You are on page 1of 14

The Hellenion Calendar H

This calendar is the working calendar of Hellenion, a diverse group of Hellenic polytheists sharing the common goal of living a life of piety and proper respect for the Gods of Olympos and ancient Hellenic tradition. The calendar is based on the monthly and annual observances and festivals of the ancient Athenians from about 800 BCE to 323 BCE. This version was created using information derived from http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/SKYCAL/SKYCAL.html?cal=2011#skycal and from www.timeanddate.com/calendar/moonphases.html as well as the sources Greek Religion by Walter Burkert (Harvard University Press, 1977, English translation: Basil Blackwell Publisher and Harvard University Press, 1985), Old Stones, New Temples; ancient Greek paganism reborn, by Drew Campbell (Xlibris Corporation, 2000), Festivals of the Athenians, by H. W.Parke (London, Thames and Hudson, 1977) and HMEPA at www.numachi.com/~ccount/hmepa. One of our associated projects, the creation of an on-line version of this calendar, is now available at the Hellenion web site: http://www.hellenion.org. That version contains links to descriptions of all the special days noted on this calendar and suggestions about how to observe them in the 21st century. You are under no obligation to observe all the occasions and days mentioned here; in fact, that would be all but impossible at present, since none of us live in a wholly polytheistic city. Every observance is optional. This calendar is made available to you as a learning tool, and as a framework to begin or extend your practice of ancient Hellenic religious tradition. Needless to say, ancient Hellenic religion involved many more practices than are implied by this calendar, which is adapted to the modern secular calendar. The calendar outlines ancient monthly practices, such as Hekates Deipnon, Noumenia (the visible crescent moon) and the Agathos Daimon. It also lists ancient Athenian festivals on the exact dates where these are known. Where the exact date has not been revealed by research, a question mark follows the name of the festival. Information about the specific observance can be found in the references mentioned above and on the on-line version. In addition to ancient festivals and observances, certain modern occasions are listed as well. This includes the Hellenion monthly libation (ensuring that at least one day a month is shared by the community, albeit scattered, at the same time, and also ensuring that each of the twelve Olympians is honored at least once during the year). Note that this libation is not an official practice of Hellenion but a voluntary activity endorsed by many Hellenion members. Some modern festivals are also listed, such as Heliogenna in December, and Prometheia, held in Greece on the summer solstice near Mt. Olympos (see www.ysee.gr/index-eng.php for more information about this festival). Remember that, among the ancient Greeks, the day begins at sundown of the previous day. Days in gray indicate the new moon/beginning of Greek month and the Hellenion monthly libation date. Transliteration of Greek month names and festivals below used y to represent the short u of Greek, kh is used to represent chi (), a sound which does not exist in English, and e represents both epsilon () and eta (). ! The cover illustration is Greeting the Altar of Apollo, Muskoka, Ontario, Canada, near Winter Solstice 2012, by Melissa Gold

January 2013
Poseideon II - Gamelion B - Year 4 of the 697th Olympiad Sunday Monday Tuesday 1 18 Poseideon 2 Wednesday 2 19 Poseideon 2 Thursday 3 20 Poseideon 2 Friday 4 21 Poseideon 2 Saturday 5 22 Poseideon 2

6 23 Poseideon 2

7 24 Poseideon 2

8 25 Poseideon 2

9 26 Poseideon 2

10 27 Poseideon 2

11 28 Gamelion

12 29 Poseideon 2
Libation to Hera Hekate's Deipnon

13 1 Gamelion
Noumenia

14 2 Gamelion
Agathos Daimon

15 3 Gamelion

16 4 Gamelion

17 5 Gamelion

18 6 Gamelion

19 7 Gamelion

20 8 Gamelion

21 9 Gamelion

22 10 Gamelion

23 11 Gamelion

24 12 Gamelion
Lenaia

25 13 Gamelion
Lenaia

26 14 Gamelion
Lenaia

27 15 Gamelion
Lenaia

28 16 Gamelion

29 17 Gamelion

30 18 Gamelion

31 19 Gamelion

= full moon

Dark of the moon: Jan 11 2:44 pm EST; 1:44 pm CST; 12:44 pm MST; 11:44 am PST

February 2013
Gamelion - Anthesterion - Year 4 of the 697th Olympiad Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday 1 20 Gamelion Saturday 2 21 Gamelion

