Catalyst Complaint Cover Page

420782

Complaint
Number 420782 Date 11/19/2012 Status Assignee Actual Savings Amount Disputed Estimated Savings Closed Richard, Michelle $0.00 $200.00 $200.00

Location Vancouver - Consumer Protection Division NAICS 541920-Photographic Services

Complainant
Name Frederico C DeVoe 316 Columbia Pt Dr Richland, WA 99352 Phone Day (509) 531-7570 Phone Evening Email (509) 531-7570 wellspokeninterpreting@gm ail.com

Respondent(s)
Name Getty Images 605 5th Ave S Ste 400 Seattle, WA 98104 McCormack Intellectual Property Law 617 Lee St Seattle, WA 98109 Contact Phone (206) 925-6753 Toll Free Email copyright.complian ce@gettyimages.co m legal@mccormackle gal.com

(206) 381-8888

Referral(s)
Name Contact Phone Contact Phone Email

Practice(s)
Code 632 640 Practice Rules & enforcement Fees

Activities
Date Added 11/19/2012 Activity Type Email to Respondent Activity R 1st Letter to Respondent To: copyright.compliance@gettyimages.com; legal@mccormacklegal.com

420782

1 of 2

Date Added 11/19/2012 12/4/2012 12/4/2012 12/4/2012 12/10/2012 12/10/2012

Activity Type Email to Complainant Email from Respondent Phone Call from Respondent Phone Call to Counsel Email to Complainant Email to Respondent

Activity C 1st Letter to Complainant To: wellspokeninterpreting@gmail.com See A.pdf for attachment v.m. asked for return call 206-330-0108 (Laura?)

Csup Closing Adjusted Enclosure Included (CADJ) To: wellspokeninterpreting@gmail.com Rsup Closing Adjusted (R-ADJ) To: copyright.compliance@gettyimages.com; legal@mccormacklegal.com

12/10/2012 12/10/2012

Resolution-CLOSED ADJUSTED Email from Complainant

420782

2 of 2

Catalyst Report
Complaint Description
Description We have been harassed by Getty Images since early July 2011 about images that we allegedly used on our website (wellspokeninterpreting.com) upon checking the website we confirmed that we did not use their image. An un-returned voice mail was left for Getty Images nothing further was heard until we received a letter from McCormack Intellectual Property Law requesting a settlement in full within 21 days of the letter. We feel their claim is fraudulent and have no intention to pay. Expected resolution details: Withdraw fraudulent complaint

MichelleR

12/4/2012

From: McCormack Legal [mailto:legal@McCormackLegal.com] Sent: Monday, December 03, 2012 12:04 PM To: ATG MI Vancouver CRC Subject: RE: 420782 : A notice from the Washington State Attorney General'sOffice - Case Number: 1090897 - Our Response Due - December 18, 2012 Dear Ms. Richard, Attached is our response to Mr. DeVoe’s complaint. A hard copy will follow by mail. Sincerely, Lauren Kingston Attorney at Law McCormack Intellectual Property Law Business Law PS Mailing Address 617 Lee Street Seattle, WA 98109 Tel: 206-381-8888 Direct: 206-330-0108 Fax: 206-381-1988 Internet Address www.McCormackLegal.com <www.McCormackLegal.com> E: attorney@McCormackLegal.com This e-mail may contain confidential information which is legally privileged. The information is solely for the use of the addressee named above. If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution or other use of the contents of this information is strictly prohibited. If you have received this e-mail in error, please notify us by return e-mail and delete this message. Thank you.

420782

GayB

12/4/2012

v.m. asked for return call 206-330-0108 (Laura?)

420782

MichelleR

12/4/2012

Spoke with McCormack representative, Lauren, who elaborated on her letter. She explained that Getty will not be seeking compensation at present.

420782

617 Lee Street Seattle, WA 98109 USA p.206-381-8888/f.206.381.1988 Legal@McCormackLegal.com

Timothy B. McCormack

Attorney at Law

December 3, 2012

Via US Mail & Email Ms. Michelle Richard Complaint Analyst Consumer Protection Division Attorney General of Washington 1220 Main Street, Suite 549 Vancouver, WA 98660 Tel: (360) 759-2152 Email: vancrc@atg.wa.gov

Re: Frederico C DeVoe Your File Number: 420782 Our Case Number: 1090897 Dear Ms. Richard: We are in receipt of the complaint filed by Frederico C. DeVoe that you forwarded to us on November 19, 2012. Our firm acts as outside legal counsel to Getty Images in pursuing copyright infringement claims. This case was sent to our office for further handling because Frederico C. DeVoe and Getty Images were unable to resolve the matter internally. Enclosed are screenshots of the imagery as identified on Mr. DeVoe’s website www.wellspokeninterpreting.com. According to Getty Images’ files, no valid license for the use was in place. Display of the image without a license is copyright infringement. McCormack Intellectual Property Law PS and Getty Images acted appropriately in pursuing the unauthorized use of Getty Images’ intellectual property.

December 3, 2012 Page 2

Recently, our client Getty Images has reported to us that the matter has since been resolved and we have closed the case against Frederico C. DeVoe and Well Spoken Interpreting. Should you require any additional information about this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely,

Timothy B. McCormack tim@mccormacklegal.com

New Homes Under Construction High-Res Stock Photography | Getty Image... http://www.gettyimages.com/detail/photo/new-homes-under-construction-...

Sign in | Register

Live chat

Contact us

International

Title: New homes under construction Creative image #: EC5247-001 License type: Rights-managed Photographer: John Humble Collection: Riser Credit: John Humble Max file size/dimensions/dpi: 46.6 MB - 4917 x 3316 px - RGB Download file size may vary. Release information: Not released. More information Keywords: City, Growth, Development, Construction, Horizontal, Full Length, Outdoors, House, Front View, Front Door, Brown, In A Row, New, Day, Symmetry, Color Image, Four Objects, No People, Building Exterior, Photography. Find similar images Availability: Availability for this image cannot be guaranteed until time of purchase.

Getty Images reserves the right to pursue unauthorized users of this image or clip. If you violate our intellectual property you may be liable for: actual damages, loss of income, and profits you derive from the use of this image or clip, and, where appropriate, the costs of collection and/or statutory damages up to $150,000 (USD). All contents © copyright 1999-2012 Getty Images, Inc. All rights reserved.

1 of 1

11/21/2012 12:14 PM

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful