You are on page 1of 87

Are you ready!!

Mind-Blowing Lessons from the Cannes Lions 2012

2012 was a COLOSSAL year for the Cannes Lions!

The question used to be "Who's at Cannes and Why?"

The question this year was "Who's not at Cannes and Why?"

Agencies paid 14.8 million to submit their work

386 jury members were tasked with going through 34,000 entries!

More #CannesLions Tweets per hour this year than during the entire event last year Peaked @1000 tweets per hour!

Cannes Lions Seminars were all about...


....big ideas
...big thinking!

Thinking about...
The Changing Consumer

Fast-Evolving Technology

Transforming Ad Biz

Thinking that most likely you have not heard before...

...unless you were attending!

So here goes...

Earned Media has become bigger than Paid Media!

rules Yes...social media will rule all media already!

Why?

Social media usage is deeply rooted into peoples life

"Consumers today are smart, inventive & move faster than ever"
as marketers we need to embrace that!

2.4 billion millennials! The biggest generational cohort the world has ever seen & they're demanding awesomeness

Millennials aren't addicted to social media, they just use it to make their lives better

When the show Glee starts, Twitter usage increases 1000%

During the ENG vs. FRA match, there were 2.5 million tweets from 160 countries; 80% of the world!

London Olympic games will be the most Social games ever! 30% of US will watch the games on 3 screens

48% of people 18-34 check their Facebook the minute they wake up. What device do you think they are using?

Its not just PEOPLES behavior that is evolving! Technology is fast-evolving TOO!

80% of today's technology didn't exist ve years ago!

"Innovation is happening faster than a lot of people think."

There will be 650 million smart phones shipped this year. 118% growth year on year

PwC estimates 2.9 billion smartphones in 2016, 1 billion in China

1993 there were only 130 websites and 5 million internet users worldwide

The internet is expected to double in size every 3-5 years !

YouTube now has more content than ever broadcast on TV

All these changes are hitting the world of advertising...HARD!

The importance of Cyber Cannes Lions isn't so much about the medium but the possibility and the threat it presents to the industry

The word 'social' will eventually go away, social ads will just be ads, social experience just an experience!

Twitter is a front row seat to the world's emotions!

The old age of advertising was about selling

The new age is about sharing

We're moving from planning campaigns for the future to adapting campaigns to the moment

Planners should get away from seeing the changes to come and move to creating the change themselves!

Think outside the world of advertising, make it a part of the social fabric of life!

Kraft Food is putting social at the center of their communication strategy. TV is now a TEASER for social media

Therefore data is no longer a nice to have but a need to have!

Data enables us to create art & science, and gives us amazing ways to tell stories

Choice of visualization has a huge role in success or failure of your project.

In an era of information overload, right time is more important than real time, makes it relevant

Don't look for the commonalities in data. Look for abnormality. That's where the interesting nuggets lie.

Data provides insights and opportunities for creatives targeting consumers

Individual check-ins are not that interesting - aggregation of check-ins tells you the story of my life

What is interesting about social is the aggregation. Aggregation tells you the story of your life

The greatest thing about these social platforms is that we have focus groups every second of the day

The digital world is perfect for us, because it's always on!

All the data and technology means nothing in isolation!

Technology is no longer the marvel, it's what we do with it

Treat digital as an infrastructure & you will come up with solutions you have never seen before!

The new creative process: creative directors work with technology directors

Have a tech expert in room from day one!

Move from art & copy to art & code

Engagement >Consumption

Creativity based on social engagement isn't additional, nor functional. It's fundamental

Paul Adams principles for success #1: make social interaction part of every single project brief

We are now living in a world where the conversation can become the campaign

Close the loop with TV commercials by leveraging the power of second screen possibilities

Think less about campaigns and more about platforms

When the content is embedded in a conversation, it gets a lot more engaging!

Experiences that are shared by a few can engage millions by creating talk value.

There is no better way to engage with a consumer than relentlessly

at the centre of the social graph is great content

message to creatives: come talk to artists managers, they're the content creators!

big brands are looking for new ways to make music and movies

"The content has to be authentic and have pass-through value...it has to be rooted in the brand strategy"

content is king, distribution is queen

post and pray does not work with video content

To sum up...
Social media usage is deeply embedded in peoples life Technology is evolving faster than ever! Advertising business is being hit hard by these changes! Data is no longer a nice to have but a need to have! Move from art & copy to art & code Engagement > Consumption At the centre of the social graph is great content

Forget about the 4 Ps and adopt the 3 Cs, Curiosity, Culture, Courage

Cannes Lions Speakers quoted in this presentation are:


