You are on page 1of 1

bath sponge jellyfish

Classification of Animals
Unlike plants, animals cannot make their own food. They have to
eat other living things to survive. The animal kingdom can be sea
divided into vertebrates and invertebrates. Vertebrates are animals anemone
that have backbones, such as fish, reptiles, and mammals.
Invertebrates are animals that do not have backbones.

Vertebrates are all more closely related to each other than to other flatworm
animals, so they are a proper scientific grouping. However,
invertebrates are not a proper scientific grouping because the
different types of invertebrate are not closely related to each other.

Many animals have either no
liver fluke skeleton at all, or they have a
shell or some other hard
covering on the outside of
nematode their bodies. For example,
earthworms and jellyfish
have no skeleton at all, and
swallow crabs and insects have a shell
human or some other tough outer
covering, or external skeleton.
These animals, either with an
ostrich external skeleton or with no
skeleton at all, are called
invertebrates. Spiders, insects,
snake lugworm and worms are all
crocodile spider

snail earthworm

Some animals have a skeleton inside their catfish
bodies. Part of this skeleton is a backbone. sea urchin octopus
surgeon fish
These animals, with a backbone and internal
skeleton, are called vertebrates. The vertebrates crab butterfly
are broken down into five smaller groups, called
mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, and fish. shark

150 151