You are on page 1of 2

the

fission product
THE RHODE ISLAND SECTION OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY "THE FIRST SECTION" Vol 62, No. 4 July, 2013

RIACS Science Caf Series


The Rhode Island Section of the American Chemical Society will be holding a series of Science Cafs in the coming months. These events are meant as outreach events to the public, providing a venue and forum for discussion, in a friendly, not too technical way, of topics of interest. The events are free and open to the public (though we will want an RSVP to get a headcount for planning purposes).

Science Caf I
Wednesday, August 14th 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm Grey Sail Brewing of Rhode Island 63 Canal Street in Westerly, RI
Grey Sail Co-owner Alan Brinton and Head Brewer Josh Letourneau will discuss the chemistry behind brewing. Beer (!) and light appetizers will be served. The event is free and open to the public, but please register by calling Pete Bonk at 401-596-6709 or emailing Kathy Siok at kathy5@cox.net.

Science Caf II
Wednesday, September 25th 6:30-8:30 pm Knights of Columbus Hall Downtown Westerly, RI.
The Enhanced Oil and Gas Recovery Technique Known as Fracking will be the topic of this Science Caf. Contact/RSVP: Peter Bonk, peterjbonk@gmail.com 401-935-3534

Science Cafe' III


October, Date and time TBA Frosty Drew Observatory Charlestown, RI
There will be a presentation about Comet ISON, soon to be visible in November, and about comets in general. This will be followed by observing if the weather is cooperative. Fall refreshments will be served. Contact Kathy Siok at kathy5@cox.net. .

Science Caf IV
Date TBA 6:30-8:30 pm Knights of Columbus Hall Downtown Westerly, RI.
Determining the Climate: Past, Present and Future? Primary RI ACS Contact: Pete Bonk peterjbonk@gmail.com 401-935-3534 Coming Event: Thursday, November 14, 2013, at Rhode Island School of Design: Dr. Jennifer Maas, Senior Conservation Scientist at Winterthur Museum in Delaware.

Rhode Island Section Officers for 2013


Mark Zell, Chair 33 Skunk Hill Road, Hope Valley, RI 02832-1207 (734) 424-9727 zellm_98@yahoo.com Kathleen Siok, Vice Chair 86 Spring Rd, North Kingstown, RI 02852-1650 (401)885-1608 kathys5@cox.net Glenn Thompson, Treasurer 33 Lawton Foster Rd S, Hopkinton, RI 02833 (401) 212-6234 gthompso2@juno.com Dale Roberts, Secretary 61 Swan View Lane, North Kingstown, RI 02852-6136 (401) 294-3870 droberts30@live.com Peter Bonk, Councilor 27 Saratoga Avenue, Westerly, RI 02891, (401) 823-2025 peterjbonk@gmail.com Louis Kirschenbaum, Alternate Councilor University of Rhode Island (401) 874-2340 kirschenbaum@chm.uri.edu Editor, Fission Product James G. Magyar Physical Science Department, Rhode Island College Providence, RI 02908-1991 456-9697, FAX 456-8396, jmagyar@ric.edu Members-at-Large of the Executive Committee Paul Czech 401-865-2476 pczech@providence.edu Elaine S. Magyar 456-9747 emagyar@ric.edu Paul Williard 401-863-3589 Paul_Williard@Brown.edu Michael Gray mgpssusa1@aol.com Glnisson deOliveira (2011) (401) 456-9697 gdeoliveira@ric.edu Herb Katz (2009) (401) 942-4832

For a complete copy of the Fission Product (PDF) see http://www.ric.edu/faculty/organic/fission/fp.pdf


Local Section Web Site: http://rhodeisland.sites.acs.org/ http://www.ric.edu/faculty/organic/fission/