Case 2:12-cv-00887-CBM-AJW Document 44

Filed 07/06/12 Page 1 of 5 Page ID #:381

1 Paul D. Clement (DC Bar 433215) pclement@bancroftpllc.com 2 H. Christopher Bartolomucci (DC Bar 453423) 3 cbartolomucci@bancroftpllc.com Conor B. Dugan (DC Bar 1006458) 4 cdugan@bancroftpllc.com 5 Nicholas J. Nelson (DC Bar 1001696) nnelson@bancroftpllc.com 6 7 BANCROFT PLLC 1919 M Street, N.W. 8 Suite 470 9 Washington, D.C. 20036 10 202-234-0090 (telephone) 202-234-2806 (facsimile) 11 12 Of Counsel: Kerry W. Kircher, General Counsel (DC Bar 386816) 13 Kerry.Kircher@mail.house.gov 14 William Pittard, Deputy General Counsel (DC Bar 482949) William.Pittard@mail.house.gov 15 Christine Davenport, Senior Assistant Counsel (NJ Bar 043682000) 16 Christine.Davenport@mail.house.gov Todd B. Tatelman, Assistant Counsel (VA Bar 66008) 17 Todd.Tatelman@mail.house.gov 18 Mary Beth Walker, Assistant Counsel (DC Bar 501033) MaryBeth.Walker@mail.house.gov 19 20 OFFICE OF GENERAL COUNSEL, U.S. HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 21 219 Cannon House Office Building 22 Washington, D.C. 20515 202-225-9700 (telephone) 23 202-226-1360 (facsimile) 24 Counsel for Intervenor-Defendant the Bipartisan 25 Legal Advisory Group of the U.S. House of Representatives 26 27 28

Case 2:12-cv-00887-CBM-AJW Document 44

Filed 07/06/12 Page 2 of 5 Page ID #:382

1 2 3

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA Western Division ) No. 2:12-cv-00887-CBM (AJWx) ) ) ) ) ) NOTICE OF ) SUPPLEMENTAL ) AUTHORITY ) ) ) )

4 TRACEY COOPER-HARRIS and 5 MAGGIE COOPER-HARRIS, 6 7 8 9 UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et al., 10 11 12 Defendants. v. Plaintiffs,

The Bipartisan Legal Advisory Group of the U.S. House of Representatives

13 (“House”) respectfully advises this Court of three recent Supreme Court filings that 14 are relevant to the House’s Motion . . . to Stay Proceedings (May 29, 2012) (ECF 15 No. 39). 16 First, as it said it would in its Reply in Support of Motion . . . to Stay 17 Proceedings at 4 (June 25, 2012) (ECF No. 43), the House on June 29, 2012, filed 18 its Petition for a Writ of Certiorari in Massachusetts v. U.S. Dep’t of Health & 19 Human Services, Nos. 10-2204, 10-2207 & 10-2214 (1st Cir.). See Pet. for a Writ 20 of Cert., Bipartisan Legal Advisory Grp. of the U.S. House of Representatives. v. 21 Gill, No. 12-13 (S. Ct. June 29, 2012), attached as Exhibit A (without Appendix). 22 Second, the Department of Justice subsequently filed its own Petition for a 23 Writ of Certiorari in Massachusetts. See Pet. for a Writ of Cert., U.S. Dep’t of 24 Health & Human Servs. v. Massachusetts, No. 12-15 (S. Ct. July 3, 2012), attached 25 as Exhibit B (without Appendix). 26 Finally, the Department also filed a Petition for a Writ of Certiorari in Office 27 of Personnel Management v. Golinski, Nos. 12-15388, 12-15409 (9th Cir.), 28

Case 2:12-cv-00887-CBM-AJW Document 44

Filed 07/06/12 Page 3 of 5 Page ID #:383

1 seeking prejudgment review of that case by the Supreme Court. See Pet. for a Writ 2 of Cert. Before J., Office of Pers. Mgmt. v. Golinski, No. 12-16 (S. Ct. July 3, 3 2012), attached as Exhibit C (without Appendix). 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 July 6, 2012 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28
2

Respectfully submitted, By: /s/ Paul D. Clement Paul D. Clement BANCROFT PLLC1 Counsel for Intervenor-Defendant the Bipartisan Legal Advisory Group of the U.S. House of Representatives

Kerry W. Kircher, as ECF filer of this document, attests that concurrence in the filing of the document has been obtained from signatory Paul D. Clement.

1

Case 2:12-cv-00887-CBM-AJW Document 44

Filed 07/06/12 Page 4 of 5 Page ID #:384

1 2

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I certify that on July 6, 2012, I electronically filed the foregoing Notice with

3 the Clerk of Court by using the CM/ECF system, which provided an electronic 4 notice and electronic link of the same to the following attorneys of record through 5 the Court’s CM/ECF system: 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Caren E. Short, Esquire Christine P. Sun, Esquire Joseph J. Levin, Jr., Esquire SOUTHERN POVERTY LAW CENTER 400 Washington Avenue Montgomery, Alabama 36104 caren.short@splcenter.org christine.sun@splcenter.org joe.levin@splcenter.org Adam P. Romero, Esquire WILMER CUTLER PICKERING HALE & DORR LLP 399 Park Avenue New York City, New York 10022 adam.romero@wilmerhale.com Eugene Marder, Esquire WILMER CUTLER PICKERING HALE & DORR LLP 950 Page Mill Road Palo Alto, California 94304 eugene.marder@wilmerhale.com

Case 2:12-cv-00887-CBM-AJW Document 44

Filed 07/06/12 Page 5 of 5 Page ID #:385

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

Randall R. Lee, Esquire Matthew D. Benedetto, Esquire WILMER CUTLER PICKERING HALE & DORR LLP 350 South Grand Avenue Suite 2100 Los Angeles, California 90071 randall.lee@wilmerhale.com matthew.benedetto@wilmerhale.com Jean Lin, Trial Attorney U.S. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE Civil Division - Federal Programs Branch 20 Massachusetts Avenue, Northwest Washington, District of Columbia 20530 jean.lin@usdoj.gov

/s/ Mary Beth Walker Mary Beth Walker

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful