You are on page 1of 4

SUE ELLEN WOOLDRIDGE

Assistant Attorney General, ENRD
DAVID M. UHLMANN
Chief, Environmental Crimes Section
KEVIN M. CASSIDY
Trial Attorney
Environmental Crimes Section
WILLIAM W. MERCER
United States Attorney
KRIS A. MCLEAN
Assistant U.S. Attorney
U.S. Attorney’s Office
P.O. Box 8329
Missoula, MT 59807
105 E. Pine, 2nd Floor
Missoula, MT 59802
Phone: (406) 542-8851
FAX: (406) 542-1476
ATTORNEY FOR PLAINTIFF
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF MONTANA
MISSOULA DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff, CR 05-07-M-DWM
vs.
NOTICE OF APPEAL
W.R. GRACE, ALAN R. STRINGER, HENRY
A. ESCHENBACH, JACK W. WOLTER,
WILLIAM J. McCAIG, ROBERT J.
BETTACCHI, O. MARIO FAVORITO,
ROBERT C. WALSH,

Defendants.

Notice is hereby given that the United States of America, Plaintiff in the above

entitled cause, hereby appeals to the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
from the Order entered by the district court on December 5, 2005 and the district court’s

S:\crim\04r0395\notice of appeal.wpd 1
February 17, 2006 Order clarifying its December 5, 2006 Order. Specifically the United
States appeals the district court’s order denying the government’s motion for

reconsideration; the order prohibiting the government from calling any trial witnesses
who have not been identified as of the date of the December 5 Order; and the order

prohibiting any government expert from relying upon documents other than those either
already produced or currently subject to an order of the district court requiring

production.
DATED this 16th day of March, 2006.

WILLIAM W. MERCER
United States Attorney

/s/ Kris A. McLean
KRIS A. McLEAN
Assistant United States Attorney

/s/ Kevin M. Cassidy
KEVIN M. CASSIDY
Trial Attorney
Environmental Crimes Section
U.S. Department of Justice

S:\crim\04r0395\notice of appeal.wpd 2
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
L.R. 5.2(b)

I hereby certify that on March 16, 2006, a copy of the foregoing document was
served on the following persons by the following means:

1. 1-8 CM/ECF

2. 6a Mail

1. Attorneys for WR Grace 2. Attorneys for Alan Stringer

Larry Urgenson Angelo Calfo
William B. Jacobson Michelle Peterson
Tyler D. Mace Yarmuth Wilsdon Calfo PLLC
Kirkland & Ellis, LLP 925 Fourth Avenue, Suite 2500
655 Fifteenth St., NW, Seattle, WA 98104
Washington DC 20005 FAX: (206) 516-3888
FAX: (202) 879-5200 acalfo@yarmuth.com
lurgenson@kirkland.com mpeterson@yarmuth.com
wjacobson@kirkland.com
tmace@kirkland.com Mr. Michael F. Bailey
Attorney at Law
Stephen R. Brown P.O. Box 8597
Charles E. McNeil Missoula, MT 59807
Kathleen Desoto FAX: (406) 721-5912
Attorney at Law bai-ant@bigsky.net
P.O. Box 7909
Missoula, MT 59807
FAX: (406) 523-2595
srbrown@garlington.com
cemcneil@garlington.com
kldesoto@garlington.com
3. Attorneys for Henry Eschenbach 4. Attorneys for Jack Wolter

David Krakoff Mark Holscher
Gary Winters Jeremy Maltby
Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw LLP O’Melveny & Myers LLP
1909 K Street, N.W. 400 South Hope Street
Washington, D.C. 20006 Los Angeles, CA 90071
FAX: (202) 263-5370 FAX: (213) 430-6407
dkrakoff@mayerbrownrowe.com mholscher@omm.com
gwinters@mayerbrownrowe.com
Michael J. Milodragovich
Ronald F. Waterman W. Adam Duerk
Gough, Shanahan, Johnson & Waterman Attorney at Law
P.O. Box 1715 P.O. Box 4947
Helena, MT 59624-1715 Missoula, MT 59806-4947
FAX: (406) 442-8783 FAX: (406) 549-7077
rfw@gsjw.com

S:\crim\04r0395\notice of appeal.wpd 3
5. Attorneys for William McCaig 6. Attorneys for Robert Bettacchi

William Coates Thomas C. Frongillo
Roe Cassidy Coates & Price Wiel, Gotshal & Manges
PO Box 10529 100 Federal St., 34th Floor
Greenville,SC 29603 Boston, MA 02110
FAX: (864) 349-0303 FAX: (617) 772-8333
wac@roecassidy.com thomas.frongillo@weil.com

Elizabeth Van Doren Gray Brian K. Gallik
Sowell, Gray, Stepp & Laffitte, LLC Goetz, Gallik, Baldwin, P.C.
1310 Gadsden Street P.O. Box 6580
PO Box 11449 Bozeman, MT 59771-0428
Columbia, SC 29211 FAX: (406) 587-5144
FAX: (803) 929-0300
6a. Attorney for Robert Bettacchi
Palmer A. Hoovestal
Attorney at Law Vernon Broderick
P.O. Box 747 Weil, Gotshal and Manges
Helena, MT 59624 767 Fifth Avenue
FAX: (406) 457-0475 New York, NY 10153
palmer@hoovestal-law.com

7. Attorneys for O. Mario Favorito 8. Attorneys for Robert C. Walsh

Stephen Jonas Stephen R. Spivack
Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr Bradley Arant Rose & White
60 State Street 1133 Connecticut Ave. NW
Boston, MA 02109 Washington, DC 20036
FAX: (617) 526-5000 FAX: (202) 719-8334
stephen.jonas@wilmerhale.com sspivack@bradleyarant.com

CJ Johnson Catherine A. Laughner
Kalkstein Law Firm Aimee M. Grmoljez
P.O. Box 8568 Browning, Kaleczyc, Berry & Hoven, PC
Missoula, MT 59807 P.O. Box 1697
FAX: (406) 721-9896 Helena, MT 59624
cj@kalksteinlaw.com FAX: (406) 443-6883

/s/ Sheryl L. Nordahl
Sheryl L. Nordahl, Paralegal Specialist

S:\crim\04r0395\notice of appeal.wpd 4