Iifa award(International Indian Film Academy Awards

The International Indian Film Academy Awards, also known as the IIFA Awards are presented annually by the International Indian Film Academy to honour both artistic and technical excellence of professionals in Bollywood, the Hindi language film industry

History of iifa
The first awards were presented in 2000 at The Millennium Dome in London, United Kingdom. From then on the awards were held at locations around the world signifying the international success of Bollywood. Since 2000 the event has expanded from one-night event to a three-days celebration, hosting various events and activities relating to the Indian film industry. The award ceremonies are held in various places around the world:

CIBC Plans Multiple Events In Run Up To IIFA Awards
Toronto: A weekend celebrating Indian cinema featuring top-ranked Indian musicians and dancers; ten outdoor movie screenings of 2011 IIFA-nominated films; free tickets to the June 25 awards show; the public finale of CIBC’s Bollywood Moves dance contest; and free trips to India highlight CIBC’s International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) festivities in June.

IIFA Best Choreography
An Indian film is always considered incomplete without a blend of good music and dance. It is an art to plan dance routines for songs in the movies. The IIFA best choreography award is one of the sub-categories of technical awards. The winner of the award is chosen by viewers of Hindi cinema worldwide. The award was introduced in the year 2008 and it was first presented to Vaibhavi Merchant for the film

Given below is the list of choreographers who were named in this award category.‘Aaja Nachle’. She has done choreography for over 100 films till date. Gonsalves Farah Khan Vaibhavi Merchant Film Caesar Love Aaj Kal Dostana Aaja Nachle Popular awards • Best Movie • Best Director • Best Actor • Best Actress . Hiralal. She is a well-known dance choreographer in the Bollywood and also the proud granddaughter of pioneering choreographer Shri B. Samsung International Indian Film Academy Winners For Best Choreography Award Were Year 2010 2009 2008 Winner Bosco Martis.

• Best Supporting Actor • Best Supporting Actress • Best Performance in a Negative Role • Best Performance in a Comic Role • Star Debut of the Year – Male • Star Debut of the Year – Female • Best Music Director • Best Lyricist • Best Playback Singer Male • Best Playback Singer Female Special awards • Style Icon • Style Diva • Most Glamorous Star of the Yewr • Best On-Screen Beauty • Contribution to a Greener Earth • Face of the Year • Special Award for Global Impact • Outstanding Contribution to Indian cinema • Outstanding Achievement in Indian cinema .

• Outstanding Achievement by an Indian in • International Cinema Artists of the Decade Technical awards • Best Art Direction • Best Action • Best Background Score • Best Cinematography • Best Choreography • Best Costume Design • Best Dialogue • Best Editing • Best Makeup • Best Screenplay • Best Sound Recording • Best Sound Re-Recording • Best Special Effects • Best Story IIFA Award for Best Actor The IIFA Best Actor award is given annually by the International Indian Film Academy. The recipient .

IIFA Award for Best Actress The IIFA Best Actress Award is chosen by the viewers and the winner is announced at the actual ceremony. leading with three consecutive wins.The Dirty Picture as Reshma/Silk Kangna Ranaut . 2012 Vidya Balan .is chosen by viewers and the winner is announced at the ceremony.7 Khoon Maaf as Susanna Anna-Marie Johannes IIFA Award for Best Movie IIFA Award for Best Movie . The most wins are by Rani Mukerji. With four awards.Saheb Biwi aur Gangster as Madhavi Priyanka Chopra .Tanu Weds Manu as Tanuja Trivdei (Tanu) Kareena Kapooor – Bodyguard as Divya Mahie Gill . Shahrukh Khan and Hrithik Roshan share the record for most wins in this category.

Pyaar Hai Lagaan Priyanka Chopra Kabir Bedi Lara Dutta Super Bowl Arena Sun City Genting Highlands Arena of Stars . 2001 April 6. Ceremony 1st IIFA Awards 2nd IIFA Awards 3rd IIFA Awards Date Best Picture winner Host(s) Venue Millennium Dome City London June 24.com The IIFA Best Movie Award is chosen via a worldwide poll and the winner is announced at the ceremony.. Awarded for------Best Movie of the Year  Presented by -----International Indian Film Academy  Country--------India    First awarded-------2000 (for films released in 1999) Currently held by--------Dabangg (2010) Official website-------iifa.. Hum Dil De Yukta Mookhey 2000 Chuke Sanam Anupam Kher June 16. AWARDS CEREMONIES The following is a listing of all International Indian Film Academy Awards ceremonies since since 2000. 2002 Kaho Naa.

Yorkshire. Macau and Colombo. 2005 June 17. IIFA celebrated a decade of International Indian Film Academy magic in Macau. Malaysia. 2011 Siam Paragon Bangkok The Venetian Macao Macau 3 Idiots Sugathadasa Stadium Colombo[3] Dabangg Rogers Centre Toronto[6] 13th IIFA Awards Shahid Kapoor Farhan Akhtar June 9. Zindagi Na Ayushmann Khurrana 2012 Milegi Dobara Chitrangada Singh Singapore Indoor Stadium Singapore[7][8] IIFA spreads the magic of Indian cinema to various exotic locales around the world. Chak De! India 2008 June 13. The events have marched to London. The IIFA award ceremony promises grand. Jodhaa Akbar 2009 June 5.Ceremony 4th IIFA Awards 5th IIFA Awards 6th IIFA Awards 7th IIFA Awards 8th IIFA Awards 9th IIFA Awards 10th IIFA Awards 11th IIFA Awards 12th IIFA Awards Date May 17. Johannesburg. Bangkok. Kal Ho Naa Ho Rahul Khanna 2004 June 11. 2006 June 9. Singapore. Amsterdam. Sun City. 2007 Veer-Zaara Shahrukh Khan Fardeen Khan Karan Johar Fardeen Khan Lara Dutta Boman Irani Lara Dutta Boman Irani Ritesh Deshmukh Boman Irani Ritesh Deshmukh Boman Irani Ritesh Deshmukh Boman Irani Ritesh Deshmukh Amsterdam Black Rang De Basanti Dubai Sheffield June 8. . 2003 Best Picture winner Devdas Host(s) Anil Kapoor Dia Mirza Venue Coca-Cola Dome Singapore Indoor Stadium Amsterdam Arena Dubai International Convention Centre Hallam FM Arena City Johannesburg Singapore May 22. Dubai. fun-filled activities and action-packed event. 2010 June 25.

.The awards are given out to the artist in order to honor their best and outstanding talent which propelled Indian Cinema to reach glorious pinnacles.

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful