You are on page 1of 3

What is Halal Food? In Arabic, the word halal means permitted or lawful.

Halal foods are foods that are allowed under Islamic dietary guidelines. According to these guidelines gathered from the Qu'ran, Muslim followers cannot consume the following:

pork or pork by products animals that were dead prior to slaughtering animals not slaughtered properly or not slaughtered in the name of Allah blood and blood by products alcohol carnivorous animals birds of prey land animals without external ears These prohibited foods and ingredients are called haram, meaning forbidden in Arabic. Halal is One of the Most Humane Methods of Animal Slaughter Muslims are taught through the Qu'ran that all animals should be treated with respect and well cared for. The goal is to slaughter the animal, limiting the amount of pain the animal will endure.

When an animal is slaughtered, the jugular vein is cut and the blood is allowed to drain from the animal. Remember, Muslims are prohibited from consuming animal blood. Where to Find Halal Foods Halal foods can be found in many Middle Eastern grocers. In larger cities, you may be able to find halal butchers.

With the growing demand for Halal foods in some areas, some national supermarket chains are carrying halal meats even halal turkeys for Thanksgiving.

rice. The animal should be put down on the ground (or held it if it is small) and its throat should be slit with a very sharp knife to make sure that the 3 main blood vessels are cut.. Animals such as cows. but they must be Zabihah (slaughtered according to Islamic Rites) in order to be suitable for consumption. game birds. and goats) 2. Legumes and nuts like peanuts. Fresh or naturally frozen vegetables 6. etc. While cutting the throat of the animal (without severing it). chickens. Grains such as wheat. goats. Fish 4. sheep. Fresh or dried fruits 7. Honey 3. rye. the person must pronounce the name of Allah or recite a blessing which contains the name of Allah. ducks. etc. sheep. etc. . Plants which are not intoxicant 5. moose. are also Halal. 8.The following products are definitely Halal: 1. walnuts. oat. such as "Bismillah Allah-uAkbar". cashew nuts. hazel nuts. barley. camels. The procedure is as follows: the animal must be slaughtered by a Muslim (or a Jew or Christian click here for more). deer. Milk (from cows.

. 8. Grains such as wheat. Fresh or dried fruits 7. sheep. rice. barley. Milk (from cows. The procedure is as follows: the animal must be slaughtered by a Muslim (or a Jew or Christian click here for more). etc. moose. Fresh or naturally frozen vegetables 6. walnuts. hazel nuts.. etc. game birds. deer. Honey 3. The animal should be put down on the ground (or held it if it is small) and its throat should be slit with a very sharp knife to make sure that the 3 main blood vessels are cut. ducks. etc. goats. Fish 4. such as "Bismillah Allah-uAkbar". Plants which are not intoxicant 5. the person must pronounce the name of Allah or recite a blessing which contains the name of Allah. Animals such as cows. oat. camels. cashew nuts. sheep. Legumes and nuts like peanuts.The following products are definitely Halal: 1. and goats) 2. are also Halal. chickens. but they must be Zabihah (slaughtered according to Islamic Rites) in order to be suitable for consumption. While cutting the throat of the animal (without severing it). rye.