Live, Eat, Think & Buy Local

2009 Business Review Supplement of The Chronicle of Mt. Juliet

Pictured above is an integral part of Mt. Juliet’s economic development and recruitment team: from left to right are Mt. Juliet/West Wilson Chamber of Commerce 2009 Board Chair Jason Loggins, Vice Chair Tracey Trupmhour, City of Mt. Juliet Director of Economic Development Kenny Martin, and Chamber President / CEO Mark Hinesley.

US Community Credit Union, Serving the People of Wilson County
US Community Credit Union was formed back in 1949 by eleven VA Hospital employees and given the name of the Nashville VA Credit Union. In 1952 the Nashville VA Credit Union changed its name to US Courthouse Credit Union and began serving federal employees and military personnel along with their immediate family. Through the years the membership based swelled and steadily began to grow. In 2005 US Courthouse Credit Union changed its name once more to become the US Community Credit Union where it now serves anyone who lives, works, worships, or attends school in Davidson, Rutherford, or Wilson counties and their family. As a not-for-profit organization, US Community Credit Union gives its profits back to the members in the form of higher dividends, lower fees, and lower loan rates. These are just a few of the many benefits members receive at USCCU. US Community Credit Union is part of the CU Shared Service Centers across America. There are currently over 3500 Shared Service Centers nationwide. USCCU is also part of the Money Tower Network and The Choice Network system of ATMs. US Community Credit Union is glad to be in the Mt. Juliet Community, and looks forward to helping the people of Wilson County with all their financial needs. For more information, please call USCCU at 7439339. You can also find plenty of information at the credit union’s website: www.usccu.org.

Top 5 Frequently Asked Questions About USCCU:
1. What makes US Community Credit Union different?
USCCU is a not-for-profit cooperative USCCU is owned by its members USCCU members have a right to vote on important issues USCCU is based on people helping people USCCU members get to elect the board of directors

2. What is “Real-Time” Checking?
Ever tried to make a deposit of your payroll check on Friday after 3:00 pm at another financial institution and been told the deposit will not take effect until the next Monday or Tuesday? With a checking account at US Community Credit Union, generally, deposits of checks and other items are given immediate credit by us when you make a deposit inside one of our branches, before the close of business. Why Wait? Bring your checking account to US Community Credit Union, where you don’t have to wait for YOUR money!*

3. What products and services does US Community Credit Union offer?
• Savings Accounts • “Real-Time” Checking • Money Market Accounts • Certificates • Christmas/Vacation Clubs • Auto Loans • Motorcycle Loans • Boat/RV Loans • Personal Loans • Six Star Checking “Checking with Rewards” • VISA Debit Cards • Retirement Savings • Investment Services • Mortgage Loans • Home Equity Loans • VISA Credit Cards • Refinancing • $2,000 FREE AD&D Insurance** • Direct Deposit • Online Banking & Bill Pay • e-Statements

4. What types of loans does US Community Credit Union offer?

5. What is the philosophy of US Community Credit Union?
To make lives better by providing unlimited opportunity.
*See your funds availability disclosure for the few instances in which holds may apply to protect you and the credit union. **Insurance program presented & administered by Selman & Company. Insurance underwritten by Monumental Life Insurance Company.

Take Your Business to a Financial Institution YOU Own!
USCCU is a full-service, community financial institution owned by our members. Join US and receive our excellent financial services!
• Six Star Checking • • • • •
”Checking with Rewards”

Savings Accounts Certificates Money Market Accounts Investment Services Shared Service Center Member

• • • • • •

Home Equity Loans Mortgage Loans New/Used Auto Loans Motorcycle, Boat, and RV Loans Membership is FREE $5 Minimum Balance Required

Mt. Juliet Branch

2700 N. Mt. Juliet Rd.

Join US! For more information about US Community Credit Union, call US at 743-9339. Please visit us online at www.usccu.org.
Winner of the 2009 Datatrac Great Rate Award
Outperforming the 2008 Nashville market average on the 5 year, 4 year, 3 year, 2 year, 1 year, 6 month, and 3 month Certificates

Membership open to anyone who lives, works, worships, or attends school in Davidson, Rutherford, and Wilson Counties.

Page 2, 2009 Community Business Review

Some words from your Chamber leaders
What Does the Chamber of Commerce Do? Here’s an answer to that question. You have probably heard that question asked or even wondered about it yourself. It is a legitimate question. A lot of people may not be real sure exactly what a Chamber of Commerce is, how it works, or what it is for. There are, in fact, a lot of misconceptions about the Chamber. For example, there are those who believe that the Chamber gathers statistics, prints nice brochures, answers inquiries and advertises what a great place we have to live, work and enjoy the good life. They are right, up to a point. We do all these things, and proudly so. All of these jobs are important. But they are not why the Chamber is here. The Chamber of Commerce is a catalyst ...a common vehicle through which the enlightened mutual interests of all segments of the business community work together for the common good Al Green once sang, “Let’s stay together, whether times are good or bad or happy or sad.” And that should be our motto when it comes to The Mt. Juliet/West Wilson Chamber of Commerce. I always try to buy: MJ Chamber 1st, City of Mt. Juliet 2nd, and Wilson County 3rd. This should ring true today more than ever. We’ve certainly heard about the apocalyptic state of our economy. And we have all read about how we need to bury every nickel earned (or when Grandma sends it to your 7 yr When my family moved here ten years ago, there was only a hand full of restaurants and stores. I actually felt as if I had moved to the country. I spent more time in other cities seeing my family physician, purchasing automobiles, eating out, seeing movies, etc. Today, all of these services are available to me no more than five minutes down the road. of the total community. A better community means better business and we are working for a better community for everyone here. That’s why we do what we do. Which brings us back to that original question, what do we do? In any community, it is from the profitable operation of business that all other benefits are derived. Only by succeeding in this fundamental goal can we provide the jobs and produce the wealth to finance all of the governmental, civic, cultural and charitable needs that our community is faced with everyday. We do a lot of diverse things to accomplish that primary goal. The offices of the Mt Juliet / West Wilson County Chamber of Commerce are located at 46 West Caldwell Street, in Mt Juliet, TN. There, the Chamber staff executes and administers all Chamber programs and activities in conjunction with various committees comprised of Chamber Board Members and volunteers. In order to carry out the major programs of the Chamber, a volunteer system of committees is organized. Major areas in which committees function includes; economic and business development, approves the organization’s program of work, which highlights priority action-areas for the coming year. Most of the members of the Chamber are retailers, manufacturers, service businesses, professional individuals, schools, homebased businesses, etc. We have a dues structure and categories based on size, ability to invest and number of employees. The major benefit of membership in the Chamber of Commerce is that the Chamber acts as the unified voice of nearly 500 area businesses, including industry and professional firms. We maintain our vitality because our members want to get involved in those matters which concern the economic well being of the area. Besides providing a unified approach to common problems, the Chamber can also benefit a member firm with such services as…. We print a monthly E-Newsletter, available FREE via email to anyone interested in being kept updated and informed on Chamber and business matters, along with of the imagination. The Buy Mt. Juliet First Campaign has been around much longer than Pacman’s NFL career and it is loved as much as an Obama Stimulus Package delivered in a brand new GM vehicle. I also realize that most of the folks reading this already adhere to the “keep our dollars in Wilson County” rally cry. But we would all be wise to share these views with our neighbors, relatives, church members, and anyone that will listen, especially those that work out of our county. I will say that we So remember, next time you hop in the car for a fun night out or a shopping adventure, you don’t have to go far, everything is just around the corner. Let’s be proud to live in the “City Between the Lakes!” Tracey Trupmhour 2009 Vice Chair weekly electronic reminders about upcoming events. Our monthly luncheon program features major speakers of interest to the business community and, along with our Business Before & After Hours, serves as a forum to recognize area businesses which have made a contribution to the growth of the area. I would ask you to just stop, think, and look around. You will see all the good things that have happened, and realize there has been a lot of work done by a lot of dedicated people. And that leaves one question: who is the “we” that does all this. “We” are “YOU” the people of the community and all your business neighbors, many of which are members of the Chamber of Commerce. The “WE” and “YOU” provide the ideas, the drive, the goals, the funds and the voluntary service to keep the Chamber going. And then the question comes up: “Who would do it if the Chamber didn’t?” Oh behalf of a grateful Chamber of Commerce; Thank you Mt Juliet. are lucky enough to live in a community that is actually prospering in a lack luster economy. In that context, we can say times are good in Mt. Juliet. But, I don’t believe we can attribute all of our success to “luck.” So, the next time you’re driving through Nashville and you have an uncontrollable urge to purchase a toggle bolt, remind yourself of the soulful croons of Al Green: ”Let’s stay together” and wait until you get back in Mt. Juliet to make your purchase.

