The National Geographic Society Board of Trustees

Last Update: May 8, 2013

iles f o Photos & biographical sketches n e pr e tio t c s u u r Tr nst o c er und

At a glance
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 John Fahey Gil Grosvenor Terry Adamson Wanda M. Austin Michael R. Bonsignore Jean N. Case Alexandra Grosvenor Eller Roger A. Enrico Daniel S. Goldin William R. Harvey Maria E. Lagomasino George Muñoz Reg Murphy Patrick F. Noonan Peter H. Raven Edward P. Roski, Jr. James R. Sasser B. Francis Saul II Gerd Schulte-Hillen Ted Waitt Tracy R. Wolstencroft






















John Fahey
Chairman Washington, D.C

John M. Fahey, Jr. became the President and Chief Executive Officer of the National Geographic Society in 1998, succeeding Reg Murphy. Fahey also serves as a member of the Board of Trustees, as well as Chairman of its executive committee. In January 2011 he succeeded Gilbert M. Grosvenor as chairman of the Society and relinquished the President title to Tim T. Kelly (who has since left the Society). Fahey received his bachelor’s degree in engineering from Manhattan College and an MBA from the University of Michigan. He was previously president of Time-Life Books. Fahey graduated from Cardinal Spellman High School (Bronx, NY) in 1969.

Gilbert M. Grosvenor
Chairman Emeritus Hume, VA

Gilbert Melville Grosvenor, born on May 5, 1931, is a past president and chief executive of the National Geographic Society, as well as a former editor of National Geographic Magazine. Born in Washington, D.C., Grosvenor is the son of Melville Bell Grosvenor and the great-grandson of Alexander Graham Bell. He assumed the position of editor of National Geographic Magazine in 1970 and held the position until 1980 when he became president of the National Geographic Society. Since his retirement as president of the Society in 1996, he has served as Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Society, as well as an Honorary Director of The Explorers Club. Grosvenor was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian honour in the United States, by President George W. Bush on June 23, 2004.

Terry Adamson
Washington, DC

Wanda Austin
El Segundo, CA

Wanda Austin is the President and CEO of The Aerospace Corporation. She earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Franklin & Marshall College, a master’s degrees in systems engineering and mathematics from the University of Pittsburgh, and a doctorate in systems engineering from the University of Southern California. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and a member of the International Academy of Astronautics. In 2009 she was named Black Engineer of the Year. In that same year Dr. Austin also served as a member of the White House commissioned U.S. Human Space Flight Plans Committee. In 2011 Dr. Austin was elected as Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Michael R. Bonsignore
Montecito, CA

Michael Bonsignore is a former chairman and chief executive officer of Honeywell. Bonsignore graduated from the United States Naval Academy with a degree in electrical engineering in 1963, and subsequently graduated from Texas A&M University in 1969. He joined Honeywell in 1969 with the Aerospace group. He was named president of Honeywell Europe in 1982, executive vice president in 1987, and chief operating officer in 1990. Finally, Bonsignore was named chairman and chief executive officer in 1993. Bonsignore is a collector of Northwest Coast art. He owns Stonington Gallery, which features contemporary masterworks of the Pacific Northwest and Alaska, in Seattle, Washington.

Jean N. Case
Washington, DC

Jean N. Case (born 1959) is CEO of the Case Foundation, which she and her husband, AOL cofounder Steve Case, created in 1997. In June 2006 she was appointed by President Bush to chair the President's Council on Service and Civic Participation. In 2007, Case was asked by U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice to serve as a co-chair of the U.S.Palestinian Partnership. Case is a board member of Malaria No More, a New York-based nonprofit that was launched at the December 2006 White House Summit to end all deaths caused by malaria. She also serves on the National Geographic Society's board of trustees[3] and on the boards of Accelerate Brain Cancer Cure (ABC2), ePals, Brainscope, Miraval Resort,[4] SnagFilms, National Geographic Ventures and The Potomac School, as well as on the advisory council of the National Geographic Society and the advisory board to the National Council on Citizenship and the Brain Trust Accelerator Fund.

Alexandra Grosvenor Eller
Salt Lake City, UT

Roger A. Enrico
Dallas, TX
• •

Enrico was educated at Babson College. He is the former Chairman/CEO of PepsiCo from 1996 to 2001, and Chairman of DreamWorks Animation SKG Inc from 2004 to 2012. He serves on the Board of Directors of the National Geographic Society, the Environmental Defense Fund and the American Film Institute.

Daniel S. Goldin
San Diego, CA

Daniel Saul Goldin (born July 23, 1940) served as the 9th and longest-tenured Administrator of NASA from April 1, 1992, to November 17, 2001. He was appointed by President George H. W. Bush and also served under Presidents William Jefferson Clinton and George W. Bush.

William Harvey
Hampton, VA

Maria Elena Lagomasino
New York, NY

Maria Elena Lagomasino is a high-ranking business woman who has been CEO and director of such companies as Coca-Cola and JP Morgan Chase. In 2007, she was named Hispanic Business Woman of the Year by Hispanic Business magazine. Lagomasino received her M.B.A from Fordham University. Before 1983, Lagomasino was a vice president at Citibank, then joined Chase in 1983 as vice president, in charge of Latin America. In 1989, she was named head of the private bank for the Western Hemisphere, then became managing director in charge of its Global Private Banking Group in 1997. She was chairman and chief executive officer of JP Morgan Private Bank, a unit of JP Morgan Chase from 2001 to 2003, when she became a director of The Coca-Cola Company. She left Morgan to become CEO of Asset Management Advisors (AMA), an affiliate of SunTrust Banks, in November 2005. She sits on the board of directors of the The Coca-Cola Company (where she was voted director in 2008[2]), Avon Products, and the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts.

George Muñoz
Arlington, VA

George Muñoz is President and co-founder of Muñoz Investment Banking Group. The firm is primarily focused on financing and investments in the Emerging Markets Countries as well as in the U.S. Hispanic community. He is also a Partner at Tobin & Muñoz, a Chicago-based law firm focused on commercial litigation and international corporate transactions Mr. Muñoz was the President and CEO of the Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC) from 1997 to 2001. He is also a former Assistant Secretary and Chief Financial Officer of the United States Department of the Treasury (1993–1997). Munoz was appointed by President Obama in 2009 to the President's Commission on White House Fellows.

Reg Murphy
Sea Island, GA

Patrick F. Noonan
Arlington, VA

Peter H. Raven
St. Louis, MO

Edward P. Roski, Jr.
North Hollywood, CA

James R. Sasser
Washington, DC

B. Francis Saul II
Chevy Chase, MD

Gerd Schulte-Hillen
Hamburg, Germany

Ted Waitt
La Jolla, CA

Tracy R. Wolstencroft
New York, NY

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful