P. 1
Create.great.iphone.photos

Create.great.iphone.photos

|Views: 405|Likes:
Published by lexluxor

More info:

Published by: lexluxor on Sep 22, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

11/06/2012

pdf

text

original

After you install an app, your frst order of business is to check its settings. If you
don’t do it right away, you’ll probably forget, and there’s a fair chance that’ll mean
the quality of your photos will suffer (or you won’t be saving them where you’d like).
You might think app settings are always located in the same spot. Guess
again. As it happens, app settings are located in these two places:

>

The app Fire up the app, and look for an i icon, a gear icon, or a button
labeled Options, Preferences, Settings, or Tools (see Figure 2-7). From there,
you will be able to adjust the app’s options.

>

Settings Your iPhone’s Settings app—the one with settings for Wi-Fi,
Brightness, and so forth—also stores settings for individual apps. Tap
Settings, and then scroll down until you see your apps listed. Tap the
app whose settings you want to check.

Figure 2-6: Tap the envelope
icon in the Lo-Mob app to
see various photo-sharing
options.

Figure 2-5: The PictureShow app provides clear labels
whereas the Lo-Mob app uses the icons at the bottom-left to
indicate the choice between taking a new image or selecting
an existing one.

PHOTO_02.indb 29

12/10/2010 10:40:44 AM

30 | Chapter 2

QWArNiNg: Some apps actually split their settings between the app itself,

under a label such as Options or Tools, and the iPhone’s Settings app. Just to
be safe, check both after installing an app.

The settings often include these
key options (as shown in Figure 2-8):

>

Resolution Apps generally give
you a choice of resolutions for sav-
ing images to your Camera Roll.
You may also have a choice of sep-
arate resolutions for sharing and
emailing photos.

>

Sharing and social media If your
app connects to Twitter, Facebook,
or other social media websites, you
will be able to enter your username
and decide whether (and when) you
want to share your images.

>

Save original With many apps,
you snap an image, and then the
app applies an effect—a night
vision flter, for instance, or a 1960s
look. By choosing Save Original
Photo, the app will also keep a

Figure 2-7: Tap the i icon within the CameraBag app, and you can
adjust the app’s settings, such as the resolution and photo borders.

Figure 2-8: The settings
and options available in the
CameraKit app

PHOTO_02.indb 30

12/10/2010 10:40:46 AM

Customize Your iPhone Camera | 31

copy of the image before the effect was applied. In general, choose Save
Original Photo; you never know when you’re going to snap an awesome shot
and want an untouched copy of it available. If you don’t want the image, you
can always delete it from the Camera Roll.

>

Automatic saving A number of apps, especially those serving as replace-
ments for the Camera app, do not automatically save your images when you
take a photo. Instead, they present the image on your screen and essentially
say, “Do you want to keep this or trash it?” If you’d rather bypass this step,
then the app may offer an Auto Save option within its settings.

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->