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PONDS WHITE BEAUTY
Lecturer: Melvin Fernando Team: Panda Nguyen Lien Mai Khanh- s3192884 Phan Tran Bao Ngoc- s3246578 Chu Minh Hien- s3209786 Nguyen Thi Thuy Van- s3220648 Nguyen Thi Thanh Thuy-s3209797 Huynh Thi Tu Trinh- s3209675 Group: 2
Table of Contents
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY ............................................................................................................................................... 3 INTRODUCTION .......................................................................................................................................................... 5
STAGE 1 ...................................................................................................................................................................... 5 1. 2. 3. SITUATIONAL ANALYSIS ................................................................................................................................. 5 MARKETING AND PROMOTION/COMMUNICATION OBJECTIVES ................................................................. 9 COMMUNICATION BUDGET ......................................................................................................................... 11
STAGE 2 .................................................................................................................................................................... 11 1. 2. 3. 4. ADVERTISEMENT .......................................................................................................................................... 11 SALES PROMOTION: ..................................................................................................................................... 16 PUBLIC RELATION:........................................................................................................................................ 20 MEDIA PLAN ................................................................................................................................................. 24
APPENDIX ................................................................................................................................................................. 27
This report is implemented to perform the background information of POND‟S WHITE BEAUTY brand based on its current situation, competitor analysis as well as future marketing and promotional objectives under techniques of marketing communication‟s theories. Due to it, finally we can come up with the Integrated Marketing Communication program including Advertising, Sales Promotion and PR for this brand. In Stage 1, for internal analysis, Pond‟s provide completely 3 main parts of product. These are core product (beauty and confidence), actual product (package‟s design, pinkish-white style) and augmented product (warranty, instructions). Pond‟s white beauty focuses on urban cities where having a large number of teenagers and young girls who own medium income (200-250$/month). Moreover, this report also analyzes the Psychological and Behavioral sequence model of Pond‟s target customers.
As a new whitening cream market in Vietnam, Pond owns 19% market share in 2007. With the application of 4Ps, the comparison between Pond‟s and its competitors including Nivea, Olay and Essance will be presented. In Environmental analysis, this brand is determined as getting many potential advantages when living standard and technology development is increasing in Vietnam and more women concern about their beauty. Besides it, weather and climate can be a serious consideration for Pond‟s.
With the investment $1,700,000 on marketing campaigns, such as TV ads, magazines, OOH activities, sales promotion and PR, Pond is believed to reach 26% market share and growth rate 15% as well as raising 90% brand awareness in the end of 2011. Also, building a positive attitude ranges from 32-35% of target customer and raising brand loyalty to more than 20%. A communication budget will be then indicated.
In order to reach the objectives in Stage 1, the report comes up with a detail media plan. In Advertisement strategy, a TV clip for Pond‟s white beauty will be developed with 3 sub parts named “Rescue Pinkish-white Princess”. These 3 clips will be shown in the order: 10, 15, 25 October 2010 on TV after the first one is posted on YouTube 1 weeks to get the audience‟s curious and attention. Also, it
is presented on Magazines for teens and young girls, like 2!, Hoa Hoc Tro as well as Online banners and bus station. For Sales Promotion plan, from 15 Oct to 25 Nov 2010 we created the pink trees located at Pond‟s booths in cinema, shopping mall, high schools and music concert for customers to come and receive Pond‟s sample combined with the horoscope following their birthday. In special event, customers will get free Hippie headband in Christmas holiday and 10 free meal tickets in the night of Valentine. From the time June to September, to increase sale volume, we offer a voucher for 2 people to have a free trip to Vung Tau city in 2 days including free hotel and meals. When customers buy a set of Pond‟s, they will get a lucky card inside to scratch.
In PR strategy, from 19 Dec 2010 to 1 Jan 2011, a Wishing Garden event will be occurred in central of city. People will come to pink Christmas trees in this garden to write down their wish and hang them on trees. These notes will be collected in 2 weeks and then put into a pink castle to take to sky by the balloons. The second event called “With pond‟s white beauty, Reach the top of creativity!!!” by running 2 contests. One is “Turn your ideas into reality” for all Vietnamese students who will create a scripts for Pond‟s TV clip. Five copywriters with excellent scripts will be provided 50 millions each to shoot the clips. The other contest is finding girl models for those recording video clips. They will take photos with Pond‟s cream and attack Pond‟s package plus application form to send to Pond‟s office. The winners will receive free trips, chances to work with Unilever and other big rewards. Lastly, a total media plan diagram and budget will be performed.
STAGE 1 Advertising and Promotional Plan is going to increase the sales volume of Pond’s White Beauty and raising brand loyalty. Actually. magazine. also the phone Page 5 . Product analysis: Core product: This is the most basic level of typical products. Inside the package. 1. Its brand name.IMC PLAN IMC Plan INTRODUCTION After the first campaign.1. Stage one of this report will review the current situation of Ponds and state the objectives of new marketing communication campaign. styling and features have been combined carefully to deliver the core benefit of caring about girl‟s skins. Therefore. the strategies of each marketing tools will be analyzed with more details about the time duration. Actually. the activities and the budget. SITUATIONAL ANALYSIS 1. Pond‟s has offered a paper of instructions on how to use the products. the sales promotion and PR will be spent more to induce the purchase from the customers. sales promotion and public relationship in order to increase more sales for the product. Actual product: Pond‟s product concerns about the design of package (square paper package covering a round cream box) and pinkish-white style to differentiate their products from the other competitors. this report aims to create an IMC plan for Ponds White Beauty through applying tools such as advertisement (TVC. every girls buy cosmetic. Ponds is successful in raising product awareness to the customers although it could not avoid having some mistakes during the organization. but what are they really getting? Generally. Augmented product: It‟s related to the warranty and additional customer services providing. customers buy Pond‟s as a tangible product.1 Internal : 1. Moreover.1. Indeed. especially skin cream in order to make them more beautiful. in stage two. the core product of Pond‟s is aim to give the girls beauty and confidence in their life. out-ofhome).
Behavioral: Customer‟s past behavior: prefer cream helping their skins whiter with affordable prices. Attitude towards product: Pond‟s comes from Unilever. therefore. especially cosmetic.Customer analysis: A. like cosmetic. customers trusted in brand name and the quality.IMC PLAN IMC Plan numbers and website for customers to contact if there are any problems or misunderstand about Pond‟s white cream.1. Gender: only female. customers often prefer products from Europe. Occupations: students. it is trusted in good quality. especially the big cities. officers. So.white cream like Pond‟s. They often like shopping as their social activity which is also a habit of young girls. 1. Demographic: Age: teenagers (15-19 year olds). Also.2. Psychographic: Country of origin: Normally. Income: medium (200-250$/month).2External : 1. entertainment and socializing. This characteristic is suitable for teenagers who want to express their beauty and personalities by owning a good looking and cool stuff. young girls (20-27 year olds). Lifestyle: Pond‟s is suitable for 2 kinds of customer: Strivers and Experiencers Strivers are trendy and fun loving. like HCM city. fifth most profitable Personal care property. Pond‟s comes from Uniliver which is a famous corporation in England. Hanoi or Danang. Brand loyalty: medium (customers easily switch to the other cosmetic brands). USA or Japan because of their quality and safety standard. TARGET MARKET Geographic: Focus on urban areas throughout Vietnam. Page 6 . This type of people is likely teenagers or young girls because they are concerned about the opinion of their friends or families when they decide to buy something. Experiencers are motivated by self-expression. they want to spend money on fashion.
2. 50g size).2. STAGE 5: Retrieving information from memory -Pond’s uses a small rose symbol with the pink and white background in their ads to differentiate with competitors. Competitor analysis: Market share Whitening Product in 2007 Pond's 19% Other 48% Olay 15% Other whitening products include Biore. magazines. -Short term memory: message: ”shining pinkish white” is repeated many times in media to help customer remember Pond’s unique characteristic. -Active synthesis: Pond’s is sold at supermarkets.IMC PLAN IMC Plan B. E 100. STAGE 5: Retaining accepted information in memory . -The TV ads used the pink-white background and movement to easily catch consumer’s eyeshigh level of attention. High in imagery represented in customer’s memory. Feiya. design of packages to present the brand’s message. Hazeline.etc. STAGE 3: Comprehending attended information -Consumer’s perception can analyze features of Pond’s (round box. posters. Eversolf. pink and white colors. Thorakao. -Use TV ad. convenient storeslikely for customers to perceive Pond’s as good quality with affordable price. banners. Enhancing high level of agreement with brand’s message. BEHAVIOURAL SEQUENCE MODEL: CPM (Consumer Processing Model): STAGE 1: Being exposed to information -Deliver the message “shining pinkish-white” regularly. Kaila. 1. -Long term memory: remind customer with basic knowledge (good quality cream with affordable price to make you shining and confident) STAGE 4: Agreeing with comprehending information -Pond’s used endorsers – Tuyet Ngoc model (Vietnamese famous person) to enhance the message credibility it created realistic evidence that helping girls to own a pinkish white skin. Essance Nivea 6% 12% Page 7 .Sensory stores: remind customers with smell and touching (soft cream). STAGE 2: Paying attention -The brand message is high relevant to the interest of girls wishing to own a pinkish white skin completely catch their conscious attention. Success in applying dual-coding theory.
NIVEA White Extra Cell Repair ESSANCE Lacvert Essance Aqua Lightening Product .Cream: 53000 VND .Facial Foam: 25000 VND -Toner: 44000 VND . reduce spot and pore.Cleansing Foam: 23000 VND -Day cream: 65000 VND . damaging rays and gives from UVA/UVBthe natural pinkish bright skin to females. online newspaper. the formula of SPF . regenerate function of skin. online newspaper. OLAY Olay White Radiance.with the formulas of triple action helping to reduce melanin.Cream: 105000 VND Promotion Advertising on TV. teenager and young adult magazine. . young and independent) to raise the awareness of the brand. magazine for woman.IMC PLAN IMC Plan Whitening Products 4Ps POND’S Pond’s White Beauty. main reason making suntanned skin. gift Page 8 . Price . -Sale promotion: reduce price.making brighter skin with the formula of ProVitamin B3 and Lycopene component. -Launch an interactive online magazine call FYI (fund.Sponsor for TV series movie.Cream: 105000 VND . . -Especially.using an ingredient to protect skin from sun‟s -make a whitening skin. Advertising on TV. Passport to Love and event Golden Album music concert. .Foam: 34000 VND . -Sale Promotion: lucky draw for promotional products.also protect skin from the 19 can protect skin sunlight. with -with component of licorice extract and Vitamin C&E will make brighter skin. Using various below the line routes and identifies ways of talking to teenagers directly. magazine -Opening conferences to introduce new products.Night cream: 65000 VND -Cleansing foam: 40000 VND -Toner: 90000 VND . -making skin becomes white and smooth. Advertising on newspaper.
it will lead to reducing in purchasing power. when the economy has to face with financial crisis. 2. Place . so it will be a high demand for beauty products. Each region has different whether with different types of skin so they must be sure that the products can bring effectiveness for customer in that area. cosmetic merchandise and all supper market in Vietnam. Furthermore. Environmental analysis: Economic factor: This factor has strong effect on cosmetic industry.2. Social factor: the changes in social trends can influence on the demand of cosmetic products. MARKETING AND PROMOTION/COMMUNICATION OBJECTIVES 2. so the cosmetic industry could be a very potential in development. Fortunately. For example.Pond‟s products are sold in convenience store. Pond‟s target the Asian market. Moreover. a country with large population like Vietnam is a favorable destination for more and more new products. cosmetic store and all supper market. For example. Environmental factor: the weather and climate also affect to the cosmetic industry. Vietnam is a young population country with more young people than the older people. woman in today society become more and more concern about their beauty. -product is sold in super market. Technological factor: It is important for the cosmetic industry to find new raw materials which are friendly with human skin and also bring the certain effectiveness during the usages. Moreover. Market share and sales volume: Page 9 .3. 1. Essance is sold in super market. Vietnam with economic growth and higher standard living in recent years has led to increase the purchasing power. For example. -Product is sold in convenience stores.1. grocery and cosmetic store. the manufacturing process must have no impact to the environment. The economic situation can have direct impact on consumer spending power and the input for the cosmetic industry. so their products need to have the function of protect skin from the sunlight. the aging population can impact on demand. cosmetic store and Debon Total Cosmetic system.IMC PLAN IMC Plan attachment.
Christmas. IMC Plan Invest $1. magazines and newspapers and OOH activities. thus. Then. high school as well as supermarkets. June. this is great opportunities for us to attract our customers join in contest with us. not an unnatural white one”. Ensure the sample is given in at least some big universities.700. Page 10 . single message for many marcom tools. From that. they would pass through a sequence of steps. Marketing campaign takes 1 year from October 2010 to October 2011 because of Holiday obligations such as Mother‟s Day. by giving sample. focusing on sales promotion and PR to increase 30% of sales volume and building brand image.2.000 in marketing campaign like ads on TV. pinkish-white skin. Ensure the message can reach up to 82% of target market. Furthermore. From Unawareness to Awareness: To increase overall attention and awareness of Pond‟s White Beauty to at least 90% of target customer (teenagers and young adult). The message must clarify the product‟s unique characteristic-“providing you a healthy. From Expectation to Trial Providing chance for target customers to try the product. by ensuring to use a clear. From Awareness to Expectation: Enhance customers‟ knowledge of the product. That is the best time for us to promote Sales promotion. Communication effects sequence: The hierarchy of effects are based on assumption that when consumers exposure to marketing communication.IMC PLAN Reach 26% market share in the end of 2011. Growth rate annually is 15%. Tet Holiday. Success on raising brand awareness to more than 90% by fulfills customer satisfaction and customer expectation. July and August is summer holiday. Valentine and Women‟s Day. Please refer to Appedix 2 of Hierarchy of marcom effects (Shimp 2010). the objectives of communication effects sequence are as follow. Teacher‟s Day. 2. we will live up the positive attitude toward. specify clearly what they can expect from buying and using Pond‟s White Beauty.
IMC PLAN So that the trial rate could range from 45-50% of target customer. STAGE 2 1. by not only the product quality.2. but also by performing a good job in other relevant activities.white Princess. Improve the unique image of the product that is Pinkish. the first clip (Clip A) will be posted on YOUTUBE within 1 week before it is shown popularly on TV. such as the Pink Christmas event and Contest.1. Strategies: 1. The TV clip will be divided into 3 sub clips to show at 3 period of time on TV with the aim of raising viewer‟s interest. COMMUNICATION BUDGET Please refer to Appendix 12 for more detail. Pond‟s clip might raise the notice Page 11 . Enhancing Attitude and Belief IMC Plan Reinforcing good attitude and belief of our brand and product. 3. 1. Besides it. Therefore. Promoting the brand image “Pond‟s White Beauty brings you a shining rosy-white skin as you wish” To build a positive attitude and belief in at least 32-35% of customers Affecting Purchase Behavior and building Brand Loyalty: All above marcom efforts are to ensure the increasing in the market share up to 26% in target segment. Generate Word of Mouth to ensure 70% of teenagers or young girls who are Pond‟s target customer will discuss and mention about the clip with their friends every day. ADVERTISEMENT 1. Television: Pond‟s White Beauty develops a story called “rescuing pinkish-white princess”.2. To build up Pond‟s White Beauty loyalty rate at more than 20% in target customers.1. Objectives: Raise consumer’s interest about a new marketing strategy in 2010 for Pond‟s in Vietnam. We choose YouTube because it‟s the most famous online website globally specializing clips which has 100 million viewers.
Please refer to Appendix 3. Moreover. he wins and take his first steps into a castle where there are even 2 princesses waiting. as his nickname is Nightingale Prince. he has thousands of fans who are teenagers. In other words. This would create word of mouth. is there a new movie of Quang Vinh. the text “What is happening with Quang Vinh?” are appeared in the clip. People would talk about it.1 to see the pictures to have more detail about the scenes. and then launched on TV. Actually. comments about what is going on. the clip will end and so. As a result. in order to suit with Pond‟s White Beauty„s unique image as well as teenagers who still have day-dreaming ob being a Princess. Clip B begins with the success of the Prince. firstly shown in YouTube. Our strategy about TV ad relates to historical vestiges which has Prince and Princess. Both of them are so beautiful and need to be rescued. We have to do this because we want to help people who did not watch the fist clip to catch the whole story of Pond‟s clips. Clip B will be a combination of the scenes in Clip A which is cut shorter from 15s to 7s and added the continual scenes. there would be a lot of discussion. sweet guys. one question will be appeared “Who will Quang Vinh choose to rescue?” The purpose of Clip B is also getting the customer‟s interest to make them waiting for the next clip. etc. Page 12 . Also. and also his image. CLIP A (15s): 10 October 2010 The scenes in Clip A reflect a violent fighting between Quang Vinh as Prince and the soldiers in 15s. it does not require financial element. is very appropriate of being a prince. is it his new music video. Moreover. At the end story of Clip A where Quang Vinh fights with the soldiers. a numbers of teenagers had been familiar with this. We invite Quang Vinh singer to play Prince Role. Moreover.IMC PLAN IMC Plan firstly in network citizen and we can get their evaluation from it. CLIP B (15s): 15 October 2010 The second clip will be shown 5 days after Clip A was launched on TV. this clip will not show the Pond‟s symbol. 5 days are not too long and too short because the first clip had posted on YouTube in 1 week. At this time. combining with the excited music to make the viewers be more curious and continually wait for the second clip. as a handsome. They might not even think of is as an advertisement.
IMC PLAN IMC Plan This again raises attention and curiosity. there is 60% Vietnamese watching TV in “golden time” (from 8pm to 10pm). Clip C will be shown everyday within 2 months from 25 October 2010 to 25 December 2010. Clip C will begin from where Quang Vinh fights against the soldiers to the time he found 2 beautiful princesses. going online to help us attracting a lot of target customers.2 to see the pictures to have more detail about the scenes. bringing you a rosy-white skin as you wish.000 young girls in Vietnam getting notice from watching Pond‟s advertisement clip on TV. we can assume that nearly 8. Please refer to Appendix 3. but they still keeping talking and guessing what product it advertises for. Time: Each clip will be shown 2 times every day on HTV7 and VTV3 (most popular channels) from 7pm to 10pm because this time has a lot of teenagers watching. he comes to the left one who is Pinkish-white Princess to rescue her. Shining an confident every step you walk” The clip influenced teenager‟s psychology that they wish to become a Princess and find their charming Prince.000 Evaluation and Control: According to TNS (England). It is shown 10 days after the second clip was launched on TV. the product Pond‟s White Beauty appears with the unique message:” Pond‟s White Beauty. 2008). this clip is going to provide the last decision from Quang Vinhthe prince to choose which Princess to rescue. numbers of teenagers is over 35% of total Vietnam‟s population (Nielsen. Total Budget: $640. This percentage might plus the number of teenagers reading magazines. and belief that the girls who use Pond‟s white beauty will find their own Prince and get the success in life. So. Continually. Besides that. As a result. some might think is could be an advertisement. the story raises attention. CLIP C (30s): 25 October 2010 This last clip contains the complete story of rescuing pinkish-white princess which are combined the scenes from Clip A and B to help viewers understanding clearly about the clip. Please refer to Appendix 3. As it is shown on television. the text will appear in front the clip “Let‟s choose Pond‟s white beauty to help your prince realize you!!” Then. Page 13 . waking up your shining beauty. Moreover.3 to see the pictures to have more detail about the scenes. Based on that.
2). this ad can also be placed where photographs and print ads are appropriate such as newspapers.2. ads will appear in all 3 magazines with consistent design and message. we can get the feedback from their rating or comments to improve our advertisement 1. The advertisement is one full-color page (21cm width by 27cm depth) Total Budget: $75. however.44 TGPN CPM $3. Although Yeah1 Teen is a new magazine. we can expect the ads will approach to many potential customers.200/ 50 = $64 1.000 Evaluation: Both 2! and TGPN are long times established magazines with a lot of subscribers throughout the country.2. it highlight the information such as time and location of the event together with the application form (refer to Appendix 4. Besides. This print media will be used throughout the year. its target market is exactly what Pond‟s are aiming to which is teenagers. as Pond‟s advertisement posting on YouTube 3 months ago has about 1. These are monthly magazines specialized for teenagers and young woman. CPM: HHT 2! CPM $1. advertisement should appear in different magazine.2. teenagers prefer to use Internet rather than other media. our strategy that posting Pond‟s clip there firstly might increase the numbers of viewers because at this time. internet or point-of-purchase displays. Yeah1 Teen and The Gioi Phu Nu. The text section will highlight the advantage of the products or can be replaced with other content such as interviewing some teenage idols about their experiences of using Pond‟s (refer to Appendix 4. Magazines: HHT 2!.24 Yeah1 Teen CPM $800/ 18 = $44. The 2 months period to the contest and event. Also. Compared to other magazines.3.1).IMC PLAN IMC Plan Moreover.900/ 169 = $11.300 viewers. The right target readers can surely bring higher success for the ads. Online Banner: Page 14 . The content will be changed for the event and contest advertisement. in each month. It shows a nice looking female with pinkish white skin using Pond‟s. they have the highest number of issues per volume which can bring the ads to the eyes of more prospects.
000/ 28.725 = $0. Out-of-Home: Bus station Bus stop ads are the cheapest medium compared to others but not less effective.IMC PLAN Channel 14. the effectiveness of this media will be measure by comparing the traffics to Pond‟s before and after the campaign.523= $0. One 300 x 250 right banner will be placed on main page of the site so it can capture people‟s attention easily (refer to Appendix 5). The content will be similar with other media to make it consistent. Since it would be less costly and time consuming to design and update new online banners. Content of the banner will depend on the kind of activities carrying on that month.32 Zing News CPM (per month) $6. Zing and HHT Online These websites are popular for younger with high-traffic.000 per year Evaluation: Since each banner is linked to Pond‟s White Beauty website.641= $0. CPM: Channel 14 CPM (per month) 14 $5. Another element is an increase in the number of users registered at our website over the year. IMC Plan Nowadays. In the idle months.300/ 1. It will not carry any Page 15 . Pond‟s billboards will be placed at the bus station located around district 1.2. this medium will be cut out to save cost Total Budget: $ 108. youths spend more time online therefore internet media is another effective tool to target this segment.35) HHT CPM (per month) $1. This medium can greatly help attract more visits into Pond‟s websites by clicking on the banner. We can also track down how many visitors come from each site to develop a better online strategy. the bus station would be painted in pink and decorated as a castle – an image that associated with Pond‟s event. This city centre has very high traffic and a lot of entertainment places so it could easily appeal to young people. For the ads to be more eye catching to remind people.4. It shows the product is shining and it makes the skin of a young woman brighter (refer to Appendix 6). they will be use to reflect every new promotions or upcoming events of Pond‟s through the year.75 1.21 (TM=60% → CPM-TM = $0.400/ 16.