Mark Hinesley President / CEO

governmental and community affairs, membership and public relations, education, and other specific areas depending upon the needs at that particular time. Each year, the Board of Directors of the Chamber old for Easter) in our back yard for the next 10 years. When those extravagant purchases like food, clothing, insurance, and the cost of doing business just have to be made, remember our motto (see above). It is vital to this community that we keep all of our dollars here. Every dollar spent here is another that goes to our roads, police protection, our children’s education, and overall community enhancement. Of course, I am not advocating a new campaign by any stretch Juliet, we are saving time, gas and money while using our resources. Therefore, our tax dollars are remaining in our community. These funds are used to enhance our city, build new roads and improve our schools, just to mention a few. Whenever you have the urge to drive to another city, why not ask yourself, “Is it available in Mt. Juliet?” More than likely it will be.

Jason Loggins 2009 Board Chair

Now there is no need for any of us to go elsewhere. Think of how much time and money we can save by doing everything in Mt. Juliet. Our city has all of the amenities we need for everyday living along with great places for family fun. No wonder people from all over the state find Mt. Juliet a desirable place for entertainment and shopping. By staying in Mt.

2009 Community Business Review, Page 3

Cumberland Mental Health helps you cope, and move on, with your life
imes are tough for most people right now: stress from financial worries, family problems, issues with your job or employer – everyone needs someone to talk to. But when you need professional mental health help there is a place right here in Mt. Juliet that offers on-site and emergency help just when you need it. Cumberland Mental Health Services (CMHS) offers outpatient mental health services including therapy for children, adults and families, marriage counseling, and psychiatric services. CMHS treats patients of all ages ranging from children with minor behavioral issues, ADD or more serious mental health problems as a result of physical and sexual abuse – adults with varying problems - to geriatric patients. CMHS Center Director Brenda Harper said the facility offers treatment to adults with varying types of problems. “We treat people with problems including major mood or thought disorders, bipolar disorders, and a full array of problems people seek help for,” Harper said. “Some people, especially now with the wide sweep of job loss and financial instability, are having serious difficulties adapting to

T

changes in their lives. We’re here to offer them assistance or to refer them to treatment specific to their needs.” Harper said mental health professionals at CMHS work with adults/families to “help set goals to move forward with their lives” and focus on recovery. “In the past people have felt frozen in their illness – they can’t move forward or don’t know how to start that process. We’re getting past that. We want people to know they can move forward past their current problems and take control of their lives. There may not always be a cure but there are very good recovery projects to help people recover and take charge of their lives.” Harper stressed that “none of us like change,” and today’s economy and financial hardships are resulting in some serious mental health issues for many consumers. She said that people seeking mental health assistance are in fact consumers, opposed to clients or patients – they are seeking a service which Cumberland Mental Health Services can provide. “We want to be involved in the process – what can we do and what will you do to move forward, what will you do to make changes in your life and move on successfully. We want to help get people moving – which can be difficult.”

CMHS offers evaluative services including psychiatric services by licensed psychiatrists and licensed psychiatric nurse practitioners and therapy services by licensed clinical social workers. The facility also offers psychological evaluations such as courtordered parental assessments or those required for criminal or legal charges. CMHS provides case management services for children and adults and acts as an advocate to link them to the necessary resources in the community and acts as a support system. Harper said CMHS professionals will go to a school and act as an advocate for a child with behavioral or education needs and work one on one with the parents and school administrators to help the child improve in the school environment. This same type of support is offered to adults who need assistance accessing resources. CMHS also has a mobile crisis team which is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for emergency mental health situations. This team will go to a consumer’s home and screen for possible inpatient hospitalization and can be on site in less than one hour. The basic mission of Cumberland Mental Health Services, Harper said, is to

help people in the community who have mental health issues come to grips with them, move forward in their lives, and connect with resources in the community. “If a person is suffering emotional problems and needs help, I’m just glad we can be there as a resource to get them that help and linked up with whatever they need in our community,” Harper said. In the meantime, Harper said it is the aspect of change in a person’s life that can be so difficult to manage and move past. Change is frightening, and in today’s economy and changing social climate many people cling to what they know, even though it may not be what’s best for them or their families in the long run. “Even though it may not be working, it’s what you know,” Harper said. “People hold on to what they know because it’s just that – it’s familiar. It may not be right, but its there. If it’s not working, if your life is not working, you have to change your habits and life so that it works for you. That’s where we come in. We help you work for you.” Cumberland Mental Health Services is a division of the Volunteer Behavioral Health network, which includes five large community mental health centers across the state. CMHS has facilities

in Mt. Juliet, Lebanon, Gallatin and Hendersonville; The Guidance Center has facilities in Murfreesboro, Smyrna and Franklin; Plateau Mental Health is located in Cookeville and has satellite facilities in Lafayette, McMinnville, Crossville and Livingston; Joe Johnson Mental Health is located in Chattanooga; and Hiwassee Mental Health is located in Cleveland. The network covers 29 Tennessee counties and has 19 outpatient clinics. Cumberland Mental Health Services accepts private insurance, Medicare, TennCare, self-pay and offers a sliding scale for payment. It is a private, not-for-profit organization. CMHS opened its facility at 2730 N. Mt. Juliet Road in January 2009 and is open currently Monday and Wednesday 8 a.m. until 7 p.m. and hopes to extend those hours to Monday through Thursday as the need grows. It is open to private and business consumers and offers employee assessment programs. For more information call 615-758-9919 or to schedule a first-time appointment call the toll-free number at 1-877-567-6051. The crisis line for adult patients is 1-800-704-2651. You can also visit www.vbhcs.org for a full listing of service locations and programs.

Out patient mental health services that include individual, family and marriage counseling as well as psychiatric Left to right: Dr. John Cain; Terre Ament, NP; Katherine services. Have 24 hour mobile crisis services. Provide Lamorte, LCSW; Brenda Harper, center director; Lisa case management services to children and adults in a Hurst, front desk; not pictured Sandra Gill, LCSW community setting.

Mon.-Thurs. 8AM-7PM • 2730 N. Mt. Juliet Rd. • Mt. Juliet, TN 37122 • (615) 758-9919
Page 4, 2009 Community Business Review

Moss’ specialized services for you
Personal Service Moss’ Florist and Garden Center specializes in personal service, offering fresh cut and silk custom designs, a large selection of beautiful potted plants, shrubbery, lawn and garden supplies. Our specialists will be glad to answer all your questions and assist with garden needs. Award Winning Designers Moss’ has a quality team of award winning and very creative floral designers to give the perfect touch to your unique “fresh flower” and “silk” designs. Full Service Florist Moss’ is a fullservice florist and can deliver your floral needs throughout the entire MetropolitanNashville and Mt. Juliet area, including Gladeville and Lebanon. Moss’ delivers to all area hospitals, nursing homes and funeral homes. Professional Team of Gardeners Our professional team of gardeners will be happy to share their knowledge and information with you each season. We also pride ourselves with having hand-dipped seedbins filled with your favorite vegetable seeds. There are three greenhouses with a large selection of potted plants, shrubbery and lawn and garden supplies. Our garden specialists are always ready to answer all your questions and assist you with your gardening needs. Seminars and Demonstrations Throughout the year we offer a variety of classes and seminars, ranging from how to plant a garden, all about roses, herbs, etc., to how to decorate for the holidays. Come by, call, or check our monthly calendar for more information. Most seminars are on Saturdays. Call 758-5972 for dates and reservations or visit www. mossflorist.com.

Chambers offers customer-focused approach to realty
hether you’re an experienced homebuyer or shopping for your first home, Lisa Chambers will help make your experience the best it can be. Her customerfocused approach has worked to help my clients throughout the area, and she was ranked first in sales for 2006 & 2007 for her Century 21 Premier Mt. Juliet branch. Chambers is a native of Middle Tennessee and a resident of Wilson County. She’s been with Century 21 Premier since October 2004 and is accredited with ABR (Accredited Buyer’s Representative), GRI (Graduate of Realtor Institute) and a graduate from Lipscomb University, BA. As your trusted, professional real estate partner, she will help you find the best home in your area within your price range.

