Topical Outline - Megan

Mondays: 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm in Room # 491F Wednesdays: 9:00 am to 12:00 pm in Room # 560E Week
1

2

Dates Topic / Task Monday 3 Sept. 2012 Wednesday 5 Introduction - course outline & Sept. 2012 expectations Mon. 10 Sept. ASL Discourse Features 2012
Wed. 12 Sept. 2012 Analysis of ASL Discourses

Outcome(s)
Labour Day 1, 2, 3, 4

Content / Activities

Resources

Course outline Analysis of various sample Presentations /Vlogs ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #1 Due Analysis of various sample Presentations /Vlogs ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #2 Due Samples and practice ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #3 Due Presentation #1 topics and teams Due Samples and practice ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #4 Due Samples and practice ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #5 Due Persuasive Presentation #1 Notes Due Samples and practice ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #6 Due Samples and practice ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #7 Due Samples and practice ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #8 Due Thanksgiving Day Interpreted Persuasive Presentation #1 Due Samples and practice

Vlogs, ppt and handouts Vlogs, ppt and handouts Vlogs, ppt and handouts Vlogs, ppt and handouts Vlogs, ppt and handouts Vlogs, ppt and handouts Vlogs, ppt and handouts Vlogs, ppt and handouts

2, 3, 4

3

Mon. 17 Sept. English – ASL Interpreted 2012 Presentations (Mind Maps) English – ASL Interpreted Presentations (Sample Persuasive Presentations) Mon. 24 Sept. English – ASL Interpreted 2012 Presentations (William Hoy) Wed. 19 Sept. 2012 Wed. 26 Sept. 2012 Mon. 1 Oct. 2012 Wed. 3 Oct. 2012 Mon. 8 Oct. 2012 Wed. 10 Oct. 2012 Mon. 15 Oct. English – ASL Interpreted Presentations (ASL Expansions) English – ASL Interpreted Presentations (Comparison & Contrast) English – ASL Interpreted Presentations (1 on 1) 2, 3, 4

4

2, 3, 4

5

2, 3, 4

6

Interpreted Persuasive Presentations Feedback

2, 3, 4

7

Vlogs, ppt and

COURSE NAME: ASL DISCOURSE I COURSE CODE: SIGN 3008

PAGE: 1

2012 Wed. 17 Oct. 2012

Introduction to Informative Presentations Introduction to Informative Presentations

8 9 10 11 12 13

ROM vocab. and contexts ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #9 Due 2, 3, 4 ROM vocab. and contexts ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #10 Due Presentation # 2 topics and teams due INTERSESSION WEEK

handouts Vlogs, ppt and handouts

BLOCK PLACEMENT BLOCK PLACEMENT BLOCK PLACEMENT BLOCK PLACEMENT
Mon. 26 Nov. 2012 Review 2, 3, 4 Review and practice ROM vocab. and contexts ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #11 Due Informative/Chronological Presentation #2 Notes Due Review and practice ROM vocab. and contexts ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #12 Due Samples and practice ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #13 Due Samples and practice ASL Vocab Expansion/Fairytale #14 Due Interpreted Informative / Chronological Presentation #2 Due Interpreted Informative / Chronological Presentation #2 Due

Vlogs, ppt and handouts

Wed. 28 Nov. 2012

Review

Vlogs, ppt and handouts Vlogs, ppt and handouts Vlogs, ppt and handouts
ROM

14

Mon. 3 Dec. 2012 Wed. 5 Dec. 2012

English – ASL Interpreted Presentations (Idioms & Quotes) English – ASL Interpreted Presentations (1 on 1) Interpreted Informative / Chronological Presentations at ROM Interpreted Informative / Chronological Presentations at ROM 2, 3, 4

15

Mon. 10 Dec. 2012 Wed. 12 Dec. 2012

2, 3, 4

ROM

Please note: this schedule may change as resources and circumstances require. For information on withdrawing from this course without academic penalty, please refer to the College Academic Calendar: http://www.georgebrown.ca/Admin/Registr/PSCal.aspx

COURSE NAME: ASL DISCOURSE I COURSE CODE: SIGN 3008

PAGE: 2

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful