You are on page 1of 1

There are three main types of magnets: Permanent magnets Temporary magnets Electromagnets Permanent Magnets Permanent magnets

are those we are most familiar with, such as the magnets hanging onto our refrigerator doors. They are permanent in the sense that once they are magnetized, they retain a level of magnetism. As we will see, different types of permanent magnets have different characteristics or properties concerning how easily they can be demagnetized, how strong they can be, how their strength varies with temperature, and so on. Temporary Magnets Temporary magnets are those which act like a permanent magnet when they are within a strong magnetic field, but lose their magnetism when the magnetic field disappears. Examples would be paperclips and nails and other soft iron items. Electromagnets An electromagnet is a tightly wound helical coil of wire, usually with an iron core, which acts like a permanent magnet when current is flowing in the wire. The strength and polarity of the magnetic field created by the electromagnet are adjustable by changing the magnitude of the current flowing through the wire and by changing the direction of the current flow.
A magnetic force is when a magnetised piece of either iron, steel, nickel or cobalt comes close to either an other magnet or an demagnetised piece of iron, steel, nickel or cobalt. This is measured in newtons

a force with which a magnet attracts an object is called magnetic is measured in newtons. Note: There are comments associated with this question. See the discussion page to add to the conversation. Read more:

A magnetic field may be represented by a mathematical description of the magnetic influence of electric currents and magnetic materials. The magnetic field at any given point is specified by both a direction and a magnitude (or [nb 1] strength); as such it is avector field. The magnetic field is most commonly defined in terms of the Lorentz force it exerts on moving electric charges. There are two separate but closely related fields to which the name "magnetic field" can refer, denoted by the symbols B and H. This article is about magnetic flux. For the magnetic field "B" (magnetic flux per area), see magnetic flux density. For the magnetic field "H", see H-field. In physics, specifically electromagnetism, the magnetic flux (often denoted or B) through a surface is the component of the B field passing through that surface. The SI unitof magnetic flux is the weber (Wb) (in derived units: volt-seconds), and the CGS unit is themaxwell. Magnetic flux is usually measured with a fluxmeter, which contains measuring coils and electronics that evaluates the change of voltage in the measuring coils to calculate the magnetic flux.
A magnetic domain is a region within a magnetic material which has uniformmagnetization. This means that the individual magnetic moments of the atoms are aligned with one another and they point in the same direction.