This action might not be possible to undo. Are you sure you want to continue?
) • Oats A gluten free diet omits all products made with these cereals. Other varieties of wheat: kumat, spelt (dinkel or german wheat), bulgar (burghul), durum, couscous etc. must also be excluded. There are many obvious foods that contain gluten such as breads, cakes, cereals etc. but there are also a whole range of foods that are not obvious sources of gluten, such as sausages, processed meats, soups, stock cubes, sauces, malt etc. However do not be discouraged as there are also a lot of products that are gluten free – either naturally gluten free, substitute products or also commercial products. SHOPPING FOR THE GLUTEN FREE DIET The first and most important point when shipping for gluten free food is to become a “LABEL READER”, if you have any doubt about the ingredients printed on the labels don’t buy the product. Food labels are required to state: • The common name of the product • The name and address of the manufacturer, packer, importer or vendor • The ingredients listed in descending order of their relative proportion by weight
Many manufacturers also provide a panel of nutritional information. Foods sold as gluten free will state on the nutrition panel “no detectable gluten”. Many products are gluten free but make no claim to be so. You will have to scrutinise the ingredients list to determine whether they are suitable. Avoid any manufactured food which has no ingredients list. Avoid any product if the ingredients list contains any of the following: • Wheat, rye, barley, triticale, oats • Flour, all types unless a gluten free source is specified, • Pasta, semolina, • Farina or thickeners, • Wheatstarch, starch or thickener (unspecified), • Cereal, bread, biscuit, batter, crumbs, • Cornflour (unspecified or wheat based) • Malt Be aware that there may be small traces of gluten in any of the following additives: • Modified starch or thickening agent • Additive numbers 1400-1450 (of wheat origin or unspecified) • Malt flavouring and malt extract • Maltodextrin (of wheat origin) • Hydrolysed protein (of wheat origin)
WHEN IN DOUBT – LEAVE IT OUT
SAFE FOODS FOODS TO AVOID HERBS, SPICES & CONDIMENTS Pepper, salt, herbs, spices, curry All commercial sauces, pickles, relishes, chutneys, compound mustard, powder, mustard powder (check these for an anti-caking agent which may prepared mustard, mustard paste*. contain gluten). Soya sauce*, tomato puree*. Tomato sauce. BEVERAGES Water, mineral water – plain & Barley drinks i.e. barley water, lemon flavoured, still or carbonated. Soft barley. drink – sweetened or diet type, fruit & Caro & cereal tea, coffee substitutes. vegetable juice, cordials without Drinking chocolate & similar barley, soda & tonic water, sports flavourings for milk electrolyte type drinks, tea, herb tea, coffee (pure, instant & decaffeinated)
Wine, cider, liqueurs, spirits, champagne, sherry, port, brandy, whisky, gin & vodka MISCELLANEOUS Sugar – white, brown, castor. Icing sugar mixture. Pure icing sugar, jelly, gelatine. Vanilla & flavouring essences*. Popcorn, plain potato crisps*. Flavoured crisps & packet snack Plain corn chips & taco shells* foods*. Candy floss & fairy floss. Stock cubes & gravy mixes*. Plain dark & milk chocolate (no Sweets, lollies & filled chocolates & fillings). chocolate snack foods*.
FOODS TO AVOID ALCOHOL Beer, ale, lager, porter, stout.
legumes & lentils. Custard Cream – fresh & canned. commercial pastry mixes Rice bread* breads even if make from non gluten grains & flours if the sour dough itself Rice cakes (plain) Rice crackers (plain) contains a cereal. gram peas. Hot chips & potato vegetables so long as no thickener is added. maize cornflour. potato. spreads*. Meat & fish pastes*. syrup. fruit products*. kidney. gram. glutted cereal (except rice). multi-grain). goats milk. Cheese dips & gourmet or Eggs – all types fruit cheeses*. rice bran. DAIRY FOODS & EGGS Malted milks. roasted provided only salt &/or oil is added. Non dairy whiteners & Plain yoghurt & fruche. rissoles*. flavoured & gourmet types. Potatoes. creamers*. plain. pastry. glutinous rice. PASTRIES ETC. Salad dressings & mayonnaises*. crispbreads. muesli. soy beverages & infant cereal components.SAFE FOODS Arrowroot. Malt vinegar. lasagne. lentil & soya flours FOODS TO AVOID All varieties of wheat including kumat. Margarine both poly & mono unsaturated types SALAD DRESSINGS Pure cider vinegar. Sour dough. wild rice. varieties of legumes*. noodles. Cheese mixtures. Maize (corn). Soya. pancakes. infant cornflakes (not malted type). barley. soya commercial breads containing wheat or gluten. Buttermilk. cakes. FISH & POULTRY Fresh. Fresh herbs. shelled or Dry roasted nuts. Gluten free bread. oat porridge. baked beans*. Processed meats & poultry*. smoked. Crumbed or battered. Processed Fruit flavoured yoghurt & fruche in cheeses*. seafoods. etc. Haggis. Dried beans ie. durum. Pulses. SEEDS & NUTS All types of fresh. JAMS & SPREADS All jams. pizza bases. FOODS TO AVOID FRUIT. golden Vegemite. biscuits. yams wedges coated with flour. sweet potatoes. free muesli. Processed or canned home prepared chips & oven chips. cannelloni & garbanzo beans. doughnuts. Commercial soups. buckwheat & pure buckwheat flour. polenta. White vinegar*. waffles. oats. bulgar (burghul). rye. FATS & OILS Oils – vegetable & seed None except wheat germ oil Cream & butter. especially formulae*. ravioli. gherkins. block. sago tapioca. mush peas containing thickener. noodles. molasses. pearl barley. infant formulae. cocktail onions. triticale. treacle. burger. Biscuits. Wheat starch. cornmeal. oatmeal (there are several varieties of millet some of which appear to affect coeliacs) CEREALS & FARINACEOUS PRODUCTS Plain non malted rice or maize (corn) Wheat based & mixed grain breakfast breakfast cereal ie. macaroni. pumpernickel breads. semolina. sorghum. Peas pudding. salted. cake & wuppabrot. rice flour. Imitation Ham on the bone. Gluten & gluten steaks BREADS. borlotti. Gluten Pasta. sliced & sticks. wheaten cornflour. spaghetti. maple syrup. Fruit mince & Christmas mince* stewed & preserved fruits so long as no Pie fillings & commercial thickened thickening is added. biscuits. Olives. SAFE FOODS * = CHECK INGREDIENTS * = CHECK INGREDIENTS . cakes & All regular bread & rolls (including pastries. frozen & canned Commercial vegetables in a sauce ie. Puffed rice or corn. barley. barley bread. Ice-cream & ice confectionary containing thickeners & condensed. Canned without sauce or cereal. honey. Flavoured milks*. wheat germ. Dried peas. Frozen dinners. Nuts & seeds in shells. which the fruit component contains a thickener*. free pasta. oat cakes etc. foods. MEAT. taco shells made from pure maize flour. spelt (dinkel or german wheat). SOUPS Clear soups & soups thickened with Soups containing thickeners. rice noodles & vermicelli. pickled & Sausages. Cheeses – powders & ready made custards*. BISCUITS. Gluten free bread. CAKES. Ice cream wafers & cones. Plain icecreams & confectionary*. Milk – fresh & long life. wuppertaler. wheat bran. infant rice cereal. canned evaporated & Artificial cream. dried. lupin. quinoa. slices. wheatmeal. Marmite & Promite. rye bread. rice (white & brown). Pea. canned. Vegetable or potato salads*. couscous. Peanut butter*. cereals or allowed flours* grains ie. ground rice. Rusks VEGETABLES All types of fresh. plain powdered. corned. macaroni. split peas. wheat & multigrain flour. marmalade. pastes.
This action might not be possible to undo. Are you sure you want to continue?
We've moved you to where you read on your other device.
Get the full title to continue reading from where you left off, or restart the preview.