P. 1
2008-2011_Rules_Of_Golf

2008-2011_Rules_Of_Golf

|Views: 13|Likes:
Published by Henry Suarez

More info:

Published by: Henry Suarez on Oct 17, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

11/01/2012

pdf

text

original

Rule 15

52904_ROG_RULESGOLF_TXT.qxd 14/9/07 09:13 Page 75

Rule 15

15-1.General

A player must hole out with the ball played from the teeing ground,
unless the ball is lost or out of boundsor the player substitutesanother
ball,whether or not substitution is permitted (see Rule 15-2).If a
player plays a wrong ball,see Rule 15-3.

15-2.Substituted Ball

A player may substitutea ball when proceeding under a Rulethat
permits the player to play,drop or place another ball in completing the
play of a hole.The substituted ballbecomes the ball in play.
If a player substitutesa ball when not permitted to do so under the
Rules,that substitutedballis not a wrong ball;it becomes the ball in play.
If the mistake is not corrected as provided in Rule 20-6 and the player
makes a strokeat a wrongly substitutedball,he loses the hole in match
play or incurs a penalty of two strokes in stroke play under the
applicable Ruleand,in stroke play,must play out the hole with the
substitutedball.
Exception:If a player incurs a penalty for making a strokefrom a
wrong place,there is no additional penalty for substituting a ball when
not permitted.
(Playing from wrong place – see Rule 20-7)

15-3.Wrong Ball
a.Match Play

If a player makes a strokeat a wrong ball,he loses the hole.
If the wrong ballbelongs to another player,its owner must place a ball
on the spot from which the wrong ballwas first played.
If the player and opponent exchange balls during the play of a hole,the
first to make a strokeat a wrong ballloses the hole;when this cannot be
determined,the hole must be played out with the balls exchanged.
Exception:There is no penalty if a player makes a strokeat a wrong ball
that is moving in water in a waterhazard.Any strokesmade at a wrong
ball
moving in water in a waterhazarddo not count in the player’s score.
The player must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by
proceeding under the Rules.

76

52904_ROG_RULESGOLF_TXT.qxd 14/9/07 09:13 Page 76

Rule 15 / 16

77

b.Stroke Play

If a competitormakes a strokeor strokesat a wrongball,he incurs a
penalty of two strokes.

The competitormust correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or
by proceeding under the Rules.If he fails to correct his mistake before
making a strokeon the next teeinggroundor,in the case of the last
hole of the round,fails to declare his intention to correct his mistake
before leaving the puttinggreen,he is disqualified.

Strokesmade by a competitorwith a wrongballdo not count in his
score.If the wrongballbelongs to another competitor,its owner must
place a ball on the spot from which the wrong ball was first played.

Exception:There is no penalty if a competitormakes a strokeat a
wrongballthat is moving in water in a waterhazard.Any strokesmade
at a wrongballmoving in water in a waterhazarddo not count in the
competitor’sscore.

(Lie of ball to be placed or replaced altered – see Rule 20-3b)

(Spot not determinable – see Rule 20-3c)

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->