You are on page 1of 8

Integrated Literacy Assignment

Caitlin Reese
02-Laninga-Fall 2013

Grade Level Content Expectation (GLCE) 4-H3.0.8 Describe past and current threats to Michigans natural resources; describe how Michigan worked in the past and continues to work today to protect its natural resources.

Maps and Images

Poetry
Huron flows quickly with so many bays. Discovered first by explorers for so many days. Ontario is small but deeper than deep. Over these sandy beaches you could take a leap. Michigan is U.S. owned by law. It connects to Lake Huron by the bridge at Mackinac. Erie in winter gets icy if you believe that at all. Still a large lake but comparatively small. Superior is super, the largest of all. Its cold all year round, spring, summer, winter, and fall.
http://www.funny-poems-for-free.com/michigan-poetry.html

Huron Ontario Michigan Erie Superior

Picture and Trade Books


Appropriate texts for supplementary independent reading in fourth grade.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgI8bt

Threats to Michigans natural resources:

Asian carp

Sea lamprey

Zebra mussels

Emerald Ash Borer

http://dsc.discovery.com/tv-shows/dirty-jobs/videos/slippery-sucker.htm http://www.iiseagrant.org/nabinvader/

Work Cited
Appleford, A. (1999). M is for Mitten. Chelsea, Michigan: Sleeping Bear Press. [Asian Carp]. Retrieved October 1, 2013, from http://cdn.newsoxy.com/2013/04/asian-carp-fish.jpg Bergel, C. (2000). Mail by the Pail. Michigan: Wayne State University Press. [Copper picture]. Retrieved October 3, 2013, from http://images-of-elements.com/copper.php Davison, N. (). Night Crossing [Painting]. Retrieved from http://canadaalive.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/the-great-lakes/gallery-walk/ [Emerald Ash Borer]. Retrieved October 2, 2013, from http://greatlakesecho.org/2009/12/13/emerald-ash-borer-spreads-through-wisconsin-ohio-minnesota-indiana-illinois-michigan-ontario-quebec/ Geography. (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster Atlas online. Retrieved from http://www.merriam-webster.com/cgi-bin/nytmaps.pl?michigan [Great Lakes map]. Retrieved October 2, 2013, from http://epa.gov/greatlakes/ [Iron Ore map and image]. Retrieved October 2, 2013, from http://www.hal.state.mi.us/mhc/museum/explore/museums/hismus/prehist/mining/iron.html Lightfoot, G. (1976). The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald. [Michigan Coal Mine]. Retrieved October 5, 2013, from . http://www.miningartifacts.org/Michigan-coal-mines.htm Mike Rowe (Producer). (2013). Slippery Sucker. Discovery Dirty Jobs. Retrieved from http://dsc.discovery.com/tv-shows/dirty-jobs/videos/slippery-sucker.htm N.A., (2008-2013). Michigan Poems. Funny Poems for Free. Retrieved October 2, 2013 from http://www.funny-poems-for-free.com/michigan-poetry.html N.A., (n.d.). Aquatic Invader Online. Retrieved from http://www.iiseagrant.org/nabinvader/ Seymour, T. (1996). The Gulls of the Edmund Fitzgerald. New York: Orchard Press. Wargin, K. (1998). The Legend of Sleeping Bear. Chelsea, Michigan: Sleeping Bear Press. [Sea Lamprey]. Retrieved September 28, 2013, from http://www.picsearch.com/sea-lamprey-pictures.html [Zebra mussels]. Retrieved October 1, 2013, from http://www.cleveland.com/nation/index.ssf/2010/11/invasive_mussels_suspected_to.html