You are on page 1of 4


Nehalem microarchitecture:- With the release of the Nehalem microarchitecture in November 2008, Nehalem the codename for an Intel processor microarchitecture, successor to the Core microarchitecture. Nehalem processors use the 45 nm process. A preview system with two Nehalem processors was shown at Intel Developer Forum in 2007. The first processor released with the Nehalem architecture was the desktop Core i7, which was released in November 2008., Intel introduced a new naming scheme for its Core processors. There are three variants, Core i3, Core i5, and Core i7, but the names no longer correspond to specific technical features like the number of cores. Instead, the brand is now divided from low-level (i3), through mid-range (i5) to high-end performance (i7), Rating
[16] [15] [3] [14] [2]

which correspond to three to five stars in Intel's Intel Processor

as opposed to the entry-level Celeron (one star) and Pentium (two stars) processors

, all these processors have 256 KB L2 cache per core, plus up to 12 MB shared level 3 cache. Because of the new I/O interconnect, chipsets and mainboards from previous generations can no longer be used with Nehalem based processors Sandy Bridge microarchitecture:- In early 2011, a new microarchitecture named Sandy Bridge microarchitecture was introduced by, which keeps all the existing brands from Nehalem including Core i3/i5/i7, but introduces new model numbers. Sandy Bridge is the codename for a microarchitecture developed by Intel beginning in 2005 for central processing units in computers to replace the Nehalem microarchitecture. Intel demonstrated a Sandy Bridge processor in 2009, and released first products based on the architecture in January 2011 under the Corebrand. ] The initial set of Sandy Bridge processors includes dual- and quad-core variants, all of which use a single 32 nm die for both the CPU and integrated GPU cores, unlike the earlier microarchitectures. All Core i3/i5/i7 processors with the Sandy Bridge microarchitecture have a four-digit model number. With the mobile version, the thermal design power can no longer be determined from a one- or two-letter suffix but is encoded into the CPU number.

Desktop Brand Code-named Cores Fab Date released


Code-named Cores


Date released

Core i3

Clarkdale Sandy Bridge Ivy Bridge

2 32 nm 2 32 nm 2 22 nm

January 2010 Arrandale February 2011 Sandy Bridge Q3 2012 Ivy Bridge

2 32 nm 2 32 nm 2 22 nm

January 2010 February 2011 June 2012

Core i5

Lynnfield Clarkdale Sandy Bridge Sandy Bridge Ivy Bridge Ivy Bridge

4 2 4 2 4 2

45 nm September 2009 32 nm January 2010 Arrandale 32 nm January 2011 Sandy Bridge 32 nm February 2011 Ivy Bridge 22 nm April 2012 22 nm April 2012

2 32 nm 2 32 nm 2 22 nm

January 2010 February 2011 May 2012

Core i7

Bloomfield Lynnfield Gulftown

4 45 nm November 2008 Clarksfield 4 45 nm September 2009 Arrandale 6 32 nm July 2010 Sandy Bridge

4 45 nm September 2009 2 32 nm January 2010 4 32 nm January 2011

Sandy Bridge Ivy Bridge

4 32 nm 4 22 nm

January 2011 Sandy Bridge April 2012 Ivy Bridge

2 32 nm 2 22 nm

February 2011 May 2012

Core i7 Extreme Edition

Bloomfield Gulftown Sandy Bridge-E

4 45 nm November 2008 Clarksfield 6 32 nm March 2010 Sandy Bridge 6 32 nm November 2011 Ivy Bridge

4 45 nm September 2009 4 32 nm January 2011 4 22 nm May 2012

Core i3:
The first Core i3 processors were launched on January 7, 2010.[20] The first Nehalem based Core i3 was Clarkdale-based, with an integrated GPU (A graphics processing unit (GPU), also occasionally called visual processing unit (VPU), is a specialized electronic circuit designed to rapidly manipulate and alter memory to accelerate the building of images in a frame buffer intended for output to a display. ) and two cores.[21] The same processor is also available as Core i5 and Pentium, with slightly different configurations. The Core i3-3xxM processors are based on Arrandale, the mobile version of the Clarkdale desktop processor. They are similar to the Core i5-4xx series but running at lower clock speeds and without Turbo Boost.[22] According to an Intel FAQ they do not support Error Correction Code (ECC) memory(Error-correcting code memory (ECC memory) is a type of computer data storage that can detect and correct the more common kinds of internal data corruption. ECC memory is used in most computers [24] where data corruption cannot be tolerated under any circumstances,) When asked, Intel confirmed that, although the Intel 5 series chipset supports non-ECC memory only with the Core i5 or i3 processors, using those processors on a motherboard with 3400 series chipsets it will support the ECC function of ECC memory

Core i5:
The Core i5-5xx mobile processors are named Arrandale and based on the 32 nm Westmere shrink of the Nehalem microarchitecture. Arrandale processors have integrated graphics capability but only two processor cores. They were released in January 2010, together with Core i7-6xx and Core i3-3xx processors based on the same chip. The L3 cache in Core i5-5xx processors is reduced to 3 MB, while the Core i5-6xx will use the full cache and the Core i3-3xx will have no support for Turbo Boost. Clarkdale, the desktop version of Arrandale, is sold as Core i5-6xx, along with related Core i3 and Pentium brands. It has Hyper-Threading enabled and the full 4 MB L3 cache.

Codename Brand name (list) Cores L3 Cache (main article)



I/O Bus

Core i5-7xx Lynnfield Core i5-7xxS 4 8 MB LGA 1156

95 W Direct Media Interface 82 W


Core i5-6xx 2

4 MB

7387 W Direct Media Interface, Integrated GPU


Core i5-5xxM

3 MB

rPGA-988A 35 W

Core i5-4xxM

Core i5-5xxUM BGA-1288 Core i5-4xxUM[32] 18 W

Core i7:
Intel Core i7 is an Intel brand name for several families of desktop and laptop 64-bit x86-64 processors using the Nehalem, Westmere, Sandy Bridgeand Ivy Bridge microarchitectures. The Core i7 name was introduced with the Bloomfield Quad-core processor in late 2008. In 2009 new Core i7 models based on the Lynnfield desktop quad-core processor and the Clarksfieldquad-core mobile were added, and models based on the Arrandale dual-core mobile processor were added in January 2010. The first six-core processor in the Core lineup is the Gulftown, which was launched on March 16, 2010. Both the regular Core i7 and the Extreme Edition are advertised as five stars in the Intel Processor Rating. In January 2011, Intel released the second generation of Core i7 processors. Both the first and second generation of Intel Core i7 processors are rated as 5 stars in the Intel processor rating .

Code name

Brand name


L3 Cache





Release Date

Core i7-9xxX Extreme Edition Gulftown Core i7-9xx LGA 1366 Core i7-9xx Extreme Edition Bloomfield Core i7-9xx 130 W QPI, 3 DDR3 6 12 MB 32 nm

Mar 2010

Jul 2010

Nov 2008

Core i7-8xx 4 Lynnfield Core i7-8xxS 8 MB LGA 1156

95 W

45 nm

Sep 2009

82 W

DMI, Jan 2010 PCI-e, 2 DDR3


Core i7-9xxXM Extreme Edition


55 W

Sep 2009