April 18, 2013 Evan D. Kharasch, M.D., Ph.D. Vice Chancellor for Research Russell D. and Mary B.

Shelden Professor of Anesthesiology Washington University in St. Louis Campus Box 8027 660 South Euclid Avenue St. Louis, MO 63110 Via e-mail: kharasch@wustl.edu Dear Dr. Kharasch, We were disappointed that you and your colleagues were not willing to meet to discuss the allegations we mentioned in our April 10 email. As you have requested, we are providing you with the information. PETA has obtained disturbing undercover video footage taken last month during a cat intubation laboratory in the Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) course conducted at Washington University in St. Louis (WUSTL) in conjunction with St. Louis Children’s Hospital (SLCH). The footage, which you can view at http://www.petapreview.com/4preview/cat_intubation_laboratory_preview.asp, contains evidence of inadequately anesthetized cats waking up in the middle of intubation procedures and being placed at risk for serious injury from excessive intubation attempts. The video contains a troubling clip of a WUSTL laboratory veterinarian grossly misrepresenting the American Heart Association’s (AHA) position against animal use in the PALS course to trainees. This information has now been provided to the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the American Heart Association. As PETA and a host of pediatric medical experts have communicated on dozens of occasions to WUSTL and SLCH faculty and administration since 2008, there is absolutely no evidence showing that intubating cats improves clinical performance. Indeed, studies have found that those trained on human patient simulators are more proficient than those trained using animal laboratories. This is why out of the more than 1,000 PALS facilities, WUSTL is the only one that still uses animals for intubation training. We urge you to immediately end these cruel and outdated exercises before the next PALS course takes place on May 30.

We are still open to meeting with you to further discuss this matter. I look forward to your reply. You can contact me by e-mail at JustinG@peta.org or by telephone at 860-882-2492. Sincerely yours,

Justin Goodman, M.A. Director Laboratory Investigations Department cc: Mariellen L. Dennett (dennettm@wusm.wustl.edu) Mark S. Wrighton, Ph.D. (wrighton@wustl.edu) Larry J. Shapiro, M.D. (shapirol@wustl.edu) Donald E. Clayton (claytond@wustl.edu) Michael R. Cannon, Esq. (michael_cannon@aismail.wustl.edu) Jill Friedman (jill.friedman@wustl.edu) Joni Westerhouse (westerhousej@wustl.edu)