You are on page 1of 7

IELTS Course Outline Academic Year 2010/2011

Week & Day 1.1 Mon 31st Jan 2011

Topic Induction Communicatio n (1)

Test Skill

Task Type Group discussions Survey Quiz

Language focus V Paraphrase V Ways of communicating G The passive P Spelling and numbers

Reading Speakin g Writing Listenin g Listenin g Speakin g Writing Speakin g Speakin g Reading Listenin

True / False/ Not Given answers Short Answer questions part 1 Spelling errors Note completion Note completion Part 1 Using appropriate processes Part 3

1.2 A Healthy Diet Tues 1st Food and Feb Drink (2) 2011

language

and

P Weak and strong forms V- Adjectives and describing describing food G Comparing things/ similarities/ differences G Adverbs of degree G Cause, purpose and result V- Descriptive adjectives V- Adjectives ending in 1

2.1 Mon 7th Feb 2011

City attractions leisure in the city (3)

Part1 Multiple matching Note completion

IELTS Course Outline Academic Year 2010/2011

Week & Topic Day

Test Skill g

Task Type

Language focus ing and ed P- Word stress in related words

2.1 Ways of Learning Education (4) Speakin g Listenin g Writing 2.2 Tues 8th Feb 2011 Revision (1-4) IELTS Writing overview IELTS Speaking overview IELTS Listening overview Writing Speakin g Listenin g

Part 3 Multiple choice Multiple choice with multiple answers Handling data 1 line graphs

V- Words used in academic writing G- Review of present tenses P- Word stress

IELTS Course Outline Academic Year 2010/2011

Week & Topic Day 3.1 Discovering Mon the past th 14 History (5) Feb 2011

Test Skill Reading Speakin g Listenin g Writing Listenin g

Task Type True / False / Not given Multiple choice Note completion Part 3 Labelling, Sentence and note completion Task 1: A description of a place Flow chart completion Sentence completion Labelling a diagram Table completion Multiple choice Task 1: Letter of application Task 2: Understanding the planning your writing Part 2 Parts 1 and 3 Multiple choice Headings question

Language focus V- Types of building V- Collocations related to research G- Review of past tenses

3.2 Tues 15th Feb 2011

What is job satisfaction? (6)

V Work V Collocations with money

Writing Speakin g Speakin g Reading

and G- Past simple or past perfect

4.1 Mon 21st Feb

Selling Dreams Advertising (7)

V- Word formation

IELTS Course Outline Academic Year 2010/2011

Week & Topic Day 2011

Test Skill Listenin g

Task Type Sentence completion Headings Table completion Part 1 & Part 2 Short answer questions (lists) Short answer questions

Language focus P- Sentence stress G- Relative clause V- Advertising G- Taking about the future P Vowel length V Leisure activities

4.2 Tues 22nd Feb 2011 5.1 Mon 28th Feb 2011

Time to waste? Leisure activities (8) Revision (58)

Reading Speakin g Listenin g

Reading Climate change The environment (9) Speakin g

5.2 Tues 1st March 2011 Test Conditions!! !! 4

IELTS Course Outline Academic Year 2010/2011

Week & Day 6.1 Mon 7th March 20011

Topic Official Practice Test

Test Skill Listeni ng Readin g Writing Speaki ng

Task Type Official Practice Test

Language focus Official Practice Test

6.2 Tues 8th March 2011 7.1 Mon 14th March 2011 7.2 Tues 15th March 2011 5

IELTS Course Outline Academic Year 2010/2011

Week & Topic Day 8.1 Mon 21st March 2011 8.2 Tues 22nd March 20011 9.1 Mon 28th March 2011 9.2 Tues 29th March 2011

Test Skill

Task Type

Language focus

IELTS Course Outline Academic Year 2010/2011

Week & Topic Day 10.1 Mon 4th April 2011 10.2 Tues 5th April 2011

Test Skill

Task Type

Language focus