W

Together you will sell your current home as quickly and easily as possible. “I strive to make the sale of your home and all of the associated activities free of stress, easy to understand, and at times, even fun,” Chambers said. “My goal is to exceed your expectations and provide you with exceptional service throughout our relationship.” For more information or to contact Lisa Chambers about her most recent listings,

or to list your home with this accomplished Realtor, call 615-474-0377, visit her office at CENTURY 21 Premier, 2738 N. Mt. Juliet Rd., or visit www.lisachambers.net.

Florist & Garden Center • Fresh Flowers • Design & Gift Center • Lawn & Garden Store • Bedding & Nursery Plants • Outdoor Decor • Now offering Rio ROSES coupons WE DELIVER!! “Serving Mt. Juliet Since 1952”
12110 Lebanon Road Mt. Juliet
Hours: Mon. - Fri. 8:00 - 5:00• Sat. 8:00 - 5:00

Moss’

www.mossflorist.com

758-5972
Page 5, 2009 Community Business Review

Hearing loss a common problem: find a solution in MJ
earing loss is one of the most common ailments facing Americans today. Although hearing can worsen with age, hearing problems are not limited to people over the age of 50. A few of the most common symptoms of hearing loss include: hearing but not understanding voices, trouble understanding in background noise, and turning up the volume on the television. Although most hearing loss is not reversible, incredible advancements in technology and our understanding of the science of hearing are allowing individuals with hearing deficits to communicate easily with small, comfortable, and discreet hearing devices. Dr. David Gnewikow, owner of Advanced Hearing Solutions in Mt. Juliet holds a Master’s Degree in Audiology and Ph.D. degree in hearing research from Vanderbilt University. Dr. Gnewikow emphasizes the importance of good hearing. “Research on hearing loss tells us that

H

Superior Music: one stop shop
usicians of all levels of expertise need not travel to Music City to find the best in brand name instruments and equipment, sheet music and experienced instructors: they can stay in Mt. Juliet and visit longtime local music store Superior Music, a full-service shop that’s been serving musicians since 1995. Chuck Kotlaris has been in the music store business for over 25 years and worked in a store in Michigan before opening Superior Music on Lebanon Road. A musician himself, he caters to musicians of all ages and levels. Lessons are available all week long, with the store open longer hours on Mondays and Tuesdays, and on Saturdays. Superior Music carries band equipment, guitars, drums, string instruments, and a wide variety of accessories, lesson books and sheet music. Brands include Fender, Jackson, Boss, Rowland, Keeley, Wampler Effects, Xotic Effects, and Two Rock amplifiers. The shop also has a large inventory of vintage Fender tube amps. Superior is a full-service music shop where you can buy, sell or trade equipment or get it repaired. And if you need a band for an event, all of the employees are working musicians, and Kotlaris can assemble just the ensemble for your event. As far as shopping goes, Kotlaris said the recent dip in the economy has only “changed what people buy and how they buy.” “Musicians need instruments, and ones who want to learn will find a way to learn,” he said. “And it’s the little companies like this one that keep the local economy going.” Superior Music is located at 11117 Lebanon Road in Mt. Juliet. For more information call 758-4743 or visit www.superiormusic.com.

problems with hearing don’t just affect the individual, but his or her entire family and social group. In fact, recent studies have shown that people with untreated hearing loss tend to perform more poorly in the workforce, make less money, and even withdraw from social activities. We know that hearing loss can cause a reduction in quality of

life and overall health if left untreated.” “Getting help for hearing loss can be a pleasant experience,” explains Dr. Gnewikow. “I hear the tales almost everyday of how skeptical people are about hearing aids. It is my goal that anyone who needs help with their hearing can try hearing aids without any fear of failure or cost. The way we

do it is simple. We have the best hearing aids from many different manufacturers so that each patient is custom fitted with the most appropriate technology for his or her specific needs. We fit patients with the most state-of-the-art methods and expertise. Then we let patients test drive our hearing aids for free for a month with no obligation to purchase them. That way, patients and families know the real benefits in the real world. It is a foolproof model and it has worked extremely well.” In an economy where many businesses are seeing a decrease in customers, Advanced Hearing Solutions is growing rapidly. “The biggest difference for our business has been our patients. We are constantly getting referrals from people we’ve already helped. We know our patients are doing well because all of their friends keep showing up.” Learn more about Advanced Hearing Solutions, including a map to the office and stories from patients at www.hearlife.org.

M

HEAR WHAT YOU’VE BEEN MISSING...HEAR LIFE!

• Help for all types of hearing loss • No obligation trial on all hearing aids
Dr. David Gnewikow, PhD.

• Free Tuesday clinic for new patients • No interest payment plans
1002 Pleasant Grove Pl.

Music Lessons beginner to advanced Guitar and amp repairs Buy • Sell • Trade

758-7999

758-4743
www.superiormusic.com
11117 Lebanon Road • Mt. Juliet (next to AutoZone)

Page 6, 2009 Community Business Review

Despite struggling economy, sound independent banking leads to continued success at WB&T
n times like these, the institution you trust with your finances takes on added importance. If large, reputable, national banks have collapsed or needed government help just to survive, shouldn’t you know the status of your own local bank? At Wilson Bank & Trust, our ongoing success has proven that independence, good sense and a solid foundation can make all the difference in a bank’s longevity, no matter how large or small. We’ve been fortunate to attain a level of stability that has eluded others, including large regional banks, in part because our overall approach to banking is a real advantage in today’s market. As an independent bank, we make our own decisions, basing them on what’s best for our customers and our community. We’ve

I

chosen to operate in a conservative manner since the day our bank was founded in 1987, and that practice has benefited us greatly. Many banks and lenders, including national mortgage companies like Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, have experienced the disastrous effects of sub-prime lending that was rampant a short time ago. At WB&T,

lately. Examples like these have helped us become one of the most successful and dependable institutions in Middle

we were not involved in that practice. We also elected not to invest in the preferred stock of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, which also factored into the mortgage industry’s recent decline. We continue to take care in assessing the safety and feasibility of all the loans we provide, with an eye toward avoiding potential pitfalls like those we’ve all witnessed

Tennessee, and have given us opportunities for growth. While upholding our commitment to communityfocused banking, we’ve attained the resources normally associated with much larger organizations, and that’s a true benefit for those who depend on us. In terms of deposits, Wilson Bank & Trust now ranks seventh among all banks in the Nashville area*, and is among

the top five Middle Tennesseebased banks in a comparison of first-quarter gains in 2009 versus 2008**. WB&T has also become one of the top 10 residential mortgage lenders in the area, and we rank third in small business lending*. Independent bank rating and research firm BauerFinancial, Inc., recently gave WB&T a 4-Star Recommended rating for the 76th consecutive quarter based on the bank’s overall financial picture. Our stability means added security as well. Besides FDIC deposit insurance, our capital assets provide an extra means of protection for customers’ accounts. With

$128 million in capital, we are well positioned for continued growth as well. All financial service providers are affected by drastic turns in the economy. As the past several months have shown, your independent community bank right down the road can be your best bet for toughing out the hard times. Especially when that bank has the support and resources to look out for its customers the way we do at Wilson Bank & Trust. * Source: Nashville Business Journal’s 2009 Book of Lists ** Nashville Business Journal net income performance rankings from the quarter ended March 31, based on percentage change from the first quarter of 2008, published May 25, 2009.

Bank On Stability, Not A Bailout.

TO

P5

BA

Is stability shown in your bank’s bottom line?
•$1.4 billion in assets •Deposits backed by $130 million in capital plus FDIC insurance •$72 million in growth last year •22 offices throughout Middle Tennessee
*Nashville Business Journal net income performance rankings from the quarter ended March 31, 2009 based on percentage change from the first quarter of 2008, published May 25, 2009.

A

t Wilson Bank & Trust, we continue to stand strong as an independent community bank, performing among the top five

NK

S*

Middle Tennessee-based banks in a comparison of first-quarter gains in 2009 versus 2008, according to the Nashville Business Journal*. Despite the economy’s impact on other banks in our area and banks nationwide, a firm foundation and years of good decisions have meant we haven’t required government assistance to survive and even thrive. We’ve worked hard to build an institution that can stay financially sound under fierce conditions. Where does your bank rank in stability?

Committed to community banking since 1987.
www.wilsonbank.com
Member FDIC

Still Here, Still Independent, Still Committed to You!

2009 Community Business Review, Page 7

Making your smile even brighter at Mt. Juliet Family Dentistry
r. Eric Scallions knows a great smile when he sees one. And when he doesn’t, he knows how to make it great. Dr. Scallions has been practicing dentistry for seven years, and practicing in Mt. Juliet for the last year and a half. He said he treats people of all ages, beginning with children at age four. “I really enjoy treating the children, and I see a lot of them,” Dr. Scallions said. He’s been seeing so many people, in fact, that he said he will be adding a new associate this fall to keep up the personal care and attention his practice has become known for. The new associate will join the dentist’s “great” staff of two dental hygienists, two dentist assistants and two front desk attendants. Mt. Juliet Family Dentistry has a convenient schedule as well, and Dr. Scallions is available for Saturday appointments. Walkins are welcome, and the dentist is now accepting new

D

patients, families and children, with emergency and same day appointments available.

the first tooth I’ve ever had pulled,” Martin said. Her tooth, it turned out, had abscessed. “I was prepared for it to hurt, but he did not hurt me. He made me feel very comfortable. And if there was anybody who knew this was going to hurt, it would be me.” Martin said Dr. Scallions called her to check up on her condition, and when she returned the next week, thinking she had another problem, he X-rayed her mouth and soothed her nerves. “He’s great, and I generally don’t like dentists,” Martin From left to right, Rachel Crisp, Heather Jones, Mandy Scallions, Dr. Eric Scallions, Rhonda Bonee, admitted. “But he just Alyssa Hudgins made me feel so at ease, I like him a lot Dr. Scallions performs that his entire office has new When Darline Martin and wholly recommend him to a variety of dental procedures, equipment and a sterilization couldn’t stand another minute anyone.” including exams, gentle room for a clean, safe of her toothache she reluctantly Mt. Juliet Family cleanings, cosmetic dentistry, experience. visited Dr. Scallion’s office Dentistry is located at 66 E. Hill whitening, X rays, extractions, “I want my patients to – reluctant because she didn’t Street. For more information custom dentures and partials, feel as at ease as possible,” Dr. look forward to the possibility or to make an appointment root canals, crowns, and Scallions said. “I understand of having dental work done. call 758-2085, or visit www. delicate children’s dentistry. how some people might feel “Dr. Scallions pulled mtjulietfamildentistry.com.

And senior citizens get a 20 % discount. The dentist added

uncomfortable going to the dentist, but it’s my hope they’ll feel comfortable coming here.”

 

• • • • • • • • • • • • •

New Patients and emergencies welcome Saturday appointment available 9-5 Monday thru Thursday 9-5 White lings Cosmetic Dentistry Extractions Nitrous Oxide (GAS) Dentures Porcelain Crowns Veneers Root Canals Visa, Master Card, Discover, and Care Credit accepted Free exam and x-rays for all students

MENTION THIS AD AND RECEIVE 20% OFF ALL DENTAL SERVICES
66 East Hill Street • Mt. Juliet, TN 37122 • (615) 758-2085
Page 8, 2009 Community Business Review

Caring for your loved one with memory care issues in MJ
noming to terms with a loved one afflicted with Alzheimer’s, dementia, or other memory care diagnoses can be a heart-breaking as well as financial drain, and decisions as to how to properly attend to the needs of that loved one can be difficult. In Mt. Juliet, one special facility caters to those needs in an environment much like home. The Gardens at Providence Place is an assisted living facility specializing in memory care, including residents with Alzheimer’s, dementia, and other special needs. “We offer our residents assistance with daily living needs (bathing, dressing, etc), meals and activities, in a safe and homelike environment,” said owner/ administrator Cyndi Holland. “My staff consists of 14 fulltime, part-time, and PRN employees. They are mature, caring and experienced; they

C

are wonderful teammates. I love that they are here for the right reasons, as this environment is not for everyone. The staff is the reason The Gardens is a success; we have been full since 6 weeks of opening. You can feel assured that your loved one is in good hands!” The Gardens opened February 2008, and the expansion will begin this summer. Owners Cyndi and Ken Holland were the original owners of Providence Place of Mt Juliet Assisted Living, and there are partners Gary and Rikki Keckley. Gary is the architect of this building and the principal of Goodworks Unlimited, LLC. While there are many unique aspects of The Gardens, a special one is the reason for the facility. “My grandmother had Alzheimer’s, so this is a personal venture for me,” Cyndi Holland said. Holland said another reason The Gardens is a first choice for Alzheimer’s care in Mt. Juliet is the actual facility

“The first observation will be the building design. It is a one-story, free-standing building - most memory cares are attached or wings of a larger building - with a central nurse station, allowing much of the building and the beautiful court yard to be visible from this point. It is a quaint and intimate setting with only 16 private suites.” Holland said the monthly fee is a flat rate of $3,600. This includes private suite/bath, assistance with daily living needs, meals, medication administration, housekeeping, laundry, cable and activities. “We have access to a bus and take the residents on outings,” Holland added. For more information on The Gardens at Providence Place, contact Cyndi Holland, owner/administrator, 615758-9300, email gardenspp@ aol.com, or visit www. goodworksunlimited.com. The Gardens is located at 1016 Charlie Daniels Parkway in Mt. Juliet.

itself.

Minding your business is his business
nor Terry Smith, insuring your auto and home is not just about replacing objects and setting premiums – it’s about taking care of his customers. “The bottom line is taking care of the customer,” Smith said. “With MetLife I can take care of my customers with the best product possible.” One Met Life policy Smith said offers “unparalleled” for his customers is Grand Protect, which offers one policy for home and auto, one bill, and one deductible. Grand Protect offers guaranteed replacement cost for your dwelling, a higher internal limits, and identity theft reimbursement at no extra cost. On the auto side, Smith said that with the Grand Protect plan your deductible is reduced by $50 a year each year you are accident-free and offers replace cost on new cars and for special parts. Grand Protect is customized for you and your needs, and Smith said his service is customized as well. He has spent 15 years in the insurance business and has a background spanning back to age 12 in customer service. He said above all he is “very customer service-oriented,” and as the only captive MetLife auto and home agent in Mt. Juliet he can give personal attention to his clients. Smith said he once owned a T-shirt that read “Minding your business is my business.” “My customers get my own personal touch and attention,” Smith said. “When I write you a policy I come to your house to do it. I feel I represent the customer more than I do the company.” For more information on Grand Protect or MetLife’s other policies call Terry Smith at 615-754-7028, swing by his office at 2526 N. Mt. Juliet Road in the Ashwood Station business center, or visit the MetLife website at www.melife. com.

F

G

The Gardens at

Providence Place

An Assisted Living Facility Specializing in Memory Care
The Gardens design sets a new standard for memory care creating a therapeutic environment that enriches the daily experience of each resident, supports their independence and maintains their dignity. Residents enjoy the freedom they deserve in a home-like environment. • One Level Building with 16 suites (all private) • Intimate Residential Setting • Secure Building and outside area • Experienced, compassionate staff • Hair Salon • Beautiful Decor • Fully Sprinklered • Night-time Motion Activated Emergency Call System • Open Nurses Station

All Inclusive Monthly Fee
• Personal Daily Care • Meals • Housekeeping • Laundry • Activities including bus

1016 Charlie Daniels Parkway, Mt. Juliet, TN 37122 E-mail: gardenspp@aol.com Website: www.goodworksunlimited.com

758-9300
2009 Community Business Review, Page 9

Enjoy a great day close to home where the price is right for fun
f you’re looking for a fun and cost-friendly place to enjoy some quality time with your friends and family close to home or want a facility for your party or event with options to please everyone Cedar Creek Sports Center is the place to be. Tom “Pops” Schunk opened CCSC on Lebanon Road in Mt. Juliet in 1991 with 18 holes of putt-putt golf, batting cages and a driving range with the hopes of providing fun “in a family atmosphere.” “He wanted a place for people and families to go and have fun in a family atmosphere,” said Jimmy Schunk, who now owns and operates CCSC, of his father. “Our slogan and hope is Family Fun for Everyone.” In 1993 Schunk added

I

go carts, bumper boats, and an additional 18 holes of putt-putt golf. In 2007 he added a putting green and short game area to

with launch monitor analysis, including spin rate, trajectory, distance and proper shaft in your golf clubs.

such as churches, companies, and sports teams. Schunk said people can bring their own meals, and he supplies the

of the daily specials, running through the summer break, include 18 holes of putt-putt for $1.00, go cart rides for $3.50, bumper boat rides for $2.50 and $1.00 token batting cages. Summer hours are 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. Monday through Saturday and 12 to 9 p.m. on Sunday. Check the website at cedarcreeksportscenter. com or call (615) 754-2744 for off-season hours. Cedar Creek Sports Center is located at 10770 Lebanon Rd. in Mt. Juliet. It is family owned and operated by Jim and Patti Schunk. For more information email puttputtmj@comcast.net.

the driving range. Schunk said he is in the process of opening an Impact Zone Golf Academy which will provide lessons and custom club fitting, all done

CCSC also has 23 video games, a small concession area, and is available for special events, birthday parties and groups

facility “and the fun stuff.” CCSC has daily specials during the week, and group rates apply for group rates of 15 or more. Some

Cedar Creek Sports Center
FUN
cENT ER (615) 754-2744 • www.cedarcreeksportscenter.com

10770 Lebanon Road • Mt. Juliet, TN 37122

DA Y

Go-Kart $3.50 Putt-Putt (18 holes) $1.00 Bumper Boat $2.50
Monday-Friday 10AM-4PM

Batting Token $1.00

Page 10, 2009 Community Business Review

Family business born of necessity: Green Monster and Lily Pads
ne aspect of not only staying afloat but actually turning a profit in the midst of a struggling economy is diversifying your business – or businesses. One Mt. Juliet family is doing just that by integrating several businesses into their overall professional plan, ranging from bouncy houses to recycling and the entire time keeping the needs of family and community in mind. As a matter of fact, the ideas for their two businesses emerged from family needs. “I was telling my brother-in-law that I would recycle if it was easy,” said Green Monster Recycling and Disposal owner Tom Stueck. “He does not have a problem with having three bins in his kitchen to separate out all the different recyclables, but I just saw that as a mess. I did feel that it is better to recycle that not to and did if the opportunity was made easy. My wife and I looked for a place where recycling was just easy so that we could take part in it. I found

O

that QRS would take recycling all mixed together except for glass. That started it. I had a truck and trailer. My wife and I made up fliers and started to walk around and put them out. By the 17th of October 2007 we had 17 customers and set out. We picked up 220 pounds of recycling product.” Stueck said Green monster now has many customers and recycles 1.5 tons a week. “Our mission is to make recycling easy enough that anyone can understand it,” Stueck said. “We take all your household recycling in one pile except glass. We take it every week so that it will not pile up. And we take your ‘trash’ too.” Green Monster, Stueck said, is Mt. Juliet’s “only single pass disposal company.” “We pick up your recycle product along with your ‘trash’ all at the same time. Most everyone is used to regular trash pick up, but we have made it better by picking up single stream recycling at the same time. It has made recycling better and easier.” Stueck said recycling the Green

Monster way is easy and cost effective. “If you are already using a company for your ‘trash’ we are $3 - $4 more a month and pick up your household waste with the same schedule you are used to, but we get the recycling where it needs to go, and the ‘trash’ where it needs to go,” Stueck said. “We are changing the way Mt. Juliet residents are throwing out their waste. It is our goal to supply every home in Mt. Juliet with a “trash” bin and a recycling bin and service the whole community every week. One pass and it’s all gone!” Another familyowned business popped up after Stueck’s son’s fourth birthday – another innovative idea born from a need to be “cost-effective.” Lily Pads provides inflatable bounce houses, interactive games, and slides both wet and dry for private parties or events. “We started this business the night after my son’s 4th birthday in 2006. My wife and I rented a unit from another location. To make it

cost effective we had to pick it up and set it up ourselves. When we did the inside of the unit was so dirty I had to clean it before I would let our children in it. My wife and I had saved some money and decided we could deliver a better service to our community. We purchased a trailer and four inflatables and started,” Stueck said. “Months later I had a weekend where all of our units were rented out. We have rented to Mt. Juliet Church of Christ Tuesday Thursday school, First Baptist for many events and many home parties around town. We maintain these units ourselves, and will not let other children get in them until we will let our children get in them.” Stueck delivers, sets up, and tears down all of the units. Lily Pads now has 13 units but are looking to expand to 20 units in a couple of years. “We want to work with the other companies in town. We offer different units and woWe are just proud to be able to offer the 13 that we have. We have seen that this community, along with

our surrounding communities, have enough business for us all.” Lily Pads maintains “a very competitive rate” for its units. “Our price includes everything for a Mt. Juliet delivery,” Stueck said. “We are very flexible with time, whether you need it early or late. Our time limit for using the unit you rent is not 4-6 hours per say, it is the length of your party. And we want the children to enjoy their time with the bounce house.” Lily Pads has participated in fund-raisers for different causes around the area, including the City of Mt. Juliet fourth of July celebration. “We will set up our units and split the proceeds with the fund raising party for no up front fees,” Stueck added. For more information on Green Monster Recycling and Disposal or Lily Pads contact Tom Stueck at 615319-2101 or visit www. NashvilleBounceHouses.com.

Green M nster
Recycling and Disposal
Go Green with Green Monster. Picking up recycling and trash. One stop, one day and your done. We provide weekly services.

www.bouncehouses.com
615-319-2101

www.GreenMonsterCurbside.com
615-319-2101

2009 Community Business Review, Page 11

Keeping car care local with Mt. Juliet Goodyear Tire
ene Beaty opened Mt. Juliet Tire in 2001 after the success of his three other stores, namely the Hermitage location which Mt. Juliet Tire Manager Steve Slowey said was named one of the most successful stores Goodyear has ever opened. M t . Juliet Tire offers all automotive services ranging from oil changes to complete engine and transmission replacement. The 12 technicians are ASE (Auto Service Excellence) certified and range in experience from five to 40 years on the job. Appointments and walk-ins

G

are welcome, and Mt. Juliet Tire offers a shuttle service in the Mt. Juliet area. In addition to a

said, and is locally owned and operated. Beaty is often on location and has lived in the Mt. Juliet area for a number of years. “Most of Mt. Juliet knows Gene,” Slowey said. “He’s been doing business in the community for almost 20 years.” Slowey added that Beaty Enterprises also owns five stock cars which race at the Nashville Speedway. Mt. Juliet Tire is located at 11472 Lebanon Rd. For more information or to make a service appointment call 615-754-6434.

NYNY Pizza: new name, same great taste
NYNY Pizza in Mt. Juliet opened in April of 2007 in the Providence Marketplace. In addition to its varied and delicious menu, its location, on the corner opposite the Lifeway Christian Store and near the movie theater has made NYNY Pizza a popular restaurant. For anyone looking for authentic New York pizza and savory Italian cuisine, NYNY is the place to go. NYNY won a local award in the 2008 Toast of Music City, for being voted best pizza and wings in the Nashville area. Every Monday night is “kids night,” from 5:30-8:00 with $2.99 kids meals and the balloon kid, Anthony Lena, with makes for plenty of fun for the kids. Tuesday is Two for Tuesday for dine-in customers: buy a 14”,16”, or 18” specialty pizza and get the same size cheese pizza free. NYNY also has a mobile pizza truck which can be rolled out for large parties, picnics, reunions or any large gathering. NYNY delivers every day all day from open to close. Our delivery range is about 5-miles but we will deliver further for larger orders over $100. So come in and enjoy not just the best pizza in the Nashville area, but also our appetizers such as our popular garlic knots and wings; pasta dishes, heros, salads and desserts such as our zeppoles. NYNY – not just Pizza!! NYNY of Mt. Juliet is independently owned and operated and no longer a franchisee of New York Pizza Development, Inc.

N

wide array of tires, parts, and services, Mt. Juliet Tire is “a hometown service,” Slowey

MT. JULIET GOODYEAR
Proudly Serving Mt. Juliet Since 2001
Free 10” inch pizza your choice when you buy any 18” inch pizza. Up to $7.99 Value Sunday - Thursday

Computerized Wheel Alignment $10.00 OFF

3,000 Mile Maintenance $29.99

Brake Special $20.00 OFF Any Brake Service

4 Wheel Align $79 *Thrust Angle Align *69 Expires: 7/31/09

5 Qts. Bulk Oil Tire Rotation Expires: 7/31/09

Any Brake Service Over $120 Expires: 7/31/09

Birthday child makes their own pizza Sun-Thurs.

FREE ZEPPOLES WITH BIRTHDAY PARTY

ALL TIRES ON SALE
Gene Beaty invites his friends and neighbors in for special discounts on service and all tires on sale.

NYNY
PIZZA
401 S. Mt. Juliet Rd. Providence MarketPlace Mt. Juliet, TN 37122 • (615) 754-6969

Mt. Juliet Tire •11472 Lebanon Rd. • Mt. Juliet • (615) 754-6434
Page 12, 2009 Community Business Review

Skin care to make you look and feel your best
he SCC is a medical aesthetic practice located on the UMC Hospital Campus in L e b a n o n inspired by Dr. Kay Mitchell of the Women’s Health Center. This inspiration came from Dr. Mitchell’s patients, when she saw a rise in questions from her patients about aesthetic services in this area. In 2004, Dr. Mitchell decided to start offering some aesthetic services to her female clientele. As the clinic grew- her daughter, Mary Beth, helped her manage the business and move into a larger facility adjacent the

Bond Memorial: matching life to service with care
ond Memorial Chapel opened on March 9, 1997, and is owned by Andy and Tracey Bond. We are 100% locally owned and operated with no stockholders and no investors. As established members of the hometown business community we understand the security of dealing with people you know – people you trust. We’ve built our reputation on this trust. We have found that people expect certain things from the funeral home in their community – good service, reliability, fair pricing and professionalism. For years, we’ve provided area families with sound advice and caring service at times of personal loss. We strive to match the personality of the service with the personality of the family. Attention to details is what makes us stand above the rest. Our staff is trained to assist with every detail of making funeral and cremation arrangements. We are currently constructing a garage on the property. A

T

Women’s Health Center. The SCC enjoys offering a variety of services that help women and men address cosmetic problems in a pleasant and professional atmosphere. It’s amazing how a small cosmetic issuelike spider veins- upper lip hair – or an extra 20 lbscan affect one’s self esteem. All of our staff is highly educated on all of our products and we only carry products that we trust in and use ourselves. Our staff can educate you on the products and services available to address your concerns during a free consultation. Come and see how you can look and feel your best!

B

small portion of the garage will house a cremation machine. The demand for cremation services continues to increase. It will give the families who choose cremation tremendous peace of mind to know that the cremation is done at the funeral home under our control. We expect the crematory to be fully operational by the fall of 2009. By using the technology of the internet, Bond Memorial Chapel has created a website to carry our service to a new level and to a new part of the community. You may visit us at www.bondmemorial. com to view obituaries that are posted and updated regularly. Obituaries are also archived for future reference. We also off an automated Obituary Information Line that may be accessed by dialing (615) 6412663. At Lebanon Monument Company,

we specialize in creating personalized granite and bronze memorials and headstones. No matter how you want a loved one remembered we can design the memorial that is right for them. Choosing a memorial can be overwhelming. We are here to help you every step of the way in choosing the perfect tribute to your loved one. A memorial endures memories of a loved one forever. It is an everlasting tribute that can be cherished for years to come. At Bond Memorial Chapel, we are serving the families in our community at their time of need as well as before the need arises through our pre-planning options. We hope you remember you can turn to us in times of need. Thank you to our friends and neighbors for your support and trust. Bond Memorial Funeral Home, “Mt. Juliet’s only locally owned funeral home,” is located at 1098 Weston Drive in Mt. Juliet. For more information call (615) 773-2663, visit www. bondmemorial.com, or the Obit line at 615-641-2663.

Mt. Juliet’s Only Locally Owned Funeral Home ANDY & TRACEY BOND Funeral Directors & Embalmers

1098 Weston Drive • Mt. Juliet, TN 37122 (615) 773-2663 • 24 hour obituary line (615) 641-2663 www.bondmemorial.com
2009 Community Business Review, Page 13

Convenient, affordable healthcare in Mt. Juliet: The Little Clinic
he Little Clinic is a pioneer in customer-focused healthcare with a mission to provide convenient, affordable healthcare and wellness education to the community. This healthcare services company fills a niche in the healthcare industry for today’s busy consumer, operating convenient, affordable walk-in clinics in select Kroger Stores in the greater Nashville area, including a location at the Mt. Juliet Kroger on 4120 North Mt. Juliet Road. Open seven days a week including evenings and weekends, The Little Clinic locations are staffed with licensed and Board Certified Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners (ARNPs) and/or Certified Physician Assistants, specialists in family practice. They are authorized to diagnose, treat and write prescriptions for common illnesses such as strep throat, respiratory, sinus and ear infections and the flu, as well as for minor skin conditions

T

and injuries. The clinics also provide services such as general, back-to-school and sports physicals, screenings and a number of vaccinations. Founded in 2003 and headquartered in Brentwood, Tenn., The Little Clinic’s originators believed a new model was needed to make medical care more accessible, affordable and friendly for busy individuals who juggle jobs, families and generally busy lifestyles. As anticipated, the placement of compact, professionally staffed medical clinics in retail stores provided a welcome solution for time strapped consumers who need convenience and affordability in healthcare delivery and who need a complement to their primary care physicians. In recent years, demand for convenient, affordable medical care and treatment has reached an alltime high, with the rate of consumers managing their own healthcare growing at outstanding rates. Responding to this industry shift, The Little Clinic has emerged as a leader in the marketplace,

treating thousands of patients and achieving the highest satisfaction ratings in numerous patient surveys. Today, more and more individuals either do not have access to or cannot afford healthcare benefits. The Little Clinic, along with the convenience of Kroger’s locations and pharmacies, offers a great economical alternative for financially pressed consumers. The company is in-network with most major insurers including Aetna, BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee, CIGNA, Humana and United Healthcare as well as with a full list of regional providers. The Little Clinic also accepts self-paying patients with service prices starting at $59. Further, aware that rising healthcare costs continue to be a concern in the current economic climate, The Little Clinic launched a free health screenings and assessments program. Throughout 2009, this program, with a focus on core health issues such as nutrition, preventive medicine and wellness, is bringing

consumers the screenings and healthcare assessments necessary for monitoring overall health. Participants have the option of choosing from a selection of monthly screenings such as blood pressure, cholesterol, and, for children, a child growth percentile/body mass index evaluation, available during The Little Clinic’s regular hours of operation. Clinics are also supplying accompanying educational handouts. Through September 30, The Little Clinic is also offering $29 sports physicals with a payback for local schools. The company will make a donation to schools and organizations that have 25 or more students completing sports physicals at The Little Clinic. Participants can also choose to designate a donation to a local Special Olympics program if their school or organization doesn’t reach the 25 sports physical minimum. The Little Clinic has earned the Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval™. This accreditation recognizes the company’s commitment to meet

the Joint Commission’s stateof-the-art, rigorous national standards on a continuous basis. The Little Clinic is now the second retail health company accredited by The Joint Commission (formerly known as JCAHO – Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospital Organization). These clinics provide care for the entire family from age 12 months and up and no appointments are necessary. Mt. Juliet clinic hours are: Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 8:30 p.m. ; Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.; Sunday - 11:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. The Little Clinic is a member of the Mt. Juliet Chamber of Commerce and proudly sponsors a little league baseball team at Mt. Juliet Park. For more information about The Little Clinic visit thelittleclinic.com or email info@thelittleclinic.com. Or you may call the local clinic with questions or information about your health and wellness in Mt. Juliet at 615-553-5017.

Kid’s Physicals $29
Anytime. Everyday.
Whether your child needs a physical today or before the new season starts, The Little Clinic can do it for $29 everyday.
• Sports and Camp Physicals • No appointments necessary • Open 7 days a week – including nights and weekends • Prescriptions available as needed
www.thelittleclinic.com

Conveniently located inside select Kroger Supermarkets
Mt. Juliet 4120 North Mt. Juliet Rd. Mt. Juliet, TN 37122 (615) 553-5017
Clinic Hours: Monday-Friday: 8:30 am - 8:30 pm Lunch: 1:30 pm - 2:15 pm Saturday: 9:00 am - 4:30 pm Lunch: 1:30 pm - 2:00 pm Sunday: 11:30 am - 5:30 pm

Page 14, 2009 Community Business Review

Active Life Chiropractic helps you get better, feel better, stay better longer
t Active Life Chiropractic, Dr. Rhett Bruner is not only remedying his patients’various aches and pains through spinal realignment but helping them to live healthier, more satisfying lives through lifestyle changes they can implement to “get better and stay that way.” “We are more than just chiropractic care,” Dr. Bruner said. “I treat the body as a whole. In some chiropractic care, something falls short – once the spine is realigned people don’t properly stabilize the muscles that support the spine. I teach them how to do that at home, to keep up the therapy themselves, so they can get better faster and stay healthy longer.” Dr. Bruner said that while he was living and working in Kansas City, before opening his practice in Mt. Juliet in February, he practiced at a veteran’s hospital where he implemented chiropractic care with rehabilitative therapy. He said he has brought the benefits of that integration to Mt. Juliet to help his patients remedy their health problems and lead healthier lives. Dr. Bruner treats various health issues, including migraine headaches, sciatic and lower back pain, as well as disc herniation and whiplash. “So many people come in for those problems, then they sleep better, have better range of motion and feel more energized because their spine is realigned,” Dr. Bruner said. “Their nervous system is then functioning the way it’s supposed to. But part of staying healthy and feeling better is keeping up a healthy lifestyle.” Dr. Bruner conducts informative sessions titled “Eat Well, Move Well, Think Well” for local schools and businesses that focus on living naturally and healthily.

A

“I’m trying to help natural supplementation to eating habits and foods into educate the public about how address specific nutritional your diet. “I don’t want to chiropractic care can help deficiencies, and nutritional them and how by living a coaching to ensure dietary change what someone would healthy lifestyle they can help improvements become routine. normally eat, but there’s a In fact, Dr. Bruner will host healthy way to eat just about themselves,” Dr. Bruner said. anything,” Dr. Bruner Dr. Bruner said. “You can eat a offers not only hamburger, but you basic chiropractic can make it healthy.” care and therapy Dr. Bruner but informational also focuses on classes on stress personal growth management, with informative nutrition, personal sessions to enrich growth, safety your way of living. in the workplace Aspects include How and personalized to Stay Young the exercise programs. First 100 Years, How “ W e to Fight Fatigue, personalize each Implementing patient’s treatment Wellness into Your plan in order to Daily Routine, How address all factors Stress Affects You contributing to their and Your Health, and condition, so that the patient not only Proper Movement gets well fast but and stretching to stays well longer,” Reduce Workplace Dr. Rhett Bruner with chiropractic advocate said Bruner, whose Injuries. Arnold Schwarzenegger, 2008 office opened in “I offer February. classes at businesses, Dr. Bruner’s is an grocery shopping tours for such as manufacturing, to help integrated clinic with specific families, or whomever buys the reduce common injuries,” Dr. rehab exercises designed household groceries, to teach Bruner said. to retrain problem muscles, ways to integrate healthier Active Life

Chiropractic also utilizes a web-based, paperless software which minimizes paper consumption and reduces your overall health care costs. This online system allows patients to access their medical records, schedule and change appointments, and even pay their bill from the comfort of their own home. The system is safe and secure, using the same 128-bit encryption as used by the US Military and International Banks. Having little to no paperwork means less time filling out forms in the office and more time getting the help and information you need to lead a healthier lifestyle. “At Active Lice Chiropractic we address the body as a whole in order to provide the patient with the long term correction of their problem,” Dr. Bruner said. Active Life Chiropractic & Rehabilitation is located at 11227 Lebanon Road, in the new Publix shopping center, in Mt. Juliet. Call 615-758-7373 or visit www.ActiveLifeTN.com for more information or to make an appointment.

2009 Community Business Review, Page 15

UMC welcomes Dr. Madhav, geriatric and Tubb Printing in new location internal medicine physician, to medical staff after nearly three decades
niversity Medical Center is pleased to announce the addition of Venkatesh Madhav, MD, Geriatric and Internal Medicine Physician. Dr. Madhav specializes in geriatric medicine. Dr. Madhav, is double board certified in internal medicine and geriatric medicine. He attended medical school at Bangalore Medical College, India, where he received many honors including National Merit Scholarships. He distinguished himself in the 95th percentile among graduates. In 2001, he completed a geriatric medicine fellowship at New York Methodist Hospital, affiliated with Cornell University, New York. He received additional honors including Certificate for

U

ubb Printing Company is proudly celebrating 28 years of serving the Mt. Juliet area. Everyone at Tubb would like to thank all of our customers and friends for their loyal support for almost three decades. We are now in a new location and have added additional services to better accommodate your printing needs.

T

Meritorious Research Achievement Award and Merit and Scholarly Achievement Awards. Dr. Madhav is a diplomat of the American

WELCOME
Geriatric and Internal Medicine
Dr. Madhav is double board certified in internal medicine and geriatric medicine. He attended medical school at Bangalore Medical College, India, where he received many honors including National Merit Scholarships. He distinguished himself in the 95th percentile among graduates. In 2001, he completed a geriatric medicine fellowship at New York Methodist Hospital, affiliated with Cornell University, New York. He received additional honors including Certificate for Meritorious Research Achievement Award and Merit and Scholarly Achievement Awards. Dr. Madhav is a diplomat of the American Medical Association. He joins UMC from Dallas, Texas, where he served as a Geriatrician at Trinity Medical Center. Dr. Madhav, his wife Angelina, and twin daughters have recently moved to Lebanon and are looking forward to becoming involved in the community. Dr. Madhav’s practice office is located on the University Medical Center campus at 1405 West Baddour Parkway, Suite 103, in Lebanon. To schedule an appointment, please call 443-1579. Office hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and on Saturday from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Medical Association. He joins UMC from Dallas, Texas, where he served as a Geriatrician at Trinity Medical Center. Dr. Madhav, his wife Angelina, and their twin daughters have recently moved to Lebanon and are looking forward to becoming involved in the community. Dr. Madhav’s practice office is located on the University Medical Center campus at 1405 W. Baddour Parkway, Suite 103, in Lebanon. To schedule an appointment, please call 443-1579. Office hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and on Saturday from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. U n i v e r s i t y Medical Center (www. universitymedicalcenter.com) is a 245-bed, two-campus acute health care facility with more than 250 physicians on staff. UMC is fully accredited by the State of Tennessee and the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations.

As a full-service printer, Tubb Printing Company is able to offer a wide variety of printing, from black and white and color business cards, color copies, flyers, brochures and much more. We have a full graphics department that can help you design your printed piece. We offer pick-up and delivery to help your project go smoothly from start to finish. We invite you to stop by our new location at 11853 Lebanon Road. Our phone and fax number remain the same. 754-9494, fax 754-6645. We look forward to serving you.

For all your printing needs …

Tubb Printing Co., Inc.

11853 Lebanon Rd. Suite 1 Mt. Juliet, TN 37122 (615) 754-9494 • Fax ~ 754-6645
1411 Baddour Parkway • Lebanon, TN • (615) 444-8262 www.universitymedicalcenter.com

Page 16, 2009 Community Business Review

Finding the right employee fit in a sagging economy
ith so many people out of work, the job market is flooded with far more workers than there are jobs available. For hiring managers, that can be both good and bad. With so many people looking for work, hiring managers can rest assured there will be no shortage of qualified applicants. On the other hand, sifting through those applicants to find the right person for the job could be like looking for a needle in a haystack.

W

from qualified applicants, consider placing an ad in the local newspaper or even trade publications. The local newspaper will limit your responses to applicants within your area, while a trade publication will limit the responses to people in the field. * Don’t shy away from applicants with employment gaps. In the past, gaps in employment were red flags to recruiters. However, with so many people now out of work because of a sagging

The interview process might be especially daunting. That’s because you’re going to have more than one qualified applicant, and it can be hard to choose the best one. In such instances, it’s best to share the interviewing duties with a coworker. This will help you get a different perspective, and one interview is often not enough to gain a good grasp on a candidate. If you conduct the first interview, let a coworker conduct the second. That way you can share thoughts on the same candidate, as opposed

A-1 Brown Plumbing: a trusted name in MJ
Brown Plumbing Repair, Inc. is an independently owned and operated business that was established on May 9, 1978, by Jeff Brown, Sr. when he was only 20 years old. When Mr. Brown started the business, he operated from his home and was the only employee. He has since grown to include an office with a warehouse located at 11497 Lebanon Road, 2 additional full time technicians, one full time office administrator and a part time customer service rep. The company focuses primarily on residential, commercial and industrial repairs in the Middle Tennessee area. In addition to repairs, A-1 Brown Plumbing also offers high velocity water jetting, video camera sewer inspections, backflow installation/testing, grease trap/interceptor inspections and a full service backhoe. A-1 Brown Plumbing was voted the “Best Plumber in Wilson County for 2009” by the Mt. Juliet News subscriber poll. We have held this title for two consecutive years now. Thank you Mt. Juliet for this honor!! We feel customer satisfaction is one of the most important aspects to running and maintaining a successful business as well as honest, dependable and dedicated employees eager to meet the needs of the customers. From the initial contact to the completion of the job, we put our customer’s needs first! A-1 also has offices and services available in Lebanon, 615-449-0975, and Davidson, Sumner, Rutherford and Williamson counties by calling 615-889-9837. Y o u may contact A-1 Brown for all your repair needs, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 615-758-8354 or 615-449-0975.