Lee Maicon - VP Insights & Planning - 360i Ren Rechtman - CEO - Goviral Joe Chen - Founder, Chairman, CEO - Renren Steve King - Chief Executive - Zenith Optimedia Amir Kassaei - Chief Creative Ofcer - DDB Worldwide Jim Stengel - CEO - Jim Stengel Co. - Former P&G Global Marketing Ofcer Linus Karlsson - Chairman and Chief Creative Ofcer - McCann NY and London Arianna Hufngton - President, Editor-in-Chief - The Hufngton Post Media Group Antonio Lucio - Global Chief Marketing, Strategy and CDC - Visa Dana Anderson - SVP, Marketing Strategy and Communications - Kraft Foods Joseph Tripod - EVP, Chief Marketing and Commercial Ofcer - The Coca-Cola Company

Cannes Lions Speakers quoted in this presentation are:


Paul Adams - Global Head of Brand Design - Facebook Maria Luisa Francoli Plaza - Global CEO - MPG Dan Greenberg - CEO - Sharethrough Mark Tutssel - Cheif Creative Ofcer - Leo Burnett Marcel Fenez - Global Leader, Entertainment & Media Practice - PwC Dick Costolo - Chief Executive Ofcer - Twitter Selena Gomez - Actress and Singer Marc Pritchard - Global Marketing & Brand Building Ofcer - P&G Ross Levinsohn - Interim CEO, Executive Vice-President, Head of Global Media - Yahoo! Maurice Levy - Chairman, CEO, Chairman of the Management Board - Publicis Groupe Rei Inamoto - Chief Creative Ofcer - AKQA

Cannes Lions attendees whos tweets made this presentation possible!


Brendan Burns - https://twitter.com/skin_macka WGSN - https://twitter.com/wgsn Louie Chow - https://twitter.com/louiechow

Izzy De Leon - https://twitter.com/h_totheizzo AdPeople Worldwide - https://twitter.com/adpeopleww Sacha Declomesnil - https://twitter.com/sdeclomesnil

Venables Bell - https://twitter.com/venablesbell Deborah Hall - https://twitter.com/web2mobile Social@Ogilvy - https://twitter.com/socialogilvy

Cannes Lions attendees whos tweets made this presentation possible!


Jason Xenopoulos - https://twitter.com/jasonxenopoulos Lynessa Williams - https://twitter.com/lynessamarie Ebuzzing - https://twitter.com/ebuzzinguk

Salim Majzoub - https://twitter.com/salimmajzoub Alison Phalen - https://twitter.com/aliphalen Brad - https://twitter.com/agencebrad

Cannes Lions (Ofcial Twitter Feed) - https://twitter.com/cannes_lions Barry Cunningham - https://twitter.com/barrycunningham Trendrr - https://twitter.com/trendrr

Cannes Lions attendees whos tweets made this presentation possible!


Tim Collison - https://twitter.com/timcollison Warc Editors - https://twitter.com/warceditors Havas Media - https://twitter.com/havasmedia

Marla Natoli - https://twitter.com/marlanatoli Thomas Jamet - https://twitter.com/tomnever Twitter Advertising - https://twitter.com/twitterads

Robin Hassan - https://twitter.com/robinkayh R/GA - https://twitter.com/rga Joono Simon - https://twitter.com/joonosimon

Cannes Lions attendees whos tweets made this presentation possible!


MPG Global Team - https://twitter.com/mpg_global Kirowski Isobar - https://twitter.com/kirowskiisobar Miron Mironiuk - https://twitter.com/mironmironiuk

Dan Dutesco - https://twitter.com/dandutesco Digitas - https://twitter.com/digitas DDB Paris - https://twitter.com/ddbparis Gowthaman - https://twitter.com/gowthamanr

H+K Strategies - https://twitter.com/hkstrategies Thomas Crampton - https://twitter.com/thomascrampton Debbie Passaris - https://twitter.com/dpassaris

Cannes Lions attendees whos tweets made this presentation possible!


Johannes Kleske - https://twitter.com/jkleske Stefan Erschwendner - https://twitter.com/eranium ! / Mavs - https://twitter.com/jaymavs

Craig Corica - https://twitter.com/ccorica Rei Inamoto - https://twitter.com/reiinamoto Daria - https://twitter.com/daria Rene Rechtman - https://twitter.com/rechtmanlondon

Christina Fieni - https://twitter.com/christinaeni Burcu - https://twitter.com/bkolancali Alemsah Ozturk - https://twitter.com/alemsah

This presentation was made by:

Syed Abdul Karim


Lets connect: Twitter: @abdulkarim LinkedIn: www.linked.com/abdulkarim Blog: incito.syedabdulkarim.com Web: www.syedabdulkarim.com SlideShare: www.slideshare.net/akarim76