P. 1
Mindfulness of Breathing & Four Elements Meditation

Mindfulness of Breathing & Four Elements Meditation

|Views: 14|Likes:
Published by Animesh_Singh1

More info:

Published by: Animesh_Singh1 on Jan 07, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





7. Growth of materiality (upacaya)
(a) It has the characteristic of occurring at the begin-
ning of real materiality of one life.
(b) It is the cause of growth or completion of the
faculties. It causes the appropriate materiality to
reach sufficiency and to grow and increase.
8. Continuity of materiality (santati). It ensures the con-
tinuity of real materiality in a life after the faculties
have developed.

The Buddha taught the arising of materiality in the above two
ways by dividing it up into two time periods, one from concep-
tion till the full development of the faculties of eye, ear, etc., and
one after the full development of the faculties. These two types
of materiality are just the arising (upàdà) of real materiality.



9. Aging or maturing of real materiality (jaratà). It is the
stage of standing (ñhiti) of real materiality.
10. Impermanence of real materiality (aniccatà). It is the
stage of dissolution, disappearance (bhaïga) of real

The eighteen types of real materiality and the ten types of not-
real materiality give a total of twenty-eight kinds of materiality.
Of these twenty-eight types of materiality the earth, water, fire,
and air materiality are called elements (dhàtu), great elements
(mahà-dhàtu) or primary materiality (bhåta-råpa). The other
twenty-four kinds of materiality are called derived materiality
(upàdà-råpa) because they arise depending on the four great

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->