The more chance for consumers try the product.2 Strategies: 2.000 per year Evaluation: As this advertising is used to support the entire campaign and is exposed to the masses. TV etc.2. some factors such as good location and visually pleasing ads can promise to create positive impact. it is believed to be effective in increasing the trial of product. when people go to the Pond‟s website. SALES PROMOTION: 2. we could have a lot of audiences trapped by slow moving traffic. In general. Total Budget: $12.IMC PLAN IMC Plan specific promotion to prevent outdated information since it would cost much time to change the billboard image. since there are always traffic jams at rush hours in district 1.1 for Booth‟s picture. To illustrate. the similar question like “how do you know about this contest” will be printed on the application form. it will occur at the same time of broadcasting new TVC of Ponds White Beauty. there will be a one question survey such as “how do you know about our website”. some possible answers can be magazines. we can also receive responses from people who participate in our activities.1 Objectives: Increase product awareness to the customers combined with boost up the sale by 30%. inquiry tests can be applied to evaluate the effectiveness between these media. the more loyalty customers Ponds has. The booth will be decorated in pink which is consistent with the Ponds White beauty image (please refer to Appendix 8. Besides. there is no possible way to measure the impact of this strategy. For instance. 2. By create attractive promotions program. For example.1 Sampling “DISCOVER YOUR NEW DAY WITH POND’S WHITE BEAUTY” Time: from the end of October (15/10/2010) to the end of November (25/11/2010). 2. This sampling program can reinforce the image of Ponds as well as encourage the sales effectively. Page 16 . However.
Pond understands the psychology of their targeted customers who are teenagers and the youth. Decorating pinky booth combined with giving the horoscope information will make the customers be curious and come. For example: Youth culture house. Moreover. The salesperson will play a new role which is guiding the customers the way how to use Ponds most effectively instead of traditional role. Nguyen Trai etc. such as Ho Chi Minh City. Ponds will have some sample trees.IMC PLAN IMC Plan The package of sample will be redesigned from traditional small pack to small tub in order to enhance the durable of product. moreover. Galaxy Nguyen Du. At the booth. Cinema such as Megastar Hung Vuong. Universities ( Educational university.2). Being different from the normal way of delivering sample. as shining every step you walk. Ha Noi. supermarkets). Da Nang. Social science and human university) Concert music (Hoa nhip ban tre): besides distributing the free sample the customers will also receive a fan with image of Pond‟s White beauty so that it not only make the audience feel comfortable during the concert but also can bring the image of Pond‟s white beauty easily to the consumers‟ mind. It goes along with the message on TV ads. The message of this sampling program is “Discover your new day with Pond‟s White beauty”. The booth will be put at many places in big cities. they will come to the tree and find the horoscope following their birthday (refer to Appendix 7. Pond include in the sample the Page 17 . It is believed effective in attracting the customers go to Pond‟s booth to get free sample because: The sampling program happens at the time of broadcasting the ads on TV so the consumers will have more motivation and intention to try the product. Le Quy Don. during this time there is Vietnam women day (20-10). hanging the small pink packs that include the free sample and the horoscope information (refer to Appendix 7. High schools (Le Hong Phong. Shopping mall (Saigon square.1).delivering free sample. Nguyen Thi Minh Khai). and make your every single day colorful. The customers will be attracted by decorative booth.
The more people come to the booth to get sample.8. Ponds plan to deliver 1. the conversion rate has to exceed the break-even which is from 13% to 18%.000 ( i.3) in order to cover the cost from sampling investment as well as increase sales and increase the profit. Calculate the number of converters: $400.500 people must become the users of Ponds White beauty after trying the sample. each customers will bring the potential profit is $3. Calculate the profit per unit: We assume that average four units will be purchased per year and the profit which is calculated average among the set of Ponds White beauty is $0.2 Gift Attachment Purpose is to increase the sale volume directly by create interest for buyers in some special events: In the Christmas event.e.IMC PLAN IMC Plan horoscope.000/1. 3. activities on that day. Therefore the minimum of 162.000 times $0.8 multiply 4) when they become repeat customers of our brand.000 Evaluation: ROI for a sampling investment: 1. because of new method of delivering sample.000= 12. We can evaluate this sampling program through: The program occurs parallel with the time broadcasting new TVC of Ponds White beauty on television. 1. This means that 12. The total cost of sampling: With the wide distribution of sampling program.000.5%) 4. $0. We can compare the sales before with the sales after the sampling program happening.5% conversion rate to break even (i. The customers especially teenagers will feel curious and interested in this program Total Budget: $500.2. Determine the effectiveness of the sampling: In order to ensure the success of sampling.e. 125.000 units.e. the more brand awareness Ponds raises. (i.000/$3. 2.000. Moreover. When the customers buy a set of Pond‟s White Beauty. total cost is $400.000. we will launch a gift attachment campaign from the middle to the end of December.e. Thus.2= 125.000 times 1.the information about feeling. Thus. 125.000 units and the cost of each trial-sized unit is $0. generating the Word of mouth can help the program more successful.2 (i. they will get a lovely Hippie Page 18 .4) 2.4.
1). For those teen boys. they will get a scratch card inside the package and if they are lucky to win. which is Sammy (refer to Appendix 9) might bring meaningful holidays for them because the hotel is located near the beach and customers will be served meals and beverage. it is a French restaurant which is especially designed for couples in romantic meals with candlelight (refer to Appendix 8. In the Valentine event. The gift will be 10 free meals for 10 couples in the night of Valentine „day. This promotion will be scheduled from the middle of January to before the Valentine‟s Day. then they can contact with us to get the voucher. This might attract many teen girls and also teen boys to buy Pond‟s white Beauty. Total Budget: $110. this summer time. Moreover. The free meal ticket will be put inside a set of Pond‟s White Beauty. the gift attachment will be implemented in a different way with more interesting. Total Budget: $3.2.000 2. 10 lucky customers might have a chance to spend 3 days traveling to Vung Tau City and they will be stayed in 4 stars hotel for free. When customers buy a set of Pond‟s White Beauty. a free holiday voucher could be a very excited thing. There is no special event at this time. Each voucher will be available for 2 People. people usually to the beach and enjoy the shining. they can buy Pond‟s as a gift for their girl friend and also get a chance to be one of the 100 lucky couples. This sale promotion might attract strong attention among buyers because it is implemented in the summer season. The hotel.2).IMC PLAN IMC Plan headband (refer to Appendix 8. so we plan to increase the sale volume by giving a holiday accommodation voucher. Page 19 . The location is Annamite Restaurant.500 Evaluation and control for Gift Attachment and Voucher Observing the consumer behavior respond when they buy Pond‟s products. It is important to know that consumers get interest in the gift attachment.3 Voucher Time: from June to September. This might attract many teen girls because Hippie headband is a new trend in recent months and it is forecasted to still be liked until the end of this year.
