug. 3.2. Discovering and removing defects is an expensive and inefficient process. the tester tests the bug. Guidelines on deciding the Severity of Bug: Indicate the impact each defect has on testing efforts or users and administrators of the application under test. While defect prevention is much more effective and efficient in reducing the number of defects. he changes the state of bug to ³TEST´. 4. the tester changes the status to ³REOPENED´. It is much more efficient for an organization to conduct activities that prevent defects. changed to deferred state means the bug is expected to be fixed in next releases. 6. If the bug is not present in the software. 10. The bug traverses the life cycle once again. tested and approved.

etc. 2. No workaround is possible for such bugs.A sample guideline for assignment of Priority Levels during the product test phase includes: Critical / Show Stopper ² An item that prevents further testing of the product or function under test can be classified as Critical Bug. Minor / Low ² Cosmetic defects which does not affect the functionality of the system can be classified as Minor Bugs. 1. The workaround can be provided for such bugs. Average / Medium ² The defects which do not conform to standards and conventions can be classified as Medium Bugs. Major / High ² A defect that does not function as expected/designed or cause other functionality to fail to meet requirements can be classified as Major Bug. Examples of this include a missing menu option or security permission required to access a function under test. . 3. Examples include matching visual and text links which lead to different end points. 4. Examples of this include inaccurate calculations. . Easy workarounds exists to achieve functionality objectives. . the wrong field being updated. .

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->