October 28, 2013

For Immediate Release

News Release
Meet Our Outstanding Members: Recipients of the 2013 APEGBC President’s and Project Awards
VANCOUVER—The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC (APEGBC) honoured its 2013 President’s and Project Awards Recipients in Whistler, BC on October 25 - 26, 2013. Eight outstanding individuals and two exemplary organizations received accolades from the association at the Annual Conference. This year’s President’s Awards recipients have truly made a difference in their respective professions, careers or communities. They are being honoured for exceptional professional careers, outstanding service to the community and to professional associations or learned societies, distinctive achievements in their professional fields, and excellence in teaching. The award recipients, their respective award category and city of residence are listed below: President’s Award R. A. McLachlan Memorial Award C. J. Westerman Memorial Award Meritorious Achievement Award Meritorious Achievement Award D. C. Lambert Professional Service Award Community Service Award Award for Teaching Excellence Name Paul Fast, P.Eng., Struct.Eng. Dr. Diana Allen, P.Geo. Dr. Alfred Guenkel, P.Eng. Dr. Ash Parameswaran, P.Eng. Bernadette Currie, P.Eng. Jim Jarvis, P.Eng. and Allan Zackodnik, P.Eng. Dr. Akram Alfantazi, P.Eng. City Vancouver, BC Pitt Meadows, BC Vancouver, BC Coquitlam, BC Surrey, BC Fort St. John, BC Richmond, BC

APEGBC’s Environmental Awards recognize the role of professional engineers and geoscientists in responsible environmental management. The Sustainability Award recognizes a project that demonstrates a commitment to, and understanding of, the concept of sustainability. The award recipients, their respective awards and projects are listed below: Project Awards Sustainability Award Company RDH Building Engineering Ltd. Conestoga-Rovers & Associates Project The Belmont, Deep Energy Retrofit BC Remote First Nations Waste Management Project

Environmental Award Design, Construction and Monitoring Phase

Founded in 1920, APEGBC is the regulatory and licensing body for the professions of engineering and geoscience and is charged with protecting the public interest. With over 29,000 members, APEGBC is one of the largest professional associations in BC and maintains high academic, experience and professional practice standards. APEGBC members deliver real world solutions to meet the technological and social challenges of the 21st century.


Note to Editors/News Directors: Award citations, photos and additional information can be obtained by contacting: Melinda Lau Acting Director, Communications & Stakeholder Engagement APEGBC Office: (604) 412-4886 Mobile: (778) 883-4243 mlau@apeg.bc.ca www.apeg.bc.ca