You are on page 1of 5

The Lord of the Rings

War of the Ring


Escalation League FAQ’s
Any rules questions or issues that the League Organizers think need to be addressed by a League
FAQ will be binding on all games. Any official GW FAQ's or Errata subsequently released will
be immediately in effect. If any of these GW FAQ's/Errata are on point for a League FAQ, they
will supersede the appropriatee League FAQ.

Errata Q3. Can a Balrog “hide” behind a unit of


Goblins for LOS purposes?
Replace all instances of “Pathfinder (All)
(All)”
with “Pathfinder (Master).” A3. Yes. Unless a model or formation is either
on or counts as Elevated Terrain, it can have
LOS to it blocked by any model or formation.
This is an abstraction that does not utilize “True
FAQ's LOS” or height levels from other systems.
Q1. Can an Epic Hero join a Mûmak? Q4. If I need a 6+/4+ to hit, but I have two-
two
A1. No. Epic Heroes cannot join monsters.
handed weapon (+1 to hit, -1 1 Fight), then does
this mean I need (1)) a 5+/3+ to hit, or (2) a 6+
However, there is an argument to be made that
to hit?
the Mûmak is a special type of monster (all other
monsters are defined as “Single model(s)” while A4. (2) is correct: 6+.
the Mûmak and its 13 crew are defined as a
“Single Company”). The Mûmak “Company” is Q5. Legendary formationss are listed as “X

technically
hnically the command company, and could be points + Y per company.” Does this mean (1)
joined by an Epic Hero. It seems unlikely that that I pay X points for the command
the rules designers intended such a subtlety to company and Y points for each additional
create a distinction between the Mûmak and company OR (2) that I pay X+Y points for
other monsters, and would have preferred an the command company and Y points for each
explicit special rule, stating that Epic Heroes can additional company?
join the Mûmak.
A5. (2) is correct. If you look
k at the price of
Barring an overriding ruling from GW, Epic legendary formations in battle reports at the
Heroes will not be allowed to join a Mûmak. beginning of the Rulebook, they are priced as
X+Y for the command company, and Y for each
Q2. Are the casualties caused through Heroic additional company.
Duels considered when working out who has
won a fight? Q6. How many Heroic / Epic Actions can a
Hero use per turn? Per phase?
A2. Yes.
A6.. Heroes can use as many actions
action per turn and
phase as they are able to pay
ay for with Might or
special abilities

A#5,#x26Yw1#jYz^= A#5,#xxw%)1#jY A#5,#x37z#1#jHz^= X#w6HktH0§%z7q%)1jY


A#5,#x26Yw1#j 37z#1#jHz^= X#w6HktH0§%z7q%)1jY
jYYz^= A#5,#xxw%)1#jY A#5,#x3
Q7. Under the Mûmak’s “Trample!” rules, Q9. Through a combination ion of modifiers, I
during the movement phase it stops when it need +1 to hit in combat. Does this mean I
comes into contact with any defensible or “auto hit” OR all rolls of “1” still failures?
impassable terrain and suffers D6 hits.
Consequently, a Mûmak can never occupy a A9.. Rolls of “1” are failures in combat. Though
defensible terrain feature. But can a Mûmak the Rulebook doesn’t cover this, there is an
charge a formation in a defensible terrain? IIf indication from White Dwarf battle reports by
so, does it suffer D6 hits? Matt Ward that 1’s were intended to be failures.

A7. Yes, a Mûmak may charge a formation in a Q10. There seem to be some timing issues for
defensible terrain feature, though it is not declaring and resolving a combination of
eligible to occupy it, should it win the fight. Heroic and Epic Actions.
s. How should these
And, no, it will not suffer D6 hits for coming be resolved?
into contact with the defensible terrain during A10. See Appendix 1, below, for a full
the Fight Phase. discussion of timing and resolution issues.
Q8.. If I’m facing an enemy formation that
does not cause Terror on its own, but has
been joined by an Epic Hero who does cause
Terror, must I take a Terror test to charge or
if I’m charged?

A8. Yes. P. 69 is clear


ar that an Epic Hero’s
special rules do not transfer to the company or
formation he joins, unless the rules explicitly
state otherwise.
se. However, this does not mean
that an Epic Hero loses his special rules upon
joining a company. Per the Terror rules (p. 663) if
a formation wishes to charge a Terror
Terror-causing
creature it must take a Terror test. Since the
Terror-causing
causing creature is in the formation being
charged/charging, your unit must test. A battle
report with Matt Ward used this interpretation
with Hardrim joined by Khamûl. It should be
noted, that this is open for abuse, and an army
should not be designed with the intent of
maximizing this benefit.

Summer 2009 – War of the Ring


Page 2 Escalation League FAQ’s

A#5,#x26Yw1#jYz^= A#5,#xxw%)1#jY A#5,#x37z#1#jHz^= X#w6HktH0§%z7q%)1jY


A#5,#x26Yw1#j 37z#1#jHz^= X#w6HktH0§%z7q%)1jY
jYYz^= A#5,#xxw%)1#jY A#5,#x3

Escalation League FAQ’s


Appendix 1

The rules for Heroic / Epic Actions seem deceptively simple. Unfortunately there are a host of timing and
resolution issues that can arise from the rules. The following rules clarifications and the subsequent
charts are not meant to be new rules, but rather they are meant to fill in gaps of the current rules, which
are at times ambiguous and unclear aass to the timing and resolution. Some of the Epic Actions are
straightforward, but have been included in the chart for thoroughness. The below clarifications have been
made using certain interpretive decisions. There are other ways to interpret ththee timing and resolution
resol
issues, but the Organizers believe that the below gives the most logical and common sense application to
the framework provided by the rules
rules’ authors.

There are two different types of Heroic / Epic Actions


Actions:: (1) those that are declared at the start of a
particular phase; and (2) those that are declared incident to a “timing trigger.”

(1) At the start of a particular phase:


The player with priority may make an H/E Action that is eligible to be made at that time. Resolve the
declaration of multiple heroes per the rulebook, p. 66.
Once all "start of phase" H/E Actions have been called, they form a queue are resolved in order, first to
last before the normal Priority sequence for that Phase, unless otherwise specified.

(2) Incident to a “Timing Trigger”:


Other Epic Actions are eligible to be called when the formation is "due to act." Specifically, before a
formation is "due to fight" or "due to move" (we will refer to these as "timing triggers"). If multiple Epic
Actions eligible to be called at the same ttiming
iming triggers are called, they form a queue for that particular
timing trigger.
For example: It is the Fight Phase. Player A's (with Priority) formation and Player B's formation are
engaged in a fight. A chooses this combat to be resolved. This creates a timing trigger for Epic Actions
"before the hero's formation is due to fight." A declares that he will make an Epic Action. B does the
same. They roll off, A wins. A's Hero declares an Epic Rampage, B's Hero declares an Epic Strike. Both
actions are part off this particular timing trigger queue and A's action is resolved first (the benefit is
conferred to the company) and then B's action is resolved (the benefit is conferred to the Hero).

Epic Actions that are incident to timing triggers can also “interrupt” other Heroic / Epic Action
resolutions. These interrupting Epic Actions are resolved within the resolution of the first H/E Action.
Again, if there are multiple actions that can interrupt the same timing trigger, then they are rolled off for,
entered
tered into a queue for this new timing trigger, and resolved in first
first-to-last order.
For example: It is the Fight Phase. A declares that he will make and Epic Action. B declares that he will
make and Epic Action. They roll off, B wins. B declares an Heroic Fight between formations A1 and B1.
B declares an Heroic Fight between formations A2 and B2. B's Heroic Fight between A1 and B1 is
resolved first, before the normal priority sequence. By resolving the Heroic Fight, the timing trigger
"before the Hero's formation
rmation is due to fight" is triggered. A declares an Epic Strike. The Epic Strike
resolves within the resolution of B's Epic Fight. The Heroic Fight then completes its resolution, with
formation A1 at F10. Upon the successful resolution of B's Heroic Fight
Fight,, they return to the initial queue
and A's Heroic Fight between formations A2 and B2 is then resolved.

Summer 2009 – War of the Ring


Page 3 Escalation League FAQ’s

A#5,#x26Yw1#jYz^= A#5,#xxw%)1#jY A#5,#x37z#1#jHz^= X#w6HktH0§%z7q%)1jY


A#5,#x26Yw1#j 37z#1#jHz^= X#w6HktH0§%z7q%)1jY
jYYz^= A#5,#xxw%)1#jY A#5,#x3

Escalation League FAQ’s


Appendix 1 (continued)

Actions that are declared at the start of a particular phase are not able to interrupt other Heroic / Epic
Actions. Some of them are interruptible, and if so are indicated appropriately in the chart.

(1)) Actions at the Start of a Particular Phase


Is it
Name When is it declared? When is it resolved?
interruptible?
Epic Before the normal priority sequence for the applicable
At the start of any Phase No
Renewal Phase
Epic Before the normal priority sequence for the applicable
At the start of any Phase No
Restoration Phase
Epic At the start of the Priority
Confers benefit for the remainder of the Turn No
Leadership Phase
Heroic
At the start of the Move Phase Before the normal priority sequence for the Move Phase Yes
Move
Courage Test:
Courage Test: Before the normal priority sequence for the No
Epic Move Phase Movement,
At the start of the Move Phase
Challenge Subsequent Movement and Charging, Fight, Duel el: During Charge, Fight,
the normal, applicable Priority sequence Duel:
Yes
Heroic Yes (by an
At the start of the Shoot Phase Before the normal priority sequence for the Shoot Phase
Shoot Epic Shot)
Heroic At the start of the Charge Yes (by an
Before the normal priority sequence for the Charge Phase
Charge Phase Epic Charge)
Heroic Fight At the start of the Fight Phase Before the normal priority sequence for the Fight Phase Yes
Before the normal priority sequence for the Fight Phase
Heroic /
At the start of the Fight Phase (note: an Heroic / Epic Duel may be resolved after an Yes
Epic Duel
Heroic Fight involving the same participants)
Epic
At the start of the Fight Phase Confers benefit during the Fight Phase No
Rampage
Epic
At the start of the Fight Phase Confers benefit during the Fight Phase No
Strength
Epic
At the start of the Fight Phase Before the normal priority sequence for the Fight Phase No
Cowardice
Epic Poison At the start of the Fight Phase Confers benefit during the Fight Phase No

Summer 2009 – War of the Ring


Page 4 Escalation League FAQ’s

A#5,#x26Yw1#jYz^= A#5,#xxw%)1#jY A#5,#x37z#1#jHz^= X#w6HktH0§%z7q%)1jY


A#5,#x26Yw1#j 37z#1#jHz^= X#w6HktH0§%z7q%)1jY
jYYz^= A#5,#xxw%)1#jY A#5,#x3

Escalation League FAQ’s


Appendix 1 (continued)
Actions that are declared incident to a timing trigger can generally interrupt other actions that are declared
at the start of a particular phase. These actions incident to timing triggers cannot interrupt each other, but
rather form queues appropriate to their timing trigger. The chart provides some indication when interrupts
are appropriate.

(2) Actions Incident to Timing Triggers


Can it
Name When is it declared? When is it resolved?
interrupt?
Epic Yes (one's own
Before the Hero's formation is due to move When the Hero's formation moves
Journey Heroic Move)
Epic Yes (one's own
Before the Hero's formation is due to move Confers benefit for the remainder of the Turn
Channeling Heroic Move)
Epic Yes (one's own
Before the Hero's formation is due to move Confers benefit for the remainder of the Turn
Ruination Heroic Move)
Yes (another
Epic Shot) –
May also be
Epic Shot At any point in the Shooting Phase Immediately
interrupted by
another Epic
Shot
Yes (one’s
Check condition during the Charge Phase
Epic Charge Before the Hero's formation is due to charge own Heroic
Confers benefit during the Fight Phase
charge)
Epic
Before the Hero's formation is due to fight Confers benefit during the Fight Phase Yes
Defense
Epic Rage Before the Hero's formation is due to fight Confers benefit during the Fight Phase Yes
Epic
Before the Hero's formation is due to fight Confers benefit during the Fight Phase Yes
Sacrifice
Before the Hero is due to fight in an Heroic
Epic Strike / Epic Duel OR before his formation is due Confers benefit during the Fight Phase Yes
to fight

Summer 2009 – War of the Ring


Page 5 Escalation League FAQ’s

A#5,#x26Yw1#jYz^= A#5,#xxw%)1#jY A#5,#x37z#1#jHz^= X#w6HktH0§%z7q%)1jY

Related Interests