A-1

A-1 BROWN PLUMBING REPAIR, INC.

In the current economic climate, it’s best to take a more specialized approach to recruiting, which can involve a number of steps. * Don’t mass market the job. Every recruiter and every job seeker is well aware of the major Internet sites that cater to every profession. With unemployment figures so high, these sites really are not your best bet if you want to limit the number of response you’ll get for your opening. Chances are such sites will provide many qualified applicants, but the volume of unqualified applicants will dwarf that number, creating more unnecessary work for you, the recruiter, in the process. To increase responses

economy, you’re going to come across lots of resumes with employment gaps. Whereas an employment gap used to indicate an employee might have been fired, nowadays it’s more indicative that an employee was probably laid off, which is often the fault of the economy and not the employee. * Share the interview process with a coworker. In the current economy, you’re going to have more applicants than in an economy that’s booming. While that’s good, it’s also more work, and as competent as you might be when it comes to screening resumes, you’re going to end up needing some help, both with screening and interviewing.

to discussing the pros and cons of candidates you have interviewed but your coworkers have not, and vice versa. * Protect yourself. In the current economy, an applicant is going to take the first job offered, regardless of how interested he might be in the position. To protect yourself from candidates who are more interested in a paycheck than a profession, make it known the position comes with a trialperiod. While this can’t entirely protect you from someone skipping out on you the moment they find something better, it will protect you from an obligation standpoint if the employee doesn’t work out as well as you’d hoped.

11497 Lebanon Rd. • Mt. Juliet, TN 37122 Wilson Co. 615-758-8354 or 615-449-0975
Davidson • Sumner • Rutherford • Williamson Counties

615-889-9837 Fax: 615-773-8130
2009 Community Business Review, Page 17

Serving MJ for over 40 years: Sellars Funeral Home
ellars Funeral Home has served the Mt. Juliet community for over 40 years and offers all of the services, owner Judd Sellars said, that a family may need in the wake of the loss of a loved one. Sellars said that his funeral home, located at 250 N Mt. Juliet Road, was the only funeral home in Mt. Juliet for 30 years and has a rich history in the community. “The Coats family founded the business,” Sellars said. “Bro. Wayne Coats and Mrs. Elaine Coats started the business and they have served hundreds of families over many years. Bro. Wayne was a church of Christ minister for many years and the Coats family has been involved in so many local charities and community related events. Our mission is to continue to serve the families to the highest level of excellence.” Sellars said his funeral home offers some unique services, including a “loyalty package.” “A loyalty package simply means if a family uses both our funeral home and cemetery, we provide cemetery property at no cost. Also, each year in December, we have our candlelighting service at the cemetery to honor the families who have lost loved ones.” Sellars Funeral Home, he said, is a complete funeral service provider with two funeral homes, cemetery, crematory and pet cemetery. Also, Sellars sponsors many local charities, schools, teams and organizations – difficult to list them all, he noted. Sellars Funeral Home Sellars Funeral Home at Lebanon Sellars Funeral Home at Mt. Juliet currently has six employees, he 2250 N. Mt. Juliet Rd. 313 W. Baddour Pkwy. added, providing their care and Mt. Juliet, TN 37122 Lebanon, TN 37087 expertise in a difficult time. 615-758-5459 615-444-9393 “All of our employees are very compassionate, genuine, sincere and excellent in their areas of service to the families at Sellars Funeral Homes.” For more information call Sellars Funeral Home (615) 758-5459 or visit www. sellarsfuneralservices.com.

S

Choose a ‘staycation’ with Hampton Inn & Suites of MJ
re you experiencing the vacation blues? Why go out of town for vacation; have a staycation at Hampton Inn & Suites in Mt. Juliet! Have your staycation in our whirlpool suites and surround yourself in comfort with our new “CLOUD 9” beds while you get to sit back, relax and enjoy the 32” LCD television or surf the internet with our wireless/wired internet access. After an awesome nights sleep, enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast which is sure to please. Like to swim on vacation? Well, you can swim in our temperature controlled indoor pool or relax the stress away in our hot tub or just enjoy the outdoors on our sunning deck.

A

Feel like a jog? Rather than sweat it out in the stifling humidity in the heat of summer, use our air conditioned fitness center equipped with an elliptical, treadmill and stationary bike along with balance balls and yoga mats. Of course you need to eat and shop while on vacation! Being directly across form Providence Marketplace provides easy convenience to fine dining, shopping and movies within walking distance. To make a reservation for your Staycation whirlpool suite, subject to availability, just call Hampton Inn & Suites in Mt. Juliet at (615) 553-5900 and mention the staycation package.

• 2 Funeral Homes • Crematory • Mt. Juliet Memorial Gardens • Pet Cemetery

To make a reservation for a staycation whirlpool suite, subject to availability, just give us a call and mention the staycation package. Hampton Inn and Suites 5001 Crossings Circle Mt. Juliet TN. 37122 615-553-5900

“We treat your family like our family.”
Page 18, 2009 Community Business Review

Robinson Properties Realty and Construction has just what you’re looking for in Mt. Juliet
obinson Properties has been a trusted name in residential and commercial real estate and construction for over 25 years. The family owned and operated business is based in Mt. Juliet, Tennessee. Bill Robinson, Chris Robinson, and Michael Robinson are co-owners and operators of Robinson Properties. Are you looking for a quality home in a quiet neighborhood? Maybe you already own land and want Robinson Properties to build your home from one of our spacious floor plans. They can even build that “dream home” you have longed for! Robinson Properties is a company that uses the most modern building techniques, but treats customers like a friend rather than a number. You can call their office today and speak to Bill, Chris, or Michael who own the company and also deal daily with every aspect of construction. When building your home you want to use a company with experience, but also one that you can speak to directly and quickly if you have a question. They build quality homes on your lot or offer several community developments with prices ranging from the $200,000’s to the $600,000’s. They offer spacious floor plans ranging from the 1,200 – 5,000 square feet. They offer over 100 plans that are available for you to view, or Robinson Properties can build the custom home that you design. They offer drafting and design services that will assist you in planning and design of your new home.

R

Brookstone is a subdivision for those who want to be involved in each and every aspect of construction. You can build a house from one of our plans or draw one from scratch to meet your specifications. Robinson Properties takes pride in walking you through the entire process of building your home and is happy to give you references of people we have built for and are building for currently. These homes range from 2,700 sq. ft. up to 4,500 sq. ft. and begin at $350,000. They are located on the West side of Mt. Juliet Road in Mt. Juliet. Stonefield is the perfect subdivision for those wanting to spread out. These large lots will allow a homeowner to build almost any floor plan they desire, and there are too many things standard in these

homes too list including all brick. All homes have side entry garages, large bonus rooms, and very large yards. Homes in Stonefield are 2,050 sq. ft. and up and begin at $236,900. These homes are located close to Gladeville Elementary off of Stewarts Ferry Pike in Mt. Juliet. Triple Crown is your subdivision if you want to be close to everything. Living here you are only one mile from the interstate and all the shopping Mt. Juliet has to offer. Once again, all Robinson Properties homes comes standard with many upgrades including hardwood, tile, four sides brick, upgraded carpet, and much more. The next phase is getting ready to open and a list has already been started for those wanting to choose lots. Please call Robinson Properties today for more details on this subdivision.

Visit the Robinson Properties website at www.ro bins o npro pe r t ie s ho m e s . c o m for these select floorplans and dozens of others, or call 615-754-2019 to set up an appointment with one of our real estate professionals.
Robinson Properties is a family business that takes pride in the work they do and the opinions of their homeowners, and would love the opportunity to sit down and talk with you about your ideas for your own home. View their website and review subdivisions and plans at www. robinsonpropertieshomes. com or call them at 615754-2019.

2009 Community Business Review, Page 19

Building & Selling Distinctive Homes

Ask About $8,000 Tax Credit

Start your new beginning in a custom built home by Robinson Properties ranging from $190’s-$500’s with three subdivisions in the Mt. Juliet area

Family Owned & Operated
Owners: Bill, Chris, & Michael Robinson Serving Nashville, Mt. Juliet, Gallatin, Donelson, Lebanon, Hermitage, Hendersonville & Surrounding Counties

Residential & Commercial
Leasing • Construction Land Development

www.robinsonpropertieshomes.com

615-754-2019
Page 20, 2009 Community Business Review

Master your semester with Scribd & The New York Times

Special offer for students: Only $4.99/month.

Master your semester with Scribd & The New York Times

Cancel anytime.