You are on page 1of 3

Catalyst Complaint Cover Page

401079

Complaint
Number 401079 Date 1/17/2012 Status Assignee Actual Savings Amount Disputed Estimated Savings Closed Bouwman, Jeanette $0.00 $0.00 $0.00

Location Bellingham - Consumer Protection Division NAICS 541920-Photographic Services

Complainant
Name James Conachen PO Box 3248 Sequim, WA 98382 Phone Day (350) 516-7740 Phone Evening Email conachenuavs@gmail.com

Respondent(s)
Name Getty Images 605 5th Ave S Ste 400 Seattle, WA 98104 Contact Phone (206) 925-6753 Toll Free Email copyright.complian ce@gettyimages.co m

Referral(s)
Name Contact Phone Contact Phone Email

Practice(s)
Code 023 316 Practice Scare Tactics Billing Issues

Activities
Date Added 1/23/2012 1/23/2012 1/27/2012 Activity Type Email to Respondent Email to Complainant Email from Respondent Activity R First Letter to Respondent To: copyright.compliance@gettyimages.com C First Letter to Consumer To: conachenuavs@gmail.com

401079

1 of 2

RK-00459 PRR-2012-00283

Catalyst Report
Complaint Description
Description I received a demand letter from Getty Images of Seattle wanting me to give them money for an image on my website. Getty claims they own the rights to this image. The image is of an F16 pilot sitting in an airborne F16. I immediately removed the image from my website and called Intuit Web Service (Intuit.com). This image was included in the website template provided by Intuit website services. Intuit claim they own the image and would handle the matter. I again received another demand letter from getty Images. I Google getty Images and found they have been sending out threatening letters all over the country. I believe this company is involved in a fraudulent scam. I personally do not believe they own the image that was taken by a military camera, on a military aircraft, by an US pilot. Please look into this problem. Best regards Jim Conachen Conachen Aviation Expected resolution details: Face criminal charges, Cease and desist

RK-00461 PRR-2012-00283

AdaS

1/27/2012

: Copyright Compliance [mailto:Copyright.Compliance@gettyimages.com] Sent: Friday, January 27, 2012 10:59 AM To: ATG MI Bellingham CRC Subject: RE: 401079 : A notice from the Washington State Attorney General'sOffice-James Conachen

605 Fifth Avenue South, Suite 400, Seattle, Washington 98104 Tel 206 925 5000 Fax 206 925 5001 www.gettyimages.com

January 27, 2012 Via e-mail to BelCRC@atg.wa.gov Jeanette Bouwman Complaint Analyst Attorney General of Washington Consumer Protection Division 103 East Holly Street, Suite 308 Bellingham, WA 98225-4310 Tel: (360) 738-6187 Re: James Conachen Your File Number: 401079 Our Case Number: 1140042 Dear Ms. Bouwman: We are in receipt of the complaint filed by James Conachen that you forwarded to us on January 23, 2012. Getty Images has acted appropriately and in good faith in pursuing the unauthorized use of our intellectual property. We are pleased to report that the matter has been resolved and we have closed the case against Mr. Conachen and his business. Should you require any additional information about this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us. Regards, Getty Images - Copyright Compliance
401079

RK-00468 PRR-2012-00283