1. placing many pink Christmas trees. They might provide the current sale situation which can evaluate an effective sale promotion or not. Increase brand loyalty. We can compare the sale data before and after the sale promotion campaign. encourage customers come to store and buy Ponds to join the contest. creating a Pink Christmas with Pond‟s Wishing Garden.IMC PLAN IMC Plan Recording the respond from retailers and whole sellers when the gift attachment and voucher campaign are implemented. With the holiday accommodation voucher. They could also take pictures with pinkish glorious design and beautiful Christmas girls in cute. 3. Promote brand image “Pond‟s will bring you rosy skin as your wish” Creating interest in event and contest activities. 3.2. everyone can come. We can ask about their opinion and feeling to measure their satisfaction. write down their wishes in a pink beautiful note and hang them on these trees (refer to Appendix 10. PUBLIC RELATION: 3.2). Recording the sale volume. pink dress (refer to Appendix 10.1. the higher sale volume proves for the effective sale promotion. Objectives: In cooperate with other marcom tool to improve brand awareness from 70% to more than 90% of total target customers through the launch of Ponds Wishing Garden and Ponds White Beauty Contest Reinforcing the Brand by maintaining positive relationships with our target customer and building a strong image of Ponds White Beauty. we can send an email to the winner after the get the travelling. Special Event: GREETING SEASON .1) In the Wishing Garden. Page 20 .3).2.WISHING GARDEN Enjoy the first Pink Christmas in Vietnam with Pond’s White Beauty Time: from 19/12/2010 to 01/01/2011 at Diamond Plaza. Strategies: 3. All the place is decorated in pink – the color of Ponds White Beauty (refer to Appendix 10.
Pond‟s White Beauty brings you confident and shining. especially our target customer Organized in central of the city. Attract the media.IMC PLAN IMC Plan Next to the garden is a batch of hundred colorful balloons attached with a small. all the wishes will be put into the castle and the balloons will take them to the sky (refer to Appendix 10. In the micro-site pondswhitebeauty. attract thousands of people. the hotels. go to church and to the pagoda. Promote the message: Pond‟s White Beauty-shine your skin-shine your life. for those who cannot come directly to Ponds Wishing Garden at Diamond Plaza. also creating a virtual wishing garden. Raise attention and curious as they usually heard the term “White Christmas”. makes your life interesting and colorful. what they dislike. press Budgeted cost: $60. etc.000 Evaluation: Personal contact: choose random customers. Now Pond‟s White Beauty is honor to be part of making your life more meaningful by giving greetings and wishes to your beloved ones. This will attract a lot of people. friends.vn. for their family. Counting the number of cards. but only the Christians have chance to decorate the Christmas tree at home. then attract more people to come and discover. the malls and all the streets around are decorated very beautifully. then the event is successful. After 2 weeks collecting wishes. with high traffic In Christmas and New Year holiday.4) . About 80% of people who come down to the central streets to take pictures and celebrate the holidays are teenagers and young adults. to make a wish for themselves. What they like the most. is there anything else that they expect to have in this kind of event. ask their opinion about the event. note that is used to see how many customers actually enjoy and involve in the events Based on sales volume: if the sales increase. this would be interesting for others to feel like they involve in the holiday by placing their wish in the tree. not “Pink Christmas”. Page 21 . pink Ponds castle. in the first day of the year. In this season. regardless their religion. who come to the Wishing Garden. All people could celebrate the Christmas holiday. people usually send out card.
Photos (13*18 cm. representing the brand‟s image efficiently “Pond‟s. captures attention. models that are picked out by Pond‟s will have chances to recording five scripts from “Turn your ideas into reality” contest. Duties of winners Girls will show “Pond‟s moment” which is the best expressive with Pond‟s product. inventively and originality.IMC PLAN 3. Five excellent highly regarded copywriters with excellent scripts. Contest: WITH POND’S WHITE BEAUTY.2. without using Photoshop) along with application form from 2! Magazines. Contest will run from May to September 2011 and is divided into two states: *Stage 1: running “Turn your ideas into reality” and “Pond‟s Icon” contest from 1/5/2011 to 30/7/2011. Pond‟s chooses Five At the middle of July. Each of them will be provided 50 million to shoot their clips. Looking for the models for recording video clips which winning participants of “Turn your ideas into reality” contest. attaching Pond‟s White Beauty package and ship it to Pond‟s office (refer to Appendix 11).2. Requirements The ads scripts have to convey advertising ideas clearly in writing.vn. Turn your ideas into reality Pond’s Icon At the beginning of May. Pond’s advertise contest through communication channels such as pondswhitebeauty. Two activities run parallel. 2! Magazine and TGPN Participations All Vietnamese students who are studying at high schools and universities Purpose Participants will come up with the creative brief and ideas of television advertisement scripts for Pond‟s White Beauty. Deadline submission on 30th June 2011. Pond‟s organizes the contest not only for increase sales volume but also creates useful playground for its target market. Girls who are from 15 to 25 years old At middle of July. Page 22 .natural pinkish white skin”. REACH THE TOP OF CREATIVITY!!! IMC Plan In order to reach objectives set up.
Tremendous rewards. and they have opportunities to win great prizes like 3 holiday trips in Vinpearl land in 3 days to attract broader visitors who not only teenager but also people who are interest in rewards. Pond‟s will promote clips on Yeah 1! TV. Audiences vote for clips they like best through 19001234 switchboards within program happening as well as micro site pondswhitebeauty.Malaysia in 4 days. behind of the scenes will be showed. participants can discover their special talents and have more clearly orientation for their carrier in the future. At the beginning of August.com. Encourage purchasing power to allow customers to join in the contest and create positive consumers‟ attitude toward the product Budgeted cost: $90. models and copywriters will share enjoyment and difficulties in recording process and what they learn from joining ads.one is chosen by Pond‟s and one gets highest viewer‟s votes.popular channel for teenager Within the program. the most excellent clips will be rewarded. Rewards for winners include: Holiday trips to Singapore. the more we‟re successful. Contest will attract numerous participants join in and fulfill objective set out because: Celebrate on summer time and focus on teen-girls and students Matches teen-girls interests such as being well-know and their images spread everywhere through mass media like TV. The more people join in contest. Useful playground for cultivating and encourages creativity. Through competition. Internet and magazines. On September. Vote will be ended on 20/8/20011.000 Evaluation: Page 23 . Winning copywriters would get a chance to cooperate with Uniliver marketing department in developing the next official clip. and even have an opportunity to do internship and work at Unilever Vietnam. Chosen models will be acting in the next official commercial clip of Pond‟s White Beauty.IMC PLAN *Stage 2: From 20/7/2011 to 1/9/2011 IMC Plan Winners from contest will be shooting five different video clips with the given capital.
online website. We estimate base on sales revenue and profit report when contest finish. there will be the gift attachment on occasions of Christmas 2010 and Valentine 2011. Ponds White Beauty plans to hold diverse activities such as advertisement (TVC. MEDIA PLAN Please see the table below for more detail. gift attachment. sales promotion (sampling.IMC PLAN IMC Plan Customer awareness: determine how much knowledge consumers learn about Pond‟s through contest and affects their purchasing power by looking at market share before contest and after running contest. During this year. and voucher) and PR. magazine.). this marketing plan will last through out the year from October 2010 to September 2011. All of these IMC activities of this campaign will be advertised through television. Next. On the other hand. In general. Firstly. Pond‟s will provide a Comment Section for viewers post their thinking when contest happening 4. Page 24 . etc. the more successful we achieve. Sales volume: More people buy Pond‟s to join in contest.com. online website and even the bus stations. Ponds will have the monetary investment on the contest combines with the attractive voucher of holiday accommodation. Ponds will also hold Pink Christmas which belongs to PR. samples will be delivered from October to November 2010. magazine. in order to reinforce for the sales promotion program. In addition. Feedback from customers: on Micro-site pondswhitebeauty.
IMC PLAN IMC Plan Page 25 .
php?name=News&op=viewcat&catid=2>. < http://vietbao. viewed 23 April 2010. Sammy Hotel 2010. "Price zone: Kenh14". "http://advertise. viewed 15 April 2010. „HTV khong he ban song‟. Confidental & Properietary.zing. 2005.com.net/content/blogcategory/22/25/. viewed 22 April 2010.vn/ProductDetail/197. „Vietnam Grocery report: nielsen‟. "HHT 2! Magazine Ads". viewed 15 April 2010. viewed 15 April 2010. viewed 15 April 2010. Muctim Online 2010.com/images/Tintuc/Bang%20bao%20gia%20bao%20SV20".vn/html/cost/news. <http://sammyhotelvt.vn/Van-hoa/Ong-Huynh-Van-Nam-Giamdoc-Dai-Truyen-hinh-TP-HCM-HTV-khong-he-ban-song/45162208/181/>.IMC PLAN IMC Plan REFERENCE: AdMicro 2010. Viet Idea 2010. “Singapore. VDC 2010. The Nielsen Company.muadulich.vn/public/zone_price. <http://www. viewed 15 April 2010. "Advertising service". "http://admicro.2008. "Advertising Price Zing News". "Advertising Price on Muctim".aspx". Vietbao. Center for Press and International Communication Cooperation.com/singapore/singapore+sentosa. Page 26 . viewed 15 April 2010. "http://www.htm>. “Special Promotion March 2010”.41. viewed 14 March 2010. Nielsen.muctim.asp".vn/Forms/contact4adver.marketingvietnam.Sensaito 4 days”. Muadulich 2010. Zing Ads 2010.php?cmd=showprice&affi_id=18&channelid=6". Marketing Vietnam Group 2010.html".com/new/en/modules. "http://www. "Advertising Price Hoahoctro Online". <http://www. "http://vietidea. p.vdcsieuthi.
event.com. Direct marketing: Experiential marketing program by putting booth in the supermarket and on the road. Historical marketing strategy: Advertising: TV: HTV and VTV from 7pm-10 pm with the TVC taken from Thailand. ngoisao and Tv commercial ads. This program tries to create the brand name of product to targeted customers. Review past promotion – Firms promotion capabilities: Initially. the final congratulation party lacked of information and received some bad comments. Ponds white beauty has aimed to create an intensive marketing campaign to launch the product to targeted customers.IMC PLAN IMC Plan APPENDIX 1. it needs to be enhanced so that Ponds can accomplish the target more efficiently. VTM Sponsorship: Passport to love movie and Golden album – music concert. Ponds spent more on building public relationship -their basic marketing strategy through direct marketing and contest.Noo Phuoc Thinh. Ponds used various tool to launch this contest to the customers such as micro. Print ads: Muctim. However. 2!.site landatranghong. it cannot avoid having some mistakes in organizing. Contest and event: “Pinkish-white princess contest” attracts many teenagers as well as the youth because it can satisfy their desires which are being famous and attending the party with their idol. Sales promotion: Free sample: a small pack of Ponds were delivered at the universities in order to stimulate the product trial. In fact. Although Ponds had monetary investment on the first campaign. Page 27 . news website vnexpress. However. Ponds believed that it is effective for them to marketing directly the product to the targeted customers who are young girls. Free gift for customers on special occasion.
IMC PLAN IMC Plan 2. Hierarchy of marcom effects. (Shimp 2010) Page 28 .
A VIOLENT BATTLE IS OCCURING…… What’s happening with Quang Vinh? Let’s watch on 15 Oct 2010!!! Page 29 .IMC PLAN 3. Television Advertising: 3.1. Clip A IMC Plan AT THIS TIME AND EXACTLY THIS PLACE.
2 Clip B IMC Plan THE PRINCE COMES TO THE CASTLE AND FOUND TWO BEAUTIFUL PRINCESSES…… WHAT WILL HE CHOOSE TO RESCUE? LET’ SEE THE WHOLE STORY ON 25 OCT 2010!!! Page 30 .IMC PLAN 3.
THE PRINCE HAD CHOSE PINKISH-WHITE PRINCESS..3 Clip C IMC Plan FINALLY..IMC PLAN 3. LET’S CHOOSE POND’S WHITE BEAUTY TO HELP YOUR PRINCE REALIZE YOU!!!! Page 31 .
IMC PLAN 4. Magazine Advertising 4.1 Magazine Ads IMC Plan Page 32 .
2 Magazine Ads for contest.IMC PLAN 4. IMC Plan Page 33 .
Online Banner Advertising 6.IMC PLAN IMC Plan 5. Bus station Advertising Page 34 .
IMC PLAN 7. Sampling 7.1 Booth IMC Plan POND’S Pond’s White Beauty Sample pack Booth of Pond decorated in pink 7.2 Horoscope message: Page 35 .
IMC PLAN 8.2 Annamite Restaurant Page 36 .1 Hippie headband IMC Plan 8. Gift Attachment 8.
Sammy Hotel Page 37 .IMC PLAN IMC Plan 9.
Special Event: 10.IMC PLAN 10.1 Wishing Garden: IMC Plan POND’S WIShING GARDEN Page 38 .
IMC PLAN 10.2 Cute notes for writing wishes: IMC Plan 10.3 Pond’s Christmas girls Page 39 .
IMC PLAN 10.4. Balloons and Pond’s castle IMC Plan Page 40 .
Contest IMC Plan “Turn creativity into reality” Poster Page 41 .IMC PLAN 11.
IMC PLAN IMC Plan Page 42 .
IMC PLAN IMC Plan Application Form Page 43 .
000 issues/ vol.300/ month Time: 21:00-22:00 Time: 21:00-22:00 1 colour page 24 x 30cm (169.400/ month $6.000/ year $2. $3.900/ ad/ vol.000/ 30s ad $1. $12. Marketing Communication Budgeted Expenses Page 44 .Sep 2011 Marketing Communications Cost Strategy Advertising TV Ads HTV VTV Magazine HHT 2! Yeah1 Teen TGPN Bus Station Ads Online Marketing Banner Ads Channel 14 Zing News HHT Online Sales Promotion Sampling Gift Hippie headband Romantic Dinner Date Voucher Sammy Hotel Public Relations Contest Travel& Accommodation Singapore 4 days 3 nights $490/ person Sea View Room $170/ couple/ night Christmas Event Dec '10 Valentine Event Feb '11 $0.) $1.000 issues/ vol.200/ ad/ vol.000 issues/ vol. Marketing Communication Cost IMC Plan Oct 2010.IMC PLAN 12.4/ sample Main Page Right Banner 350x250 Right Banner 350x250 Great banner 578x188 $5.) Cover page (50.400/ 30s ad Descriptions Cost/ Unit 13.5/ headband $100/ couple $0. $800/ ad/ vol.000/ month $1.) (18.
000 $970 $113.570 7.400 $970 $57.600 $107.000 $970 $11.000 $118.570 $81.000 $90.200 $74.20% Jun '11 $98.770 $3.700 $970 $129.20% July '11 $98.640 $883.570 7.600 $4.400 $970 $98.270 22.770 $50.000 $71.59% Jan '11 $17.73% May '11 $98.000 $150.270 $250.20% Sep '11 $57.000 $250.700 $970 $17.970 $81.570 $40.33% TOTAL $883.000 $250.07% Feb '11 $20.000 $118.646.Sep 2011 Marketing Communications Budget Oct '10 Nov '10 Dec '10 Jan '11 Feb '11 Mar '11 Apr '11 May '11 Jun '11 July '11 Aug '11 Sep '11 Total Advertising Ads Design TV Ads Magazine Banner Ads Bus Station Total Sales Promotion Sampling Gift Voucher Total Public Relations Christmas Event Contest Total TOTAL S UMMARY Advertising Sales Promotion Public Relations TOTAL % OF TOTAL Oct '10 $125.740 $60.500 $3.000 $110.700 $970 $20.600 $4.79% Nov '10 $113.270 $108.000 $10.970 $11.600 $11.000 $10.800 $7.000 $639.670 1.500 $150.800 $4.240 $613.000 $10.270 4.870 $11.000 $970 $11.000 $1.570 $20.670 $7.400 $970 $98.000 $20.200 $12.500 $500.600 $11.670 $17.970 0.870 $10.500 $50.000 $20.400 $970 $98.000 $20.700 $970 $125.570 $81.570 7.870 1.770 22.240 Page 45 .000 $20.000 $363.400 $7.400 $970 $98.87% Mar '11 $11.000 $3.970 $11.500 $613.600 $11.000 $60.09% Dec '10 $129.600 $11.500 $10.200 $12.570 $20.770 $108.600 $4.970 $11.770 $250.IMC PLAN IMC Plan Oct 2010.73% Apr '11 $11.000 $289.000 $20.000 $60.000 $20.000 $100.000 $3.000 $118.000 $375.20% Aug '11 $98.800 $11.000 $54.570 $20.000 $250.000 $250.000 $118.670 $100.800 $4.000 $12.000 $10.600 $11.600 $4.000 $30.200 $12.000 $100.000 $20.570 7.000 $60.570 $20.670 $4.000 $20.670 17.970 0.570 $81.
IMC PLAN IMC Plan Allocated Budget Percentage 9% Advertising Sales Promotion 37% 54% Public Relations Page 46 .
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