You are on page 1of 8

British Columbia’s System of Government

Like the federal government, the provincial government has three branches: executive, legislative and judicial.

The Executive Branch
 

The monarch at the provincial level is represented by the Lieutenant Governor. Lieutenant Governor’s responsibilities are largely ceremonial, but they do give Royal Assent to any provincial legislation. Elected representatives in B.C. meet in the Legislative Assembly. Elected representatives are known as Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA’s)

 

   

Leader of the party having the most MLA’s is the Premier= Christy Clark. The Premier is the head of the executive branch of the provincial government. Premier selects from among the MLA’s of the government party, their provincial Cabinet, aka the Executive Council. Executive Council are individuals responsible for the operation of government ministries, that are funded from the provincial budget. Example: Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, Ministry of Health, Ministry of Education.

The Legislative Branch

 

The Legislative Assembly of B.C. (aka “The Legislature” or “The House”) is similar in organization to that of the HOC.
Speaker is elected by the MLA’s and is responsible for ensuring that parliamentary rules are being observed.

MLA’s are almost always affiliated with a political party, and are elected for a maximum five year period. (elections can be called by the Lieutenant Governor on the recommendation of the Premier)
Leader of the party with the most elected MLA’s becomes Premier of the province and is asked by the Lieutenant Governor to form a government (appoints provincial cabinet) Elected members of the largest non-government party form the Official Opposition, whose role is to question government policies and actions.

Agricultural Land Reserve

The Agricultural Land Reserve (ALR) is a provincial zone in which agriculture is recognized as the priority use. Farming is encouraged and non-agricultural uses are controlled. The ALR covers approximately 4.7 million hectares. It includes private and public lands that may be farmed, forested or vacant land. Some ALR blocks cover thousands of hectares while others are small pockets of only a few hectares. In total, the ALR comprises those lands within BC that have the potential for agricultural production. The Agricultural Land Reserve takes precedence over, but does not replace other legislation and bylaws that may apply to the land. Local and regional governments, as well as other provincial agencies, are expected to plan in accordance with the provincial policy of preserving agricultural land. The Agricultural Land Commission Act sets the legislative framework for the establishment and administration of the agricultural land preservation program.

 

Agricultural Land Commission

The Provincial Agricultural Land Commission (ALC) is an independent Provincial agency responsible for administering the Province's land use zone in favour of agriculture. to preserve agricultural land; to encourage farming in collaboration with other communities of interest; and to encourage local governments, First Nations, the government and its agents to enable and accommodate farm use of agricultural land and uses compatible with agriculture in their plans, bylaws and policies. od4Thought.aspx

The purpose of the Commission is:
  