You are on page 1of 2

Government Resolution #3 A Resolution Concerning a Provincial Carbon Tax

Whereas, according to Sustainable Prosperitys report: BCs Carbon Tax Shift After Five Years, the introduction of a carbon tax in British Columbia caused greenhouse gas emissions to decrease by 17.4% in the period between July, 1 2008, and July 1, 2012, and Whereas, in the same report, it was stated that greenhouse gas emissions in the rest of the country rose by 1.5% over the same period, and Whereas a revenue neutral carbon tax would redirect all profits back to the people of Newfoundland and Labrador through reductions in other taxes, and Whereas the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador must become a leader in tackling the negative effects of climate change, We, the delegates of the 74th session of St. Johns Regional Youth Parliament go on record as advocating that:
1. The Government of Newfoundland and Labrador introduce a carbon tax, following the

model of British Columbias carbon tax.

a. This tax would be applied to the use of all carbon-based fuels. b. The initial rate of the tax will be $10 per tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent

c. This tax will rise by $5 per year until the tax rate reaches $30 per tonne. 2. This carbon tax shall be revenue neutral. a. The Minister of Finance will, annually, present a plan which outlines how tax

reductions in other areas give profits from the carbon tax back to taxpayers.
3. The Government of Newfoundland and Labrador will perform a review of the carbon

taxs effectiveness every 4 years. A decision regarding its continuation or cancellation shall be made at that time.
4. Copies of this resolution be sent to: a. The Honourable Kathy Dunderdale, Premier b. The Honourable Tom Marshall, Minister of Finance c. The Honourable Joan Shea, Minister of Environment and Conservation

d. The Honourable Leader of the Official Opposition e. Dwight Ball, Official Opposition critic for Finance f.

Randy Edmunds, Official Opposition critic for Environment and Conservation

g. Lorraine Michael, Leader of the New Democratic Party h. George Murphy, New Democratic critic for Environment and Conservation