You are on page 1of 3

Changes in the Senate Rules from Last Session (In order of the Rules) 1.

Recognizes the Senate is composed of three conferences- the Republicans, Democrats and IDC 2. Republican conference and IDC together called the Majority Coalition and its leaders the Majority Coalition Leaders 3. Chair of Rules is the Majority Coalition Leader with the most members rather than the Temporary President; in effect, this is the same person: Skelos. 4. Charges the Secretary of the Senate rather than the staff of the Legislative Library, to the extent practicable, to use the internet and other electronic media to provide access to the public policy debates, decision-making process and legislative records of the Senate 5. Majority Coalition Leaders determine which standing committees bills go to upon introductions; previously done by Temporary President of the Senate. An open question is whether the guidelines for referral previously utilized by the Temporary President of the Senate will change. 6. Majority Coalition Leaders designate jointly a date in writing after which no bill or original resolution shall be introduced. Previously this was done by the Temporary President. 7. All resolutions provided 48 hours in advance to all conference leaders rather than just the Majority and Minority Leaders. This further recognizes the IDC as a conference. 8. Resolutions are placed on the calendar upon the approval of the Majority Coalition Leaders rather than the Temporary President. 9. Only the Majority Coalition Leaders shall deem a resolution privileged under the new rules. 10. The Finance committee now consists of 37 rather than 35 senators. 11. Education, Higher Education, and Insurance committees now consist of 19 rather than 18 senators. 12. Crime Victims; Crime and Correction; Environmental Conservation; Cultural Affairs, Tourism, Parks and Recreation; Veterans, and Homeland Security and Military Affairs committees now consist of 13 rather than 14 senators. 13. Aging; Civil Service and Pensions; Commerce, Economic Development and Small Business; and Energy and Telecommunications committees now consist of 11 rather than 12 senators. 14. Agriculture; Consumer Protection; Mental Health and Deveopmental Disabilities; and Racing Gaming and Wagering committees now consist of 11 rather than 12 senators.

15. Elections; Housing Construction and Community Development; Investigations and Governmental Operations; and Local Government committees now consist of 9 rather than 8 senators. 16. Conference leaders and their Deputies serve ex-officio on standing committees rather than The Majority and Minority Leaders and their Deputies. 17. Conference membership of committees. IDC is given membership on committees proportionate to the size of their conference. Finance and Rules committees no longer have an additional five percent for the proportion of majority members (or in this case, the Majority Coalition members). Notices of designations of alternative members to the Rules and Finance committees are made to the Majority Coalition Leaders rather than the Temporary President. Proportional membership on committees and the specific number of members to comprise each committee can be amended by resolution adopted by a majority of members elected. 18. Debate within the Rules committee is extended to 1 hours from 1 hour, with each conference allotted a half hour. Previously one half hour was allotted for and against the adoption of the Rules report. 19. Committee agendas are now made available to the Majority Conference Leader by 3pm on the Thursday preceding committee meetings rather than solely the Temporary President (in addition to each member of the committee). Committee chairs only have to provide agendas as is practicable whereas before it was required. 20. Motion for committee consideration. The sponsor of any bill may file no more than three motions for committee consideration. Previously motions for committee consideration were unlimited. 21. Petition for a hearing on a public bill. Petitions are now submitted to the Senate Desk for Operations rather than the relevant committee clerk. 22. The requirement is removed that a bill be referred from a standing committee to the Committee on Commerce, Economic Development and Small Business when it imposes or changes any reporting requirements or mandates on businesses or relates to the procedure by which reporting requirements or mandates are imposed or changed. 23. A standing committee with secondary jurisdiction over a bill may make a request to commit the bill to the committee with secondary jurisdiction to the Majority Coalition Leaders rather than solely the Temporary President if the standing committee with primary jurisdiction rejects such request.

24. Majority Coalition Leaders rather than solely the Temporary President can refer a bill to the Finance Committee. 25. A new Education subcommittee is created- the New York City Education Subcommittee- that will consider bills solely impacting education matters in NYC. 26. The fast roll call on final votes for bills and resolutions includes the leaders of each conference rather than simply the Majority and Minority Leader. 27. Conference Leaders dont have to be present for floor votes. In the past Majority and Minority Leaders did not have to be present. 28. Conference Leaders have last word before debate closes on a bill or resolution. Previously the Majority and Minority Leaders did. 29. Debates on motions and resolutions are now limited to 1 hours with a half hour for each conference rather than 1 hour with a half hour for the Majority and Minority. 30. A senator sponsoring a bill may speak for up to 5 minutes on the roll call vote. This was not previously specified in the rules. 31. The formula for allocating funding for central staff for the Democratic conference is changed, seemingly resulting in a reduction of funding. The Democratic conference now receives not less than 30 percent of the funds allocated for Majority Coalition central staff on a per member basis. Previously the floor for central staff funding for the Democratic conference was 33 percent of all funding for central staff. 32. Hardship funding for satellite office district requests now go through the Majority Coalition Leaders rather than solely the Temporary President. 33. Allocation for Community Projects. The Majority Coalition will now receive 71 percent to the Democratic Coalitions 29 percent. Previously the Majority received 2/3 of such funds while the Minority received 1/3. 34. Resolution to amend the Senate rules now requires an affirmative vote of 3/5 of all Senators elected. Previously it required a majority of all Senators elected. 35. Motion for Chamber Consideration. A motion now needs the affirmative vote of 3/5 of the members rather than a majority for a bill to be considered by the full senate on the first calendar legislative day after four days have passed.