Sir, We at Stand.org.

uk were both surprised and disappointed to note that the Guardian has made no mention of the Cabinet memo, leaked over the weekend, regarding David Blunkett's proposal for compulsory ID cards for all British residents, with a price tag of at least �39 per person. This matter is provoking no little amount of debate elsewhere and we are pleased to recall that the Guardian was one of the many newspapers pointing out some of the flaws in Blunkett's original "Entitlement Cards" consultation when it was launched around a year ago. After the controversy caused by the Home Office's misleading statements that could lead one to conclude that they were trying to ignore the thousands of anti-ID card responses sent through our www.stand.org.uk portal before the concept of any price was mention, it might be timely to remind the Home Secretary that our 64-page report on ID cards, submitted as our response to the consultation, is available from our website. Not only would the "police state poll Britain, at a rate many believe to be some of the claims introduction of such a scheme be the effective imposition of a tax", levying a new tariff against everyone resident in underestimated, but we were alarmed and entertained to note Blunkett made to his Cabinet colleagues in the memo.

The Home Secretary claimed that "we are strengthened in our liberty if our identity is protected from theft; if we are able to access the services we are entitled to; and if our community is better protected from terrorists and organised criminals". Whilst all these points are true, he fails to note that the introduction of an ID card scheme could well INCREASE the risk of having our identities stolen and, as he admitted in the House himself, would make no difference whatsoever to terrorism and organised crime (particularly if, not being obliged to carry them at all times, we only have to report to a police station within two weeks, like with drivers' licences; we suspect that terrorists might not bother, somehow). Furthermore, the main reason we would be unable to access government-provided services without an ID card would be if the scheme required it. It is obvious, then, that these are all false wins. Despite the Home Secretary's flagrant courting of populist tabloid issues, it still seems as though the vast majority of the British public is against any ID card scheme, at any price. We would call on all members of the Cabinet to reject this expensive and ineffective idea. Yours, [signed] Owen Blacker, volunteer at Stand.org.uk, owen@stand.org.uk (London, GB) James Cronin, volunteer, james@stand.org.uk (London, GB) Yoz Grahame, volunteer, yoz@stand.org.uk (London, GB)

Cait Hurley, volunteer, cait@stand.org.uk (London, GB) Manar Hussein, volunteer, manar@stand.org.uk (London, GB) Malcolm Hutty, volunteer, malcolm@stand.org.uk (London, GB) Tom Loosemore, volunteer, tom@stand.org.uk (London, GB) Stefan Magdalinski, volunteer, stefan@stand.org.uk (London, GB) Danny O'Brien, volunteer, danny@stand.org.uk (San Jose, California, US) Alaric Snell, volunteer, alaric@stand.org.uk (London, GB) Stuart Tily, volunteer, stuart@stand.org.uk (London, GB)

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful