You are on page 1of 7

This space Is for Pagination And allows For The Masthead

Sut*«*-

INFORMATION; Review of Terrorist List

Date:

February 28, 2002

From: Manager, Flight Standards Division

Reply to Attn. of:

To:

Director, Flight Standards Service, AFS-1 ATTN: Phyllis Anne Duncan at AFS-800, This is our response to your Memorandum dated February 14, 2002, concerning a review of the attached terrorist list by our Flight Standards District OfiBce (FSDO) Inspectors in Florida. The Florida FSDOs reported as follows: SO FSDO-15 Orlando SO FSDO-17 Ft Lauderdale SO FSDO-19 Miami SO FSDO-35 Tampa Negative Negative Negative Negative

Frederick T. Walker cc: ASO-262 ASO-250 ASO-200

File: WP: Q:\250\dml\Terrorist List.doc ASO-262:DLong:DH:(404) 305-6073:02/28/2002

Dickie Long 03/06/2002 05:08 PM

To: Phyllis Duncan/AWA/FAA
cc:

Subject: AFS-1 Memo dated 2/14/02 - Review of Terrorist List

Phyllis, The following documents represent the souther region response. nemo.doc is the total response from the region(scroll down to see it) attachl.doc is the positive response from FSDO-7 attach2.doc and attach3.doc is the positive response from FSDO-09 I'll be out of the office tomorrow (Thursday). me Friday. Thanks, If you have any questions call

D. Long ASO-262 (404) 305-6073 - attach3.doc - attach2.doc - attach1.doc! - memo.doc

ofTroraportotion federal Aviation Administration

Memoranda

m
Sub] ect
From INFORMATION: Review of Terrorist List, AFS-1 Memo Dated 2/14/02 Manager, James H. Fitzgerald, FSDO-09 Date: Reply to Attn. of: 205-731-1557 Manager, Air Safety Regulations Branch, ASO-250 ATTN: Dickie Long, ASO-262 The Alabama Flight Standards District Office has reviewed ail records and found the following positive encounter.

To:

9/11 Classified Information

If you have further questions, please contact me at (205) 731-1557.

James H. Fitzgerald

^Transportation
federal Aviation Administration

Memorandu

m
ACTION:|_ Subje ct
Reply to

Date:

March 5, 2002

From:
To:

L

Aviation Safety Inspector,

Attn. of. (205)731-1557, X149

James Fitzgerald, Office Manager

9/11 Classified Information

9/11
Working-level Employee

Author: Thomas L Katri at ASOFSD007 Date: 03/04/2002 11:50 AM Normal Receipt Requested TO: Dickie Long at AS0200

Subject: Re: Action :Review of Terrorist List, AFS-1 Memo dated 2/14/2
Message Contents Mr. Long: The Jackson, Mississippi FSDO (ASO-FSDO-07) submits the following: 1. Inspector's Name -| 2. Current duty station! Minneapolis, Minnesota (AGL-FSDO-15). 3. Description follows: [Records available at AGL-FSDO-15] Inspector Ireoorts that in August 2001 she was casually asked by a Pan Am Instructor fcsr her thoughts pertaining to a foreign national coming in to train In a Boeing 747-4 simulator, when that individual indicated that he did not want a rating, he just wanted to learn to fly the aircraft The next day inspector I Ireceived a call fromthe FBI Agent (she cannot recall the name of the Agent). Inspectorl ........ iwas'"" | i.'then \

..-

.....

asked if we had a record of any pilot certificatesforMoussouiand

....-•-;<-;:::;>" /
.

Working-level
Employee

another individual whose nameshei does not remember. Inspector "." I Ididfirid a student pilot certificate issued eariier.that ...-••""..--"'' year (she believes in May 2001) for Moussoui. " states that she noted that the citizenship w.as "tihknown,11 which she conveyed to the FBI Agent and he said his nationality was probably French and confirmed the city artel state of the address that was listed (InspectoitZZ^ZHbelieves it was.somewhere in Kansas, but not certain). . Inspectorl Hater had a meeting with I !-• Director of Training at the Pan Am Training Center that she was (at that time) the Training Center Program Manager. C—^Jstated that he was going to meet with the FBI. Inspector I I states that a couple of days later she inquired as to the status and she was advised that Moussoui never showed for the simulator session.

......::;;;:::::::::===... Personal Privacy

, Reply Separator. Subject: Action: Review of Terrorist List, AFS-1 Memo dated 2/14/2002 Author: Dickie Long at AS0200 Date: 03/01/2002 1:45 PM I sent the message below to your organizational mailbox.

This is a heads up, info copy, to you to make sure that someone in your office is working on this since the suspense is short. Call me if you have any questions. Thanks,
D. Long ASO-262 (404) 305-6073

Forward Header. Subject: Action:Review of Terrorist List, AFS-1 Memo dated 2/14/2002 Author: Dickie Long at ASO200 Date: 03/01/2002 1:32 PM

The attached Memorandum (terl.doc) from AFS-1 was discussed at the telecon Thursday 2/21/02. It was thought at the time that only the Florida FSDOs would need to respond. The Florida FSDOs have responded. However we were advised that ALL Southern Region FSDOs need to respond. Please review the Memorandum cited above and the attached List of Alleged Hijackers and Accomplices (ter2.doc) and respond to me by close of business Wednesday March 6, 2002. If you have a positive report to make, I would prefer that the basic information (inspector's name, duty station, description of that encounter and any FTRS Record ID number) be attached as a word document. If you have any pertinent documents that you cannot send by ccmail, please describe them briefly in the attached word document and indicate if the documents will be FAXed or mailed overnight. Please CCMail your FSDO response to me (positive or negative). I will consolidate all SO FSDO's responses for ASO-200 to forward to AFS-1. Thanks,

Dickie Long ASO-262 (404) 305-6073

This space is for pagination and allows for the masthead

INFORMATION; Review of Terrorist List
From: Manager, Flight Standards Division

Date:

March 6, 2002

Reply to Attn. of:

To:

Director, Flight Standards Service, AFS-1 ATTN: Phyllis Duncan at AFS-800, This is our response to your Memorandum dated February 14, 2002, concerning a review of the terrorist list by our Flight Standards District Office (FSDO) Inspectors in the Southern Region. SO FSDO-01 Louisville SO FSDO-03 Nashville SO FSDO-05 Greensboro SO FSDO-07 Jackson SOFSDO-09 Birmingham SOFSDO-11 Atlanta SOFSDO-13 Columbia SO FSDO-15 Orlando SO FSDO-17 Ft Lauderdale SO FSDO-19 Miami SO FSDO-21 San Juan Miami SO IFO -23 SOFSDO-25 Memphis SO FSDO-33 Charlotte SOFSDO-35 Tampa Negative Negative Negative See Attachment 1 See Attachment 2 & 3 Negative Negative Negative

Negative Negative Negative Negative Negative Negative Negative

Frederick T. Walker