Bio 002: Summer 2009

4 credits: class MWF 8:30-12; lab Tuesday and Thursday (AM or PM session) Catherine “Kate” Farrell, M.S., M.Ed. Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday immediately after class in Lafayette 300 and by appointment. We will use Biology, 8th edition by Campbell, et al. Mastering Biology We’ll use the text website,, for assignments and reinforcement. Please set up an account so that you can view and complete assignments.
Course ID: SummerUVMBio2

Grading Lab Tests Project Class Assignments

30% 40% (Each test is 10%, except the final which is 20%) 10% 20% (Each is 5%, Mastering Biology, open book/open notes)

Philosophy It is my sincere hope and goal that this be a productive learning experience for all my students as well as for me. Especially considering the brisk pace of a summer course, please ask questions if I begin to loose you in class. I’m also available during office hours and via email to help with questions. Tips for Success  Ask questions in class – it makes class more interesting for everyone and will help you learn. I will allow 10 minutes at the beginning of each class for questions on the last class.  Preview chapters before class – focus on Concepts (used as section titles) and diagrams  Do the assignments – test questions will be no harder than these. I will only test you on material that was covered in class (or lab for the final).  To the degree possible, adjust your schedule to allow plenty of time for reading and thinking about course material. Digesting new information takes time and energy – it’s just a fact of biology.  Form a study group – two brains are usually better than one.  Ask questions… I’m here to help! Really! The Rules and Reg’s Your written work (tests and labs) must be uniquely your own. You may work with a study buddy on labs and assignments, but unless directed otherwise, you need to submit your own work.


Bio 2 – Schedule Summer 2009
N.B. Schedule subject to modifications announced in class or via UVM email. Monday July 20 – Evolution Recap and setting the stage for Ecology *If you have not studied evolution recently, skimming Ch. 22-24 is recommended. Ch. 25 The History of Life on Earth Ch. 26. Phylogeny and the Tree of Life Tuesday July 21 *Pick a project group Experience Biodiversity Unit 8: Ecology Wednesday July 22 Ch. 52 An Introduction to Ecology and the Biosphere Ch. 53 Population Ecology Thursday July 23 Population Ecology and Population Genetics Friday July 24 Assignment 1 Due: Ch. 25, 26, 52, 53 Ch. 54 Community Ecology Ch. 55 Ecosystems Monday July 27 Ch. 56 Conservation Biology and Restoration Ecology Tuesday July 28 *Time to work on presentation in lab & get feedback from T.A. Conservation Biology Wednesday July 29 Test: Evolution and Intro to Ecology Thursday July 30 Flowers and Pollination


Friday July 31 Ch. 29 Plant Diversity I: How Plants Colonized Land Ch. 30 Plant Diversity II: The Evolution of Seed Plants * Emphasis on life cycles Monday August 3 Assignment 2 Due: Ch. 29, 30 Ch. 35 Plant Structure, Growth, and Development Ch. 36 Resource Acquisition and Transport in Vascular Plants Tuesday August 4 Transpiration Wednesday August 5 Assignment 3 Due: Ch. 35, 36 Ch. 37 Soil and Plant Nutrition Ch. 38 Angiosperm Reproduction and Biotechnology Thursday August 6 Centennial Woods Ecological Excursion Friday August 7 Assignment 4 Due: Ch. 37, 38 Test: Plants Ch. 40 Basic Principles of Animal Form and Function Monday August 10 Ch. 41 Animal Nutrition Ch. 42 Circulation and Gas Exchange Tuesday August 11 Animal Behavior Wednesday August 12 Assignment 5 Due: 40, 41, 42 Ch. 51 Animal Behavior Wrap-up and Review Thursday August 13 Lab and Class Review Friday August 14 Final Exam – Cumulative, includes class and lab


Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful