May 18, 2009

Edited By: Brian Goessling Email:

SSSC Website and Events Update
Check out the Speed Council website ( for activities that are occurring this semester. Freshman Orientations will begin later this month and there are a few events council will be doing for this. Those interested in volunteering are asked to email Freshman Game Nights will be hosted again this year (roughly every Monday and Thursday, starting May 28 at 9 PM). This is an activity where the new students can mix and mingle with each other as well as with student and society representatives by playing video games during the free time the night of their orientation. Because of this, each society is highly encouraged to have at least one representative to assist the students with any questions they may have and to encourage them to join the societies. Also, other than Freshman activities, the following tournaments will be held this summer:    Kickball May 21st-30th Rosters due at captain’s meeting-May 18th 2:00 P.M. at SSSC office Ultimate Frisbee June 1st-6th Rosters due at captain’s meeting-May 28th 2:00 P.M. at SSSC office Volleyball (league and tourney) June 8th-July 10th Rosters due at captain’s meeting-June 8th 2:00 P.M. at the SSSC office

The deadline for Kickball and Ultimate Frisbee is coming VERY soon! It’s going to be greatso sign up and pick up rosters at the council office (JB Speed 105) if you haven’t already! Also, the first annual Water Balloon Dodge Ball is June 12th, and Speed Summer Olympics are on July 11th!! Direct any questions to Ryan Frazier, DOSAC, at

New Year, New Officers
Student Council elects new directors each year to be instated at the E-Ball following E-Expo. Below is a listing of the new officers. Anyone interested in joining council is encouraged to email Kent Matsuzaki at for more information or to drop by at the council office at JS 105 or at the council meetings held weekly on Thursdays at 12:20 PM in JS 100. President - Kent Matsuzaki Vice President - Alex Halbleib Director of Administration - Jared Hatfield Director of Corporate and Alumni Relations - Allie Bube Director of Finance - Mike Schoen Director of Public Relations - Belinda Casasanova Director of Society Relations - Race Nichols Director of Student Activities - Ryan Frazier Director of Student Affairs - Shannon George Also, during the National Association of Engineering Student Councils (an organization that oversees the councils of ABET-accredited schools in the United States) national conference this year, new officers were elected. Ahmed Awadallah replaced Shelly Willingham as the new NAESC national president. Both of these students are students at U of L.


Which will you choose?


Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful