ATTRACTIONS

Area

F R E E T
AKE ONE

Fall 2013

A cooperative publication of: COURIER PRESS CLAYTON COUNTY REGISTER NORTH IOWA TIMES GUTTENBERG PRESS

Page 2

Area Attractions 2013

Elkader area attractions include parks, museums
Clayton County is home to numerous parks and recreation areas that can be enjoyed year-round. Following are some popular destinations located near Elkader. Osborne Park, 29862 Osborne Road, Elkader The Osborne Park is located 5 miles south of Elkader on Highway 13 and features at Native Wildlife Exhibit, walking trails, open shelters, Nature and Welcome Center and gift shop. The park also has a new playscape that includes a tic-tac-toe board, checkerboard and building blocks. Several special events are planned annually at Osborney, including Heritage Days, which takes place the second full weekend in October. Motor Mill Historic Site , 23002 Grain Road Hidden in the Turkey River valley, the Motor Mill Historic Site is a peaceful natural area that features a six-story limestone flouring mill and four related stone buildings dating from the late 1860’s. Turkey River Park , 220195 Strawberry Point Road Located on the east edge of Elkader, Turkey River Park offers the perfect place to start a canoe or kayaking adventure. With easy access to the Turkey River, canoeists can enter the river and spend the day canoeing to Motor Mill or Garber. Plan on spending nearly two hours on the river in order to get to Motor Mill and almost six hours to get to the quaint town of Garber. Both Twins Kylee and Zachary Stone, grandchildren of Larry and Margaret Stone,
See ELKADER ATTRACTIONS cont. on page 3 hollow log that’s part of a new playscape at Osborne Nature Center.

Elkader, and Don and Jean Storms, Clayton Center, explore a colossal

by s FreedomBank’ t n ie n conve banking services

SAVE E TIM in s u g

Whether at home or on the go, banking is easy with FreedomBank’s
• Internet Banking • Mobile Banking • Freedom BillPay • 24 hour ATM

Elkader 210 South Main St. Elkader, IA 52043 563-245-2522

Monona 106 South Main St. Monona, IA 52159 563-539-2015

Postville 135 West Tilden Postville, IA 52162 563-864-7441

Area Attractions 2013

Page 3

ELKADER ATTRACTIONS

cont. from page 2 floats have beautiful views of Northeast Iowa’s limestone bluffs, forests, and wildlife. A large shelter is also available for family picnics and other similar functions. Joy Springs Park , 37771 Alpha Ave., Strawberry Point Located along Joy Springs Trout Stream, Joy Springs Park is a great destination for any trout angler. Just a short drive west of Strawberry Point, Joy Spring covers approximately 90 acres of rolling forested land. Campers and fisherman lucky enough to discover this park will find land and water seldom bothered by people. Within the park is a large shelter and five primitive campsites.

Frieden’s Park 16723 Chariot Rd, Elkader This small park is five and a half miles northwest of Elkader, across the Turkey River from Big Springs Trout Hatchery. This Osborne Heritage Days are held the second weekend in October. Many park offers rough camping, canoe access and picnicking.
participants dress in pioneer-era costumes.

Elkader The best place in NE Iowa
Aug. 31 - Sep. 2 September 7:

to shop, play, eat and stay!
Motor Mill Historic Site Tour Battlefield Band: Forward with Scotland’s Past 7:30 PM Sept. 14 - 15: Motor Mill Historic Site Tour September 26: Opera House Players present “Copacabana” musical comedy. 2:00 PM Sept. 27 - 28: Opera House Players present “Copacabana” A Musical Comedy. 7:30 PM Sept. 28 - 29: Motor Mill Historic Site Tour, Elkader www.claytoncountyconservation.org September 29: Opera House Players present “Copacabana” musical comedy. 2:00 PM October 3 - 5: Opera House Players present “Copacabana” musical comedy. 7:30 PM October 10: Witches Night Out 5- 8 PM October 12 - 13: Heritage Days at Osborne Conservation Center October 13: Whistlin’ Bit Saddle Club 65th Annual Trail Ride November 2: Keystone Barbershop Chorus Fall Show November 29-30: Opera House Players present Christmas Classics on the Air 7:30 PM November 30: Elkader Chamber Holiday Retail Open House December 1: Opera House Players present Christmas Classics on the Air 2:00 PM December 2: Opera House Players present Lori Line and Her Fab Five: Born in Bethlehem 2013 Holiday Tour December 14: Kelly Lord’s Christmas Elkader Opera House

Pony Hollow Trail Hwy 13 S, Elkader In 2005 the Clayton County Conservation Board limechipped four miles of an old railway bed that began in Elkader, Iowa. Today Pony Hollow Trail is used as a hiking, biking, walking, snowmobiling, and horseback-riding path. Along the trail there are three interpretive signs that explain the topography, trees, and wetlands that can be seen throughout the trek. Pony Hollow Trail can be utilized throughout the year and is 4 miles in one direction with a round-trip excursion at eight miles.

Create a space that surrounds you with comfort and beauty.

Home

The Essence of

With the help of our complimentary design service, we can update your space with a fresh new look.

• Furniture • Flooring • Lamps & Accessories

For information about a particular event, contact one of these sources: Toll free: 866-334-2857; 563-245-2857 elkader@alpinecom.net

Sponsored by the Elkader Chamber of Commerce

www.elkader-iowa.com

103 Mullberry Street, Elkader • Phone 563-245-2714
www.elkadercarpet.com

ELKADER CARPET & DESIGN CENTER

Hours: Mon. - Fri. 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.; Thurs. 8:30 a.m. - 7 p.m.; Sat. 9 a.m. - Noon

Page 4

Area Attractions 2013

Students hammer out solution for preserving display
While Strawberry Point might be most famously known as the home of the state’s larg est piece of fruit, it also boasts a thriving museum with the area’s most expansive collection of dolls and miniatures. The Wilder Museum’s volunteer board and small staff work tirelessly to attract visitors and engage the community in their work. Recently, they unveiled an effort that will preserve one of their most beloved displays for years to come. Three recent Starmont High School graduates created a glass and wood display case for a 1920s miniature farm lovingly crafted years ago by Father Robert J. Spahn, a priest who served the Strawberry Point area. Realizing the need for the case, former museum director Angela Beeken contacted Roger Reed, an industrial tech instructor at Starmont, to ask if one of his

Recent Starmont graduates Alan Hayes, left; Eliott Moses, center; and Ethan Parker, right created a display case for the 1920s miniature farm exhibit at the Wilder Museum in Strawberry Point.

students might be looking for a project. Reed immediately thought of Ethan Parker, who agreed to take on the project after discussing it with his instructor. Ethan designed the 4x4foot case but when it came to actually building it, he knew he needed help. He called on

fellow students Alan Hayes and Elliott Moses. The trio, all 2013 Starmont graduates, finished the project before the school year ended. The case is deceptively simple in appearance. The model farm sits on a table-like base; the hinged cover enables access to

the display for cleaning and repair purposes. There’s also a hidden touché of whimsy: The boys affixed a plaque with their names to the underside of the display.
See WILDER cont. on page 7

ONCE WA S
WE BUY, SELL & CONSIGN
107 Bridge Street, Suite E, Elkader

Primitives, Antiques & Rustic Finds
563-605-0879

The Elkader Opera House
www.elkaderoperahouse.com • www.operahouseplayers.com
Saturday, September 7 • 7:30 p.m.

“Your home for great entertainment”

$15.00 Adults. • $7.00 Students. $3.00 higher at the door. Sponsored by Ehrhardt, Gnagy & McCorkindale Law Office
September 27 & 28th October 3-5 7:30 p.m. Matinee September 26 & 29 2:00 p.m.

Battlefield Band

104 First Street NW Elkader, IA 52043 563-245-3429

Copacabana

facebook.com/archiveelkader

2 GREAT SHOPS ONE LOCATION

Opera House Players Present

Willow Creek
garden decor & more
facebook.com/willowcreekelkader

Fri., November 29th and Sat., November 30th 7:30 p.m. Sunday, December 1st 2:00 p.m.

Christmas Classics on the Air

For tickets call 563-873-2378, email tickets@icsbbs.com or stop at Moser Pharmacy in Elkader

Area Attractions 2013

Page 5

Elkader is destination for antique lovers
Elkader is the desintation for antique lovers. The town has several shops filled with yesteryear gems. Here’s a look at just a few. If you can’t find a treasure at Turkey River Mall, you’re not looking hard enough. The shop offers a dizzying array of antiques, gifts, crafts and primitives displayed over 14,000 square feet of space. Owner Becky Dietzler estimates that upwards of 200,000 individual items are available for purchase. “We have everything here,” she said. “There’s so much variety and I believe that’s what’s made us so successful. We appeal to lots of different people.” The numbers support Becky’s claim: More than 139,000 customers have walked through her doors since she started keeping track in July 2005. “People come from everywhere,” Becky continued. “A customer once traveled all the way from California just to buy a tramp art-style china cabinet that she saw on our web pages. It really is amazing to learn how people find their way here.” Recently, a woman from Guttenberg stopped in on the recommendation of a co-worker. “My friend asked me if I ever shopped in Elkader, and my first reaction was ‘Elkader? Really?’” the woman said. “But this place is incredible.” Becky’s vendors share her customers’ enthusiasm for the store. “I do really well here,” said Shirley DuCharme, who sold an-

Deborah Wall-Schmidt, co-owner of Once Was, Elkader, is trying new marketing strategies like an exhibit at the 2013 Clayton County Fair.

tiques in Wisconsin before leasing two spaces at Turkey River Mall. “The traffic is amazing.” Located at the corner of Main and Bridge Streets, the building that houses Turkey River Mall was originally a hotel. It opened for business in 1897 and operated until around 1978. “A gentleman once told us that the alley door here was the busiest door in town,” Becky said. “People would come in, go to the café for breakfast, stop by the barbershop to chat, pass
See ANTIQUES cont. on page 6

GET YOUR TAILGATING ITEMS
• • • • • • • •

It’s Football Time!
Iowa Hawkeye & Cyclone Pastas Snack Mixes • Sausage Beef Sticks • Cheese Curds BBQ Pork & Beef Turkey & Dressing Salads, Dips & Appetizers STOP IN Asst. Candy FOR OUR DA ILY Kitchen Gadgets LUN
CH SPECIA LS

TURKEY RIVER MALL
Hours: Mon.-Sat. 9 a. m. - 5 p.m.; Sun. Noon - 5 p.m.

102 S. Main St., Elkader • 563-245-3995 www.turkeyrivermall.com

Closed Easter, Thanksgiving & Christmas

FRESH CHEESE CURDS EVERY FRIDAY

G

E

BULK FOODS • CANDY • SPECIALTY ITEMS

S

107 N. Main St., Elkader

MORE

elkadergeneralstore.net Follow us on Facebook

563-245-1799

• 1897 Hotel building • 14,000 sq. ft. • 100 Vendors • Antiques, gifts, crafts, primitives • Four floors of unique treasures

• Something For Everyone!

Kitchen Hours Monday - Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.

JANOME Sewing Machine Distributor

Cross Stitch, Quilting Supplies & Classes

Large & Unique Selection of

Friday - Saturday
11:00 - 10:00 p.m.

Full Menu All Day • Full Bar
105 1st Street NW • Elkader, IA • 563-245-FOOD(3663) www.fennellysirishpub.com
108 S. Main St., Elkader Open: M-F 10-5; Sat. 10-3 563-245-2967 www.thebackstitch.net

Page 6

Area Attractions 2013

ANTIQUES

cont. from page 5

through the lobby and into the pharmacy where they’d order a Double Dusty—chocolate ice cream with chocolate malt powder—and then they’d do it all over again the next day.” All of the aforementioned businesses were simultaneously housed at the old hotel. The building was nearly empty when Becky and her husband, Tim, purchased it in 2004. The upper floors hadn’t been used in years. “We bought it with another business in mind,” said Tim. “Some of that worked out and some of it didn’t. We were thinking about what to do next when Becky dreamed up the idea of an antiques mall. She’s the reason for our success.” Tim handled the logistics of the renovation. The building was gutted and “put back together again,” Tim said. It has new wiring, plumbing, air conditioning, new floors and more than 70 new windows. Becky was in charge of procuring vendors. “I went to craft shows and picked up business cards or asked people at antique shows if they wanted to expand,” she recalled. Her strategies worked. Today, the mall has 70 vendors and a waiting list of 20. Turkey River Mall is open Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday’s, noon to 5 p.m. The store is closed only three days a year: Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas. In addition to Turkey River Mall, antiques are also sold at Archive and Once Was. Both are relative newcomers to the Elkader retail scene. Archive, locally owned by Michelle Gif-

Goods from more than 70 vendors are displayed over the 14,000 square feet that comprise Turkey River Mall, an old hotel converted into retail space by owners Becky and Tim Dietzler.

ford and Sara Asche, opened a year ago. Once Was opened this summer in temporary quarters at the corner First and Bridge Streets. Owners Deborah Wall-Schmidt and her husband Roger Schmidt are renovating the former Lutz Locker building and will eventually relocate there. Until then, the couple is exploring innovative ways to spread the word about their business, including a recent exhibit at the Clayton County Fair.

Enjoy your favorite pizza at home with our Take-N-Bake

Elkader, IA 563-245-2800

127 N. Main,

Clayton County Area!

We Hope You Enjoy Your Visit To The

NIGHTLY SPECIALS
Check out our other Xtra’s and Pastas.

Stop in for our

Forget something?

If you left home without your prescription medications, give us a call. We’ll work with your home pharmacy to get you what you need. We also stock a full line of medical supplies as well as gift items and greeting cards.

www.bankatcentral.com

Elkader • Coralville • Iowa City • Marquette McGregor • Volga • Walford
135 N. Main St., Elkader, IA

ATM Available 24 hours

Area Attractions 2013

Looking for a park? There’s an app for that

Page 7

Here’s a new way for Iowans to connect with outdoor recreation: a new mobile state park application as well as a statewide database for Iowans to locate outdoor recreation activities. A mobile application for state parks developed through the Iowa Parks Foundation was recently unveiled by Governor Terry Branstad. The Iowa Department of Natural Resources has also developed a program, Healthy and Happy Outdoors (H20) that allows Iowans to find more than 30 types of outdoor activities at more than 1,600 state and county parks and recreation areas. “As someone who visits all 99 counties in Iowa, I can personally attest to not only the natural beauty of our state, but also the tremendous options we have here to find healthy outdoor recreational opportunities no matter where we live,” said Branstad. In addition to its state-of-the-art GPS technology, the Iowa State Parks & Recreation Guide provides plenty of other tools that make exploring the great outdoors a breeze. Visitors can decide which park to visit by using a comprehensive list of activities or by searching for a park within a particular region. The Calendar of Events is updated in real time and will inform app users of all the upcoming events for each Park. Park rules and regulations are a click away, which is especially helpful to anglers and sportsmen. Planning an extended visit to Iowa’s rolling hills, glistening lakes, or sprawling prairies is easy with a few quick clicks using the app to secure overnight reservations. The Iowa State Parks & Recreation Guide is designed to provide information to guide and enhance the outdoor expeFollow us on Facebook

rience, and to provide added safety and enjoyment for nature lovers and outdoor enthusiasts at all of Iowa’s treasured State Parks and Recreation Areas. The app is the perfect way for park goers to Map it, Discover and Explore Iowa’s State Parks and Recreation Areas.

WILDER

cont. from page 4

Museum Board Member Sue Meyer said that funds for the work can from private donations and proceeds from the museum’s aluminum can redemption box. She added that the board would like to consider cases for other displays as interest and funds permit. “We need to sustain the life of these displays as long as possible, and this is the best way to do it,” she explained. In addition to its miniatures, the Wilder Museum also has over 800 dolls on display. Other artifacts include an impressive array of military uniforms and weaponry from every conflict since 1776. Also featured are Victorian art glass and furniture, letters from well-known public figures and hundreds of works of art by Impressionist artist Myrwyn Eaton, a Strawberry Point native. A more recent addition to the museum is a five-story Colonial dollhouse that opens from the front to reveal 17 fully furnished rooms. The house, which took more than two years to complete, stands eight feet tall. The Wilder Museum is open weekends in September and October, and other times by appointment.

107 W. Bridge St., Elkader • 563-245-3939

Where There’s Always Something For Everyone!
3 Rooms Filled With The Latest Clothing Jewelry • Accessories • Gourmet Kitchen Home & Garden Decor • Baby Boutique
www.bridgestreetboutiqueandgift.com

• Edgewood Locker Meats • WWHomestead Dairy Cheese and Ice Cream • Iowa Wines • Locally Made & Gourmet Foods

MARKET • DELI • WINE • SPIRITS
221 Main St., McGregor, IA • www.itsbythespoonful.com
Katherine Ru , owner & chef

563-873-2900

On The Go And In The Know
203 S. Main St., Elkader 563-245-2541
ALL NEW WEBSITE! Check us out!
Visit our family of newspapers... pdccourier.com claytoncountyregister.com guttenbergpress.com northiowatimes.com

Cool off with a cold one!
Daily Lunch and Drink Specials

Computer • Phone Tablet or Print

On The Go...

Take Us With You!

Page B - 8

Motor Mill: Stories in Stone
By Molly Moser With the 2012 reconstruction of the Turkey River Bridge complete, Motor Mill Historic Site is even more a sight to behold. While the bridge is open year-round, guided tours of the mill, related buildings, and town site are available from 12:00 noon to 5:00 p.m on Sept. 14-15 and 28-29. Knowledgeable guides bring Motor Mill's history to life, from its beginnings in the 1860s to present-day projects. John Thompson of Elkader, John Dickinson of Dubuque, and James Crosby of Garnavillo initiated the building of the mill, which had all the bells and whistles of its time. A six story structure made from stone quarried atop the adjacent bluff, Motor Mill was driven by the Turkey River and four turbines. Three of the turbines turned the mill stones, and the fourth powered the other equipment in the building. The Mill ran for just under 20 years. Motor Mill Foundation board member Ellen Collins of rural Elkader explained that much of the knowledge about the Mill has come from old photographs of the site and the ongoing research into the journals of co-founder James Crosby. “To find the real history, we have memory meetings where we invite older people from the area,” said Collins. During meetings, stories are told about the Mill and may trigger memories from others in attendance. Almost 12,000 volunteer hours have been recorded in efforts to preserve Motor Mill. In April, Motor Mill was awarded the Silos & Smokestacks People’s Choice “Site of the Year” award, as well as the award for Outstanding Preservation in Agriculture. “These awards are a testament to your spirit in making sure that others get to experience these sites in the future,” said Candy Streed of Silos & Smokestacks.

Area Attractions 2013

Tours of Motor Mill are given throughout September, but visitors can drive through the historic site any time of year for spectacular fall scenery along the Turkey River. (Press photo by Molly Moser)
Visitors to Motor Mill may camp, canoe, and geo cache. In addition to scheduled tour weekends, group tours are available by appointment. Motor Mill is located on Galaxy Road, just outside of Elkader. To find out more, go to www.motormill.org.

Clayton Ridge Farm Meat Market & Picket Fence Café
From Our Farm To Your Plate!
Soup, Salads, Sandwiches and The Best Pie West of the Mississippi!

Murray's Outdoor Store & Nursery
1402 S. Hwy. 52, Guttenberg, IA • 563-252-1838

NEW ITEM: Gourmet Caramel Corn (Many Flavors)

Come and see our large nursery!
• perennials • shrubs •mums • fruit, shade & ornamental trees • mulches • soils • fertilizers • gardening supplies • unique garden décor

531 S. River Park Dr., Guttenberg, IA 563-252-3820
Hours: 9-4:30 Mon. & Wed.-Sat. Closed Sun. & Tues. www.claytonridgefarm.com

WE CATER TO ALL KINDS OF EVENTS - LARGE & SMALL.

Create Memories in Guttenberg, Iowa Historic Mississippi River Town On Iowa's East Coast

YOUR FULL-SERVICE AUTO REPAIR
STATION HOURS: Monday through Friday 6:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; Saturday 6:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

FAMILY DENTISTRY
511 North Bluff St., Guttenberg, IA 563-252-2150 Office Hours Mon.-Thurs. 9-5; Fri. 9-noon

Dr. John Barron And Staff

Rausch Petroleum LTD. Co.
"Where President Obama Stopped for Breakfast!!"
Hwy. 52. & China St. Guttenberg, IA 563-252-2102

•Complete Body Shop •Tire One Dealer •24- Hour Wrecker Service •Light Truck & Car Repair

Mon.-Fri. 6 a.m.-2 p.m.; Sat. 6 a.m.-1 p.m.

Rausch’s Cafe

Area Attractions 2013

Guttenberg celebrates its heritage at annual Germanfest
by Shelia Tomkins Guttenberg will celebrate its German heritage during its 23nd annual Germanfest celebration which begins Friday evening, Sept. 20, and continues throughout the day on Saturday, Sept. 21. This year’s line-up of musical entertainment is exceptional from beginning to end. Friday Night This year’s event will kick off with a meal featuring roast pork; serving starts at 5:00 p.m. in the festival tent located in downtown Guttenberg. From 6:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m., enjoy live Polka music by “Barefoot Becky and the Ivanhoe Dutchmen.” Don’t miss the large open air market which begins late Friday afternoon and continues throughout Saturday. It will feature many art & craft vendors with unique offerings. Saturday Events Saturday morning events include a 5K walk/run sponsored by Guttenberg Municipal Hospital for men, women and children. Registration is from 7:45 - 8:15 a.m. in the east parking lot of the hospital, 200 Main Street. The “Guttenberg German Band” is the centerpiece of musical entertainment Saturday. The local group initiated the first Germanfest in 1990. They will play at scheduled times throughout the day. Other musical entertainment includes Lyle Beaver, UNI Folk Dancers, The Silbertaler Trio, Dubuque Cloggers, Renegade Cloggers, the Clayton Ridge State Championship Drill Team, The Lovehandles and more. Saturday evening’s headliner is “Street Talk,” featuring classic sounds of the 70s and 80s including rock, country and pop, with lead singer Adam Beck taking the stage at 7:00 p.m. The celebration will have some new features as well as favorites from previous years. Princess Heidi and her Opa and Oma (grandpa and grandma) will circulate throughout the crowd that day. Don’t miss the Wiener Dog Dash and other family fun activities. Horse and Carriage Rides will be available through historic Guttenberg on Friday and Saturday, weather permitting. Youngsters will enjoy inflatables, kiddie train and other activities. The “You Be the Judge” Beer and Winemaking Contest will be held from 12:00 noon until 4:00 p.m. Festival-goers may purchase a ticket for the afternoon of tasting for $5. A brateating contest will take place at 2:30 p.m. The main festival tent will offer Domestic and German beers, including the same authentic beers served at Oktober-

Page B - 9

Folk dancers from the University of Northern Iowa are a popular attraction at Guttenberg’s Germanfest. (Press photo by Shelia Tomkins) fest in Munich. Visitors can count on a variety of German and American food and beverages offered by participating restaurants and vendors. Be sure to visit the information booth the day of the festival for time schedules and more information on activities. Germanfest has a website: www.germanfestinguttenberg. com. Check it out to learn more about this year’s celebration, or find it on Facebook at Guttenberg Germanfest. For further details, call 563-252-3820; the office of Guttenberg Development & Tourism toll-free at 877-252-2323.

Sadie Hefel LMT, Reflexology Natural Gifts

Divine Current Massage
Let your light shine
563-880-7423 Guttenberg, IA

Page B - 10

Area Attractions 2013

River Park Cruisers ready to roll Saturday, Sept. 14
by Shelia Tomkins Saturday, Sept. 14, is the date of the 16th annual River Park Cruisers car show, cruise and dance in Guttenberg. The club has been meeting and cruising since 1992, sponsoring  their own cruises starting in 1997. Registration for the car show is from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon in downtown Guttenberg, with the car show scheduled from 12:00 noon to 2:00 p.m. There is a $50 club participation award with 59 trophies given out, including  three kids choice trophy (kids 15 and younger can vote). There will be music in the park throughout the day. The cruise begins at 3:00 p.m., with a scenic tour planned through Northeast Iowa, traveling from Guttenberg to Millville, North Buena Vista, Balltown, Sherill and onto Holy Cross for a pit stop, then leaving Holy Cross to Luxemburg, Colesburg, Elkport, and back to Guttenberg by 6:20 p.m. Then it’s up to Lakeside Ballroom for a  dance  from 8:00 p.m. to 12:00 midnight, featuring music from the 1950s and 1960s The annual car cruise culminates by “Midnight Express.”  with a dance at Lakeside Ballroom The Cruisers hope to have lots of people sitting out along the in Guttenberg. (Photo by Shelia Tom- route that night and watch these

The River Park Cruisers car show, cruise and dance is a great time to look at classic cars along the river in downtown Guttenberg. (Photo
by Shelia Tomkins)

beautiful cars go by. For further information, contact Bob and Donna Hinzman at (563) 252-1546.

kins)

Rosemary's Bed & Bath
518 S. River Park Drive, Guttenberg, Iowa
Jane Parker, proprietor • cell 563-880-5469   Built in the late 1800s, this 3-story house boasts beautiful views of the Mississippi River Valley. Rosemary's is within walking distance of restaurants, shopping and river access. "The perfect place to relax and re-energize."

Across from City Park at 204 N. Main St. 563-964-2556
Sunday-Thursday 6:00am-9:00pm Friday & Saturday 6:00am-10:00pm • Broasted Chicken • Appetizers • Sandwiches • Pizza (Now Also Offering Take & Bake Pizzas)

Balcony Room View

OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK!

Visit Historic Guttenberg.... located on the Beautiful Mississippi River.

24 hour Pay at the pump!

In addition to beer & wine you can get all your favorite name brands of Bourbon, Vodka, Schnapps, Rum, Tequila & more!

Come for the scenery, stay for the experience

Enjoy the fall colors along the Great River Road in Guttenberg Iowa....Walking Trails, Beautiful Parks, New Marina, Aquarium, Great Shopping, Several Hotels and Bed and Baths, Winery, Antiques, and Fantastic Places to Eat. Visit our Historic Lockmaster Museum, Pleasant Ridge School, and many other historic sites.

Area Attractions 2013

Page B - 11

Relive the past at Stonefield Historical Site in Cassville
By Melissa Spielbauer Combs Stonefield Historic Site is a museum of agricultural history and village life open May 25 to October 6. The museum is located one mile north of Cassville, Wis. Daily guided tours include the farmhouse on the 1901 farmstead, Governor Nelson Dewey Estate and farmers store in the rural farming village. The Cassville Car Ferry is a connection between Iowa and Wisconsin, taking people back and forth across the Mississippi. On the Iowa side, take Highway 52 to Millville, (south of Guttenberg), turn onto C9Y and watch for directional signs. Stonefield is located on land once part of Governor Nelson Dewey’s agricultural estate. It was developed in the 1860’s and consisted of 2,000 acres. In 1936 the farm became part of the Nelson Dewey State Park. In 1952 the Wisconsin Legislature established the State Farm and Craft Museum to be located on Dewey’s Stonefield and administered by the Wisconsin Historical Society. Stonefield Village opened in 1961 and now has approximately 30 buildings, including a school house, blacksmith shop, firehouse, and saloon. In 1971 a new building, raised on the foundation of Dewey’s original sheep barn, opened as the State Agricultural Museum. Today it houses Wisconsin’s largest collection of farm tools, models, and machinery detailing the state’s agricultural past. Part of the collection is the 1900 McCormick Auto-Mower, the oldest tractor in North America and the 1932 Allis-Chambers Model U, the first rubber-tired tractor. Stonefield continues to enlighten visitors about turn-of-the-century technology and the agricultural community. Horse-Drawn Days will be held Saturday, Sept. 21, from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Visitors can step back to a time before steam engines or tractors arrived on the farm, when horses did all work. Farmers used horses to plow the fields in the spring, harvest the crop in the fall, haul goods to town and transport people. Demonstrations throughtout the

One display at the Stonefield Historical Site is a horse drawn planter. Horse drawn days will be Saturday, Sept. 21. Demonstrations will include plowing, log cutting, blacksmithing, and sorghum making.
(Press photo by Melissa Spielbauer Combs)

day include plowing, log cutting, blacksmithing, sorghum making, and more. For more information about Horse-Drawn Days or the site call 608725-5210 or e-mail: stonefield @wisconsinhistory.org.

