19th Century Timeline of Philippine History 1805 Nueva Vizcaya Revolt (1805) 1807 Ambaristo Revolt (1807) 1821

The Philippines becomes a province of Spain. 1837 Manila is made an open port. 1838 Florante at Laura is published. 1859 The Jesuits return to the Philippines. They are asked to take over the Escuela Municipal in Intramuros, which is now the Ateneo de Manila University. 1861 Jose Rizal, Philippines' National Hero is born. 1872 200 Filipino soldiers stage a mutiny in Cavite. Priests Mariano Gomez, José Apolonio Burgos, and Jacinto Zamora (together known as Gomburza) are implicated in the Cavite Mutiny and executed. 1882 In Madrid, Jose Rizal begins writing Noli Me Tangere(novel), a political novel set in the Philippines. 1887 Noli Me Tangere published. 1891 El Filibusterismo published. 1892 Jose Rizal establishes La Liga Filipina and is exiled to Dapitan. Andres Bonifacio establishes the Katipunan. 1896 Andres Bonifacio and warriors shouts for freedom in the Cry of Balintawak. Philippine Revolution begins. Andres Bonifacio establishes the Tagalog Republic. José Rizal is executed. Emilio Aguinaldo is elected president of a revolutionary government meant to replace the Katipunan/Tagalog Republic at the Tejeros Convention. 1897 Andres Bonifacio is executed. Aguinaldo establishes the Republic of Biak-na-Bato. Pact of Biak-na-Bato ends the Republic of Biak-na-Bato.

Emilio Aguinaldo declares independence. Emilio Aguinaldo issues a decree changing the character of his government from dictatorial to revolutionary. Treaty of Paris transfers control of the Philippines and other territories from Spain to the United States. Malolos Constitution establishes First Philippine Republic. Emilio Aguinaldo issues a decree formally establishing a dictatorial government. .1898 Emilio Aguinaldo issues a proclamation establishing a dictatorial government. Philippine-American War erupts between Filipino nationalists and American forces.

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful