Coalition Cabinet Shuffle The Parliamentary Information Office is, with constitutional pundits generally, following closely the reaction

to the Prime Minister’s first Cabinet shuffle since the General Election in 2010. David Cameron has shuffled his cabinet, making thirteen changes in total and raising much speculation about a shift of his government to the right leaving the Lib Dems and the coalition weakened over policies such as crime, the environment, Heathrow airport and business-friendly policies. Downing Street itself announced that the shuffle, which would be the only major change made to the Cabinet before the 2015 election, is an attempt to promote ministers capable of delivering on policies already announced. At Prime Minister’s questions today Mr Cameron said, in response to a question by the Leader of the Opposition “Let me explain what this reshuffle is all about. It is not that there are two economic Departments in our country, the Treasury and Business; I want every single Department to be about the economy. I want the transport department building roads; I want the communities department building houses; I want the culture department rolling out broadband; and I want the agriculture department backing British food. This is a Government who mean business, and we have got the team to deliver it.” In a symbol of the commitment to delivery, Mr Cameron has appointed LOCOG chief executive, Paul Deighton, as Treasury minister based in the Lords to deliver infrastructure. Although No 10 said the shuffle did not mean any change in coalition policy, his appointments have caused much speculation to the contrary. Justine Greening, a fierce opponent of a third runway at Heathrow, along with Theresa Villiers, another opponent, have been moved from Transport. Andrew Lansley, the Health Secretary has been demoted following his handling of health reforms to be replaced by a surprise appointment in Jeremy Hunt. Chris Grayling’s appointment as Justice Secretary in place of Ken Clarke is seen by many as a move to the right on sentencing, legal aid and the Human Rights Act. Only three Ministers have been moved entirely from Government … Caroline Spelman from Environment; Cheryl Gillan from the Wales Office and Sir George Young as Leader of the House. The full Cabinet list is shown below: Rt Hon David Cameron MP (Con) Prime Minister, First Lord of the Treasury and Minister for the Civil Service Rt Hon Nick Clegg MP (LD) Deputy Prime Minister, Lord President of the Council Rt Hon George Osborne MP (Con) Chancellor of the Exchequer Rt Hon William Hague MP (Con) First Secretary of State, Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP (Con) Lord Chancellor, Secretary of State for Justice Rt Hon Theresa May MP (Con) Secretary of State for the Home Department Rt Hon Philip Hammond MP (Con) Secretary of State for Defence

Rt Hon Dr Vincent Cable MP (LD) Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP (Con) Secretary of State for Work and Pensions Rt Hon Edward Davey MP (LD) Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP (Con) Secretary of State for Health Rt Hon Michael Gove MP (Con) Secretary of State for Education Rt Hon Eric Pickles MP (Con) Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government Rt Hon Patrick McLoughlin MP (Con) Secretary of State for Transport Rt Hon Owen Paterson MP (Con) Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Rt Hon Justine Greening MP (Con) Secretary of State for International Development Rt Hon Theresa Villiers MP (Con) Secretary of State for Northern Ireland Rt Hon Michael Moore MP (LD) Secretary of State for Scotland (and provides ministerial support to the Deputy Prime Minister in the Cabinet Office) Rt Hon David Jones MP (Con) Secretary of State for Wales Rt Hon Maria Miller MP (Con) Secretary of State for Culture, Media and

Sport and Minister for Women and Equalities Rt Hon Danny Alexander MP (LD) Chief Secretary to the Treasury Rt Hon Lord Strathclyde (Con) Leader of the House of Lords, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP (Con) Minister without Portfolio (Minister of State) Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke QC, MP (Con) Minister without Portfolio, Cabinet Office Also attending Cabinet meetings Rt Hon Francis Maude MP (Con) Minister for the Cabinet Office, Paymaster General Rt Hon Oliver Letwin MP (Con) Minister of State — Cabinet Office (providing policy advice to the Prime Minister in the Cabinet Office) Rt Hon David Willetts MP (Con) Minister of State (Universities and Science) — Department for Business, Innovation and Skills Rt Hon Andrew Lansley MP (Con) Leader of the House of Commons, Lord Privy Seal Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP (Con) Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Chief Whip Also invited to attend Cabinet meetings when required Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC, MP (Con) Attorney-General

The Parliamentary Information Office will watch developments with considerable interest and continue to report on this and other constitutional issues. Web: Email: 5th September 2012