Take a step back in time with a wagon ride at Stonefield Historical Site. (Press photo by Melissa Spielbauer Combs)

Campgrounds, RV Park & Cabins
• 47 acres of natural beauty including forests, meadows and a trout stream • Wide assortment of campsites, primitive and full hook-ups • Large shaded sites • Nature trails • Modern handicap accessible showers and bathrooms • Dump station • Fully furnished log cabin rental
1304 Miner's Creek Road, Guttenberg, IA • 563-880-2571 minerscreekhideaway.com • Dennis Schlueter

Miner's Creek Hideaway

"Always Wild Caught Since 1998" 32744 Kestrel Ave., Guttenberg, IA 52052 563-252-2811 Fresh Seafood • Shrimp Weekly • Oysters • Lobster Call Steve or • Scallops Barb Hansel at • Salmon 563-252-2811 • Cod for price sheet. • Pollock

Deep Blue Seafood, LLC

Page B - 12

Great River Road offers a scenic Mississippi River drive
by Mallory Tujetsch   A ribbon of green and rocky bluffs, countryside fields, unique historical towns and the breath-taking Mississippi, make up a beautiful scenic byway, called the Great River Road, and Clayton County is just one of the many stops along this breathtaking journey. The Great River Road was brought into existence by federal, state and county roads that encompass the length of the Mississippi River from Canada to the Gulf of Mexico. The path winds along the greatest of American rivers and takes you on a ride through the heart of the Midwest — 326 miles of that is Iowa’s Great River Road. Iowa’s river communities stretch from Lansing, Harper’s Ferry, McGregor, Guttenberg, Dubuque, Bellevue and keeps going until Keokuk. Whether on a motorcycle, car or RV, Iowa’s Great River Road provides numerous ways to see some of the most beautiful panoramas in the Midwest. Bike trails, campgrounds and boating all lie ahead. Guttenberg is an Iowa Great

Area Attractions 2013

The Great River Road follows the Mississippi River in Clayton County, and takes travelers on a drive past Ingleside Park in downtown Guttenberg. (Photo by Shelia Tomkins) Place and the Great River Road travels along the Mississippi all the way through the community. It does not matter which way you enter the community on the Great River Road — you will be greeted with remarkable overlooks that provide an inspiring view of the charming river city and the nature around it.

Horse Drawn Days
Come celebrate a time before tractors arrived on the farm when horses did all the work.

Welcome Inn Bed & Bath
130 S. River Park Dr., Guttenberg, IA 52052
Newly remodeled 1-bedroom upstairs suite within walking distance of downtown Guttenberg. Daily or Weekly Rates David & Sheryl Bahls, proprietors For reservations call 563-419-0256 or 563-252-1975

For more info: 608.725.5210 or www.stonefieldhistoricsite.org

Cassville, WI

Saturday, September 21 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Demonstrations: plowing, log cutting, blacksmithing, sorghum making, and more

Cedar Creek Apiaries
37062 Estes Point Rd. Guttenberg, IA 52052 563-252-3220 563-880-1517
As seen in Midwest Living Magazine's Food Editor "Pick of the Month" for May/June 2013

"It's the Honey You Remember!"

Area Attractions 2013

St. Mary's Fall Festival Sunday, Sept. 8 in Guttenberg
By Sharon Wittman   St. Mary's Fall Festival will be held Sunday, Sept. 8, in Guttenberg. The annual festival features a chicken and ham dinner, a Country Store, live local bands throughout the day, a large silent auction, raffles, kids and adult games, a sanctioned Kiddie Pedal Tractor Pull and performance by the Clayton Ridge Drill Team.   The day kicks off with a polka mass at 10:00 a.m. by Guttenberg's own German Band. After mass, stop by the craft tent. The Country Store opens at 10:00 a.m. with handmade items, homemade candy, baked goods, homegrown produce, a Christmas Corner and plant booth.   Chicken is back, baked not fried. The chicken is prepared by Poor Man's Catering and served with ham, homemade dressing, mashed potatoes and gravy, corn, salads, and homemade pies. Dinner will be served from 10:15 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. in the air conditioned dining room, in St. Mary's Brinkman Hall, rain or shine. Homebound delivery is also available.   Live entertainment throughout the day will include a Clayton Ridge Drill Team performance at 11:30 a.m. and the Guttenberg German Band at 11:30 a.m., a sanctioned Kiddie Pedal Tractor Pull for ages four to 11 at 12:30 p.m., music by Older Bolder Guys at 1:00 p.m. and back by popular demand is a high school raffle and youth band Topp Flight at 2:30 p.m.   A large silent auction is planned featuring handmade quilts, a Jerry Gadmus print, handcrafted wood items, gift baskets and getaway baskets. A showdown with cash prizes, a raffle, kids mini-raffle, bingo, and games are all part of the fun happenings for the festival. New this year is a basketball free throw contest.   "We've worked very hard to try to bring in some new activities and new ideas that will entertain people, and to produce a wonderful

Page B - 13

The crowds attending the annual Fall Festival at St. Mary's Church in Guttenberg enjoyed a chicken and ham dinner, local entertainment, and browsed the offerings in the numerous tents, played games and socialized with friends and neighbors. (Press photo by Shelia Tomkins)
meal," said Deacon James Pfaffly. "We ask you to come and spend the morning and afternoon with us and have a great day and some great food."

Thoma Dairy Bar
• Daily Noon Specials Except on Saturdays • Serving a Complete Menu & Weekend Breakfast Specials • Try an Old Fashioned Malt or Our Banana Split
Garnavillo, IA
"Serving Our Community Since 1948"

"RIGHTWAY REALTY"
COMPLETE REAL ESTATE SERVICE
Gary K. Willman, Broker
P.O. BOX 818 • 31663 HIGHWAY 52, GUTTENBERG, IOWA 52052 Phone (563) 252-1144 You can't miss DEALING with us

563-964-2212

Homes •Farms •Lots •Acreages •Commercial •General Line of Real Estate

PROUDLY CELEBRATING OUR 55th YEAR Top Quality Real Estate Service Since 1958 Remember: Listing Guides on My Door 24/7!!! Phone (563) 252-1144 • Email: rightway@alpinecom.net SIGN OF Main Office 31663 S. Highway 52 GUTTENBERG, IOWA 52052 Come Visit Gary on the Internet at www.rightwayrealty.com
QUALITY

Monday-Friday 6 a.m.-8 p.m.; Saturday 6 a.m.-8 p.m. Sun. 7 a.m.-2 p.m.; Serving Sunday Buffet 11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Willenborg Lawn Ornaments
"Concrete is Our Specialty"

Carol Willenborg

6924 Columbus St., New Vienna 563-921-4275

"We empower people to maximize their independence."
Providing services for children and adults with developmental disabilities in the communities of Guttenberg, Garnavillo and Edgewood. www.gandgliving.org 563-252-3811

Celebrating 25 yrs. in business calwillenborg@hotmail.com willenborglawnornaments.com Closed Monday; Tues.-Fri. 9-5; Sat. 9-3 Sunday by chance or appointment

•Personalized Stepping Stones & Benches •Statues •Religious Items •Angels •Much More!

G & G Living Centers, Inc.

Page B - 14

Area Attractions 2013

Unique finds at Sweet Pieces
By Molly Moser “I love giving new life to something someone else would throw away,” stated Jo Morarend in an interview with The Press last January. Fast forward to the present: Morarend has given new life to a building she’s been renovating by opening a shop called Sweet Pieces. She grew up in Prairie du Chien, Wis., where she watched her parents flip over 50 houses. She has remodeled and restored numerous houses herself, and for 25 years, Morarend owned and operated an antique and upholstery shop in Prairie. She once had an 80-acre goat farm, where she installed 21 stanchions for milking 140 of her 365 goats. She no longer has the herd, but she still uses goat’s milk to make soap. “Milk is a natural moisturizer and the goat’s milk has all kinds of extra vitamins, so it’s good for your skin,” says Morarend. She also makes soy candles, and enjoys repurposing jewelry and furniture. Morarend’s interests and talents fit perfectly with Sweet Pieces. Her handmade soaps and candles are nestled in with many locally made or vintage items that she calls ‘funky junk.’ “It’s a hodgepodge of everything,” Morarend explains. “Antique, retro, vintage – just funky!” She consigns jewelry and more from local crafters, and refinishes, repaints, or reupholsters items she finds at sales. Since the shop opened in July, Morarend says the most popular sellers have been costume jewelry, found art, and sun dresses. In the apartment-turned-shop, customers can sample locally roasted coffee or blooming tea in the cozy kitchen, browse collectible glassware and ceramics, and discover one-of-a-kind

Sweet Pieces, located at 14 Herder St. in Guttenberg, is a shop filled with locally made items and things collected by owner Jo Morarend.
(Press photo by Molly Moser)

decorative items for the home. Vintage chenille bedspreads are tossed artfully over Morarend’s hand-styled furniture, and ever-changing displays rotate through items from her personal collection. Before purchasing a particularly intriguing piece, a customer asked Morarend where she found it. She smiled and responded, “I made it out of junk!” Sweet Pieces is located at 14 Herder Street. Hours are Wednesdays, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., and Friday and Saturday, 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. For more information, call 608-4124436.

Heaven's Hill
More
Mon.-Fri. 11 a.m.-2 p.m.; Sat. & Sun. 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Other times by chance. Phone 563-880-2496; 563-252-2185 27793 Highway 52 North, Guttenberg, IA Location: 4 miles North on Hwy. 52 from Guttenberg 6 miles South of Garnavillo on Hwy. 52 West side of the highway

&

Open for 2013 Season (May - Nov.?)

619 S. Hwy. 52 Guttenberg, IA

Hours: 7 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. WE HAVE ALL YOUR SITE SEEING NEEDS.

Rick & Deb Hinzman, owners • www.heavenshill52northguttenberg.com

WE PICK ALL YEAR LONG!

Visit Deb, Rick, Jenn & Logan this "2013" Season

A Unique "Little" Gray Barn filled to the Rafters with "Memories"

419 Hwy. 52 South, Guttenberg, IA • 563-252-3100

The club for busy people. Get In, Get Out, Get on with your life.
Check us out on facebook Anytime Fitness Guttenberg www.AnytimeFitness.com

Area Attractions 2013

Massage therapist sets up shop in Guttenberg
By Molly Moser Local entrepreneur Sadie Hefel recently opened the doors to Divine Current Massage and Natural Gifts, a business she says she began “with the intention of creating a space to educate people about their bodies, and the ability that they have to heal themselves.” At Divine Current Massage, Hefel offers a variety of massage and energy work techniques. She also runs a unique gift shop selling natural, locally or Iowa-made items. Entering the shop is like being transported from Highway 52 to someplace altogether different. Soothing instrumental music plays softly in the background. Exotic aromas drift gently through the air. The separate massage room is dimly lit by warm candlelight, and one wall is covered by a large tapestry. “This feels like what I’m supposed to be doing now. When I have someone on the table, it resonates through me,” says Hefel. She became interested in massage therapy as an alternative method for healing and enrolled in Body Wisdom Massage Therapy School in Urbandale. Students were required to take 600 hours of coursework, but Hefel went above and beyond in her calling. “I so looked forward to taking new classes, because there are so many different venues for massage and energy work,” she says. By the time she passed board exams and graduated from the two-year program, she had accumulated 875 hours of coursework and clinicals. “One just kept leading into another,” she smiles. Hefel was trained in many massage techniques, and taught to address specific injuries and body issues. Her menu of services includes Swedish massage, Thai massage, reflexology, energy work, and more.

Page B - 15

Certified massage therapist Sadie Hefel demonstrates Swedish massage at her shop in Guttenberg. Swedish massages last 60 to 90 minutes and Hefel recommends them for those wishing to alleviate tension or anxiety. (Press photo by Molly Moser)
She also plans to offer monthly classes to the public, like ‘spiritual toolkit’ and ‘natural health remedies for the winter months.’ Divine Current Massage and Natural Gifts is located at 631 S. Highway 52 and is open from 12:00 noon to 6:00 p.m. on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. For more information, visit Divine Current Massage on Facebook, or call 563-880-7423.

AUTOTEK Service Center
Our complete diagnostic and repair center is the smart choice in foreign and domestic automotive repair. We use the latest factory-approved techniques and state-of-the-art equipment to perform diagnostic tests and repairs quickly and correctly.

Trust Your Car to the Experts in Diagnostic Service and Repair.

Antiques, Collectables, Consignments, Unique Items
14 Herder St., Guttenberg, IA • Ph. 608-412-4436 Wed. 10-4; Fri. & Sat. 10-5 • Locally-made Jewelry & Jewelry Supplies • Blooming Tea & Locally Roasted Coffee • Homemade Soy Candles & Goat Soap • Wall Plates • Framed Pictures • Mirrors • Vintage Kitchen Utensils •Kitchenware • Vintage Jewelry • Pails • Much More

Sweet Pieces

"Your Care-Free Driving Is Our Business"

Guttenberg, IA • Ph. 563-252-1336

24-Hr. Wrecker & Towing

Foreign & Domestic Vehicles • Brakes • Tuneups • Mufflers • Wheel Alignment •Tires •Heating & Cooling Systems and much, much more.

• Antiques •Retro •Local Crafts

Need a Sign made? Vinyl Lettering for your car, truck, boat or windows.

AUTOTEK Graphic Design

JR Willie's
"Home of the Willie Whopper"

563-252-1535
Hours: Mon.-Fri. 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; Sat. 8 a.m.-10 p.m. Sun. 9 a.m.-9 p.m.
Highway 52 310 Pearl Street Guttenberg, IA

Open Monday-Friday at 10 a.m.; Saturday & Sunday at 7 a.m.

Owner, Ron Willie Colesburg, IA

563-856-5095

Page B - 16

River, community history at Lockmaster’s House Museum
by Shelia Tomkins The Lockmaster’s House Heritage Museum, located on the grounds of Lock and Dam #10 in Guttenberg, is open daily from 12:00-4:00 p.m. from Memorial Day weekend through the fall leaf tour season. Visitors are welcome to view exhibits that preserve the history of the community, Iowa’s rural heritage, the lock and dam system and the Mississippi River. The museum is located in the former house where the lockmaster (or assistant lockmaster) of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers was previously required to live. The house is the last remaining lockmaster house on its original site on the Upper Mississippi River. It is on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the lock and dam system. Lock and Dam #10 in Guttenberg was completed in 1935. There were two houses built on the site in 1938 — one each for the lockmaster and assistant lockmaster. One house has been moved from the site, but the other now serves as a museum. The Corps of Engineers, realizing the historic value of the structure, approached local citizens about the house, and as a result, a group was formed — the Guttenberg Heritage Society — to operate the house as a museum. The museum contains many framed photos of early Guttenberg history. In the basement is a photo display of the construction of the lock and dam and the lockmaster houses. The house is filled with vintage furniture, appliances, dishes and textiles from earlier eras. A recent addition was a room that recreates the office of the late Dr. C.W. Palmer of Guttenberg. His desk, medical equipment, medicine bottles and papers take one back in time to the era served by this long-time physician.

Area Attractions 2013

The Lockmaster’s House Heritage Museum, located on the grounds of Lock and Dam #10 in Guttenberg, preserves the heritage of community, river and rural life. (Press photo by Shelia Tomkins)
Another recent project of the Heritage Society was a book filled with photos and interesting anecdotes about local history and spotlighting some of the museum’s collection. The museum is open in the afternoons, dependent on volunteer availability. To make arrangements for a group tour, phone 252-1531.

e d i s r e Riv rind G

Murray's Outdoor Store & Nursery

DAILY WINE TASTING
• Local Wines • Free WiFi • Protein Shakes • Daily Lunch Specials

506 S. River Park Dr., Guttenberg, IA Summer Hours: Memorial weekend to end of Oct. Mon.-Fri. 7 a.m.-6 p.m. Sat. 7 a.m.-3 p.m. Sun. 8 a.m.-3 p.m. 563-252-2522 www.riversidegrind.com

Fishing Supplies:

1402 S. Hwy. 52, Guttenberg, IA • 563-252-1838

• Live bait: worms, night crawlers, crawdads, leeches, minnows • Tackle: rods, reels, nets, anchors, tackle boxes, jigs, hooks, sinkers, bobbers, bait buckets & much more!

Hunting Supplies:

• calls, clothing, knives, ammo

& Sports Bar
www.lakesideballroomguttenberg.com • 563-252-3076 1202 N. Fourth St., Guttenberg, Iowa
Kitchen is Open Fri. & Sat. Nights

Saturday, Sept. 14, 8-midnight River Park Cruisers Show & Dance
www.maidenvoyagetours.com Phone 563-586-2123

Restaurant Open Fri. & Sat 5-10 p.m. Serving one of the Best Ribeye Steaks in the Area! We also have a full menu and feature specials each week which include BBQ Ribs, Prime Rib, Pork Medallions and Smoked Chops.

"Midnight Express"
Definitely a band worth seeing!!!

Area Attractions 2013

Rosemary's Bed & Bath offers views of the Mississippi River
By Sharon Wittman   Originally built in the 1800s, Rosemary's Bed & Bath is a beautifully restored three-story brick home, located just across the street from the Mississippi River. Proprietor Jane Parker offers newly remodeled suites and rooms in a modern-comfort style with wood floors, riverside windows, and glass doors to a balcony or porch, which create exceptional views. Whether you just finished a day of boating, plan to go dancing at historic Lakeside Ballroom, or made the drive to Guttenberg to view the autumn leaves, Rosemary's Bed & Bath is the perfect place to relax and re-energize.   Rosemary's B&B offers free wireless internet in all the rooms. All rooms are on the second level affording comfort and privacy. There are two riverview suites that are perfect for families of all ages. The Porch Suite, the Balcony Suite, the Balcony Room and the Efficiency Room can be viewed at the website, http://rosemarysbedandbath.com.   Centrally located, you will stay within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. If you are one of the thousands who visit Guttenberg solely to go fishing or take advantage of the abundant river beaches, Rosemary's is within walking distance of the newly-constructed South Boat Marina and only a short drive from the Bussey Lake River Access.   Jane's vision is to offer a comfortable, enjoyable experience in the welcoming spirit taught to her by her mother - Rosemary.

Page B - 17

Guests are welcomed into Rosemary's Bed & Bath in style with a full wall of windows and comfortable seating for visitors to enjoy the view of the Mississippi River.

Mississippi River fish can be viewed at Aquarium
By Sharon Wittman   The Upper Mississippi River Fisheries Management Station and Aquarium in Guttenberg houses large aquariums exhibiting Mississippi River fish in their natural habitats along with displays showing the history of the stocking program.   The Fisheries Management station, aquarium and a supervisor's house were built in 1938-39 through a local, state and federal partnership. Contributions from President Roosevelt's New Deal programs, the Public Works Authority (PWA) and the Work Projects Administration (WPA) were used to build a hatchery and rearing ponds. Five rearing ponds were added on Twelve Mile Island from 1939-41. The National Youth Authority (NYA) provided workers to assist in surveying the ponds and maintaining them for several years.    The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service added three new ponds in the 1960s and in 1971 closed the hatchery and transferred the ponds to the Mississippi River National Wildlife Refuge. Two years later the refuge quit using the ponds and gave the hatchery buildings to the Iowa Department of Natural Resources.   Today the basement of the aquarium building continues to be used for hatchery purposes. Each spring the Iowa DNR Fish Management team nets northern pike from backwaters and uses them to produce nearly one million fry that will be stocked in waters throughout Iowa.

G arme nt s & G o ods
Gently used Clothing and Household items featuring Hand-Made Wood Furniture from G & G Products and Designer Inspired Purses. Supporting People with Intellectual Disabilities.
39053 Great River Road, Guttenberg, IA www.promiselandwinery.com • 563-252-2665 email pat@promiselandwinery.com or cindy@promiselandwinery.com

• 9500 sq. ft. venue complete with courtyards, an event room, tasting room with two fireplaces, and a wine making facility! • Shops with gifts, including items made in Iowa • Rent the event room for private parties • Outdoor pizza oven
Two Convenient Locations 103 N. Locust St. Edgewood, Iowa Mon.-Sat..: 8 a.m. - 4 p.m 420 S. River Park Dr. Guttenberg, Iowa Mon.- Fri.: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Sat. 8-4

PromiseLand Winery, LLC, is a family run operation located in the southern hills of Guttenberg on the Great River Road leading to the Cassville Ferry. Our family invites you to try our wines. Cheers!

Page B - 18

Area Attractions 2013

View operations at Lock and Dam #10
By Sharon Wittman U.S. Lock & Dam #10 at Guttenberg is operated by the Army Corps of Engineers of the St. Paul District. The system of Lock & Dams was established to maintain a nine-foot channel for navigation. The Guttenberg Lock & Dam began operations in 1937. It is a 763-feetlong concrete dam with a lock chamber, a second utility lock, four roller gates, eight tainter gates and a 6,000-feet-long earth embankment with a 1,200-feet-long spillway.   Three barges wide by three barges long can be locked through at one time. The lockman lowers a line to the deckhand in order to pull the barge's big line up and place it over the yellow button on the landwall. The south end of the barges is then tied down in the same way. The deckhands on duty use five-feet-long rachets to loosen the cable locks to separate the nine barges that fit in the locks from the back barges and towboat. The gates of the lock chamber are closed. Then the lock operator closes the lower valves and opens the upper valves. Gravity raises the water level in the chamber. The lock operator moves the barges out of the lock chamber with a cable and winch. The lines are then placed over buttons on the north guidewall to secure the barges while the rest of the barges lock through. Then the towboat captain pushes the barges together and the deckhands Watch the lock and dam crew go about place the cables over the the business of winching barges through kevels between the barges the locks at Lock & Dam #10 in Gutten- and ratchet the cable locks berg. See the deckhands on a towboat tight. And the towboat is loosen the cable locks and separate the ready to leave the locks and barges locking nine barges through at a be on its way.

Gutenberg Bible on display
by Shelia Tomkins The community of Guttenberg was named in honor of the “Father of Printing,” Johannes Gutenberg. His iconic Bible, produced the 1450s, was the first major book printed with movable type and as such became a defining moment in the advancement of Western civilization. Only 21 original copies of the Gutenberg Bible exist. The Guttenberg Public Library, 603 South Second Street, is fortunate to have on display a rare facsimile version which was one of 310 sets printed in Leipzig, Germany in 1913. Visitors are invited to stop by the library and learn more about Gutenberg and the history of printing. Many people incorrectly assume that the Bible was printed in German. The text is Latin, the language of the Christian church in that era. The double columns are printed in black, with some lines printed in red. Capital letters and headings were ornamented by hand — producing what is known as an illuminated manuscript. Johannes Gutenberg was a native of Mainz, Germany. The facsimile set of two volumes on display at the Guttenberg Public Library came to this community from Mainz more than 50 years ago. Some of the pages show fire damage sustained during Allied bombing of Mainz during World War II. Following the war, Charles Millham, publisher of The Guttenberg Press, made arrangements to purchase the set for display here. The Bible may be viewed during regular library hours: Mondays: 10:00 a.m. - 6:30 p.m. Tuesdays: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Wednesdays: 10:00 a.m.- 6:30 p.m. Thursdays: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 A rare facsimile of the Gutenp.m. Fridays: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. berg Bible is on display at the Saturdays: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 Guttenberg Public Library. (Press photo by Shelia Tomkins) p.m.

time. (Press photo by Sharon Wittman)

THE LANDING..... A RIVERFRONT INN
703 S. River Pk. Dr., Guttenberg • 563-252-1615 email: kann@alpinecom.net

106.3 FM Garber, Guttenberg, Marquette, Prairie du Chien
News - Weather - Sports - Farm Markets and Great Country Music Cubs Baseball and Local Baseball and Softball Broadcasts Live Streaming Available at KCTN.com Elkader, IA 52043, Ph. 563-245-1400, Toll Free 888-245-KCTN

•Boat docking available
with a phone call •Gas dock •Fishing Barge •Pontoon and flat bottom boat rental •Snacks, pop, bait

Landing 615

Just steps away. . .

hitsandfavorites.com bestcountryaround.com

•An 1850's limestone building of German architecture. •Operated until the 1950's as a button factory, processing river clam shells into "Pearl" buttons. •Renovated into a modern inn with century old character. •River view rooms and bi-level suites with balconies or patios available.

Area Attractions 2013

Page 19

MarMac’s top spots for leaf lookers
However, there are places where the views are especially breathtaking, and even more so in the fall. 1. Pikes Peak State Park The crows nest overlook view of the Mississippi River at the junction of the Wisconsin River is one of the most spectacular autumn color panoramas anywhere in the tri-state area. The mature grove of oaks and maples in the surrounding picnic area add to the majesty of the view. There is a concession stand nearby, as well as rest rooms, a playground and picnic shelter. Visitors also have access to the park campground and several hiking trails. Pikes Peak gets very busy from late September to mid-October, so expect crowds and traffic. The park is located two miles south of McGregor, on Cty. Rd. X56. For more information, visit the Iowa DNR website. 2. Fire Point Overlook, Effigy Mounds National Monument Head to the Effigy Mounds National Monument Visitor’s Center, located three miles north of Marquette, on Hwy. 76. The visitor center houses an excellent museum where you can Pikes Peak State Park, located two miles south of McGregor, offers leaf look- learn about the ancient Native American cultures that inhabited the region and built the mounds the park is named after. ers some of the area’s best fall color viewing opportunities. When you are done, head up the Fire Point Trail, which is loBy Trudy Balcom cated just outside the visitor center. The trail winds up the bluff, but there are benches and places to stop and rest along the way. With towns as scenic as McGregor and Marquette, you can The path also goes past several ancient mound sites. At the top, enjoy spectacular fall colors from any sidewalk or roadside.
Continued on page 20

Eagles Landing Winery

THE ONLY PLACE TO FIND THE ACTION
• The hottest slots and video poker games • All your favorite table games including blackjack, craps and more • Enjoy a variety of dining options • Live music and more every weekend in The Lone Wolf

Open Daily 10 am - 5 pm 127 North St., Marquette, Iowa 563-873-2509 • Voted “Best Iowa Wine” • FREE Wine Tasting Daily • International Award Winning Wines • Wine Garden • Fun Gift Shop

HWY 18W • MARQUETTE, IA 52158 • 1-888-LADY-LUCK 1-800-4-YOU-BET • www.ladyluckmarquette.com
© 2013 2012 Isle of Capri Casinos, Inc. Must be 21 or older to game. Management reserves all rights. Gambling a problem? There is help. And hope. Call 1-800-BETS-OFF.

www.eagleslandingwinery.com

Check out our monthly events at

Page 20
Continued from page 19

Area Attractions 2013

you will be rewarded with a fabulous view of the river. The trail Beer and Brats Garden (Riverfront & Main St.), which overis two miles round-trip and takes about 45 minutes to hike. For looks the marina on the riverfront. Old Man River Restaurant and Brewery (123 A St.) has a rear screen porch, while the Mcmore information, visit the Effigy Mounds web site. Gregor Cafe (211 Main St.) has an outdoor patio. Then there is the front porch of Latino’s Mexican Restaurant (213 Main 3. Sny Magill Mounds Another segment of Effigy Mounds National Monument is St.). In Marquette, buy a bottle of award-winning wine at Eagles located about six miles south of McGregor, on Cty. Rd. X56. Landing Winery (127 North St.) and enjoy it in the adjoining Turn off at the sign for the Sny Magill boat landing. Sny Magill gazebo garden. is the name of a trout stream that empties into the Mississippi at this location. The trail to the mounds begins at the north side of the boat landing parking area. The winding, level path follows along a string of mounds right on the riverbank in a quiet backwater area. Mound builders began their work in this beautiful spot almost 2,000 years ago. 4. Bloody Run County Park Once you’ve visited the bluffs and the Mississippi riverbank, head to a secluded valley along a stream located just a mile west of Marquette. Beautiful Bloody Run Creek wanders among the bluffs and meadows, reflecting the golden light of autumn. Bring a picnic and your fishing rod, or take the kids to splash in the shallows on a warm day. 5. The chair at a local restaurant, pub or winery What could be better than relaxing with friends and family while enjoying the fall color sright in town? Outdoor dining is In the Marquette and McGregor area, visitors and locals alike can enjoy available at several locations in McGregor, including McGregor spectacular fall colors from every sidewalk and roadside.

MAGGIES
FRIDAY NIGHT Fish Fry - WALLEYE
Tacos
Thursday Special

Special

Served Broiled or Fried; choice of Potato & Best Homemade Salad Bar Around!

& Margaritas Sunday Brunch - 1st Sunday of every month! Also Serving Lunch Specials Daily with Homemade Soups & Pies!

M-W, 6 am-2 pm; Th - F, 6 am-9 pm; Sat, 6 am- 2pm, Sun, 8 am-2 pm 28534 Hwy 18, McGregor, IA (563) 873-2935 Follow Us On Facebook!

This Could Be Your Weekend!
You’ll enjoy a casino, winery, brewery, spas, restaurants, shopping, unique lodging & endless outdoor recreation in Marquette & McGregor!
May-Oct Daily Mississippi River Tours by Maiden Voyage Tours; Friday Farmers Market, McGregor; Froelich Museum Tours (closed Wednesdays); Friday Farmers Market, McGregor Aug 24 Mar-Mac Friends Helping Friends-5K Walk/Run, McGregor Aug 31 Labor Day Parade, McGregor; Citywide Garage Sales, McG/Marq; Lions Club - 5K Fun Run/Walk, McGregor; Flea Market, Marquette; Street Theatre “Hole in - the Sock Gang,” McGregor (also Sep 28 & Oct 26) Sep 14 Effigy Mounds National Monument-Bird Walks Sep 21 & 22 Grape Harvest-Eagles Landing Winery, Marquette Sep 27 Art of the Motorcycle, McGregor-Marquette Center for the Arts Oct 5 & 6 Fall Arts & Crafts Festival, McGregor; Flea Market by The Depot, Marquette Oct 12 & 13 Leaf Arts & Crafts Festival, McGregor; Flea Market by The Depot, Marquette Oct 19 & 20 Oktoberfest - Eagles Landing Winery, Marquette Nov 1 - 3 McGregor Gun Show, McGregor Nov 2 & 3 The Iowa Wine Trail, Marquette Nov 9 & 10 Great River Road Wine Trail, Marquette

Little Switzerland Inn
126 Main St., McGregor, IA
• Private Baths/Whirlpools • Cable TV/AC/Wi-Fi • Private Entrances • Children & Pet Friendly • Microwaves, Refrigerators & Coffeemakers

Open Year Round
• Rob Roy Suite, 3 bedroom apartment, balcony view of Mississippi River • Alpine Suite, sleeps 2/on ground floor • Chalet Suite, sleeps 6 • Sadie’s Log Cabin, sleeps 6 Within walking distance of downtown restaurants, shopping & Mississippi River

563-873-2057 • Cell 608-412-0400
www.littleswitzerlandinn.com

For a full listing of events & attractions, visit our website: www.mcgreg-marq.org

Area Attractions 2013

Page 21

Area amenities make “roughing it” easier
By Audrey Posten

While Labor Day often signals the end of camping season for many, some intrepid explorers “rough it” into the fall, partaking in the cooler weather and myriad of colors the change of season has to offer. For those camping near McGregor this fall, the town offers a few stops where people can stock up on some necessary amenities. By the Spoonful—Located at 221 Main St., By the Spoonful offers campers a variety of food and beverage options. Owner Katherine Ruff carries 26 different types of brats from Edgewood Locker, as well as dairy products like milk, ice cream and cheese curds from WW Homestead Dairy in Waukon. Ruff also offers customers a selection of meat rubs, gourmet spreads, deli meats, fresh produce, wine and beer. By the Spoonful offers a variety of food and beverage options. This fall, from September through December, By the SpoonMcGregor Dollar Plus is open Monday and Tuesday, as well ful will be open from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through as Thursday through Saturday, from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. On SunWednesday, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Thursday through Saturday, and days, the store is open from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Sundays from 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. For more information, call (563) 873-3269. For more information, call (563) 873-3825 or visit the store’s Facebook page or website, itsbythespoonful.com. White Wash Laundromat—For those who like to enjoy the great outdoors, but do not enjoy having their clothes smell like McGregor Dollar Plus—Located at 330 Main St., this dollar it, a washing machine and dryer are just a short trip away. Locatstore offers a far-reaching selection of amenities, including toied at 242 Main St., White Wash Laundromat is open 24 hours letries, paper products, cleaning supplies, kitchenware, as well a day, seven days a week. For more information, contact (563) as an assortment of condiments and foods. 873-2345.

Located on the banks of the Mississippi in McGregor Dining as you watch the great river flow by... FULL MENU -

• Open 7 Days a Week • 563-873-9667 BREAKFAST - LUNCH - DINNER

R I V E R V I E W
‘Home of the 1/2# Buffalo Burger!’

McGregor-Marquette Center for the Arts
158 Main St., McGregor, IA www.mmcenterforthearts.weebly.com

Gallery Shop & Special Exhibits Featuring Regional Artists
Mon-Thurs-Fri 10 am - 6 pm Sat 9 am - 6 pm Sun 11 am - 5 pm

563-329-2010 Find us on Facebook

“Sun Kissed” by Vangie Hanson

McGREGOR PHARMACY
230 Main Street McGregor Iowa 52157 563-873-3781 Monday - Friday 9 am - 5:30 pm Saturday 10 am - 2 pm

St o p I n and Che ck Us O u t !

• Prescriptions • Free Local Delivery & Free Mail-Outs • Over-The-Counter Products • Vitamins & Supplements

• First Aid Supplies • Iowa Souvenirs • T-Shirts & Sweatshirts • 99¢ Cards For All Occasions • Windchimes

* UniqUe Gift items *

for Showers, Weddings, Birthdays, etc.....

Page 22

Area Attractions 2013

Art fairs and flea markets are fall tradition
By Trudy Balcom

It’s a tradition: October weekends in Marquette and McGregor are all about the arts and crafts festival and the flea market under the bridge. Bring your sense of fun and whimsy to town Oct. 5-6 and 1213, and get ready to enjoy colorful, crisp fall days in Marquette and McGregor. Triangle Park in McGregor is headquarters for the arts and crafts fair. Browse dozens of booths featuring the 100 percent hand-crafted work of area artisans. There is live music, children’s activities, food and much more. Also take time to head over to Marquette for the flea market. Loyal vendors and customers come each year to see what treasures they can find in dozens of booths. When you need a break from shopping, you can take a fall foliage cruise on the river with Maiden Voyage Cruises at the McGregor Marina. A meal or beverage at one of Marquette or McGregor’s many establishments makes the day complete. These are also the weekends when many people in town host their garage sales and churches have their fall dinners and bazaars, so keep your eyes open and check the North Iowa Times and Courier Press newspapers for the latest advertisements.

McGregor’s arts and crafts festivals, held this year on Oct. 5-6 and Oct. 1213, are one of the area’s biggest fall traditions. Once you have browsed the dozens of booths filled with hand-crafted work, head over to the flea market in Marquette.

A Consortium of Dealers in Quality Antiques & Collectibles

Main Street Mall
322 Main Street, McGregor, Iowa
or

563-873-2807 319-233-0448
May thru Oct. 10 am - 5 pm
Open 7 Days

Allison & Angelica invite you to experience the new menu and staff with a new emphasis on Serving the Best Food in the Best Mood!! • Serving lunch & dinner featuring some of the best in locally grown & produced items plus... local & regional craft beers & wines. • Join us the last Monday of the month for our Art & Wine reception showcasing artwork of local artists and featuring a locally grown dinner.

Eagles Landing

OLD MAN RIVER
Open Year Around • Handicap Accessible Native Oak Timber Frame Home on the Mississippi River Four-course Ethnic Breakfast, Complimentary Wine in Your Room Free WI FI • Reservations Suggested 82 North Street, Marquette, Iowa 52158 • (563) 873-2509

Bed & Breakfast

RESTAURANT & BREWERY

123 A St., McGregor, Iowa • 563-873-1999
www.oldmanriverbrewery.com

Like us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/oldmanriverbrewery

Area Attractions 2013

Page 23

McGregor’s motorcycle mystique
first weekend of the month (Oct. 5-6) and the other the second (Oct. 12-13)—in order to coordinate with the city’s other fall festivities, like the arts and crafts festival. Each “mystery ride” starts and ends at Crazy Carl’s Silver Dollar Saloon. Hexom said the mystery does not refer to where the group is going, but how long the weather permits the ride to be. With good weather, Hexom said the ride includes roughly 30 motorcycles. For more information, contact Crazy Carl’s Silver Dollar Saloon via the bar’s Facebook page or by calling (563) 873-3077. The McGregor-Marquette Center for the Arts (MMCA) is tapping into the area’s motorcycle mystique with the exhibit “The Art of the Motorcycle,” which will open Friday, Sept. 27, with an artist reception from 6 to 8:30 p.m. This special exhibit, which will be on display until Oct. 28, will feature multiple media—everything from paintings and sculptures to photos and collectibles. Hexom has donated some items to the exhibit, including some motorcycle prints and a shirt autographed by Willie G. Davidson, of Harley Davidson Motorcycles. “With all the motorcyclists who ride through town and stop in here, we thought it was about time to have an exhibit,” said Kathryn Mason, the MMCA summer gallery director. “It’s one more thing to exhibit that relates to tourism in the community.” For more information about the exhibit, contact the MMCA at (563) 873-8912.

Motorcyclists are a common sight on McGregor’s Main Street. By Audrey Posten

“In Iowa, you always hear people say it’s flat, that there’s nothing here,” said Carl Hexom, an avid motorcyclist, as well as the owner of Crazy Carl’s Silver Dollar Saloon in McGregor. “That’s true until you hit this part of the state. Up and down this valley, with the views and scenery, the ride is second to none.” Crazy Carl’s is McGregor’s go-to biker bar, and features at least one ride each month. However, at the beginning of October, Hexom ramps it up a bit, holding two rides—one the

Mr. McGregor’s Beer & Bratz Garden

On The Riverfront

Riverfront & Main • McGregor, IA • Come by river Docking is available. Order ahead & we’ll bring it to your boat! SERVING FOOD DAILY FROM 11 AM

Dine Inside or... on our spacious deck overlooking the Mississippi River

McGregor Marina
On the River 633.5 563/873-9613 800-848-2413 - Full Service Gas Dock DOCKING • GAS • CARRY OUTS • SEASONAL SLIPS Transient Docking, Electric, Mechanic, Slip Rental, Pontoon Rentals, Winterizing, Winter Storage • Open at 11 am Daily • Credit Cards Accepted •

The Stauer House Bed & Breakfast
629 Main Street, McGregor, Iowa (563) 873-2713

stauerhouse.com Donna & Robert Staples

HOUSEBOAT RENTALS & MARINA
Serving the Scenic Upper Mississippi River Area of NE Iowa & SW Wisconsin Since 1953

BOATELS

Schoolhouse Mall
Downtown Marquette, IA 52158

15,000 sq.ft. of Cool Stuff 50+ Dealers!
(563) 873-9664

Midweek/Weekend Rentals starting at $850 Themed & newly remodeled houseboats

Page 24

Area Attractions 2013

Programs educate at Bald Eagle Appreciation Day

Live bald eagle and raptor programs and exhibits are shared through the experiences of birding experts at the annual Bald Eagle Appreciation Day in Prairie du Chien. The event is always held at the end of February, at the peak of the season when bald eagles can be spotted in their outdoor habitats. For a schedule and location of programs, stop at the Prairie du Chien Regional Tourism Center/Prairie du Chien Chamber of Commerce office at 211 S. Main St. The day is co-sponsored by Effigy Mounds National Monument and the Prairie du Chien Chamber/Tourism Council.

AREA LODGING
Indoor Pool & Spa Free Internet Continental Breakfast

Hwys 18-35 South, Prairie du Chien, WI 53821

bridgeportinn.com 608-326-6082

Free Breakfast Refrigerator & Microwave in Room Hwys. 18, 35 & 60 South Prairie du Chien, WI 608-326-8777 1-800-800-8000

Pride of Super 8

1936 S. Marquette Rd Prairie du Chien, WI 608-326-7799
windsorplaceinnpdc.com

Windsor Place Inn

Free Continental Breakfast Free Internet Indoor Pool & Spa In-Room Microwave and Refrigerator

608-326-4951
• 2012 Property of the Year * 2013 Best Breakfast of the Year • #1 on TripAdvisor
(608) 326-7878 americinn.com
1733-1/2 S. Marquette Road Hwys 18-35-60 South Prairie du Chien, WI

- Indoor Pool and Spa - Hot Breakfast - In-Room Refrigerators, Microwaves - Wireless Internet
~ 1833 S. Marquette Road Prairie du Chien

On the River - Next to Casino

FRONTIER MOTEL
Marquette, Iowa 563-873-3497

Continental Breakfast Refrigerators In-Room Coffee Wireless Internet delta-motel.com

www.thefrontiermotel.com • Clean Rooms • Great Rates • Wireless Internet

microtelinn.com

608-326-8500

Area Attractions 2013

Page 25

The Carriage Classic is a stylish equine event
On September 6-8, many people from throughout the region are sure to attend the Midwest’s most elegant and lavishly appointed equine sport driving event, the Villa Louis Carriage Classic. This year will mark the 32nd anniversary of the Carriage Classic, which is held on the Villa Louis Historic Site on St. Feriole Island, 521 N. Villa Louis Road. Some of the region’s finest horses and more than 100 new and restored carriages compete in a variety of arena and cross country events. The Carriage Classic recalls the Villa Louis estate’s heyday as a farm for the breeding of horses for harness racing. The Villa Louis—with much of the interior restored to its 1890s splendor—never looks better than during the late-summer equine classic. More than 100 drivers, their stable hands and groomsmen will compete in a variety of classes, including obstacle courses and a cross country event featuring simulated hazards ranging from open water to cork screw turns. The Carriage Classic recalls a brief chapter in the history of the Villa Louis, which estate founder H. Louis Dousman established in 1884 as the Artesian Stock Farm. Dousman, in characteristic Victorian form, embraced the lifestyle of a country gentleman and began raising fine-blooded Standardbred trotting horses on the farm, developing one of the finest stables in the Midwest. Admission for the full weekend includes tours of the Villa Louis. Daily grounds-only passes for the Carriage Classic are also available. The Villa Louis Carriage Classic began in 1980 with a group of local drivers gathering at the Villa Louis for a very informal driving competition. The show has advanced over the years to become one of the premier pleasure driving events in the United States. Since 1985, the American Driving Society has sanctioned the show, providing the rules and judges that officiate the events. For more information, contact the Villa Louis Historic Site at (608) 326-2721, visit the Villa Louis website at www.wisconsinhistory.org/sites/villa or visit the Carriage Classic website at www.carriageclassic.com.

Charlene Wade, of Whitewater, drives her Haflinger stallion in the Draft Horse/Pony class last year.

Wisconsin Hunting & Fishing Licenses & Bait
Saturday, September 21 Saturday, October 5 Saturday, October 12 8:30 am - 1 pm Breakfast in a Victorian Kitchen

DH BP NORTH

• Piccadilly Pizzas & Subs, Breakfast Pizza & Sandwiches • Liquor, Beer & Wine • Ice
Hours: Mon - Fri 5 am - 10 pm; Sat 5 am - 10 pm; Sun 6 am - 9 pm

This is a hand-on cooking workshop for adults. Participants take a culinary tour of the late 19th century through the preparation and consumption of a Victorian breakfast using the foods, utensils and technology of the time. A family style breakfast will be followed by a tour of the estate. By reservation only. Take part in a late-afternoon hands-on cooking workshop for adults that takes place in the Mansion Kitchen and Preserve House. The menu reflects the ethnic diversity of the servant staff. Reservations required.
Villa Louis - Open 7 Days a Week thru October 31 from 9:30 am to 5 pm, Guided Tours on the hour from 10 am to 4 pm 608-326-2721, villalouis.org, 521 N. Villa Louis Road, Prairie du Chien, WI Tourism Hotline 1-800-732-1673, prairieduchien.org

500 N. Marquette Rd, Prairie du Chien, WI located next to Design Building Materials (608) 326-5555

Saturday, November 2, 2 - 6 pm Supper with the Villa Louis Servants

• Fri Night Fish Fry • Sat Night Prime Rib • Full Menu Served All Day • 1/2 Lb. Burgers to 14 oz. Ribeyes • Wed - Whole Deep-Fried Catfish • Thurs & Sun - Pasta • Peel & Eat Shrimp or Cajun Shrimp
Open Daily at 11 am - Closed Monday
"Join us for a drink on our new deck overlooking the bluffs & enjoy our waterfall"

608-326-6907
4 miles north of Prairie du Chien on Hwy 35

Page 26

Area Attractions 2013

Shihata’s Orchard treats families to down home fun
Shihata’s Orchard, just outside of Prairie du Chien is a second generation, family-owned apple orchard that started in 1968. Currently, they have over 20,000 apple trees located on 25 acres and about five acres of pumpkins. The Shihata’s grow 20 different varieties of apples and harvest between 13,000 and 15,000 bushels of apples every year. The Shihata family’s goal is to provide a unique experience for the entire family that is full of “good old fashioned country fun.” Besides selling picked apples, one can spend time out in the orchard picking their own apples, hunt for a pumpkin in the area’s largest pumpkin patch, or play in the Country Fun Park. The Country Fun Park is new this year and includes Bunnyville, a cute little town full of bunnies; a corn box that puts any sand box to shame; a large sandbox slide; rope maze; John Deere Teeter Totter, Tractor Tire Jungle Gym, picnic area and a petting zoo. If that isn’t enough to make a trip to the orchard worthwhile, Shihata’s Apple House retail store offers a full range of unique gifts and specialty products including unique jellies, jams and apple butters, local cheeses, sausages and wines, mustards, honeys and fresh baked goods plus fresh pressed pasteurized cider. One can even sample the various types of apples while they are in season. Orchard Fest, an apple-icious fun filled weekend, takes place the first weekend in October on the 5th and 6th. Lots of family activities are planned including apple slingshot, live music, and a food stand. Create a family tradition this fall by visiting Shihata Orchard. The orchard is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., everyday through October 31. For more information, call (608) 326-2785 or visit shihataorchard. com.

Orchard Fest, an apple-icious fun filled weekend, takes place the first weekend in October on the 5th and 6th, just outside of Prairie du Chien at Shihata’s Orchard. Families can enjoy several activities including apple slingshot, wagon rides, a petting zoo, playtime in the Country Fun Park, apple picking and even browsing through the Apple House retail store.

Zinkle's
Riverside Square, Hwy. 18 South, Prairie du Chien, WI (608) 326-5111 Open 6 am - 10 pm

• Full Service Meat Department: Fresh cuts every day • Complete Deli: Fresh Salads, Fried or Rotisserie Chickens & Daily Meal Specials • Full Service Floral: The Blooming Basket carries unique gift ideas & everyday fresh flowers Along with • Groceries • Liquor • Video Rentals & More!

SUPERCENTER
38020 U. S. Hwy. 18 South, Prairie du Chien, WI • 608-326-2408

38020 U. S. Hwy. 18 South, Prairie du Chien, WI 608-326-2408

Casual Family Dining on the River
• Friendly People • Extensive Menu
Dine Outside on our Large Deck with Tiki Bar Open at 6 am, 7 Days a Week serving Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner

Where the FOOD is as great as the VIEW!

Visit Our Deli For: - Complete Hot Meals - Lunch Meats - Bulk Cheeses - Salads at - Desserts & More! We have what you need
for your vacation & travel planning! Open 24 Hours 7 Days a Week

Save Money. Live Better.

Winneshiek Bar & Grill

4 4 CoME by Car, boat or bikE! 3 3

Looking To Get The Most Out Of Your Money?

Shop With Us!

County K - 3 Miles North of Prairie du Chien, WI 608-326-2888

Area Attractions 2013

Page 27

Driftless Area Art Festival transforms Soldiers Grove park into colorful art village
Every September, just as the region’s landscape becomes painted with the colors of autumn, the Soldiers Grove park transforms into a charming village filled with visual, performing and culinary arts for the Driftless Area Art Festival. Eighty select artists descend on the community and organize displays of their creations underneath the beautiful white tents that are arranged along the park’s edges. A large entertainment tent is in the center. This leaves a picturesque path, decorated with 150 seasonal plants from Read’s Creek Nursery, to be used by those strolling through the festival. Completing the grounds, picnic tables are scattered throughout, inviting eventgoers to grab a bite and enjoy the extraordinary artwork and entertainment all weekend. This year’s ninth annual Driftless Area Art Festival will be held Sept. 14 and 15 at Beauford T. Anderson Park in Soldiers Grove, at the intersection of State Highway 131 and County Road C. Spend a few hours strolling through the exhibits. Taste some local fare and sip some local wines. Listen to some great music. Take home some fine art and fine memories. Hours are Saturday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. The concept for the festival was born when the Crawford County Tourism Council and Community Development Alternatives got together to come up with plans to increase tourism in the county. They realized the great number of artists in the region and that there are very few outlets for them. “We decided an art festival was within our capabilities,” stated Jerry Quebe, the present event co-chair. “But we wanted to do what we could to make ours unique from the others. There are over 200 art festivals in Wisconsin, not to mention those in Minnesota and Iowa.” As it has turned out, what sets the Driftless Area Art Festival apart is its focus on the remarkable, one-of-a-kind and peculiar. “We’re not an arts and crafts fair,” he explained. “We accept jewelry, pottery, woodworking, and the kinds of media you might find at a fair, but we try to fall more toward the fine arts. For example, we don’t accept jewelry that’s made by assembling someone else’s beads. We look for the materials that are handmade and select ex-

Perfect weather on both days attracted record crowds in 2012.

Jamie Heiden has been named the "People's Choice Award" winner for three years in a row. hibitors based on their distinc- ine their work, thus improving tive artistic content.” the quality of the exhibitions The festival has grown every year after year. year since it began. In its first Selection begins in Januyear, about 2,000 attended ary. Artists apply by submitand around $20,000 in art was ting four images of their work sold. In 2012, over 5,300 peo- and one image of their booth ple showed up and artists’ sales display, which must contain a were about $108,000. significant amount of art. The “We started out in Sugar jury considers the applicants Creek Park in Ferryville. We and advises artists of their sechose that location because of lection, providing feedback as its proximity to Highway 35, requested. but as our attendance grew, Jury selection is a blind we also grew out of that loca- process. Digital presentations tion,” Quebe said. “We picked of the work are reviewed and the new location because it has artists are picked based on the ample parking, a pavilion on jury’s desire to have a variety the grounds and a campground creations at each festival. If, for nearby.” example, there are a lot of jewIn addition to the sheer size elry entries, they must be whitof the fest, the event has also tled down to a smaller number grown stronger in terms of ar- in order to create a good baltistic caliber. ance with the other medias “These people are profes“Our jury takes great pride sionals. They’re the real deal,” in assuring a quality festival. Quebe added. One year, we only selected 75 For each festival, 80 artists artists because we didn’t feel are selected by a jury, com- strongly about some of the creprised of local professional ativity,” Quebe said. artists and the Art Festival When it comes to the perCommittee. In recent years, forming artists and food venthere have been 100 to 110 dors, the jury takes a break. applicants. Among the 80 cho- But the committee still very sen, 20 to 25 percent are new much considers quality when artists each year. This pushes hand-picking from those interapplicants who may not be accepted to go back and reexamSee ART FESTIVAL, page 28

Page 28

Area Attractions 2013

Halloween at the Villa Louis
Join historic figures from Villa Louis’ past for an evening of trick or treating among costumed interpreters during the annual Halloween at the Villa Louis event, Saturday, Oct. 19. Treats and souvenirs such as arrowheads, Native American bracelets and pencils will be handed out to children who visit the many buildings at the Villa Louis. Historic facts and stories will also be told by the interpreters. “Last year, Michael Douglass, the former site director, was dressed up as a soldier at the block house, we had a nun and priest stationed in the fort, and we had two witches at the Brisbois House who gave some kids a good scare,” said Susan Witters, a spokeswoman at Villa Louis. Halloween at the Villa Louis is held from 6 to 8 p.m. All young participants should report to the visitor’s center first, and workers will direct them along a luminary-lit path to the different buildings. There is a small fee per family for the event. “Everyone wants an older house in which to tell ghost stories. This is just a good time trick-or-treating with stories both real and for fun,” Witters said.

ART FESTIVAL, from page 27
ested in being a part of the fun. For the entertainment, the festival focuses mostly on music, but it has showcased regional poets and theatre groups and is open to other ideas. Usually four performers are chosen. For the food and drinks, seven “culinary artists” are picked Diane Burgess Witt and Bob Witt are shown having a scary good time to sell their products at the fest. More or less may be welcomed volunteering at last year’s Halloween event! based on attendance estimates. Indulgences sold have included wine, beer, coffee, pastries, crepes, and wood-fired pizza as well as various mouth-watering entrees from the Dog House and Crawford County Restorative Justice booths. “We ask all of our food vendors to provide organic compoThe most unique atmosphere nents and we really stress locally grown,” Quebe noted. in the second oldest Aside from the adult fun, the KidsArt Gallery tent is a popular destination at the fest. The work of students from all parts of the city in Wisconsin. Driftless Area is displayed, and awards are distributed to firstplace winners in three age groups. The first-place artwork is then sold at a Spring Gala auction each May, with 100 percent of the proceeds going back to those kids’ school art programs. In addition, young artists attending the festival are encouraged to create art in the Kids’ Creativity Zone. To help cover the current $65,000 budget associated with the festival, artists pay jury and booth fees and food vendors pay a portion of their proceeds back to the committee. Of course, sponsoring partners cover a great deal of the costs as well. In addition to CDA being a founding partner, Peoples State Bank is a presenting partner that has been assisting since the first year. The village of Soldiers Grove and the Soldiers Grove Community Development Corporation sponsor the artist’s reception prior to the fest. Wisconsin Public Radio is a publicity partner. Furthermore, the Art Festival Committee of about 20 people and other local volunteers give 3,300 hours of volunteer time throughout the year toward the fall event. “We have a very dedicated group which takes on the various responsibilities,” Quebe stated. “We manage to be organized and accomplish things when they need to be done. These are just good people. Of course, we’re always looking for more volunteers.” So as you consider fall destinations, keep in mind that the 3 mi North of Prairie du Chien, WI on County K Driftless Area Art Festival promises to add a splash of culture to (608) 326-4941 your life and an experience that will please the five senses.

Join US...

• Friday Night • Saturday Night • Fresh Salad Bar • Broasted Chicken • Pizza • Seafood • Nightly Specials • & Much

Fish Fry Prime Rib • Sandwiches • Steaks • Full Bar More!

RESTAURANT

THE BARN

Area Attractions 2013

Page 29

Fort Crawford Museum to host Cannons at the Fort
There are three buildings that comprise the Fort Crawford Museum. In the first building is the Visitors Center, where you will be greeted by knowledgeable and dedicated employees and volunteers that will help make your visit an informative and pleasant experience. This building houses the Museum Store, which has on hand numerous ‘period’ items that are meaningful reminders of your visit. We have an extensive collection of books and gift items as well. There is also a Visitor Registration book and the only restrooms on the grounds are located in this building. The second building is the Fort Crawford Hospital, which is the restored portion of Fort Crawford. The hospital contains a tribute to frontier and military physician, Dr. Wm. Beaumont. This exhibit displays a replicated hospital ward and a large exhibit of medical instruments. It also has a 1900s dentist office and a History of Military medicine. Dr. Wm. Beaumont performed some of the first groundbreaking experiment surgical procedures on the gastric system. He had a profound influence on medical procedures as we know them today. These exhibits are a “must see” for people interested in medical history. In 1999, a very significant event happened in Prairie du Chien which had major impact on the Fort Crawford Museum. The second room in the Hospital is devoted to the archaeological dig that took place along Beaumont Road on the front side of the Hospital. This exhibit contains an impressive diorama, wall mural and paintings. Several artifacts were discovered during the dig as well as the stone foundation that was once the Officers Quarters that had been there originally. These items are also showcased for easy viewing. The third building houses many exhibits of interest. There is an exhibit that depicts the ‘clamming’ industry, Native American artifacts, a Campion and St. Mary’s Academy exhibit, along with many others. A relatively new exhibit was put on display three years ago. This exhibit, titled “Tracking our Past”, celebrates the arrival of the Milwaukee and Mississippi Train to Prairie du Chien in 1857. A large wall mural, painted by local artist John Mundt serves as the backdrop to Railroad artifacts, original certificates and many other ‘period’ items that allow the visitor to experience the significance of this new form of transportation to this area. Until 1857, the river had played the biggest part of transporting goods, military personnel, and visitors to Prairie du Chien. The future looked brighter, businesses prospered and dreams became broader with the arrival of the railroad. Exhibits are updated regularly as new artifacts are donated. An exhibit depicting how buttons were made from clam shells and other new exhibits have been added within the past year. Museum tours can be done in two ways. A visitor can either do a self-guided tour or upon request can receive a tour with a guide. The Museum is handicap accessible. Picnic tables are on the grounds and light refreshments available in the Museum Store. Hours of operation are from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. seven days a week from May 1, through October 31. Special rates are available for groups of 10 or more, students and senior citizens. Each year the Museum has many Special Events that attract visitors, students and families from around the country. This year the Museum will be presenting “Cannons at the Fort” on Sept. 13-14. The event will depict life in 1814 in Prairie du Chien during the British years. More than 20 historic stations, including an American Camp, cannon firing, French fur trading and many more will be exhibited. More information is available about the Museum and the Special Events in several ways: visit 717 So. Beaumont Rd., Prairie du Chien, WI. 53821; write to P .O. Box 298, Prairie du Chien, WI. 53821; call (608) 326-6960; visit the website: www.fortcrawfordmuseum.com; or e-mail ftcrawmu@mhtc.net.

Students from area schools enjoy participating in Cannons at the Fort. Adults enjoy the annual event as well. The Fort Crawford Museum complex at Prairie du Chien, focuses on local history with an emphasis on Fort Crawford and Dr. William Beaumont. Prairie du Chien’s history is particularly unique because of its strategic location near the Wisconsin and Mississippi Rivers. Prairie du Chien is the scene of many events of national significance, beginning with Marquette and Jolliet’s visit in 1673. The U.S. Government authorized the building of the Second Fort Crawford in 1828, to replace the original fort built on St. Feriole Island in 1816. The new fort was constructed with native stone above the flood plain. The first fort, being made of wood, had frequently been ravaged by flooding of the Mississippi River. When completed, the fort spread out for several blocks and housed a garrison of several hundred U.S. Army troops. Its purpose was to settle problems amongst the Indian Tribes or between Indians and whites on the frontier of the United States. Until 1856 it functioned as a military fort and then as a recruiting station during the Civil War. After 1856 it served other purposes until it fell into disrepair. A determined group known as the Daughters of the American Revolution purchased the property in 1925. The hospital portion of the Fort was reconstructed in 1933. It remains today as one part of the Fort Crawford Museum. The State Medical Society of Wisconsin owned and operated the Museum from 1960 to 1996. At that time they transferred the buildings and collections to the Prairie du Chien Historical Society. When the time came for the local society to plan for the future of the Museum, it was determined that the main focal point of the Museum would continue to be on Dr. Wm. Beaumont’s life and the medical experiments he performed.

Southwest Wisconsin’s Most Scenic 18-Hole Golf Course!

Prairie du Chien Country Club

• Gently Rolling Hills • Picturesque Landscape • Watered Fairways • Driving Range & Practice Green • Group Rates • Full Service Bar & Grill - Daily Specials PUBLIC WELCOME - Call for Tee Times (608) 326-6707
6 Miles South of Prairie du Chien on Hwy 18-35

Page 30

Area Attractions 2013

Gardens, Sculpture Park will have you humming

The children’s play area is a popular place for families at the St. Feriole Island Memorial Gardens. While at the gardens, don’t forget to take some time to smell the flowers—you might just see a hummingbird or two. Dr. Beaumont and his patient Isaiah (right) are only two of the historical figures visitors can learn about at St. Feriole Island’s Sculpture Park. St. Feriole Island, in many ways, the ‘jewel’ of Prairie du Chien, has many attractions: the magnificent Villa Louis, Lawler Park fronting the Mississippi River, a marina, a bike path, a ball park and a brand new frisbee. Two other features, the St. Feriole Island Gardens and the Mississippi River Sculpture Park, are still works in progress, but impressive and worth a visit nonetheless. The 10-acre garden and paths also include a gazebo, tall trees, shady lawns and several flower beds. The gardens can be counted on to produce beautiful blooms throughout the growing season. A block away, the Mississippi River Sculpture Park designed to hold more than two dozen life-size bronze statues of important figures from the area’s past—ranging from a mammoth hunter to a riverboat captain. Last year, the sculpture park received its fifth statue, Emma Big Bear. The next statue of Aunt Mary Ann LaBuche, the physician who saved the Gagnier baby after she was scalped in June of 1827.

Homesteader Homes

"Your Home Experts Since 1982"

Featuring Skyline Modular & Manufactured Homes ~ Customized To Meet Your Needs ~
We Include More - Compare Before You Buy! Also offering Service, Parts & Transporting Lots, Homes & Mini-Storage For Rent
OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK

431 S. Marquette Rd. @ Webster St. Stoplights, Prairie du Chien, WI

326-4919; 326-4117 or 800-959-6111

www.homesteaderhomes.com

A Full Line Of Home Furnishings & Accessories

Prairie du Chien on the web
Where do you want to go today in the Prairie du Chien area? Our area is proud to present a great jumping off point right from your own home at your computer. Visit www.prairieduchienarea.com to get a wealth of information on the area.

We Carry... We Carry...
Hwy 27 in Blackhawk Junction, Prairie du Chien,WI

We Carry...

We Carry...

608-326-1500 • www.slumberland.com 608-326-1500 • www.slumberland.com
Blackhawk Junction • Prairie du Chien, WI

Blackhawk Junction • Prairie du Chien, WI

Open 7 Days A Week!

And A Full Line Of Home Furnishings

And A Full Line Of Home Furnishings & Accessories

Area Attractions 2013

Page 31

Reeling in the New Year with a bit of luck
Continuing the tradition of fun for the entire family, Carp Fest runs from December 26 through December 31. This weeklong celebration includes family oriented activities like a lighted sledding hill, torchlight ski/hike, snow bowl football, ice fishing and more. The celebration week finishes off with the annual Droppin’ of the Carp, the City’s New Year’s Eve festivities, which includes the ever-famous carp drop, live entertainment and a bonfire. At midnight, the year’s chosen fish, “Lucky,” will be lowered to the ground, signifying the new year. As part of the festivities, a Carp King and Queen will also be present to tend to their subjects. The event is slated to take place at Lucky Park, with countdown beginning at 11:40 p.m. So grab your jackets, a copy of “Auld Lang Syne” and your 2014 gear to usher in the new year in true Mississippi River spirit!

Annual Eagles Heart and Cancer Telethon soars

• Camping • Boating • golfing • Swimming Recreational Paradise!
608-326-2141 Campground has 350 campsites.
32750 County Road K, Prairie du Chien, WI

Looking for a good cause? Search no further than the Eagles Club’s annual Heart and Cancer Telethon. Airing in late January, the program is a local favorite with high attendance from various area groups like the Prairie du Chien High School wrestling team (left). With many appearances under his belt, one is sure to catch local celebrity Tom Nelson helping out in anyway he can, from answering phones and taking donations to hosting the show.

All sites have sewer, electricity & water. Approved by: • AAA • Wheelers • Woodalls • 32 Par Golf Course • Full Service Marina • Swimming Pool & Wading Pool • Basketball Court • Volleyball • Arcade Room • Convenience Store • Cabin Rentals • Planned Activities • Boat Launch • Full Hook-Ups • Hot Showers & Clean Restrooms • Laundry Room • Bar & Grill • Bait Shop • Swimming Beach

Facilities & Amenities

Page 32

Area Attractions 2013

Jingle all the way downtown for some holiday fun
While it might not be sunny and warm outside, that doesn’t stop the Prairie du Chien area residents from having fun during the winter months! Friday, December 6, is the annual holiday parade through downtown Prairie du Chien. Bundle up and head on down to Blackhawk Avenue to see several floats decorated with flashing Christmas lights, merry people spreading good cheer and perhaps even Santa all decked out in his finest red suit! The parade starts at 5:30 p.m. The next day, Rivers and Bluffs Animal Shelter asks area children to wake up early in order to help awaken one of the season’s most beloved holiday characters, Santa Claus. Children are invited to bring pots, pans, wooden spoons and other noise makers to use, and then, promptly at 8:30 a.m., the children bang on their pots and pans and shout to wake Jolly Old St. Nick. Afterwards, personalized Santa visits, breakfast, photos, Santa’s Secret Workshop, Make and Take Christmas ornaments and Santa Bingo will follow. For more information, please visit the Rivers and Bluffs website at www.riversandbluffsanimalshelter.org. Whether you’re waking up Santa and getting your picture taken with him or picking up candy at the Holiday Parade from Lady Luck’s pink elephant, downtown is the place to be in Prairie du Chien.

While visiting the historic sites of Prairie du Chien...stop by and enjoy a slice of homemade pie (it's our specialty) & a cup of coffee. Or for the hungry traveler: We serve a complete line of terrific

BREAKFAST ITEMS, SANDWICHES AND A FULL DINNER MENU BREAKFAST BUFFET
7:30 am - 1:30 pm

NOON & EVENING SPECIALS Saturday & Sunday

www.HungryHouseCafe.com

OPEN DAILY at 6:00 a.m. For Carryouts (608) 326-4346 531 N. Marquette Rd, Prairie du Chien, WI

Open thru Early Nov. 9 am - 5 pm, 7 Days A Week
& the area’s largest selection of specialty foods! • Fresh pressed Cider & Pick-Your-Own Pumpkins • Fresh Cheese Curds • Wine • Gifts

The Apple House & Bakery Barn

Fresh Apples

Fun for all ages!
• Bunnyville • Corn Box • Rope Maze • Animal Display

Country Fun Park!

Features:

• Your Creative Sewing Center • • Janome Sewing & Embroidery Machines • 2,000 Bolts of Fabulous Fabrics • Books • Patterns • Notions • Yarns • Classes - Sewing & Embroidery Clubs Many inspiring samples and creative ideas!
Creative Sewing Center • CandY Store • CuStom Frame Shop Store Hours: Monday - Thursday 10 - 6; Friday 10 - 6; Saturday 10 - 5; Sunday 12 - 4

the pickett fence

Come Create a Family Tradition! ANNUAL

ORCHARD FEST October 5 & 6
9 am - 5 pm

In the heart of Downtown Prairie du Chien, WI
100 W. Blackhawk Ave. 326-4593 fencepostfabrics.com

608-326-2785 www.shihataorchard.com

1 mile past Cabela’s, turn right on Limery Road 61549 Limery Road, Prairie du Chien, WI

Area Attractions 2013

Page 33

Enjoy northwoods adventure at the Bear Foot Bay Indoor Water Park in Prairie du Chien
Whether you live in the tri-state area or are just passing through, you may or may not know about Bear Foot Bay Indoor Water Park. This little-known treasure of a water park is located inside Country Inn and Suites on the north side of Prairie du Chien, near Cabela’s. Decked out with a northwoods theme, Bear Foot Bay features a 25-foot-high body slide, a waterfall spa, activity pool with water basketball, a zero depth entry wading pool for younger children, and grizzly bear kids slide with spraying fish, prehistoric fish, and a spraying bee hive under a life-size tree and soaking mushroom. The general public is invited to take advantage of this yearround, family-friendly, water destination. While the facility is always free to those staying at the hotel, the public is charged a fee for access. To enjoy the water park, only those swimming are asked to pay $7 (plus tax) per person per day, and children under 2 are admitted for free. Families are eligible for a monthly discounted rate if they plan to utilize Bear Foot Bay often. Group discounts are available for parties of 10 or more, and advance notice is encouraged. Summer hours for the pool are 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. The slide can be used between 9 a.m. and 8 p.m. During the school year, hours for the slide change, as follows: Wednesdays and Thursdays, 5 to 8 p.m.; Fridays 5 to 10 p.m., Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 10 p.m.; Sundays, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Anyone interested in a fun-filled time at Bear Foot Bay should come to the front desk of the Country Inn and Suites and pay for a wrist-band, or call (608) 326-5700. Towels, tables and chairs are available for swimmers. When the Buckhorn Grill is open, water park users may also purchase food and beverages on site. No carry-ins are allowed.

Great Shopping 7 Days a Week
THE CANNERY
Classic Country & Primitive Decor
300 N. Marquette Road, Prairie du Chien, WI www.thecannerygifts.com

Restaurant & Banquet Hall
FRIDAY NIGHT All-You-Can-Eat Buffet & Dance to Live Music from 6 - 10 pm
Breakfast • Lunch • Dinner • saLaD Bar
1916 S. Marquette Rd, Prairie du Chien, WI 608-326-5488
Try Nate’s Fresh Baked Goods!

HUCKLEBERRY’S

Over 30,000 sq. ft of

608.326.6518

~ DAILY SPECIALS ~ Friday & Saturday: Prime Rib

THE PRODUCE PATCH
Womens Casual Wear

GIFT SHOP - Unique Gifts For All Occasions!
Huge Jewelry Selection! www.huckleberryspdc.com

608.326.6516
of the

330 N. Marquette Road, Prairie du Chien, WI

Simply

Coffeehouse & Eatery

OUR NECK WOODS
Rustic Outdoor Decor 300 N. Marquette Rd, Prairie du Chien, WI 608.326.6518

• Specialty Coffee & Espresso Drinks • Fruit Smoothies & Assorted Teas • Sandwiches, Soups & Salads • Fresh Baked Goods & Desserts • Wireless Internet • Children’s Play Area

Now Located in THE CANNERY!

204 W. Blackhawk Ave., Historic Downtown Prairie du Chien, WI 53821 (608) 326-7467

Page 34

Area Attractions 2013

Bow hunters can sharpen their skills at new indoor archery range
The greater Prairie du Chien area is an excellent destination for outdoor enthusiasts. Firearm and archery hunters this fall will be glad to know that a new business aiming to start up in September will allow them to gain knowledge as well as sharpen their archery skills. A new indoor archery range and gun shop, NCS Gunsmithing and Sales, will be owned and operated by brothers Chad and Nick Smethurst in the former River City Roller Skating building at 815 E. Campion Blvd. “This was the perfect building and location,” said Nick, who noted that he and Chad are remodeling the building and hope to be open by Sept. 2. Nick said that the building will have an archery range with targets at up to 30 yards. Five to seven people will be able to shoot at the same time. Eventually, the range will include life-size 3D targets. “We’re planning on having archery leagues and tournaments along with open range times,” said Nick, who noted that father-son, father-daughter, mother-son, and motherdaughter participation will be encouraged. “We’re trying to get the younger kids involved,” he said. There will also be a retail shop where guns, rifles, bows and accessories will be sold. Customers will also be able to place orders for items not in stock. In addition, Chad, 38, is a certified gunsmith and Nick, 34, is certified in Duracoat firearm finishing. “You can have any color under the sun,” said Nick about the firearm finishing. “We’re excited,” said Nick, who noted that he and Chad are looking forward to serving firearm and archery customers soon.

VISIT OUR LOT!
www.suthill.com
Large Selection of New and Quality Used Cars and Trucks !!

or visit our website

We have the area’s best service technicians. They are experienced ASE, Chrysler & Ford Certified for prompt & courteous service.

Hwy 18/35 So., Prairie du Chien, WI 608-326-8400 • 800-326-4309

Sports Unlimited offers a Mississippi River paradise
Looking for something to do this fall? Search no further than the Mississippi River retreat Sports Unlimited just outside of Prairie du Chien. Located next to the The Barnyard 9 golf course, at 32750 County Road K, there’s always something to do. Facilities and activities include: a 32 par golf course, a full service marina, basketball and volleyball courts, an arcade room, convenience store, cabin rentals, boat launches, bar and grill, a bait shop and a swimming beach. All of these are open to the public. If you’re interested in extending your fun, plan to stay at one of Sports Unlimited’s 350 campsites. Each campsite has sewer, electricity and water connections. In addition to the facilities and activities already named, campers will be treated to unique opportunities including a swimming/wading pool, and events like flea markets, a hayride, a concert by Challenger and special Halloween plans in October. For more information, or to make a reservation, please call (608) 326-2141.
Including

Saturday, Oct. 19
10 am - 6 pm
St. Feriole Island Gardens Prairie du Chien, WI

• PARADE 10 am • LIVE MUSIC

All Day 1 - 4 pm

• GERMAN FOOD • OKTOBERFEST BEERS • CHILDREN’S ACTIVITIES • HAMMERSCHLAGEN • YOUTH SOCCER TOURNAMENT • EUCHRE TOURNAMENT • DISC GOLF TOURNAMENT
All proceeds go to the St. Feriole Island Gardens! For more info call 608-326-2060 or email:
susanrangel@sharingspaceskitchen.org

“Jim Busta Band”

- No Admission Fee! -

Tourist Info www.prairieduchien.org 1-800-732-1673

Area Attractions 2013

Page 35

Turkey Trot
The annual three-mile Turkey Trot run/walk, sponsored by the Prairie du Chien Parks and Rec Department, is scheduled for Thursday, Nov. 21, at 8 a.m., at Hoffman Hall. For more information, contact Director Mike Ulrich, (608) 3267207.

(608) 326-6716
24  HouR ToWiNG
• Heavy, Light Duty Towing - Auto & Truck   • Local & Long Distance Hauling • Tractor & Trailer Repair • Complete Auto & Light Truck Repair • A/C Service • TiReS  • BATTeRieS  • SHoCkS  • MuffLeRS
We offer Tune-Ups, Exhausts, Brake Work & More!

Mud Run
Michael Higgins tries his best to keep his face from mud during last year’s race. The third annual Mississippi Mud Run will be Saturday, Sept. 21 on St. Feriole Island. Proceeds of this event will go toward the construction of the Prairie du Chien Skate Park. The Mud Run consists of approximately four miles of Mississippi River Valley terrain and various obstacles including vehicles, tires, hay bales, tubes and the Mud Pit. The Mud Run registration will begin at 7 a.m., with the children’s race beginning at 8:45 a.m. The long course will start upon completion of the children’s race. Depending on the number of registered mud runners, start times for the course may be staggered. Watch for updates at pdcskatepark.org/mudrun, and on Twitter and Facebook as race day approaches.

BOB’S TOWING & REPAIR
450 Cliff Haven Road • Prairie du Chien, WI

Your Party Starts Here!

LIQUOR

Same day appointments

• Coldest Beer in Town • Walk-In Beer & Wine Caves • Huge Wine Selection • Many Varieties of Cheese

CHEESE

Open Daily 9 am
160-081

Franciscan Healthcare in Prairie du Chien
For an appointment call:

608-326-0808
mayoclinichealthsystem.org

Fresh Cheese Curds Every Friday!
www,qbliquor.com sales @quality-beverages.com 37461 Hwy, 18 Prairie du Chien, WI 608-326-7777
Serving Sandwiches, Salads, Pasta, Steaks, Fajitas & Seafood
You’ll Love Our Homemade Appetizers!
Relax at the bar - try our Jumbo Margaritas

FIND US ON

FACEBOOK

214 W. Blackhawk Ave., Downtown Prairie du Chien, WI

Open daily at 11 am - Carryouts Available • Visa, Discover & M/C Accepted

(608) 326-0639

Page 36

Area Attractions 2013

Many rely on the PdC Regional Tourism Center for help

Located between Iowa and Wisconsin Streets just before crossing the Mississippi River into Iowa is the Prairie du Chien Area Chamber of Commerce and Regional Tourism Center. The center is a helpful place to find out all about what the Prairie du Chien area has to offer. When one arrives in Prairie du Chien for the first time and is unsure of what there is to see and do, visitors can get the answers to these questions at the Prairie du Chien Area Chamber of Commerce and Regional Tourism Center. The Prairie du Chien Chamber of Commerce and Regional Tourism Center is located at 211 S. Main Street between the two bridges in downtown Prairie du Chien. The Chamber staff and the many volunteers are always happy to help you get acquainted with the Prairie du Chien area. The Prairie du Chien Area Chamber of Commerce and Tourism Center is open seven days a week from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Saturday and 9 a.m to 3 p.m. on Sundays. The center offers hundreds of local brochures for the visitors to help plan their stay. The staff at the Prairie du Chien Area Chamber of Commerce and Information Center can connect you with a complete range of information on the local businesses and attractions. The staff can help you book a room, find a cabin or campground, visit one of the many orchards, enjoy a great meal at one of the fabulous restaurants, help you book a river cruise, visit the local winery and brewery, and guide you to many of the local historical attractions. What about shopping? Prairie du Chien offers a wide variety of shopping at any of the unique shops at the newly renovated historic downtown. If you prefer a mall atmosphere, the Prairie du Chien area offers shopping opportunities at any of the three malls located around Prairie du Chien, Blackhawk Junction, Nathan’s Plaza and Riverside Square. Bring the kids along on the trip to Prairie du Chien! Stop in at Prairie Funland or take the kids on one of the several bike trails. If hiking is more the speed, take a trip to Wyalusing State Park or Pikes Peak State Park. Spend the day learning about the “Effigies” at Effigy Mounds National Monument located just a few miles away from Prairie du Chien. Prairie du Chien is a fun place for everyone in the family! If you want to plan a destination before you arrive in Prairie du Chien, take a look at the Prairie du Chien Area Chamber of Commerce website at prairieduchien.org. The Chamber’s website contains helpful information on area businesses and attractions, motel accommodations, entertainment, history, restaurants and places to shop within the community! Find the center on Facebook at prairieduchien.org. To contact the center, call 326-2241.

THICKBURGER™

JIM BEAM® BOURBON

216 N. Marquette Road, Prairie du Chien, WI 53821 608-326-4371 Hours: Thursday - Saturday 10 - 5; Sunday 11 - 4

Front Porch Quilts
• Fabric • Books • Patterns • Notions • Giftware • Collectibles

A 100% Black Angus Beef Thickburger®, Jim Beam® Bourbon Sauce, Two Strips of Bacon, Garlic Onion Straws, Pepper-Jack Cheese, Tomato & Lettuce all served on a Seeded Bun. Available in 1/3 and 1/4 lb.
hardees.com Prairie du Chien, WI 608-326-6967

Area Attractions 2013

Page 37

Want to see stars? Look no further than Wyalusing
Wyalusing State Park, a 2,674 acre park located on bluff tops 500 feet above the confluence of the Wisconsin and Mississippi Rivers, offers all that one would expect of a state park, plus one additional feature that is unique to the Wisconsin state park system. Astronomy programs, presented by the StarSplitters of Wyalusing will continue through the end of October. The programs, geared to astronomy enthusiasts of all ages are held on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month at the Lawrence Huser Astronomy Center. Programs start at 8:30 and are held rain or shine. The programs are free, but a state park sticker is required on each vehicle. Another event hosted at Wyalusing State Park this fall will be Spirits of Wyalusing Past. The event will be held on Saturday, Sept. 28, at 7 p.m. During the evening, guests will meet characters from Wyalusing’s illustrious history along a luminary lit trail. Refreshments and silent auction are set to follow. For more information about programs or other services at the park, call (608) 996-2261, or visit the website at www.wyalusing.org.

FISHING FLOAT & CAFE
Below Lock & Dam 9, Lynxville, WI

HUBBARDS
• Walleye • Bass • Catfish • Panfish
Mississippi River!
on the scenic

German heritage abounds at Oktoberfest celebration
There’s plenty of entertainment at Prairie du Chien’s fourth annual Oktoberfest, set for Saturday, Oct. 19, from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. at the St. Feriole Island Memorial Gardens. Besides enjoying authentic German food, listening to German bands and drinking German beer, there are plenty of things to do like play Hammerschlagen. The day-long event will feature many mouth-watering German favorites like bratwursts, German potato salad, apple strudel, sauerkraut, red cabbage, assorted sausages and more. New to this year’s celebration menu will be pork schnitzel, sour Several kids activities are being planned. Last year, bobbing for apples, crafts and a maze were just a few of the activities children had to look forward to. While there have been no finalizations on events as of yet, you can be sure to have a good time celebrating with all your family and friends.

Spend a day fishing for...

~ Fishing supplies & food available ~
For Reservations, call Bill Hubbard at

608-732-1084
Prairie du Chien’s Destination For

FUN!

» GO KARTS » MINI GOLF »W A TER W ARS » BUMPER CARS NOW ADDED: » BUMPER BOATS AND » JUMPSHOT BASKETBALL
Hwy 18, Prairie du Chien

with 1100-Foot Race Track! 18-Hole

(Trampoline Basketball)

KRACHEY'S
bp SOUTH
1910 S. Marquette Rd (608)326-8155

10 AM - 10 PM OPEN WEEKENDS IN MAY, SEPTEMBER & OCTOBER

prairiefunland.com

608-326-0888

Open 24 Hours/7 Days a Week • Pizza • Snacks • Showers • Lounge • Fax • Laser 4000 Touchless Car Wash • Manual Truck & Car Wash • E-85 Gas
ATM - ICE - BEER - POP

Page 38

Area Attractions 2013

Horse camping, trail riding at LaRiviere
The LaRiviere Horse Park in Prairie du Chien is leased from the city by the LaRiviere Riders Saddle Club for horse camping and trail riding. Volunteered time and donated funds are used to manage and maintain the park and adjoining trails. Many of the trails are through private property, which the club is generously permitted to utilize for riding. The park closes the second weekend in November. Some private property trails are closed the end of October for deer hunting. Notices will be posted and signs will be out Trails at LaRiviere Horse Park take riders through woods, open to indicate which trails are closed for the season. fields, hills and valleys. Some of the amenities at the horse park include first come first serve campsites, electrical hookups and primitive areas, a well waFRESH & SMOKED FISH ter hydrant for drinking water, an automatic waterer for horses, Exotic Line of Jerky & Sausages picket lines, corrals, hitching rails, manure pits, wheel barrows, pitch forks, picnic tables, fire rings, two shelters, trash dumpsters Fresh Bluegill & Walleye & and pit toilets. Smoked... Carp - Catfish Riders at LaRiviere experience the many wonders of nature as Sturgeon - Salmon, PLUS the trails take them through the woods to open fields and many Large Selection of hills and valleys. Some trails are not marked, and several can be WISCONSIN CHEESES! rather challenging to the inexperienced rider. Trail signage and maps are in the works. We strive to provide an affordable opportunity for families with horses to share their experiences. Shrimp - Scallops - King Crab Through the generous donations of horse campers, various grants SEAFOOD Lobster - Perch - Catfish that become available, and volunteers, the LaRiviere Riders, Inc. - Frog Legs - & More! has been able to maintain and improve the horse park. 608-326-4719 304 S. Prairie Street., Prairie du Chien, WI For more information and directions, visit larivierriders.com or call (608) 412-1300.

BARNYARD 9
Enjoy our challenging 9-Hole Course Carts available. 9 & 18-Hole Rates Available Club House & Bar

The Freshest Place In Town Serving BREAKFAST Daily At Subway!

Sports Unlimited Campground
32750 County K, 3 miles north of Prairie du Chien, WI (608) 326-2141

Build your better breakfast at subway in Prairie du Chien. Start with a whole wheat english muffin, flatbread or any of our fresh baked breads. add egg, cheese & your choice of ham, bacon, sausage or steak. ...and with your breakfast, try a bottle of Minute Maid® Orange Juice ® or a cup of freshly brewed Seattle’s Best Coffee! Save time and grab a Salad or Sandwich for lunch!

COACHES’
Friendly Atmosphere Daily Specials
We’re Open 7 Days a Week WE CATER & DELIVER

Hwy. 18 & 35 So, 634 S. Marquette Rd. • Prairie du Chien, WI

Family Restaurant

Flavor Crisp Chicken, Fresh Catfish & Pizza Delivery & Carryout Service - Phone ahead 326-8115

Good Home Cookin' !!

SUBWAY SANDWICHES
ALSO: • Fresh salads • Personal size Pizzas

Visit us in our large, air-conditioned dining room when you attend these upcoming events: Rendezvous, Blues Fest, Country on the River & Carriage Classic

www.coachespdc.com

936 s. Marquette rd. Prairie dU Chien (608) 326-4688
open Mon - Fri at 7 am, sat & sun 8 am

Area Attractions 2013

Page 39

Prairie du Chien Ice Fisheree

Ice fishing opportunities
You too could reel in a lunker like this one by ice fishing in Prairie du Chien area waters this winter season. Large northern pike, walleyes, sauger, bass, bluegills and many other species abound in the Mississippi River. Whether you’re staying for the week or just a few days, you’ll walk away with quite a catch.

After getting well acquainted with the Prairie du Chien area this fall, please come back in the winter to take part in the long-standing Ice Fisheree in February headquartered at the Lakeview Marina Bar and Restaurant on County K. For more information call 800-732-1673.

Ice isn’t always a bad thing
Opening at the end of December, the ice rink at Lochner Park is sure to provide fun for all ages. However, be sure to get all bundled up, or Jack Frost will be nipping at your nose. Ice skates will be available for rental through the Prairie du Chien Parks and Recreation Department. For more information about the seasonal ice rink, please contact the Parks and Rec Dept. at (608) 3267207.

Enjoy a Famous

EDDIE’S BURGER
Plus Assorted

SANDWICHES SOUPS & APPETIZERS!

11 Varieties of Micro & Imported Draught Beer Featuring Guiness & Harp Open Daily at 11 am - Serving Late!
800 S. Marquette Rd., 326-6625 Prairie du Chien, WI

Page 40

Area Attractions 2013

Fang-tastic scares await all who dare to enter
Whether you find him a bit scary or completely disturbing with the lights on, you will definitely be afraid when you see him in the dark at this year’s Halls of Terror in Prairie du Chien Oct. 12, 18, 19, 25, 26 and 31. Scream Xtreme will present its annual haunted house from 7-10 p.m. each night. A kid-friendly “lights on” haunt will be held on Saturday, Oct. 26, from 2 to 6 p.m. The This creepy figure is only one of the haunt- haunted house will ing creatures you’re sure to find inside once again be located Scream Xtreme’s Halls of Terror. at the cedar building on the corner of West Blackhawk Avenue and 2nd Street on St. Feriole Island in Prairie du Chien. The spooky corridors of the facility will be filled with a variety of eerie sights as equally terrifying as in year’s past. In the past, visitors of this event have come from Wisconsin, Iowa, Minnesota and Illinois. During October, the Prairie du Chien Downtown Revitalization, Inc. (PDRI) will be hosting it’s second annual Witches & Warlocks Night Out. For this event, the downtown will be full to the brim with fortune tellers, door prizes, witches brew, games, food and surprises. The event will take place on Friday, Oct. 4, and begin at 5 p.m. and go until 8 p.m. The PDRI also plans to fill the downtown streets with even more goblins and ghouls on Saturday, Oct. 26 with another event called Spooktober. For this event, children 0-12 are invited to don their Halloween costumes early and participate in an evening of preHalloween fun by doing a little trick-ortreating at the downtown businesses. Fallthemed activities are also slated to take place. The spooktacular event will take place from 2 to 4 p.m. With all these ghoulish activities in the works, everyone is sure to have a howl- Dressing in your “scary” best is easy when ing good time. candy is the reward.

Historic Sites • Scenic Beauty • Family Fun • River Cruises
The Prairie du Chien Area Chamber of Commerce and Prairie du Chien Tourism Council would like to welcome you to our community. Prairie du Chien is a town that has placed a high value on preserving its historical landmarks, while also displaying a progressive side evidenced by the revitalization of the downtown area. Prairie du Chien is the hub for tourism, outdoor recreation and commerce. It is a community of great spirit and pride, which can be experienced at the numerous events occurring throughout the year. Enjoy the Prairie du Chien area, our natural attractions of rolling hills and picturesque ravines and valleys, recreational opportunities, cultural offerings, great dining establishments, abundant shopping options, fine lodging and the warm, friendly service that greets you at each of our local businesses.

Welcome to Prairie du Chien Area

PRAIRIE DU CHIEN AREA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE & REGIONAL TOURISM CENTER
211 S. Main Street, Prairie du Chien Open 7 days a week 9 am - 5 pm Monday - Saturday 10 am to 4 pm Sunday

Follow us on facebook

1-800-732-1673 • 608-326-8555 • www.prairieduchien.org

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful