You are on page 1of 1

Europe Language policy EU has 23 official languages.

EU works in all 23 languages to keep its citizens informed about what the EU is doing in their name. EUs language policy aims at giving its citizens access to EU law in a language they can understand

The EUs founding treaty states that EU citizens have the right to communicate with the EU institutions in the official language of their choice, and to receive a reply in the same language. Documents which a Member State or a person subject to the jurisdiction of a Member State sends to institutions of the EU may be drafted in any one of the official languages selected by the sender. Documents which an institution of the EU sends to a Member State or to a person subject to the jurisdiction of a Member State shall be drafted in the language of such State. Regulations and other documents of general application shall be drafted in the official languages. The council of intellectuals was formed to study, discuss and give out suggestions on how to preserve and celebrate the linguistic diversity Promote measures aimed at helping both children and adults with a migrant or Roma background to learn the official language (or languages) of the host country and, if different, the language of instruction.

Indias language policy India accords official language status to just Hindi and English. (English was retained due to pressure put by non Hindi states). Indian government drafts and communicates its policies in Hindi and English only. Non Hindi languages are not used to communicate policy decisions. Legal systems dont talk in peoples language in India. At high court and above levels, only English is allowed in India. Kannada cant be made a language of high court as such an order is against the constitution! In India states cannot use their official language to communicate with the federal government.

A member state or a person subject to the jurisdiction of a member state cannot send documents drafted in his language unless his language is English or Hindi. Documents sent by the Central government to a member state or to a person subject to the jurisdiction of a Member State are drafted in either English or Hindi. Only in Hindi and English

A parliamentary committee was setup to increase usage of Hindi throughout India giving fatal blow to Indias linguistic diversity. Indian government promotes Hindi in the name of national language and doesnt encourage migrants to learn official language of the state where they are migrating.