= full moon

3 22 Gamelion

4 23 Gamelion

5 24 Gamelion

6 25 Gamelion

7 26 Gamelion

8 27 Gamelion
Theogamia

9 28 Gamelion
Libation to Aphrodite

10 29 Gamelion

11 30 Gamelion
Hekate's Deipnon

12 1 Anthesterion
Noumenia

13 2 Anthesterion
Agathos Daimon

14 3 Anthesterion

15 4 Anthesterion

16 5 Anthesterion

17 6 Anthesterion

18 7 Anthesterion

19 8 Anthesterion

20 9 Anthesterion

21 10 Anthesterion

22

11 Anthesterion Anthesteria Pithiogia

23 12 Anthesterion
Anthesteria - Khoes

24 13 Anthesterion
Anthesteria - Khutroi

25 14 Anthesterion

26 15 Anthesterion

27 16 Anthesterion

28 17 Anthesterion

Dark of the moon: Feb 8 2:20 am EST; 1:20 pm CST; 12:20 pm MST; Feb 9 11:20 pm PST

March 2013
Anthesterion - Elaphebolion - Year 4 of the 697th Olympiad Sunday Monday
Delphinia

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday 1 18 Anthesterion

Saturday 2 19 Anthesterion

= full moon

3 20 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries

4 21 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries

5 22 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries

6 23 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries & Diasia

7 24 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries

8 25 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries

09 26 Anthesterion
Libation to Hephaistos

10 27 Anthesterion

11 28 Anthesterion

12 29 Anthesterion
Hekate's Deipnon

13 1 Elaphebolion
Noumenia

14 2 Elaphebolion
Agathos Daimon

15 3 Elaphebolion

16 4 Elaphebolion

17 5

Elaphebolion

18 6 Elaphebolion

19 7 Elaphebolion
Equinox

20 8 Elaphebolion
Asklepieia Equinox

21 9 Elaphebolion

22 10 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika Equinox

23 11 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

24 12 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

25 13 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

26 14 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

27 15 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

28 16 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

29 17 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika & Pandia

30 18 Elaphebolion

31 19 Elaphebolion

Dark of the moon: Mar 11 3:51 pm EDT; 2:51 pm CDT; 1:51 pm MDT; 12:51 pm PDT; daylight savings time begins March 10 in Canada and USA.

April 2013
Elaphebolion - Mounykhion - Year 4 of the 697th Olympiad Sunday Monday 1 20 Elaphebolion Tuesday 2 21 Elaphebolion Wednesday 3 22 Elaphebolion Thursday 4 23 Elaphebolion Friday 5 24 Elaphebolion Saturday 6 25 Elaphebolion

7 26 Elaphebolion

8 27 Elaphebolion

9 28 Elaphebolion

10 29 Elaphebolion

11 30 Elaphebolion
Hekate's Deipnon

12 1 Mounykhion
Noumenia

13 2 Mounykhion
Agathos Daimon Libation to Artemis

14 3 Mounykhion

15 4 Mounykhion

16 5 Mounykhion

17 6 Mounykhion
Delphinia

18 7 Mounykhion

19 8 Mounykhion

20 9 Mounykhion

21 10 Mounykhion

22 11 Mounykhion
Earth Day

23 12 Mounykhion

24 13 Mounykhion

25 14 Mounykhion

26 15 Mounykhion

27 16 Mounykhion
Mounykhia

30 19 Mounykhion
Olympeia

28 17 Mounykhion

29 18 Mounykhion

= full moon

Dark of the moon: Apr 10 5:36 am EDT; 4:36 am CDT; 3:36 am MDT; 2:36 am PDT

May 2013
Mounykhion - Thargelion - Year 4 of the 697th Olympiad Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday 1 20 Mounykhion Thursday 2 21 Mounykhion Friday 3 22 Mounykhion Saturday 4 23 Mounykhion

= full moon
5 24 Mounykhion 6 25 Mounykhion 7 26 Mounykhion

8 27 Mounykhion

9 28 Mounykhion

10 29 Mounykhion
Hekate's Deipnon

11 1 Thargelion
Noumenia Libation to Apollon

12 2 Thargelion
Agathos Daimon Mother's Day

13 3 Thargelion

14 4 Thargelion

15 5 Thargelion

16 6 Thargelion
Thargelia

17 7 Thargelion
Thargelia

18 8 Thargelion

19 9 Thargelion

20 10 Thargelion
Victoria Day (Canada)

21 11 Thargelion

22 12 Thargelion

23 13 Thargelion

24 14 Thargelion

25 15 Thargelion

28 18 Thargelion 29 19 Thargelion
Bendideia

26 16 Thargelion

27 17 Thargelion

30 20 Thargelion

31 21 Thargelion

Dark of the moon: May 9 8:29 pm EDT; 7:29 pm CDT; 6:29 pm MDT; 5:29 pm PDT

June 2013
Thargelion - Skirophorion - Year 4 of the 697th Olympiad Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 1 22 Thargelion

= full moon

2 23 Thargelion

3 24 Thargelion

4 25 Thargelion
Kallynteria

5 26 Thargelion
Plynteria

6 27 Thargelion

7 28 Thargelion

8 29 Thargelion
Libation to Zeus

9 30 Thargelion
Hekate's Deipnon

10 1 Skirophorion
Noumenia

11 2 Skirophorion
Agathos Daimon

12 3 Skirophorion
Arrephoria

13 4 Skirophorion

14 5 Skirophorion

15 6 Skirophorion

16 7 Skirophorion
Fathers' Day

17 8 Skirophorion

18 9 Skirophorion

19 10 Skirophorion
Solstice

20 11 Skirophorion

21 12 Skirophorion
Skira Solstice

22 13 Skirophorion
Prometheia

23 14 Skirophorion
Bouphomia & Dipolieia

24 15 Skirophorion

25 16 Skirophorion

26 17 Skirophorio

27 18 Skirophorion

28 19 Skirophorion

29 20 Skirophorion

30 21 Skirophorion
Dark of the moon: Jun 8 11:57 am EDT; 10:57 am CDT; 9:57 am MDT; 8:57 am PDT

July 2013
Skirophorion - Hekatombaion - Year 4 of the 697th Olympiad Year 1 of the 698th Olympiad Sunday 1 Monday
22 Skirophorion Canada Day

Tuesday 2 23 Skirophorion

Wednesday 3 24 Skirophorion 4

Thursday
25 Skirophorion US Independence Day

Friday 5 26 Skirophorion

Saturday 6 27 Skirophorion

7 28 Skirophorion

8 29 Skirophorion

9 30 Skirophorion
Hekate's Deipnon

10 1 Hekatombaion
Noumenia Athenian New Year

11 2 Hekatombaion
Agathos Daimon

12 3 Hekatombaion

13 4 Hekatombaion
Libation to Athena

14 5 Hekatombaion

15 6 Hekatombaion

16 7 Hekatombaion

17 8 Hekatombaion

18 9 Hekatombaion

19 10 Hekatombaion

20 11 Hekatombaion

21 12 Hekatombaion
Kronia

22 13 Hekatombaion

23 14 Hekatombaion

24 15 Hekatombaion

25 16 Hekatombaion
Synoikia

26 17 Hekatombaion

27 18 Hekatombaion

29 20 Hekatombaion 30 21 Hekatombaion 31 22 Hekatombaion

28 19 Hekatombaion

= full moon

Dark of the moon: Jul 8 3:15 am EDT; 2:15 am CDT; 1:15 am MDT; 12:15 am PDT

August 2013
Hekatombaion - Metageitnion - Year 1 of the 698th Olympiad Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday 1 23 Hekatombaion
Panathenaia ta mikra

Friday 2 24 Metageitnion
Panathenaia ta mikra

Saturday 3 25 Metageitnion
Panathenaia ta mikra

= full moon

4 26 Metageitnion
Panathenaia ta mikra

5 27 Metageitnion

28 Metageitnion Panathenaia ta mikra Panathenaia ta mikra Civic Holiday in Canada

7 29 Metageitnion
Hekate's Deipnon Panathenaia ta mikra

8 1 Metageitnion
Noumenia

9 2 Metageitnion
Agathos Daimon Herakleia?

10 3 Metageitnion
Libation to Hermes

11 4 Metageitnion

12 5 Metageitnion

13 6 Metageitnion

14 7 Metageitnion

15 8 Metageitnion

16 9 Metageitnio

17 10 Metageitnion

18 11 Metageitnion

19 12 Metageitnion

20 13 Metageitnion

21 14 Metageitnion

22 15 Metageitnion

23 16 Metageitnion
Kourotrophos, Hekate and Artemis

24 17 Metageitnion

25 18 Metageitnion 26 19 Metageitnion
The Heroines

27 20 Metageitnion
Hera Telkhinia

28 21 Metageitnion

29 22 Metageitnion

30 23 Metageitnion

31 24 Metageitnion

Dark of the moon: Aug 6 5:51 pm EDT; 4:51 pm CDT; 3:51 pm MDT; 2:51 pm PDT.

September 2013
Metageitnion - Boedromion - Year 1 of the 698th Olympiad Sunday 1 25 Metageitnion
Zeus Epoptes

Monday 2 26 Metageitnion

Tuesday 3 27 Metageitnion

Wednesday 4 28 Metageitnion

Thursday 5 29 Metageitnion

Friday 6 30 Metageitnion
Hekate's Deipnon

Saturday 7 1 Boedromion
Noumenia

8 2 Boedromion
Agathos Daimon Niketeria

9 3 Boedromion
Labor Day

10 4 Boedromion

11 5 Boedromion
Genesios

12 6 Boedromion
Artemis Agrotera

13 7 Boedromion

14 8 Boedromion
Libation to Demeter & Persephone

15 9 Boedromion
Hellenion membership renewals due

16 10 Boedromion

17 11 Boedromion

18 12 Boedromion
Demokratia

19 13 Boedromion

20 14 Boedromion

21 15 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala

26 20 Boedromion n
Eleusinia ta megala

22 16 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala Equinox

23 17 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala Epidauria?

24 18 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala

25 19 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala

27 21 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala

28 22 Boedromion

29 23 Boedromion

30 24 Boedromion

= full moon

Dark of the moon: Sep 5 7:37 am EDT; 6:37 am CDT; 5:37 am MDT; 4:37 am PDT.

October 2013
Boedromion - Pyanepsion - Year 1 of the 698th Olympiad Sunday Monday Tuesday
1 25 Boedromion

Wednesday 2 26 Boedromion

Thursday 3 27 Boedromion 4

Friday
28 Boedromion Sacrifices to Nymphs, Akhelos, others

Saturday 5 29 Boedromion
Hekate's Deipnon

= full moon 7 2 Pyanepsion


Agathos Daimon

6 1 Pyanepsion
Noumenia

8 3 Pyanepsion

9 4 Pyanepsion

10 5 Pyanepsion

11 6 Pyanepsion
Proerosia

12 7 Pyanepsion
Pyanepsia Libation to Poseidon

13 8 Pyanepsion
Theseia

14 9 Pyanepsion
Stenia Thanksgiving (Canada)

15 10 Pyanepsion

16 11 Pyanepsion
Thesmophoria

17 12 Pyanepsion
Thesmophoria

18 13 Pyanepsion
Thesmophoria

19 14 Pyanepsion
The Heroines

22 17 Pyanepsion 23 18 Pyanepsion 24 19 Pyanepsion 25 20 Pyanepsion 26 21 Pyanepsion

20 15 Pyanepsion

21 16 Pyanepsion

27 22 Pyanepsion

28 23 Pyanepsion

29 24 Pyanepsion

30 25 Pyanepsion

31 26 Pyanepsion

Dark of the moon: Oct 4 8:35 pm EDT; 7:35 pm CDT; 6:35 pm MDT; 5:35 pm PDT

November 2013
Pyanepsion Maimakterion - Year 1 of the 698th Olympiad Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday 1 27 Pyanepsion Saturday 2 28 Pyanepsion

= full moon

3 29 Pyanepsion

4 30 Pyanepsion
Hekate's Deipnon Khalkeia

5 1 Maimakterion
Noumenia

6 2 Maimakterion
Agathos Daimon

7 3 Maimakterion

8 4 Maimakterion

9 5 Maimakterion
Libation to Ares

10 6 Maimakterion

11 7 Maimakterion
Remembrance Day Veterans Day

12 8 Maimakterion

13 9 Maimakterion

14 10 Maimakterion
Pompaia?

15 11 Maimakterion

16 12 Maimakterion

17 13 Maimakterion

18 14 Maimakterion

19 15 Maimakterion

20 16 Maimakterion

21 17 Maimakterion

22 18 Maimakterion

23 19 Maimakterion

24 20 Maimakterion 25 21 Maimakterion 26 22 Maimakterion 27 23 Maimakterion 28 24 Maimakterion


Thanksgiving (USA)

29 25 Maimakterion

30 26 Maimakterion

Dark of the moon: Nov 3 7:50 am EST; 6:50 am CST; 5:50 am MST; 4:50 am PST; Daylight savings time ends November 3 in Canada and USA.

December 2013
Maimakterion Poseideon Year 1 of the 698th Olympiad Sunday 1 27 Maimakterion Monday 2 28 Maimakterion Tuesday 3 29 Maimakterion
Hekate's Deipnon

Wednesday 4 1 Poseideon
Noumenia

Thursday 5 2 Poseideon
Agathos Daimon

Friday 6 3 Poseideon

Saturday 7 4 Poseideon

8 5 Poseideon

9 6 Poseideon

10 7 Poseideon

11 8 Poseideon

12 9 Poseideon

13 10 Poseideon

14 11 Poseideon
Libation to Dionysos

15 12 Poseideon

16 13 Poseideon

17 14 Poseideon

18 15 Poseideon

19 16 Poseideon

20 17 Poseideon
Poseidea Heliogenna Solstice

21 18 Poseideon
Heliogenna

22 19 Poseideon 23 20 Poseideon 24 21 Poseideon 25 22 Poseideon 26 23 Poseideon

27 24 Poseideon

28 25 Poseideon

29 26 Poseideon
Haloa

30 27 Poseideon

31 28 Poseideon
New Year's Eve

= full moon

Dark of the moon: Dec 2 7:23 pm EST; 6:23 pm CST; 5:23 pm MST; 4:23 pm PST