WARHAMMER 40,000 CODEX

:

CHAOS DAEMONS
Official Update for 6th Edition, Version 1.1
§§§Although we strive to ensure that our codexes are perfect, sometimes mistakes do creep in. In addition, we occasionally print new versions of our rules, which require amendments to be made in older versions of our codexes. When such issues arise, we feel that it is important to deal with them as promptly as we can, and we therefore produce regular updates for all of our codexes. When changes are made, the version number will be updated, and any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in Magenta. Where a version number has a letter, E.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction. Each update is split into three sections: Errata, Amendments, and ‘Frequently Asked Questions’. The Errata corrects any mistakes in the codex, while the Amendments bring the codex up to date with the latest version of the rules. The Frequently Asked Questions (or ‘FAQ’) section answers commonly asked questions about the rules. Although you can mark corrections directly in your codex, this is by no means necessary – just keep a copy of the update with your codex. White Dwarf, August 2012, Chaos Daemons Official Update, Page 2 – Seeker Chariots of Slaanesh, Special Rules, Exalted Alluress. Add ‘Fleet’ to the Exalted Alluress’ special rules. White Dwarf, August 2012, Chaos Daemons Official Update, Page 3 – Hellflayers of Slaanesh, Profile, Hellflayer. Change the Hellflayer’s BS to 4. White Dwarf, August 2012, Chaos Daemons Official Update, Page 3 – Hellflayers of Slaanesh, Special Rules, Hellflayer. Add ‘Fleet’ to the Hellflayer’s special rules. White Dwarf, August 2012, Chaos Daemons Official Update, Page 3 – Hellflayers of Slaanesh, Designer’s Note. Change the Designer’s Note to read “An Exalted Alluress cannot disembark from a Hellflayer. When a Hellflayer is destroyed, the Exalted Alluress is also removed from play.” Page 27 – Fear. Add the following army special rule to the Daemonic Forces page: “Every model in the Codex: Chaos Daemons army list (including Chaos Spawn) has the Fear special rule (see the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook).” Page 27 – Daemonic Assault. Change the second paragraph to read: “No model in a detachment chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons is ever placed on the battlefield during deployment. Instead, all of the units from this detachment always start the game in reserve. You must declare if any models with the Independent Character special rule are on their own, counting as a separate unit in reserve, or if they are joining a unit, in which case they and their unit are a single unit in reserve. The enemy deploys as normal, as do any units in your army not belonging to the detachment chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons.” The first sentence of the third paragraph should be changed to “At the beginning of your first turn, divide each detachment chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons into two groups that must include, as much as possible, the same number of units.”

AMENDMENTS
Note that this is an older Codex, written for a previous edition of the rules. You will therefore need to consult the Reference section of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook for an up to date list of Unit Types and Vehicle Hull Points. You’ll also find that some of the weapons in this Codex are written out longhand, rather than using the weapon profile format in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook. Don’t worry – these are functionally identical, unless noted otherwise in this document. Two Toughness Values Where a model has two Toughness values presented on its profile, one of which is presented in brackets, always use the bracketed value. Ignore the other value entirely.

1

WARHAMMER 40,000: CHAOS DAEMONS

Q: If a detachment is chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons and is allied with a detachment chosen from another codex. Page 38 – Beasts of Nurgle. WARHAMMER 40. third and fourth sentences with the following profile: Range S User AP 3 Type Melee. allied independent characters may never join units chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons”. Replace this entry with: “Models with this gift do not suffer the penalties for charging enemies through cover. Page 45 – Soul Grinders. Soul Devourer Soul Devour: If a model suffers any unsaved Wounds from the Daemon’s close combat Attacks. Invulnerable and Cover saves. regardless of how many times she hits the unit. Oracle of Eternity.000 rulebook)”. Change the second sentence to read: “A model with rending claws counts as being equipped with two close combat weapons that have the Rending special rule (the bonus Attack is always included in the Daemon’s profile)”. Page 73 – Daemonic Gifts. The second paragraph should be changed to: “Independent characters in this list cannot join units of Daemons belonging to a different Chaos God.Page 27 – Daemonic Rivalry. or are purchased as a primary detachment that then has an allied detachment added to it. Page 75 – Cloud of Flies.” Page 73 – Boon of Mutation. Soul Devourer. do they still deploy by Daemonic Assault? (p27) A: Yes. units of Furies of Chaos. it does not roll for scatter. do you roll one dice for each hit and pick the highest when working out how far she can move the unit? (p51) A: No. but instead fight at their normal Initiative in the ensuing combat. the player may force one model in base contact with the Daemon to lose an Attack in close combat”. Ignore the last sentence of the third paragraph (regarding victory points) altogether. Leave the text in brackets for the Daemon special rule as it is but add “…and have the Fear special rule”. The result is the number of Attacks (before modifiers) that all Beasts of Nurgle in that unit have this turn. Fateweaver and all friendly units chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons within 6" reroll all failed Armour. you still only roll one dice to see how far they move. Daemonic Flight.” Page 74 – Gifts of Tzeentch. provided that the icon was on the table from the beginning of the turn and has not arrived from Reserve in the same turn. Soul Devour Page 74 – Hellblades. These Attacks have the Poisoned (4+) special rule”. Page 75 – Transfixing Gaze. Change the second paragraph to read “When a friendly unit chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons Deep Strikes within 6" of an Icon of Chaos. In addition enemy units do not gain their bonus Attacks for charging a unit including one or more models with this gift”. Replace the second sentence with: “Models with this gift do not suffer the penalties for charging enemies through cover. the model cannot use another model’s Ld for the test). If any of these tests are failed. Q: If The Masque targets a unit with multiple Pavane of Slaanesh attacks. after failing to come back. the victim suffers Instant Death. after challenges have been issued and accepted or declined. do the models from the detachment that was not chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons now deploy by Daemonic Assault? (p27) A: No. roll a D6 for each friendly Beast of Nurgle unit that is locked in combat. Replace this entry with “Monstrous Creatures with Daemonic Flight are Flying Monstrous Creatures”. it must immediately take a Leadership test for each Wound suffered (on its own Leadership value. Change the second sentence to read “Hellblades follow the rules for power swords (see the Warhammer 40. Page 49 – Fateweaver. or any allied units. Page 75 – Aura of Acquiescense.000: CHAOS DAEMONS 2 . but instead fight at their normal Initiative in the ensuing combat. FAQs Q: If Chaos Daemons are taken as allies. Change the effects of Random Poisoned Attacks to read: “At the beginning of each Fight sub-phase. Page 75 – Rending Claws. In addition enemy units do not gain their bonus Attacks for charging a unit including one or more models with this gift”. Replace the second. Change the first sentence to read “Because of the incredible prescience of the Oracle of Tzeentch. Page 73 – Daemonic Gifts. Change the second sentence to read: “At the beginning of the Fight sub-phase. Q: When do models with an ability that can bring them back after they loose their last Wound count towards The Tally of Pestilence? (p52) A: Only once they are finally removed from the game. Chaos Icon. Equally.

Q: If there isn’t space on the board to place the Chaos Spawn created by Boon of Mutation. that is indeed the case. When The Tally of Pestilence reaches 20+ casualties the rules say that ‘All attacks from followers of Nurgle ignore armour saves’. roll a dice. Q: Does Aura of Decay require line of sight? (p75) A: Yes. then roll the ‘Watch This!’ test and then proceed with using both powers at the same time? (p53) A. Q: If Glamour of Tzeentch is used to cast Blood Lance or Jaws of the World Wolf. Q: Can Glamour of Tzeentch make a psyker with witchfire/psychic shooting attacks use them? (p54) A: Yes. No.’ Were the Blue Scribes intended to be able to fully resolve one ranged attack before resolving their second ranged attack. all To Hit dice are rolled at the same time etc. If targeting the same enemy. Was this intended to affect both ranged and close combat attacks by the followers of Nurgle. Yes.’ Was this intended to affect EVERY enemy unit that fires within 24" of the Changeling or was it supposed to be limited to only one enemy unit per Shooting phase? (p54) A. first declare which ranged attacks you are using and against which unit (or units) and then proceed to resolve them.Q. The Changeling’s Glamour of Tzeentch says: ‘Pick any enemy unit that is visible to the Changeling and is about to fire. Both ranged and close combat attacks. the word ‘poisoned’ has been left out on purpose. The second! When resolving the ranged attacks of the Scribes. does the Changeling’s controlling player get to choose which are fired? (p54) A: Yes. Just one unit. as this goes against the normal rules for a unit firing multiple ranged attacks (normally all targets are declared at the same time. The Scribes might of course ‘accidentally’ end up using the same power twice rather than the two you intended (either against the same target or two different targets). Last updated 24th July 2012 . just like the firing of any unit with different weapons. then yes. Q: Can Glamour of Tzeentch be used to fire weapons that do not have a choice of who they target. use Pavane of Slaanesh to move the target unit into range of its other ranged weapon? (p75) A: No. then the Chaos Icon only affects the specific units referred to in its description. Are a Chaos Spawn’s Attacks poisoned like those of a Beast of Nurgle? (p73) A. as it does not need line of sight? (p73) A: No. Q: If models in a unit that is the target of Glamour of Tzeentch have multiple different weapons. the two ranged attacks are resolved at the same time. in these circumstances they are still fired. Both attacks are resolved simultaneously so all hits will be worked out first before the unit is moved.000: CHAOS DAEMONS Q: If Chaos Daemons are allied to Chaos Space Marines. If it is not possible to make enough space on the board the enemy target is still removed as a casualty but no Chaos Spawn model is placed. or indeed any model with the Master of Sorcery and We are Legion gift. Q.)? Or are players just supposed to pick one power and then pick another power. Q. do they roll for scatter if Deep Striking within 6" of a Chaos Icon carried by a Chaos Space Marine model? (p73) A: If the wording on the Chaos Icon’s description refers to ‘all friendly units’. 3 WARHAMMER 40. Q: Can a model with Pavane of Slaanesh. If not. Q: Can Boon of Mutation target a model that is embarked in a vehicle. what happens? (p73) A: Move the models that are in the way the minimum distance required to make enough space. or weapon firing modes. Q. such as Aura of Decay? (p54) A: Yes. The Blue Scribes’ ‘Watch This!’ power says: ‘In their Shooting phase. just without the Changeling’s controlling player getting to choose their target. Whilst it does not need line of sight to its target you must still pick a model physically on the board as its target. but this will still be resolved simultaneously. and another ranged weapon. must the first model hit by these psychic shooting attacks be in the unit targeted by the glamoured unit? (p54) A: Yes. that is able to use them both in the same turn. Q: Does the use of Aura of Decay limit what enemy units the rest of the unit can shoot and assault for that turn? (p75) A: No. before using their second ranged attack. as the text seems to indicate? (p52) A.