You are on page 1of 12

Southeast Asia Department (SERD)

Public Management, Financial Sector and Trade Division (SEPF)


Madeleine Varkay Principal Private Sector Development Specialist, SEPF mvarkay@adb.org

Southeast Asian Region


The Southeast Asia Department covers:

Brunei Darussalam Cambodia* Indonesia* Lao Peoples Democratic Republic* Malaysia* Myanmar * Philippines* Singapore Thailand * Viet Nam *
* Countries where SEPF has ongoing and pipeline projects

Main Focus of Interventions


Public Management Public Financial Management Reform, Fiscal Decentralization, Justice Reform, SOE Re-structuring. Finance Banking and Non-banking Institutions, Capital Markets, Insurance, Social Security, Pension Funds, Micro-finance/insurance.
Trade Business Environment, SME, Trade Facilitation

Public Private Partnership

TA PROJECTS IN CAMBODIA
Financial Sector Development
PPTA 8158, Promoting Economic Diversification Program II ($0.700M),

CDTA 8159, Decentralized Public Service and Financial Management Program, Subprogram 2 ($0.800M)

Public Private Partnership


PPTA 8317, PPP Development Project ($0.950M)

TA PROJECTS IN INDONESIA
Social Security Reform
CDTA 8202, Fiscal Aspect of Social Security Reform, ($1.0M)

Public Sector Reform


CDTA 8057, Second Local Government Financing and Budget Reform Program (SP2) ($0.800M)

TA PROJECTS IN LAO PDR


Public Sector Governance CDTA 8182: Implementing Regulatory Impact Assessment ($0.750M)

TA PROJECTS IN THE PHILIPPINES


Financial Sector Development
CDTA 8258: Capacity Building for Microinsurance in the Philippines ($1.0M)

Public Private Partnership


PPTA 8315: Structuring a Public Private Earthquake Insurance Pool for the Philippines ($0.5M)

TA PROJECTS IN MYANMAR
Financial Sector Development
S-CDTA 8113, Support for Trade Policy Development ($0.225M) S-CDTA 8114, Capacity Development Support for Improving the Business Climate ($0.225M)

Public Sector Management


S-CDTA 8156, Improving Fiscal Revenue Mobilization ($0.225M)

TA PROJECTS IN VIET NAM


Financial Sector Development
PATA 8108, Supporting Microfinance Development - piggyback TA to L2877 ($0.5M)

Private Sector Development


PATA 8184, SME Development - Phase 2 (SP2), ($0.8M)

REGIONAL TA PROJECT
Islamic Finance
PATA 8214: Implementing Prudential Standards for Islamic Finance ($0.8M)

Trade
RETA 8096: Capacity Building for Trade Facilitation: Improved SPS Handling in GMS ($3.5M) RETA 8313, Developing Government Support and Risk Management Systems for PPP in SE Asia ($1.5M)

SEPF CONTACT PERSONS:


Cambodia: Hiroyuki Aoki, Senior Financial Sector Specialist (haoki@adb.org) Indonesia: Stephen Schuster, Senior Financial Sector Specialist ( sschuster@adb.org) Lao PDR, Philippines and Myanmar: Kelly Bird, Principal Economist (kbird@adb.org) Malaysia: Madeleine Varkay, Principal Private Sector Development Specialist (mvarkay@adb.org)

SEPF CONTACT PERSONS:


Public Private Partnerships: Bob Finlayson and Madeleine Varkay (bfinlayson@adb.org, mvarkay@adb.org)
Thailand: Lingling Ding, Principal Trade Specialist (lding@adb.org) Viet Nam: Juan Luis Gomez Reino, Senior Public Management Specialist (jlgomez@adb.org)