You are on page 1of 25

www.wrotapodlasia.

pl

Location, borders. The Republic of Poland is located in Central Europe. It borders on Germany in the west, Czech and Slovak Republics in the south, Lithuania, Belarus, and Ukraine in the east. In the north it borders on the Baltic Sea and Russia (the Kaliningrad District). Area, population, language. The area of 312,7 thousand km² is inhabited by over 38 million people. The official language is Polish. The capital, cities, and administrative division. The capital city is Warsaw, inhabited by nearly 1.700,000 people. Warsaw is situated in central Poland on the Vistula River. Vistula is the biggest river of the country. Other major cities are: Lodz (£ódŸ), Cracow (Kraków), Wroc³aw, Poznañ, Gdañsk, Katowice, and Szczecin. Poland is divided into 16 voivodeships. The Podlaskie Province is situated in the northeastern part of Poland. It borders on three voivodeships: the Warminsko-Mazurskie in the north-west, the Mazowieckie in the south-west and, on the very short section, the Lubelskie in the south. It borders on Lithuania on the north-east, and the border is the internal one of the EU) and Belorussia on the east (the border is the external one of the EU). General profile. The area of 20 180 km2 is inhabited by 1.224.000 people. Administratively it is divided into 115 communes and 17 counties (including 3 city districts - Bia³ystok, £om¿a, and Suwa³ki). There are nine border crossings in the province: on the Polish - Lithuanian border - Budzisko/Kalvarija (road, cargo and passenger), Ogrodniki/Lazdijaj (road, passenger, and cargo - vehicles up to 3,5t), Trakiszki/Mockava (railway, cargo, and passenger); on the Polish - Belorussian border: Bobrowniki/Bierestowica (road, cargo, and passenger), Czeremcha/Wysokolitowsk (railway, cargo, and passenger), Kuznica Bia³ostocka/Bruzgi (road, railway, cargo, and passenger), Po³owce/Piszczatka (railway; for Polish and Belorussian citizens only), Siemianówka (railway, cargo only). The capital of the voivodeship. The seat of the province - Bia³ystok is inhabited by nearly 300.000 people. The city developed in the first half of the 18th c. when Grand Hetman of the Crown - Jan Klemens Branicki was its governor. T oday Bia³ystok is the largest industrial, cultural and scientific center of the region. Most of higher education and culture institutions have their seats here; including theatres, Philharmonic hall, museums, university, medical academy, musical academy, technical university, and other higher education institutions.

www.poland-tourism.pl

Bia³ystok

Warszawa

www.wrotapodlasia.pl

Welcome
The Podlaskie Voivodeship is not only Podlasie, whose historical border in the north was marked by the River Biebrza, but also includes the Suwalki region (the very northern part of the province) as well as the eastern part of Mazovia. Every tourist is welcomed by its hospitable and proud inhabitants proud of their history and ability to coexist in harmony with people of different nationalities and religions present in the region - Poles, Belorussians, Lithuanians, Russians, Tartars and Jews. This cultural diversity was one of the reasons Ludwik Zamenhof created an international language - Esperanto. The people of Podlaskie can also be proud of their respect for nature and its laws. This is best seen near the Biebrza River, where no one raises an alarm although the fickle river floods large areas a few times each year. Areas with the most precious environments are preserved in four national parks and three landscape parks. These places of great scenic beauty attract not only tourists, but also photographers and film makers looking for exceptional settings for their works. Such films as "Nad Niemnem" ("On the Neman River") or "Pan Tadeusz" were made in the region of Suwa³ki. The trip through Podlasie and Suwalszczyzna is facilitated by a system of well marked trails totaling 3000 km altogether. Some of them coincide with international trails and, with only an identity card, one can continue the trip as far as Lithuania. Canoeing on the Czarna Hancza river as well as rafting on the Biebrza and Narew rivers are a source of unforgettable memories from the trip. Lovers of horseback riding will find trails designed especially for them and their hoofed animals. The longest horse riding trails in Poland are found in the Augustowska and Knyszynska forests. Thrill-seekers could try tourist balloon flights, sport planes flights or motorgliding. Every year the possibilities for tourist accommodation grow in number and quality, especially in farm tourism. More and more often their owners offer much more than just overnight stays. In the Biebrza and Bug valleys, visitors may witness an impressive event: huge herds of milking cows swimming across the river - always at the same time and always in exactly the same place. Aurochs - European bison - in the Bia³owie¿a Primeval Forest are well known, but they are still one of the greatest tourist attractions of Podlaskie. At some farms, guests have the opportunity to bake a traditional cake - sêkacz, or try their hand at weaving or pottery. A tour of Podlaskie should be a must to those in need of calm and peaceful places, those who want to forget their everyday routine and haste. Anyone seeking undisturbed nature and close contact with it will not be disappointed. Hospitable inhabitants will open the doors of their houses to all in need of rest, all who want to stop for a while and discover a bit of the unknown. Come and see, and you will return here ....

www.wrotapodlasia.pl

Narew fot. W.Wo³kow

Zubacze

fot. J. Podziewski

Biebrza fot. P. Siebiedziñski

BIA£YSTOK
The Branicki Palace complex

2

fot. J. Podziewski

The Branicki Palace complex is one of the best preserved aristocratic residences in Poland. Built on the 16th c. the castle foundations, the palace owe its present form to two generations of the Branicki family: Miko³aj, who started the alteration of the palace with the supervision of the Dutch master Tylman Gemeren, and his son Jan Klemens with his wife Izabela, who completed the reconstruction in the first half of the 18th c. This is how one of the most splendid courts began. Soon brilliant artists, poets and scientists gathered around it. The Palace was frequently visited by Polish kings - August II, August III the Saxon, and Stanislaw August, as well as by the Emperor of Austria Joseph II. In 1754 "the Versailles of Podlasie", as the residence was called, became the seat of the Military School of Construction and Engineering, the first one of its type in Poland. Today the Palace houses the Medical Academy. It is partly open for visitors who may see the Great hall, the Vestibule, the Chinese room and the chapel. Tourists are also free to visit the baroque palace park situated on two levels - the upper, in the style of French gardens and the lower, resembling English ones.

BIA£YSTOK
Town hall The Cathedral complex of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin Mary

fot. E. KaŸmierczyk

fot. J. Podziewski

The town hall was built in the mid-18th c. at the fork of the roads leading to Choroszcz (the present Lipowa street), Sura¿ (now Suraska street), and the palace of the city owners (now Kilinskiego street). The layout has remained the same and, on two of them - Lipowa and Kilinskiego - are the majority of the most important historical buildings of the city. Until World War II the town hall functioned as a building for trade purposes, which was characteristic of aristocratic cities, where the role of the local governments was very limited. Now the town hall houses the Regional Museum possessing a rich collection of art as well as ethnographic and archaeological exhibits. In its branch - the Historical Museum - you can see a huge mock-up of 18th c. Bia³ystok. Another branch of the Museum houses a gallery of the sculpture of Alfons Karny.
RATUSZ Regional Museum ul. Rynek Koœciuszki 10 tel. +48 85 742 14 73 Historical Museum: ul. Warszawska 37, tel. +48 85 741 65 91

If you climb the observation deck of the Town Council, you will see the "red church" - a neo-Gothic cathedral built in 1900-1905. According to the permit issued by the tsarist administration in 1898, the cathedral was built as an "annex" to the existing one, known as "the white church". The "mother" church was built in 1617-1626. Its defensive character is marked by a straight line, its compact mass and two apses. Its richly decorated baroque interior houses the monument of the Great Crown hetman - Jan Klemens Branicki (1689-1771). After the pope's visit, the "annexed" part of the church received the status of "the smaller basilica". The soaring towers together with their 3-meter cross are 72.5 m high. Organ concerts held in the church leave unforgettable memories.

Podlaska Regionalna Organizacja Turystyczna Bia³ystok, ul. Malmeda 6 tel. +48 85 732-68-31, www.podlaskieit.pl

3

BIA£YSTOK
Manufacturers' palaces and tenements Planty Municipal Park

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. J. Paw³usz

The most dynamic development of Bia³ystok took place in the mid-19th c. when the manufacturers and textile factories owners built their residences - the magnificent palaces and tenements, many of which have survived up till now. So, at Lipowa 35 there is a small eclectic palace built by Chaim Nowik. The pride of the corner of Lipowa and Krakowska streets is the magnificent Moes Tenement, the seat of the owner of the biggest textile factory in Choroszcz. The majority of historical buildings from the period are found on Warszawska street: the manufacturer's municipal palace of Samuel Citron (at present the Historical Museum), Trembicki's house, later bought by the manufacturers Commichau and Moes. At present it houses the Economic Department of the University of Bia³ystok. In the district of Dojlidy there are two neighboring industrialists' palaces: the Hasbach palace and the Rudygier palace. The first one is the seat of the conservation officer, and the other regained its splendor after being handed over to the High School of Public Administration.

Planty Municipal park was founded in the interwar period as part of public works. It is the favorite weekend resting spot for the inhabitants of Bia³ystok. The park joins two other urban greenery complexes the Municipal Garden (the duke Joseph Poniatowski's park near the Dramatic Theatre) and the Zwierzyniecki park. On the axis of the main alley, between Mickiewicza and Sk³odowskiej streets, the designers laid out a line of rectangular lawns and flower beds hedged with rows of thuyas of the columnar variety. In the central part of the main alley there is a pool with fountains which are illuminated from May till October. On the east side of the park, a rose garden was founded in 1925 with a city-famous sculpture of "Washerwomen" (the work of Stanis³aw Horn-Pop³awski from 1938). This charming spot has become a favourite dating place for people in love.
Podlaska Regional Tourist Organization Bia³ystok, ul. Malmeda 6 tel. +48 85 732-68-31, www.podlaskieit.pl

BIA£YSTOK
Orthodox churches Cyclical Events

Church of the Holy Spirit fot. J. Podziewski

Bia³ystok, the capital of the Bia³ystok and Gdañsk Diocese of the Polish Autocephalous Orthodox Church, has the largest Orthodox population in Poland (80 thousand faithful in 11 parishes). The largest Orthodox church in Poland is the Church of the Holy Spirit, situated in the district of Antoniuk. Its interior is beautifully decorated with splendid frescoes. Another contemporary Orthodox church in Bia³ystok - Hagia Sophia - is a 1:3 scale miniature of the Byzantine church in Istanbul of the same name. In the years 1843-1846, Saint Nicholas the Wonderworker's church was built on Lipowa street. Its neo-classical style contains elements of ancient architecture: this may be the reason why it is regarded as the main Orthodox church of Bia³ystok. However, the oldest one - Saint Mary Magdalene's - dates back to the 18th c. and is delightfully situated on a hill near the amphiPodlaska Regional Tourist Organization theatre. Bia³ystok, ul. Malmeda 6
tel. +48 85 732-68-31, www.podlaskieit.pl

At the town hall. fot. J. Podziewski

Hagia Sophia fot. J. Podziewski

Several times a year at the Bia³ystok town hall, folk craft fairs take place. At the end of June - commemorating its former owner, the Grand hetman Jan Klemens Branicki - Bialystok celebrates its holiday. The celebrations are accompanied by many additional events and theatre performances. A great event called the "Podlaskie Birthday" is organized in September by artists and local authorities Events of international prestige have also found their permanent place in Bia³ystok. The most well-known are the International Presentation of Young Brass Bands, and the International Festival of Orthodox Church Music. A current list of events is available on the Internet at: www.wrotapodlasia.pl
Regional Museum +48 85 742 14 73 The Bia³ystok Culture Centre tel.+48 85 742 48 23, www.bok.bialystok.pl Dramatic Theatre tel. 085 741 66 22, www.teatrdramatyczny.bialystok.pl The Bialystok Board of Education www.kuratorium.bia³ystok.pl The Foundation of the Orthodox Church Music tel/fax: +48 85 68 220 89

fot. J. Podziewski

AUGUSTÓW
Canoeing on the Czarna Hañcza river and Augustowski Canal

4
Cable-car for water-skiers

fot. UMWP archiwum

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. J. Podziewski

Augustów is the biggest holiday centre in Podlaskie province. It is where the rafting and canoeing trails of the Czarna Hañcza, the Augustowski Canal, and the Rospuda all end. Canoeing on the Czarna Hañcza from Lake Wigry lasts about ten days and finishes on one of the Augustów lakes. Rafting on the Rospuda starts in Filipów and ends after 3-4 days in Augustów. Both trails differ in their level of difficulty. The rafting trail on Czarna Hañcza is accessible even for novice kayakers as the river is wide with a rapid current and gentle bends and turnings. Fallen trees are easy to bypass. The Rospuda is different: it starts as nearly a mountain river with high banks and gorges with a stony bottom, and then transforms into a slowly flowing lowland river. Obstacles such as rocky shallows with rapids, as well as trees Tourist Information Center barring the way, can be a big Augustów, Rynek Zygmunta Augusta 1 challenge. tel. +48(87) 643 28 83, +48(87) 643 28 83
e-mail: cit@augustownet.com.pl www.um.augustow.pl

fot. J. Podziewski

Augustów has always been proud of its best water-skiers. Unfortunately, the high costs of water-skiing often made it impossible for many people to go in for. Now, the situation has changed. In Augustów a professional cable-car for water-skiers was opened. It is 740 m long, and its maximum speed is 58 km/h. In 1999, for this investment, the City was awarded the prestigious prize of the President of Polish Tourist Organization.
MOSiR Augustów, ul. Tytoniowa 1 tel. +48 87 643 3791 e-mail: mosiraug@polbox.com

AUGUSTÓW
Floating Equipment Championship - "Is anything that floats a boat?”

DOWSPUDA
The Pac Palace The Celtic Festival

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. J. Podziewski

Beautiful nature and picturesque landscapes are not all that Augustów can offer to its visitors. These are also numerous events, sometimes very unusual ones, like Poland's Floating Equipment Championship: "Is anything that float a boat?" This event, organized by the mayor of Augustów and Radio Bia³ystok, attracts inventors and designers of the most extraordinary floating objects from the whole country. Another allPoland event held in July is called the "Augustów Theatre Summer". And there is much more going on in Augustów. In August Polish radio's Channel III, in cooperation with Radio Bia³ystok, holds "Augustów Weekend with Three". Cultural offerings include, Tourist Information Center among other things, a very Augustów, Rynek Zygmunta Augusta 1 romantic "Ballad Nights on tel. +48(87) 643 28 83, +48(87) 643 28 83 Lake Necko".
e-mail: cit@augustownet.com.pl www.um.augustow.pl

A well-known Polish proverb "Wart Pac pa³aca, a pa³ac Paca" ("Both palace and Pac come of the same brush") refers to a palace built in Dowspuda at the beginning of the 19th c. Fascinated by English art and economy, the count Micha³ Pac built his neo-Gothic residence in the English style. The farming methods that he admired in Great Britain were soon transferred to his estate. He invited Scottish and Irish farmers to come and set a good (economic) example for the local farmers. Unfortunately, his involvement and active participation in the November Uprising didn't please the administration of the Tsar who, in revenge, confiscated his goods. Today only the restored exit portico and a large park surrounding the former residence have survived. They liven up during the Celtic Festival held Local Cultural Centre there every year, attraRaczki, Plac Koœciuszki 37 cting artists and lovers of tel. +48 87 568 51 40, e-mail: gokraczki@op.pl Celtic culture from all www.dowspuda.art.pl/festiwal/ over Europe.

fot. A. Koza

5
The History and Nature

BIA£OWIE¯A
The Museum of Nature and Forest

fot. J. Podziewski

Bia³owie¿a is a small settlement with population of 2,500, beautifully situated in a clearing in the heart of Bia³owie¿a Primeval Forest. Numerous ancient grave-mounds found in the area are proof of the early colonization of this land. Historical sources say that in the 15th c. there was a hunting manor and a white tower here, from which the settlement took its name (in Polish "wie¿a" means "tower"). Polish kings, Russian tsars, and later high dignitaries from many countries of the world came to hunt in the forest. The majority of historical buildings in Bia³owie¿a date back to the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th centuries. All of them are worth seeing, in particular the building complexes in the Palace park, the Directorial Park, the Bia³owie¿a Forest Inspectorate, the Jagellonskie Forest InspePolish Tourist Association (PTTK) ctorate, as well as the old railul. Kolejowa 17, way station.
tel. +48 85 681 22 95, fax 681 26 24 www.pttk.bialowieza.pl

fot. J. Podziewski

The Museum of Nature and Forest was founded in 1 919 and, at present, is one of the most modern museums of its type in Poland. In 2000 a new conference hall and an observation tower were built to facilitate observation of the Bia³owie¿a Forest, especially the Area of Strict Nature Protection. The contemporary exhibition occupies an area of over 1000 square meters, and it illustrates the history of Bia³owie¿a Primeval Forest and its colonization, the ancient occupations of its inhabitants, forest economy and hunting, as well as the history of Bia³owie¿a National Park. The exhibition of forest animals shows them in their natural surroundings. Leading place is devoted to the auroch (the European bison), whose restitution took place in Bia³owie¿a Primeval Forest in the 1920s. The Museum has BNP Tourist Information Desk a rich collection of birds, Bia³owie¿a, Park Pa³acowy, many of which are quite rare, tel.+48 85 681-29-01 such as male ruffs.
www.bpn.com.pl

BIA£OWIE¯A
Palace Park Orthodox Church of Saint Nicolas the Wonderworker

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. A. ¯ywno

The Palace park, founded at the end of the 19th c. around the Tsar's palace, is now a part of Bia³owie¿a National Park. On an area of nearly 50 hectares, almost 90 varieties of trees and shrubs grow, 60 of which are of foreign origin. Near the BNP Museum, there is a group of ancient oaks that, according to legend, are all that remain of the former pagan grove. There are also several annexes to the former Tsar's palace, dating back to the end of the 19th century. The Marshall's House is now the seat of the BNP. The former stables have been converted into a holiday center of the Polish Tourist Association (PTTK) and the palace gate houses the BNP Library. Adjacent to the northern part of the park are two ponds with islands separated by a weir on which there is an obelisk commemorating a hunt in the year 1752, in which king August III the Saxon participated. In the former Governor's Manor (1845) there is a Centre of Natural Education in which classes for youth are held as well as lectures, film shows and temporary exhibitions.

The church of Saint Nicolas the Wonderworker was built in 1895 on a Greek cross plan. One of the most distinctive features of its interior is a ceramic iconostasis and altars decorated with Japanese majolica. The church is situated next to the main gate to the Palace Park. Roman Catholic and Orthodox cemeteries are located to the north of the church. In the Orthodox one, there is a wooden chapel of St. Cyrill and Methodios, and graves of Polish soldiers killed in 1920 as well as the graves of victims of the World W ar II. There is also a Roman Catholic church of St. Teresa of the Infant Jesus, built in 1927-1 935 in the baroque style. It is worth seeing its inner chapel of St. Hubert - patron saint of hunters and foresters, and the beautifully decorated interior made of tree roots and deer antlers.
Polish Tourist Association (PTTK) ul. Kolejowa 17, tel. +48 85 681 22 95, fax 681 26 24 www.pttk.bialowieza.pl

fot. P. Krajnik

BIELSK PODLASKI
Orthodox church of St. Archangel Michael School of Iconography

6

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. P. Mêcik

Bielsk Podlaski is one of the oldest cities in Podlasie. It was mentioned in Ruthenian chronicles as early as 1252. At the beginning it was a fortified town founded in the first half of the 11th c. by a Ruthenian prince Jaros³aw Madry. Today only the Castle Mound has survived. Bielsk Podlaski was granted a town charter in 1495 r. It still keeps its ancient town layout from 15th-16th c. and its baroque town hall from 1779, which now houses a branch of the Podlaskie Regional Museum in Bia³ystok. The most valuable historical buildings include Orthodox and Roman Catholic churches from the 17th and the 18th centuries as well as a whitewashed Carmelite monastery dating from the 17th century. The origins of the Orthodox church of St. Michael are strongly connected with the castle in the neighborhood of which it was situated. It was probably funded for the town by the prince Micha³ Semenowicz in the second half of the 15th c. The church was rebuilt several times. Razed at the beginning of the 18th c., the church was replaced by a new one,

built in 1789 with through a foundation of townsmen. It has survived till today, built on the plan of a Greek cross inscribed within an octagon. There are three iconostases inside: the main, dating back to 1875, and two side ones from 1862, with lavish gilding. The 17th and 19th century icons and the wood carved window decorations are all worthy of attention. The church interior gives an impression of majesty thanks to six wooden columns. It was at St. Michael's parish where the only Polish School of Iconography came into being. It is a semi-private school of art where, after four years of study, graduates earn the academic degree of Manual Arts. Art workshops include three branches: iconography, preservation, and gilding. Students learn three languages: Church-Slavonic, English, and Greek.
School of Iconography Bielsk Podlaski , ul. ¯wirki i Wigury 26 tel./fax. +48 85 730 82 82

DROHICZYN
The Castle Mound and the Cathedral The Diocesan Museum

fot. J. Podziewski

The beginnings of Drohiczyn reach back to the 11th c. when it was an important administrative centre of the Ruthenian Duchy. It was here where, in 1253, Daniel Romanowicz was crowned king of Russian Galicia. Destroyed by the Teutonic Knights, Drohiczyn was within the administrative borders of Lithuania, Mazovia and the Polish Crown. In 1 498 it was granted a city charter and, at the beginning of the 16th c. became the first capital of Podlasie. The city's oldest monument is the Castle Mound, which is all that survives from the medieval fortified town. In its time of glory, there were five Orthodox and three Catholic churches. After Poland's partition, the city was divided between Prussia and Austria. Today, due to its distance from major transportation routes, Drohiczyn has lost much of its past importance. Yet it retains its unique character and great historical value. The picturesque vicinity of the town has attracted Polish film makers who decided to shoot many outdoor scenes there. There are several historic buildings in Drohiczyn that have quite well stood the test of time. These are mainly churches. One of them

fot. J. Podziewski

is the Holy Trinity Catholic church from the 17th-18th c. and the adjacent baroque Jesuit (later Piarist) monastery. At present it houses the Diocesan Curia and a Seminary. Another church is that of the Assum-ption of the Holy Virgin Mary and a Franciscan monastery complex dating back to the 17th c. Today, the former monastic buildings house the diocesan museum, a retired priests' home, and a high school. A Benedictine monastic complex and the late baroque church of All Saints are other historic buildings of Drohiczyn. The church was built in mid-18th century and its beautiful Rococo façade has two towers and an extended top. Only one Orthodox church - Saint Nicolas the Wonderworker - has survived in Drohiczyn. It was built at the end of the 18th century in a neoclassical style. The picturesque panoTourist Information Center rama of Drohiczyn is best Local Cultural Centre seen from the south bank of Drohiczyn, Kraszewskiego 13 the river Bug. tel. +48 85 655 70 69

7
Orthodox church of the Holy Trinity

HAJNÓWKA
Festivals of the Orthodox Church Music

fot. J. Podziewski

On the edge of Bia³owie¿a Primeval Forest, the town of Hajnówka is situated. Thanks to its developing timber industry, Hajnówka has become an important industrial centre in Podlasie. Despite its short history, the town has a lot to offer to its visitors. One of the most remarkable buildings in Hajnowka is the Holy Trinity church, whose construction was finished in 1982. Its spatial conception lies in the use of interpenetrating concrete shells, wrinkled within the roof, that lift towards towers of different heights, topped with onion-shaped domes with crosses. The beautiful ceramic iconostasis and remarkable polychromatic illustrations of New Testament scenes are certainly worth seeing in the church's rich interior. The polychromatic illustrations were done by the Greek artist Dymitrios Andonopulas. One well-known event taking place in the church annually is the international festival "The Hajnowskie Days of Orthodox Church Music" which gathers many choirs from all over the world. The religious and spiritual character of

the event is emphasized by the honourable patronage of archbishop Sawa - the Orthodox metropolitan of Warsaw and all Poland. Another International Festival of Orthodox Church Music - "Hajnówka" was organized for the 25th time in 2004. In recent years it has been held under the patronage of Christopher Penderecki. The high artistic level of the competition made the Ministry of Culture and Art award it a "zero category" (permitted only to events of high, international level). Only two other Polish events have so far been granted this honorable commendation: The International Chopin Competition and the International Festival of Contemporary Music "Warsaw Autumn".
Miêdzynarodowy Festiwal Hajnowskie Dni Muzyki Cerkiewnej www.festiwal.cerkiew.pl Miêdzynarodowy Festiwal Muzyki Cerkiewnej - "Hajnówka 2004" www.festiwal-hajnowka.pl

HAJNÓWKA
Museum of Belorussian Culture Blacksmith and Locksmith Museum

Narrow - gauge railway through Bialowieza Forest

fot. J. Podziewski

In the past few years the tourist offerings of Hajnówka have been enriched by two new museums - the Museum of Belorussian Culture and the Blacksmith and Locksmith Museum. The first one houses temporary and permanent exhibitions relating to the Belorussian national minority as well as the exhibition of local folk crafts. In the other, besides the exhibition of tools connected with both the blacksmith and locksmith trades, it is also possible, upon prior reservation, to witness a demonstration of smithing.
fot. J. Podziewski

Museum of Belorussian Culture Hajnówka, ul. 3-go Maja 42, tel. +48 85 682 30 16 Blacksmith and Locksmith Museum Hajnówka, ul. Lipowa 1 , tel.+48 85 682 25 64

During the First World War the Germans built a local network of narrow-gauge railways. These served as a means of transporting lumber from the area of the Bia³owie¿a Forest. The railway was used till the end of the 1980s. Now only 17 km of track are used on two routes: to Topi³o (the distance of 11 km is covered in about 4 hours) and Posto³owo (6 km take about 2 hours). Such rides through the primeval forest have become one of the major tourist attractions of the region. They are also an extraordinary way of discovering the fauna and flora of Bia³owie¿a Primeval Forest. In the summer there is possibility of individual rides; group rides - when ordered in advance - may be held all year round. As an additional attraction, tourists may arrange a simulation of an KOLEJKI LEŒNE a r m e d Hajnówka, ul. Dzielnicowa 12 attack.
tel. +48 85 682 26 89, e-mail: kolejki_lesne@wp.pl

SUPRAŒL
The Monastery The Buchholtz Palace “Uroczysko”

8

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. J. Paw³usz

Twice in its history Supraœl had its time of glory. In the 16th and 17th centuries the Basilian monks invited by prince Aleksander Chodkiewicz built a monastic complex and church with defensive features. They also founded one of the most important Uniate cultural and religious centers in Poland. The monks assembled a rich collection of valuable printings and manuscripts, including the Supraski Code from 11th-12th c. In 1695 they opened a monastic printing house and, in 1711, a paper mill, which was the first in eastern Poland. Splendid frescoes covered the interior of the church. During World War II the church was destroyed, and only fragments of the frescoes were saved from its rich interior. Today, the monastery has regained its glory and become an important centre of the Orthodox Church in Poland. The 19th c. historic monuments in Supraœl were better treated by history than their older predecessors. After the Tsarist administration introduced high taxes on goods imported from the Polish Kingdom, seven

textile factories came into being in what was then Russian Supraœl. Their owners built palaces and residences, the most splendid of which is the Buchholtz Palace. The family chapels of Zachert and Bucholtz are worth seeing at the local cemetery. Having obtained the status of healthresort, Supraœl is slowly becoming the tourist centre of Knyszyñska Forest. Both the board of directors and the Knyszyñska Forest Landscape Park museum have their seat in the Zachert manor house. For the past few years Culture and Art Meetings - “Uroczysko" have been held in Supraœl. One event inseparable from it the World Championships of Babka (potato pie) and Kiszka (potato mixture in pork casing) baking attracts more and more tourists every year. Several cultural associations have their seats here, one of which is the avant-garde Wierszalin theatre. The town's vicinity gives
Municipal Office in Supraœl Supraœl, ul. Pi³sudskiego 58, tel./fax. +48 85 718 31 65 e-mail:um@suprasl.pl, www.suprasl.pl

TYKOCIN
"The pearl of Polish Baroque " the Synagogue

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. P. Mêcik

The stormy history of Tykocin, especially the period of the Swedish invasion (1655-1660) and both world wars, has been quite kind to its monuments. The oldest one - Alumnat (the former seminary) - the only of its type in Poland, has since 1643 offered overnight stays (in the beginning for retired soldiers, today for tourists). A monument to Stefan Czarnecki, dating from 1672, is the second Polish monument, after the Zygmunt Column in Warsaw, to be erected for a secular person. The Holy Trinity Catholic church impresses its visitors with a magnificent front elevation with cloistered wings, and a richly decorated interior as well as having organs that date back to 1760. The majority of tourist guides call Tykocin the "pearl of the Polish baroque". It will soon be even more attractive to tourists thanks to the 15th c. castle which is now under reconstruction. Before World War II nearly half of Tykocin's population was made up of Jews. During the Nazi occupation, the majority of Jewish people were exterminated, and those who stayed alive were taken away to ghettos. Today, the wellpreserved monuments are witness to the Jewish pre-

sence in Tykocin. The synagogue, second in size and second oldest in Poland is one of them. Its richly decorated Renaissance interior, particularly the central place - “bima" is worthy of attention. On its eastern side is an altar in which the Torah scrolls were kept. The museum exhibits many objects connected with the Jewish religion: Sabbath candlesticks, Hanukkah lamps, and Torah crowns. In the so-called “little synagogue" you can visit Gloger's (a 19th c. Polish archeologist and ethnographer) office, a provincial pharmacy, and a Zygmunt Bujnowski painting exhibition. The museum in Tykocin is a branch of the Podlaskie Regional Museum. In Pentowo, several kilometres west of Tykocin, Poland's first European White Stork Village is located. In only one household you will find over 20 nests of these birds. A White Stork Gallery has been opened recently, as well as an observation tower and a horseMuseum in Tykocin back riding centre. Tykocin, ul. Kozia 2
tel. +48 85 718 16 13

fot. J. Podziewski

9

BIA£OWIE¯A NATIONAL PARK
Animal Demonstration Reserve "Royal Oaks" Trail

fot. Archiwum BPN

Almost all the grand Polish kings, starting from W³adys³aw Jagie³³o, considered the Bia³owie¿a Forest to be the best and the most pleasant hunting site. They cared about the rights of forest rangers and hunters, and required them to fulfil their duties related to protection of the Forest in question. This is evidenced by numerous documents and legislative acts signed by Stefan Batory, Zygmunt Waza the III, the Sas Dynast y and Stanis³aw August. Zygmunt August even instituted the death penalty for killing an auroch (the European bison). Unfortunately, during the time of Poland's partition, especially during World War I, uncontrolled exploitation of the Forest took place. In 1919, shortly after Poland regained its independence, the last local auroch was killed. A few years later, in 1921, a forestry was created with the meaningful name of “The Reserve", which was soon changed into the first Polish national park. Aurochs were successfully bred in captivity and their first specimens started to return to their natural environment in the Forest.

fot. J. Podziewski

Today, 350 aurochs live in Bia³owie¿a Forest, which is approximately 10% of the world's population of these animals. The Bia³owie¿a National Park includes the following sectors: a Strict Protection Area, the Palace Park, an Auroch Breeding Institute, Animal Demonstration Reserve, and the HwoŸna Protected Area. In 1979, the Bia³owie¿a National Park was included in the UNESCO list of World Human Heritage. Every year approximately 100 thousand tourists visit the park and they mainly visit the Animal Demonstration Reserve and the “Royal Oaks" Trail. Apart from aurochs, there are also tarpans, elk, deer, wild boar and wolves. The reserve is also accessible from the town of Bia³owie¿a, following the educational path known as “Auroch's Ribs". The “Royal Oaks" Trail is located in the Forest part called “Stara Bia³owie¿a". There are several old-growth oaks there, named after Lithuanian princes and Polish kings, closely related to the Bia³owie¿a Forest.

BIA£OWIE¯A NATIONAL PARK
Strict Protection Area The "Power Spot" Winter animal tracking

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. J. Podziewski

The most valuable section of Bia³owie¿a National Park the Strict Protection Area covers over five thousand hectares of the Bia³owie¿a Forest in the fork created by the Narewka and HwoŸna rivers. Entrance to the area is permitted with an authorized guide only. On the website of the Bia³owie¿a National Park one can read the following description of this particular area: “It is a forest which has never been cut down - and never has a human hand planted a single tree there. From an economic point of view, it is a highly untidy forest: trees do not grow in rows; the ground is covered by huge amounts of decomposing wood. However, this untidiness is what makes it so unique, so valuable and unimaginably abundant in diverse life forms". An educational trail, the “Power Spot", leads to the sacred place of the ancient inhabitants of the Bia³owie¿a Forest. A stone circle, surrounded by multi-trunk trees and hawthorn clusters, is probably the place of former human habitation, most likely foresters and shepherds. Water diviners

claim that this place is characterised by a unique accumulation of positive charges, having a beneficial influence on all living creatures. A significant part of the Bia³owie¿a National Park is located in the neighbouring commune of Narewka, where the trails called “the Wolf Path", “the Path around the G³uszec Range", and “the Tsar's Track", are marked. They are well labelled, supplemented with footbridges and an observation tower located in “Kosy Most". Winter is the best season for observing the wild animals living in the Forest: auroch, deer, wild boar, roe deer, and the many bird species which spend their winters in Poland. They frequently visit the feeders then, and it is easy to see their tracks on the snow.
Tourism Centre of Bia³owie¿a Forest Region Hajnówka, ul. 3 Maja 45 tel. +48 85 682 43 81, tel./fax +48 85 682 51 41 www.powiat.hajnowka.pl e-mail:turystyka@sphajnowka.home.pl

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. J. Podziewski

BIEBRZA NATIONAL PARK
Untamed river Photosafari

10

fot. Archiwum UMWP

fot. Archiwum UMWP

Although the Biebrza river floods large areas a few times each year, no one raises an alarm; even though the water approaches households and roads. It is because people here learnt to live in harmony with nature, respecting its laws. It may be the reason why Biebrza still remains one of very few unsubdued rivers in Europe. Protection and preservation of this unique ecosystem was the main reasons to create the Biebrza National Park, which is the largest one in Poland. Its emblem animal is a ruff - one of 270 bird species of the Park, 180 of which nest in its marshes. There are also 700 elks living in its area. In 1995 the Park was included in the list of Ramsar convention, protecting the world most precious areas of waterfowl and marshbirds nesting. Fotosafari is more and more popular among foreign tourists visiting the Park. There is no better place for wildlife photography lovers than Biebrza in spring. March and April are the climax of floods, and

the beginning of mass bird passages. It is when elks are most likely to be seen. Huge overflow areas leave unforgettable memories, especially when observed at the sunset from observation towers and bridges. It the evenings Strêkowa Góra is crowded with photographers wanting to catch the moment of sunset at the mouth of Biebrza and Narew rivers. At the end of April, Biebrza marshes are all covered in fresh, green grass, and thousands of f lowers, among which the first chicks appear in their nests. In the vicinity of Biebrza tourists, who will follow "the tsar trail", may find many little towns and villages with long and stormy history: Nowy Dwór (in the vicinity of which Biebrza takes its source), Lipsk, Krasnybór, Sztabin, Goni¹dz, Radzi³ów and Wizna.

BIEBRZA NATIONAL PARK
"Biebrzañskie haymaking " Tourist educational trails

fot. Archiwum ELKAM

The neighbourhood surrounding BNP is also interesting for its history and culture. Many folk-craft and ecology events are organized in the area. "Wszechnica Biebrzañska" and "Biebrzañskie Haymaking" are the most well-known. The latter event, held in the Biebrza Meadows is also called the Mowing Championship of Poland. It attracts many participants from the whole of Poland. The aim of the competition is to mow down 100 meters of meadow as quickly and thoroughly as possible. Competitors use traditional hand scythes. If the grass of the Biebrza meadows were not regularly cut, many bird species which nest there would become endangered. In Biebrza National Park there are a great number of pedestrian and bicycle trails, as well as many educational paths. One of four natural trails ends in the picturesque reserve called the "Red Swamp", where it is most possible to see elk. Rafting and kayaking are also a very popular form of tourism in Biebrza National Park. School excursions often visit the Edu-

cational Centre of Osowiec Fortress. There are two educational paths worth following: “the Forest" and “the Footbridge". The first one begins near the seat of BNP. It leads through a pine forest and ends at Skobielewa Mount, from which tourists may observe birds and other animals living in the park. Along the way are the remains of many fortifications. The path ends at the car park near the Bia³ystokE³k route. The other path, "Footbridge", begins and finishes near the Rudzki canal. This path leads through swampy areas of the Park which can be best observed from the many observation towers located on the way.

Biebrza National Park Osowiec-Twierdza 8, tel./fax.+48 86 272 06 20, 272 08 02 e-mail: it@biebrza.org.pl, www.biebrza.org.pl

fot. D. Karczewski

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. Archiwum UMWP

11
ANT ONI UK

BIA£YSTOK
PAÑSTWA POLSKIEGO
Sitars
r Og zk nic od
ck P³o

Ra dz ym i

IC A

BI

ka ñs

a

br Fa

z³o wa

W ier zb

Ow sia n

a

Ko

go
ako wa
Hajnowsk a

ap sk a

P

Ka sz

G³ ow ac kie

•N

Go ³d

SKA OLE

ub sk W a ¹s ka

Przy

toro

wa

ow a

KU

AS W

Pu

³ko

wa

¯y W tn ar Cz ia yñ ês sk to ieg ch ow o sk a

yleryj sk a

P ro wia

W

Bo

ZWY

lej ow a

CIÊS TWA

D¥B
Ko

ROW

SKIE

na

Art

ta

nic z

GO

AL. PI£SUDSKIEGO

EW IC ZA

Prowiant owa

Za m en

SS IN O

As ny ka

Œ
Sukienna

CA

LIPOW
Grochow a

A
Liniarskieg o

alm M

SI EN KI

A OCH W. R

S³o
a ow ³ac Pa

nim

Glinia

BOHATERÓW M

Kalinowskiego

ra Su

sk

RYNEK KO ŒCIUSZKI a

ON

ñskiego Kili

H

SKA ¯Y Ñ £OM

Sos

no

wa

ldz wa Grun

ar M
o ³yn wa

Ele

y ktr

Œw .W

ka

S

to

z ³ec

na

Sosn

owa
ska ow Kij

o ieg sk iañ

A OW ION G LE

W

n cz

a

ar sz

St as zic
aw sk a

rii Wikto owa k y z s Ko

TE

Sko rup ska

w No

at wi yŒ

a ed

h

a of

a eln œci Ko

ska

na

MIESZKA I

a Chopina a iech ojc
Wa

Chrobreg

rsz a

ws

ka

M

KA

MAZO WIE C

Gru
NIK PER A

a nw

ldz

ka

zy as W

to ng

na

ñ oja iêt Œw

ska
ze Or sz

BR
j we ko

Dal eka
o

n

A

OL L. S

IDA

A ZAW ARS

ΠRNO

Ci

CI
wa to

Knyszyñs ka

Br

ie wsk onie

iat r

go

W

l Bie

a sk
nicz kien W³ó

P

SK OLE

ep ³a

A

ka riac leta Cz Pro ys tta ta e G h. o B ¯abia

E KI EN SI
a ow ¹k
So

ZA IC W Rysk a
o eg ski

TO

WA R

OW A

zn yc br Fa

a

£

bie

sze Kra

ws

go kie

Kapralska

S a W ck dle LKO I Sie

ka

A£ .
a y jn kc Se a sn C ia

i

FAB R

YCZ NY

iê Œw

tok

ska rzy

zn yc

a

KA

SUWA£KI

W l êg a ow

n oœ Uk

TO AN A SK OW UK NI

a

No a zk ód gr wo

g Ja

on ó Ord wny

ki ien
l wo yz W

ow ske go

dyj

Wo ³o

£OM¯A
S ZJA UWA £K BIA ZD I £Y ST OK
NOWO GRÓD NO WO GR ÓD ZKA P
ty ar
zan

SUWA£KI
ka

Jag iel

H

Drew

loñ sk

a

WI¯AJNY

DZ ISK O

M. REJA

Kon wy

Na dn arw iañ sk a

£¹k ow a

PU £A SK IEG

Za mi ejs ka

BU

N ar e w
Orodowa

Œw ier kow a

No wo mie js

Jana Pa

Wi ejs

zyñ ska

Gie ³c

Fabryczn a
Spo koj na

ia ¯ytn
Zacisze

Narutowicza
¯eromskiego
gen. Dwernickiego

Aka cjo wa Gra bow a

Topolow a

Sad ow a

GO LSKIE KA PO WOJS

dz ka

Rey

PO LO WA

3M

mon t

W
Dw orn a

Brz ost ow Bu ski czy ego ñsk ieg o

Brzozowa

wo

Lipowa

Kolejowa

GW N. W

¯a b ia

EG ION ÓW

£. S IKO RS KIE GO
Mic kie wic za

Kopernika

kiego Sikors gen.

lna Zie

AL EJA L

Przytorowa
ATA UTR
1 Maja

ZAWADZK A

OST RO £ÊK A

S³o wa cki e go

a dow Sk³a

Kamedulska
sz ks. Hamer

Ks. Anny

CH£ODNA

SEJNEÑSKA
ATA UTR

SZ AW A

AL EJA J. PI £S UD
Prz yko sza row a

Ga ³aja

H
Waryñskiego
1 Maja
NONIEWICZA
KOŒCIUSZKI

WA R

SK IEG O
por. £ago dy

usza Ks. Jan

A ALEJ

IEGO DSK £SU J. PI

MICKIEWICZA

G

Ciesielska

Wigierska

Sybi r a k ów

Œwierkowa

Glo ger a

Rag inis a

GE N. K.

aja

Ry ba ki Rz¹ Krzyw dow e K o³o a

drz ew Klo iow now a a

ZD ZJA

ka

I aI w³

O

Klon o

wa

a

Mo

ima Tuw

a an mi S³o

ia en

a ot Z³

W RO JU

KA IEC

la yg cz Sz b la a ró W godn zy Pr a Sin na en mi Ka rla O

bra Do

ik Dz a
ob ar St oja a rsk

d ro Og

a ow

s dliñ Mo

iego owsk Kalin

ka

Ka ñs zy ys .W rd

kie go

MI

a kn Piê

IEW CK

i ñsk sz y Wy rd. Ka

A ICZ

z uc cz Sz

AN

ICK

IEG

O

No

W
wo

k ñs o³y

a

i em ad Ak

a sk yñ

eck Kil
ska ³ow hy Mo

ego

DO £O SK

ck

a

Sz a pit lna

a

KO

Ce

za nic low

o yP ron ch O jsk Wo

za nic gra

a ow rk Pa tg ot Gr a er

Ko

n. ge

ma Be

ieg ck wa S³o

o

ka ws sto gu u A

pn no

ic

j kie

wa rsz

W

r nie no Ka ska

aw ska

IEJ SK

lsk be £u

ka os dg By

a

LU
K³o dz ka

r Ost ka iec ow
We ³a so laz ¯e a pit Sz na lna

BL

ICZA KIEW MIC

IN

D PO

Fo lw a a nian Be Dojl rczn dn idz ars ka a ka

ŒN LE A

le O zwo IEG Wy RSK IKO £. S N. W GW

m Jaœ

Piê

a ³ow Jod

a kn

wa ino

Czar na H añcz

tó w

nia

aln Szpit

a

a

i oz

a Bulwarow

IEGO ÑSK DHO . PO GEN Korczaka

wa Buko

WA LO PO

E. Plater

NONIEWICZA

A OS SZ
K TO YS A£ BI A SK OW BR M ZA
Ga³aja

KOŒCIUSZKI
mita

SEJN Y

OK ST W A£ Y , BI GUSTÓ ÓW UST K/AU AUG£YSTO BIA

Weso³a

OK TOK £YST £YS BIA BIA

a erow Spac

Klasztor na

Rowelska Mound

Smolniki - on the set of “Pan Tadeusz”

“Zielna" harvest festival in Puñsk - Lithuanian minority center

Giby Lake

Zelwa

Canoeing on Rospuda River

Suwa³ki - St. Alexander's church (1820-25)

Sejny - The Annunciation basilica (161 0-161 9)

The castle mound on Rajgrodzkie lake

Biebrza w okolicy Osowcu

“Tobolinka" reserve (the commune of Giby)

Warmiñsko-Mazurskie voivodeship

Szczuczyn

Suchowola - the geometric centre of Europe

Ró¿anystok

Ja³ówka

£om¿a - the 15th c. Cathedral

Mazowieckie voivodeship

The sanctuary in Hodyszewo

Rudka - the Ossoliñski family palace (171 8)

A cliffy bank of the Bug River near Mielnik

Wojtkowice Glinna near Ciechanowiec - milking cows swimming cross the Bug river

Siemiatycze - the late-baroque monastic complex

TOURIST INFORMATIO - PTTK - FARM TOURISM
TOURIST INFORMATION CENTRES
Augustów fot. J. Podziewski

14

PTTK
Polish Tourist CountryLovers'Society

Tourist Information Centre in Augustów: ul. Rynek Zygmunta Augusta 1, tel./fax +48 87 643-28-83, e-mail: cit@augustownet.com.pl, www.um.augustow.pl Tourist and Cultural Information Centre in Choroszcz: ul. Sienkiewicza 29, tel./fax +48 85 719-14-31, e-mail: mgck_choroszcz@poczta.onet.pl Tourism Centre of Bia³owie¿a Forest Region: Hajnówka, ul. 3 Maja 45, tel./fax +48 85 682-51-41, e-mail:turystyka@sphajnowka.home.pl, www.powiat.hajnowka.pl Tourist Information and Region Promotion Center: Suwa³ki, Koœciuszki 45 tel./fax +48 87 566-58-72
e-mail:agro@suwalki-turystyka.info.pl, www.suwalki-turystyka.info.pl

Podlaska Regional Tourism Organization: Bia³ystok, ul. Malmeda 6, tel./faks +48, 85 732-68-31 www.podlaskieit.pl, e-mail: podlaskirot@wp.pl Tourist Information, Bia³owie¿a National Park: Bia³owie¿a, Park Pa³acowy 5, tel./fax +48 85 681-29-01, tel. +48 85 681-27-56 e-mail: infobpn@bpn.com.pl Tourist Information, Biebrzanski National Park: Osowiec-Twierdza 8, tel./fax +48 86 272-06-20, 272-08-02 e-mail: it@biebrza.org.pl, www.biebrza.org.pl Tourist Information, Wigierski National Park: Krzywe 82 tel./fax +48 87 566-63-22, e-mail: wigry_pn@su.onet.pl www.wigry.win.pl Narwiañski National Park: Kurowo 10, 18-204 Kobylin Borzymy tel./fax: +48 85 718-14-17; +48 86 476-48-11, 476-48-12 npn@npn.pl, www.npn.pl Siemiatycze District Promotion Center: Siemiatycze, ul. Leg.Pi³sudskiego 3, tel. +48 85 655-58-56 e-mail: powiat@siemiatycze.pl £apy Municipal Office: £apy, ul. Gen. W³. Sikorskiego 24 tel./fax +48 85 715-22-56 e-mail: umlapy@wp.pl Town and Commune Cultural Center in Nowogród: ul. £om¿yñska 13 tel. +48 86 217-55-45, 217-55-44 Tykocin Municipal Office: ul. Z³ota 2 tel. +48 85 718-72-32 Bia³ystok Municipal Office: ul. S³onimska 1, tel. +48 85 732-20-98, fax 085/732 76 01 Supraœl Municipal Office: ul. Pi³sudskiego 58, tel./fax +48 85 718-31-65 Suwalski Landscape Park: Malesowizna 24 tel./fax +48 87 566-63-22, e-mail: zarz¹d@spk.org.pl Szypliszki - tourist information desk: ul. Suwalska 21 (Commune Office building), tel. +48 87 568-10-84, 568-10-85 Budzisko - tourist information desk at the Polish-Lithuanian border crossing Wi¿ajny Commune Office: ul. Rynek 1 tel. +48 87 568-80-28, tel./fax +48 87 568-80-49 Mielnik Commune Office: ul. Piaskowa 38, tel. +48 85 657-70-03, tel./fax +48 85 657-71-21 Drohiczyn Commune Office: ul. Kraszewskiego 13 tel. +48 85 655-70-69, tel./fax +48 85 655-70-69 Bielsk Podlaski Municipal Office: ul. Kopernika 1 tel. +48 85 730-05-50 w107, fax +48 85 730-88-00 Sura¿ Lovers Society: ul. Bielska 4, www.suraz.org.pl

Regional PTTK Branch in Bia³ystok: ul. Waryñskiego 30 tel./fax +48 85 744-56-50, e-mail:ro_pttk_bialystok@poczta.onet.pl Z. Gloger's Regional PTTK Branch, Bia³ystok: ul. Lipowa 18, tel. +48 85 652-25-02, fax +48 85 652-30-05 Regional PTTK Branch in Bielsk Podlaski: ul. Mickiewicza 50/54, tel. +48 85 730-30-24, 730-36-10 Regional PTTK Branch in Hajnówka: ul. 3 Maja 37 tel./fax +48 85 682-27-85 A. Chêtnik's Regional PTTK Branch in £om¿a: ul. Wojska Polskiego 1, tel. +48 86 216-47-18 tel./fax +48 85 216-64-42 Regional PTTK Branch in Suwa³ki: ul. Koœciuszki 37, tel. +48 87 566-59-61 tel./fax +48 87 566-79-47 e-mail: pttk@suwalki-turystyka.info.pl www.suwalki-turystyka.info.pl/pttk Regional PTTK Branch in Augustów: ul. Nadrzeczna 70a tel. +48 87 643-38-50, fax +48 87 643-38-51 Regional PTTK Branch in Bia³owie¿a: ul. Kolejowa 17 tel. +48 85 681-22-95, fax +48 85 681-26-24 e-mail: pttkbialowieza@sitech.pl, www.pttk.sitech.pl

FARM TOURISM ASSOCIATIONS

Agricultural Advisory Centem of Podlaskie Voivodeship in Szepietowo: tel./fax +48 86 476-05-53, e-mail: odr@zetobi.com.pl www.odr.zetobi.com.pl Bia³owieskie Farm Tourism Association ¯UBR: tel./fax + 48 85 682-20-10, www.bialowieza.org.pl (Bia³owie¿a Forest region). Farm Tourism Association AGROKRESY: +48 85 718-90-1 9, 71892-56, e-mail:agrokresy@agrokresy.pl, www.agrokresy.pl (re-gion Puszczy Knyszyñskiej, doliny Górnej Narwi i Zalewu Siemianówka). Podlaskie Farm Torism Association: +48 85 718-37-85, fax +48 85 711-20-49, e-mail: kuryly@poczta.onet.pl, www.psa.org.pl (Knyszyñska Forest region, Biebrza River region, and Sokó³ka region). Chaber of Agriculture and Tourism of Suwa³ki tel. +48 87 566-58-72, e-mail:agro@suwalki-turystyka.info.pl www.suwalki-turystyka.info.pl (Suwalki region, and Augustów region) Association for Development of Sejny and Sejny region "Ziemia Sejneñska": tel./fax +48 87 516-34-00 e-mail:biuro@ziemia-sejnenska.pl, www.ziemia-sejnenska.pl (Sejny district, there is a possibility of on-line accomodation reservation). Biebrzañsko-Narwiañskie Farm Tourism Association "£OŒ": tel. +48 86 219-60-83 (Biebrza, Narew, Bug rivers). Biebrzañsko-Rajgrodzkie Farm Tourism Association "CZAPLA": tel./fax +48 86 272-39-61 e-mail: czaplagrajewo@wp.pl (central
fot. J. Paw³usz

fot. PTTK - Hajnówka

15
Wigry Lake

WIGRY NATIONAL PARK
Camaldolese monastery The creamery workshops

Wigry National Park was founded in 1986. Its symbol is a beaver - one of 46 mammal species living in it. The rich fauna of WNP consists of more than 180 bird species and 32 species of fish. The largest lake of the Park is Wigry, whose surface is 21.8 square kilometers and whose depth reaches 73 metres. The Park can be visited on foot (following well marked paths), in a canoe, or by boat. One of the paths, named “Suchary", is particularly interesting, since it goes among small forest lakes, called “suchary". Visitors can also see beaver lodges, and if lucky, the beavers themselves. Wigry Lake has great scenic beauty. A former Cameldolese monastery, towering over the area, is located on a peninsula protruding into the lake. The monastic complex is the most valuable monument in the Park. The monks of the Cameldolite order arrived at Wigry Lake in 1668 and within half a century (from the end of the 17th until the mid-18th) built one of the most magnificent Polish monasteries. When the order was dissolved in 1800 by the Prussian authorities, the Cameldolites left

the area of Wigry Lake. The monastery was subject to slow ruin, especially in the 19th century and the two World Wars. Yet, after post-war renovation, the monastery regained its original splendour. The monastic complex contains a porter's house and an entry gate to the lower terrace, where 10 hermitages and a royal house are located. The upper terrace can be entered through another gate, behind which there is a bishop palace, a church, another 7 hermitages, the former dining-hall and Ma clock-tower. The Park has an exceptionally rich and diversified educational offering for example, during the Milk Workshops, teenagers have a chance to familiarize themselves with the traditional production secrets of butter, cream, cheese and other milk pro-ducts.
Wigry National Park Krzywe 82 tel.. +48 87 563 25 40, fax +4887 563-25-41 e-mail: wigry.pn@su.onet.pl, www.wigry.win.pl

They can also learn

WIGRY NATIONAL PARK
“Tryton“ Pope’s visit Wigry narrow - gauge railway

Karol Wojty³a was a frequent guest in the region of Suwa³ki. The first time he came here was in 1945, when as a young priest he took part in a canoeing trip on the Czarna Hañcza River. A few years later, during another canoeing trip with students, he learned that he had been elected bishop. This is how he recollects these trips now: “This land has always been very hospitable to me. When I had a chance to be there, looking for rest at the magnificent lakes … I had the unique opportunity then to admire the whole richness of the nature of this region of my Homeland, and delight myself with the peace and quiet of the forests and lakes". During his pilgrimage to Poland in 1999, the Pope once again chose Wigry as his resting place. Apart from a scheduled trip on the ship “Tryton" and rest at the monastery, the Pope unexpectedly visited, besides the sanctuary in Studzienniczna, the “ARMATOR” farmers with whom fax +48 87 563 82 27 gsm. +48 0-602 633-092 he had stayed many e-mail: wigry@ wigry.info.pl, www.wigry.info.pl years before.

The Wigry narrow-gauge railway is a continuation of the forest narrowgauge railway in Augustowska Forest. It was built during World War I and extended in 1923-1926. The railway, which originally went from Plociczno to the vicinity of Zelwa, was a complement to the Augustów Canal. The proximity of Wigry Lake to the railway route made Zelwa and Wierœnie lakes a perfect place for storing wood. Numerous wood processing workshops were located on Wigry Lake, where the wood was sunk, gathered into rafts and then hauled to the vicinity of the lumber mill in P³ociczno. In the 1980s, the railway line was liquidated and only a few years ago reopened its transportation services, this time as a tourist attraction in the area of Wigry National Park. The train stops along the way for “photostops".
“Hossa Wigry" Plociczno Tartak 40 tel. +48 87 563 92 63, gsm +48 0603 165 390

NAREW NATIONAL PARK
Canoeing on the Narew River Podlaska Honey Feast Long Bicycle Trail

16

The Narew National Park covers the swampy valley of the Narew River from Sura¿ to Rzêdziany, and it follows several riverbeds in this region. In spring, all the river arms unite creating huge floodplains, often called the “Polish Amazon". The Park's symbol is a marsh-harrier one of the nearly two hundred bird species who find favourable conditions for nesting in the area. The seat of Narew National Park is located in the historic manor house in Kurowo, where tourists may see an exhibition dedicated to the natural and cultural virtues of the Narew River valley. On the last weekend of August, bee-keepers from the region gather in Kurowo to participate in the largest festival organized by and in Narew National Park the Podlasie Honey Feast. Each honey is examined by the Bromatology Institute of the Medical Academy in Bia³ystok. The healthiest and tastiest honey samples are awarded prizes by festival organizers and visitors, who not only taste the numerous varieties on site

but also buy a few jars for home use. The festival is accompanied by ethnographic exhibitions, and numerous concerts of local folk groups, along with hand-craft fairs. In order to facilitate the Park visit, numerous footbridges have been built over its swamps as well as observation towers. Canoeing from Sura¿ to Rzêdziany is the best way to know the Park better. You can also make use of local transportation services, which provide boat rides on traditional “punts". The greatest attraction of these trips includes weaving in and out of the branches of the Narew river, thus making the guide's presence indispensable. Around Narew National Park there is also a well marked 90-km-long

LANDSCAPE PARKS
Suwalski Landscape Park

The Suwalski Landscape Park was created in 1976 as the first park of its type in Poland. It stretches between the villages of Szczurpi³y, Gu³bieniszki, Smolnik, Hañcza and Malesowizna. The panoramic virtues of the regional landscapes in question are best observed from the top of the Cisowa Hill also called the “Fujiama of the Suwa³ki region", and the observation spot called “Pan Tadeusz" located in Smolniki. This is where most of the photos for the movie by Andrzej Wajda were shot. This is where Polish tributaries of the Niemen River - Czarna Hañcza and Szeszupa have their sources. There are about 20 lakes in the Park, and a group of three lakes located in the vicinity of Smolniki (Okr¹gle, Kamedu³ and Jaczno) is considered to be the most beautiful. Due to severe climate conditions the vegetation period in this area is 40 days shorter and the winters longer and colder than elsewhere in Poland it is also called “the Polish Pole". Strong and frequent winds blowing on the top of the neighbouring Rowelska Hill (the highest elevation in the province) encouraged the Dutch to erect the first wind generators.

17

LANDSCAPE PARKS
Landscape Park of the Knyszyñska Forest

£om¿yñski Landscape Park of the Narew River Valley

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. ELKAM - archiwum

Drozdowo fot. J. Podziewski

The £om¿yñski Landscape Park of the Narew River Valley is most attractive in spring, when the valley of the Narew from Bronowo to Pi¹tnica, changes into a huge floodplain. One of the most interesting natural museums in the region is located in the historic manor house in Drozdowo. When visiting the Landscape Park of the Knyszyñska Forest, which is one of the largest parks in Poland, it is advised to start from the Arboretum in Kopna Góra. However, the full diversity and abundance of flora and fauna of the Forest can be admired when following any of the numerous tourist paths £om¿yñski Landscape Park of the Narew River (the total length of Valley Drozdowo, ul. G³ówna 52 which is 1000 km) tel. +48 86 21 9 20 15tel./fax +48 86 219 21 75 e-mail: lpkdn@4lomza.pl, www.lpkdn.4lomza.pl linking over 30 nature reserves. Podlaska Regional Tourist Organization
Bia³ystok, ul. Malmeda 6 tel. +48 85 732-68-31, www.podlaskieit.pl

FORTIFICATIONS
Osowiec Fortress £om¿a-Pi¹tnica-Strêkowa Góra

fot. J. Podziewski

In the only narrowing of the Biebrza River Valley within a distance of approximately 80 kilometres, in the vicinity of the railway track ElkBialystok, stands the Osowiec Fortress, built by Tsarist Russia. During the nine years of its construction (1882-1892) a barrage fortress along with Fort I was constructed. The continuously modernized fortress fulfilled all the hopes of its designers during World War One all German attempts at capturing it, including the use of combat gases in 1915, failed. Part of the fortress (the so-called Fort II), was destroyed by the Germans in 1944 but is open to tourists today. Central Fort I and Fort II currently occupied by the Polish Army may be visited with a guide, after prior arrangement. The Fortress Museum has been opened to tourists. The forts located in Pi¹tnica belong to a Osowiec Fortress series of fortifica19-116 Osowiec Twierdza tions constructed by tel. (085) 716 2269 w. 292, (085) 716 3174 w. 292 Russia from the begi-

fot. J. Podziewski

nning of the 19th century. Despite a construction flourish similar to the one exhibited in Osowiec, the fortress in £om¿a played no significant role during World War One. A successful, several-day-long defence in 1939 was concluded by a general retreat caused by the overall collapse of the front. The fate of the Polish defenders in the neighbouring section “Wizna" - where several hundred Polish soldiers fought a battle with a 40thousand-strong German army - is now known as the “Polish Thermopylae". The commanding officer Captain Raginis committed suicide by setting off an explosive charge in the shelter located in Stekowa Hill. The defence complex in Pi¹tnica is also very attractive as far as its landscape is concerned. The three preserved forts are linked together by a series of monumental embankments and moats, creating an extended amphitheatre, towering at 50 meters over the banks of the Narew River.
Internet: Pi¹tnica - www.lomza.com/forty/index.html, www.4lomza.pl Strêkowa Góra - www.wizna.pl/index.php?k=4

ACTIVE REST
Pedestrian and bicycle paths

18

Horse trail of Augustowska and Knyszyñska Forests

Podlaskie is covered by a dense network of pedestrian paths approximately 1500 kilometres long, and 1000 kilometres of bicycle paths. These are found in the vicinity of the national and landscape parks. The European Long-Distance Walking Route E11 Amsterdam Ogrodniki passes through the northern part of the voivodeship and its route coincides with the already existing PTTK walking routes. The longest walking path in the whole voivodeship, estimated at 160 kilometres in total, runs along the rivers Biebrza and Narew from Lipsk to Nowogród. The walking path in question crosses the picturesque areas of the Knyszyñski Forest, the Forests of Supraœl River Basin, all within a total distance of 30 kilometres. In the south of the voivodeship, there is a Merchant's Route leading from Niemirów to Ciechanowiec. The most interesting bicycle paths are located in Suwalszczyzna, where most bicycle rentals are also located. One of the bicycle paths in question is the Northern Ring of Suwalszczyzna, estimated at 165 kilometres in total. It starts in the area of the Wigierski National Park, crosses Suwa³ki,

Sura¿kowo fot. P. Mêcik

fot. D. Karczewski

and further on continues along the Rospuda River Valley and the PolishLithuanian borderland. A new bicycle path was recently designated within the area of the Knyszyñski Forest the path is named “Borderland Trips" and has a total length estimated at 140 kilometres. A bicycle path named “Suburban Residences" with a total length estimated at 50 kilometres is located in the vicinity of Bia³ystok. Two European bicycle routes will cross the area of Podlasie, namely R11 and R12. Within the area of the Podlaskie Voivodeship, three routes have also been designed for horse tourism. The first one was created in the Augustowska Forest in the area of the Bia³obrzegi Forestry Management and has a total length of 30 kilometres. The second one runs from Biebrzañski National Park, through Augustowska Forest to the Wigierski National Park and has a total length estimated at 200 kilometres. It runs mainly on dirt and forest roads. The horse route running through the Knyszyñski Forest (which has a total length estimated at 120 kilometres) has 12 locations where it is possible to rent horses and rest.

ACTIVE REST
Canoeing on the Supraœl and Bug rivers basin By ship across the lakes and along the Augustowski Canal

Soko³da fot. C. Moczulski

Bug fot. C. Makarewicz

Czarna Hañcza, Rospuda, Biebrza, Narew, Supraœl, Soko³da and the Bug belong to the group of rivers of our voivodeship most frequently visited by canoeists. The total length of the canoeing route is estimated at 150 kilometres and starts in the Bialowieski Forest and ends in Tykocin. On the way, it is possible to get acquainted with the culture of the five nationalities and ethnic groups inhabiting the area of Podlasie. New canoeing routes were designated in the area of Knyszyñski Forest in 2004, namely on the rivers of Soko³da and Supraœl. The canoeing route designated on the River Supraœl has a total length of 90 kilometres. There are numerous natural obstacles in the course of the canoeing route, which increases the attractiveness of the trip. For years now, the towns of Mielnik, Siemiatycze Regional PTTK Branch in Bia³ystok and Drohiczyn have Bia³ystok, ul. Waryñskiego 30 been popularising catel./fax +48 85 744 -56- 50 noeing and rafting trips e-mail: ro_pttk_bialystok@poczta.onet.pl on the Bug River.

fot. J. Podziewski

This priceless work of inland water engineering - unique in the European scale (there have been attempts to include the Augustowski Canal on the UNESCO list) - linked the river basins of Vistula and Niemen back in the middle of the 19th century. During the interwar period, the Augustowski Canal became a tourist attraction as a picturesque canoeing, sailing and transportation route for passengers. Today the ¯egluga Augustowska is responsible for management of the Canal, offering regular cruises of varied length during the tourist season. There is also the possibility to rent a whole ship. Even though the Polish section of the Canal has a total length estimated at 80 kilometres and contains 14 locks. It is possible to experience the whole Canal during a few-days' canoeing trip, bicycle trip or simply going by car - asphalt and dirt roads are located on its pictu¯egluga Augustowska Augustow, ul. 29 Listopada 7 resque banks.
tel. +48 87 643 28 81, 643 21 52 www.wigry.home.pl/zeglugaaugustowska/

19
Folk Handicraft Trail

CULTURAL HERITAGE
Podlaski White Stork Trail
The Land of Open Shutters

fot. J. Podziewski

fot. J. Paw³usz

fot. P. Mêcik

The Folk Handicraft Trail of Podlaskie Voivodeship was created in 1994 in order to preserve the most interesting workshops and centres of folk handicraft, continue the old traditions of the region, and make these available to tourists. Visitors may see pottery workshops and a smithy in Czarna Wieœ Koœcielna, a workshop of traditional wooden spoons in £apczyn, a workshop of unique double-warp weaving in Janów and neighbouring villages, and workshops of folk sculpture in Sokó³ka. There are also workshops for Easter egg painting in Lipsk at the Biebrza River. All the workshops by local folk artists have the imprimatur of the Department of Ethnography of the Podlaskie Museum in Bia³ystok. It is most convenient to follow this trail by car. Along the way, tourists can visit the reservoirs in Czarna Bia³ostocka, Korycin, and Sokó³ka, as well as one of the most famous Catholic sanctuaries in the province Ró¿anystok.

According to the last general census in 2004, the terrain of Podlaskie Voivodeship is inhabited by approximately 20 thousand white storks. That is why this is where the famous White Stork Trail has been laid out one of the most famous landmarks of Podlaskie. As a bicycle trail, the White Stork Trail links three national parks: Bia³owie¿a, Narew, and Biebrza. Soon, it will be extended to Wigry National Park and on to Suwalski Landscape Park. The natural route, along which the bicycle path was originally marked, is the Upper Narew River Valley. The route also aims to disseminate balanced economic development while activating local communities to create “small homelands". In the Land of Open Shutters, which is formed by the area between the villages of Puch³y, Soce, and Trzeœcianka, one can see many old, wooden Orthodox churches and chapels, as well as road crosses and wooden houses with richly decorated shutters.

CULTURAL HERITAGE
The Holy Mount Grabarka The Tartar Trail

The Holy Mount Grabarka, the most important Orthodox sanctuary in Poland became famous in 1710 for the miracle that occurred here. Over 11 thousand inhabitants of nearby Siemiatycze gathered on the hill, trying to escape a plague that broke out in the town. They prayed all night long; the next day, they saw they were healed. Grateful people decided to build a small chapel commemorating the miracle. For centuries, a forest of crosses grew around the church. The crosses have been brought by the faithful, mainly on the 18th of August each year, which is the day of the Transfiguration of Christ the Saviour. In May, thousands of Orthodox young people from all over the world gather in Grabarka for shared prayer. Catholics make pilgrimages to Ró¿anystok, Krypno, P³oñki, Hodyszewo, Studzieniczna and Œwiêta Woda. The temple of Old Christian Believers in Wodzi³ki is also Fellowship of Orthodox Youth worth visiting. Bia³ystok, ul. Œw. Miko³aja 3
tel./fax: +48 85 742 65 28, www.bmp.cerkiew.pl

Kruszyniany fot. J. Podziewski

Grabarka fot. M. Piotrowski

fot. J. Paw³usz

The Podlaski Tartar Trail (Sokó³ka - Bohoniki - Kruszyniany) crosses the areas inhabited by the Polish Tartars who were once numerous in the region. Today, only a few of their descendants live in Bohoniki and Kruszyniany. Most of them have retained their ancestors' religion and traditions, but their professions are the same as those of other local inhabitants. The mosques and cemeteries (mizars) in Bohoniki and Kruszyniany are certainly worth a visit. The Cultural Centre in Sokó³ka features the Museum of the Sokó³ka Area with a magnificent collection of Tartar exhibits (oriental exhibits are also located in the History Museum in Bia³ystok). In Bohoniki and Kruszyniany it is also possible to take a tour in the mosque and try Tartar dishes, providing that prior telephone reservation is Podlaska Regional Tourist Organization made. Bia³ystok, ul. Malmeda 6
tel. +48 85 732-68-31, www.podlaskieit.pl www.kruszyniany.pl www.muzulmanie.pl

fot. Archiwum UMWP

fot. W. Wo³kow

OPEN-AIR ETNOGRAPHIC MUSEUMS
Ciechanowiec Bread Festival

fot. M. Piotrowski

fot. J. Podziewski

One of the most interesting Polish ethnographic museums is located on the route Warsaw-Bia³owie¿a in the town of Ciechanowiec. A typical village from the Mazovia and Podlasie borderland was recreated here in 1963, by gathering unique implements of agricultural technology, and village means of transport, daily living, and farming, as well as animal breeding. The founders of this particular heritage park had two large forest clearings available for construction on the first one the buildings were located in such a manner that they present a cross-section of the whole society, starting with a single-chamber house of the poorest peasants, through the Eastern nobles' farmhouses, and ending with the Palace of Starzeñscy. The second forest clearing is filled with several granaries and a smithy, where exhibitions devoted to traditional folk craftsmanship are organized: pottery, oil manufacturing, plaiting, beekeeping and leatherwork. A 19th century water mill, once constituting a part of the Nowodwory estate, is now an integral part of the heritage park. The central

position among the mansion buildings is usually attributed to a neoclassical palace from the 19th century, the rooms of which house an exhibition devoted to the history of Ciechanowiec, as well as exhibits devoted to the history of agriculture in the north-eastern region of Poland from prehistory to the beginning of the last century. A unique veterinary museum is also located in this particular heritage park. During the summer tourist season, numerous festivals organised under the common banner of “Sunday in the Heritage Park" extend the museums offering with fairs, exhibitions of traditional rural works and crafts, and presentations of various craftsmanship. The most important event is the Ciechanów Bread Festival, always connected with the harvest home festival, taking place in August.
Muzeum Rolnictwa Ciechanowiec, ul. Pa³acowa 5 tel./fax +48 86 27713 28, e-mail: muzeum.rol@wp.pl www.muzeum-ciechanowiec.pl

OPEN-AIR ETNOGRAPHIC MUSEUMS
The Kurpie heritage park in Nowogród Bia³ystok Country Museum

Bia³ystok Country Museum fot. J. Podziewski

fot. J. Rybak

Kurpie heritage park in Nowogród, founded in 1 927 by Adam Chetnik, is one of the two oldest museums of its kind in Poland. It was completely destroyed during the Second World War, then reconstructed in the 1950s. Today, the total area of approximately 4 hectares houses 25 historic wooden buildings from Kurpiowszczyzna. The Kurpie heritage park in Nowogród has thousands of exhibits constituting its collection. One of the greatest highlights of this particular heritage park is the inn with the original Kurpie décor. It is possible to taste traditional local meals like, for example, “rejbak" and drink nonalcoholic juniper beer. Some of the objects, located along the walking alley along the Narew River, are illuminated at night. This emphasises the picturesque location of the heritage park on a high embankment in the vicinity of the Pisa RiThe Kurpie heritage park in Nowogród ver's outlet into the Narew Nowogród, ul. Zamkowa 25 River.
tel./fax. +48 86 217 55 62, www.4lomza.pl

The Bia³ystok Museum of the Village has been perfectly blended into a picturesque landscape with the same character as a park found on the banks of the Supraœl River. This heritage park collects marvels of wooden architecture and has a great ethnographic collection from all over the voivodeship; for example, a “kozlak" windmill from 1836 which was transferred from the area of £apy, a smithy from Grodek, a forester's hut from Suwalszczyzna and a noble's mansion from Bobry Wielka. Two permanent exhibitions might be visited, namely “Along the River Valleys", which presents the former fishing tools, boats and other items related to the typical life of river bank villages from Podlasie, and “Clay Artefacts" devoted to pottery. A great number of private open-air museums have been created in Podlaskie. One of the most interesting ones can be found Podlaska Regional Tourist Organization in Bia³owie¿a and Bia³ystok, ul. Malmeda 6 Zelwa (Giby cotel. +48 85 732-68-31, www.podlaskieit.pl mmune).

Bia³owie¿a fot. J. Podziewski

fot. J. Podziewski

21

THROUGH THE STOMACH TO THE HEART
Kindziuk Sêkacz

fot. J. Podziewski

Tourists will certainly remember Podlaskie's delicious cuisine. The clean natural environment guarantees healthy meals, prepared in a traditional way. Many of our regional delicacies have their origins in Belarus and Lithuania. Those dishes of the highest quality as to the products and preparation methods used, are awarded the prestigious prize of the "Pearl" and "Our Culinary Heritage". Podlaskie is particularly proud of its dairy products, but also its excellent meat (especially pork), as well as vegetables and numerous sorts of honey. Kindziuk (“Pearl" prize in 2001)
is a meat product that comes from the Polish Lithuanian borderland. Its traditional production takes place in the Suwalki region. Kindziuk is made from the best pork parts - loin, ham, neck, with some bacon added.

fot. UMWP

The pieces of raw meat seasoned with salt and regional herbs, are put inside a pork stomach and then tightly tied. It then requires drying for at least a month, until the meat becomes completely dry. Good kindziuk should have no empty spaces between the meat pieces.

Sêkacz (“Pearl" prize in 2002)
originates from an old Pagan tradition of the Baltic tribes, who would worship their gods by making a sacrifice of honey, meat and cakes baked over open flames. Later on, sêkacz was baked as a gift for kings and other important people. It is made of 40 eggs, sugar, butter and flour. And the baking method is unusual: a special wooden roll is turned over the flames as the mixture is slowly poured onto the roll. The more experienced the baker, the more fantastic the structure of the cake.

THROUGH THE STOMACH TO THE HEART
Potato sausage Potato pie. Pierekaczewnik

fot. P. Mêcik

fot. P. Mêcik

Kiszka or potato sausage
is a time-consuming dish, yet worth the effort put into its preparation. The potato sausage is made of cooked and raw potatoes with the addition of chopped onion, salt, pepper, eggs, and flour. The mixture is then put into a pork gut and baked in the oven for about 2 hours. When it is brown and well cooked, it is served with pork crackling and fried onion.

dish even has its holiday in Podlaskie the Kiszka and Babka Ziemniaczana World Championship, which takes place in Supraœl.

Pierekaczewnik
is a traditional Tartar cake, very similar to Polish layer cake (przek³adaniec"), for which the dough is kneaded as long as it gets fine and homogenous. Then it is put in the baking form, layer by layer, each of them is buttered. Pierekaczewnik can be stuffed with cottage cheese, apples, or meat (preferably, goose one, or beef). Then the whole is tightly rolled up and baked until it gets a light-brown color. This delicious stuffed cake leaves unforgettable gustatory and esthetic impressions.
Podlaska Regional Tourist Organization Bia³ystok, ul. Malmeda 6 tel. +48 85 732-68-31, www.podlaskieit.pl

Babka or potato pie,
a delicious dish of Beloussian origin, is easy to prepare even for beginner cooks. The potato mixture with onion, eggs, flour, and spices (mainly pepper and marjoram) is poured into a baking tin. Before putting it inside the oven, pork crackling and a cup of fine grained groats can be added (if so, it should be thoroughly stirred once again). It is baked for about 1.5 h at 180º C. (the process of baking should be monitored). The

CALENDAR OF EVENTS
The Podlaskie Feast of Bread fot. J. Podziewski fot. J. Podziewski

22

Sura¿ - "Grodzisko" fot. J. Podziewski

"Ivan Kupala's Day" fot. J. Roszczenko

Fairs at the Manor - Kiermusy near Tykocin (first Sunday of each month) The all-Poland Ski Rally "Wanders of the North" - Suwa³ki Day of Swamps - Osowiec Fortress, Tykocin Tourist Fair "Active Holidays" - Bia³ystok (March) Carnival in Radzi³ow - Radzi³ów (March) " Suwalski Casmir (Suwalski Kaziuk)" - Suwa³ki (March) Easter Palm Competition - Ciechanowiec (March/April) " Easter Traditions in Kurpie" - Turoœl (March) Easter Fairs of the Folk Art - Bia³ystok (March) The Waga Brothers' International Festival of Nature Films - Goni¹dz (March/April) The International Festival of Sacred Song "£apskie Te Deum" - £apy (April) International Meetings with Konopielka - Knyszyn (April) an open air event, Easter caroling from homestead to homestead, Polish and foreign folk groups’ participation.

All-Poland Pottery Workshops - Czarna Wieœ Koœcielna (July) Archaeological feast "Zbuczlandia"- Zbucz (July) Meetings with Nature "Franciszkiada" - Waniewo (July) The "Basowiszcza" - the Music Festival of Young Belarus Gródek, (July) Poland's Floating Equipment Championship "Is anything that floats a boat?" - Augustów (July) Podlaskie Honey Feast - Kurowo (August) Dominican Fair - Choroszcz (August) "Musical Dialogues at the Bug river" - the All-Poland Cultural Meetings of National Minorities - Mielnik (August) Podlaskie Festival of Bread - Ciechanowiec (August) "The Polish Classic Trophy Jump" the International Competition of Water-Skiing Jumps - Augustów (August) "A Hundred Ideas for Biebrza" - Biebrza Fair - Osowiec Fortress (August) "Szantyka³u¿a" - the Festival of Sea Shanties - (August) All Poland Holiday of Milk - Wysokie Mazowieckie (August) "Biebrzañskie Haymaking" - Poland's Mowing Championship in Biebrza Meadows - Biebrza National Park (September) "Uncommon Artists Movement" - Opening of the Artistic Season - Bia³ystok (September) All Poland Cucumber Day - Kruszewo (September) Podlaskie Fair of Sculpture, Double Warp Weaving and Smithery - Bia³ystok (September) Festival of Ukrainian Culture - "Podlaska Autumn" - Bielsk Podlaski (October) All Souls' Day with Blues - Bia³ystok (November) All-Poland Pastoral Instrument Playing Competition Ciechanowiec (November) "Hubertus" - Hunter Meetings near the Festive Table Wi¿ajny (November) "Bia³ystok Zamenhof Days” (Zamenhof was the creator of Esperanto) - Bia³ystok (December) The comlete list of cultural, tourist, and promotion events and their exact dates as well as the organizers is available in the Internet at: www.wrotapodlasia.pl

The International Festival "Hajnowskie Days of Orthodox Music" - Hajnówka (May) The International Festival of Orthodox Music - Hajnówka / Bia³ystok (May) Modern Art Days - Bia³ystok (May) "Szwajcaria" ("Switzerland") - Archaeological Feast Szwajcaria near Suwa³ki (May) "Uroczysko" - Meetings with Nature and Art - Supraœl (May / June) - an event presenting the achievements of artists whose works are
connected with nature

"Podlaski Versailles" - International Introductions of Youth Woodwind Orchestras - Bia³ystok (June) The international Festival of Theatre in Suitcase - £om¿a (June) "Wigraszek" - International Festival of Children and Youth's Theatres - Suwa³ki (June) All-Polish Days of Culture in Kurpie - Nowogród (June) St. John's Fair - Bia³ystok (June) All-Poland Strawberry Days - Korycin (June) "Grodzisko" - the "Mediaeval Feast" - Sura¿ (June) Folk Meetings "From the Farmyard" - Czeremcha (June/ July) Kupala's Night - Bia³owie¿a (July) "Ivan Kupala's Day" - Dubicze Cerkiewne (June /July) Regattas of the Cabined Yachts for the "Auroch" Cup - the Siemianówka artificial lake (July) Celtic festival - Dowspuda (July) Augustowskie Theatre Summer - Augustów (July, August) "In the Centre of Europe" - the Parade of Woodwind Orchestras - Suchowola (July)

Podlaska Regional Tourist Organization Bia³ystok, ul. Malmeda 6 tel. +48 85 732-68-31, www.podlaskieit.pl

The Siemianówka artificial lake

P³ociczno fot. J. Podziewski

23
TOUROPERATORS
(classified)

CONTACTS
50-41, kosmos@kosmos.bialystok.pl, www.kosmos.bialystok.pl; "ALBICJA", ul. Œw. Rocha 10A lok. 218, tel./fax: +48 85 746-00-95; "HUBER", ul. Berlinga 19/66, tel. +48 85 654-07-88, biuro@huber.pbi.pl, www.huber.pbi.pl; Regionalny Oddzia³ PTTK ul. Waryñskiego 30, tel./fax: +48 85 744-56-50, ro_pttkbialystok@onet.pl; "KOROL" ul. Brzostowskiego 2, tel. +48 85 675-5859; "SKAUT" al. 1000-lecia P.P. 46/19, tel. +48 85 664-31-98; GRUN TRA VEL", ul. Wyki 6, tel. +48 85 675-57-89; "PRO", ul. Ukoœna 24h, tel./fax+48 85 651-95-95; "WAGANT" Fasty, ul. Bia³ostocka 43, tel. + 48 85 654-26-89, Oddzia³ PTTK im. Z.Glogera w Bia³ymstoku, ul. Lipowa 18, tel. +48 85 652-25-02, fax. +48 85 652-30-05 BIELSK PODLASKI PTTK, ul. Mickiewicza 50/54, tel. +48 85 730-30-24, +48 85 730-36-10; "PIAST", ul. Kleeberga 1c, tel. +48 85 730-13-19, 744-42-08; "BUMERANG", ul. Œwierkowa 7, tel./fax +48 85 730-25-24; "SUN-SPORT", ul. Poniatowskiego 2/5, gsm+ 48 608-348-825, www.sunsport.pl GONI¥DZ "NATURE EXPLORER", ul. Nowy Œwiat 24, fax +48 86 272-07-09, email: nature@biebrza-explorer.com.pl, www.biebrza-explorer.com.pl; "BIEBRZA ECO-TRAVEL", ul. Koœciuszki 26/11, tel./fax +48 86 272-07-85, email: eco-travel@biebrza.com, www.biebrza.com/eco-travel GR¥DY WONIECKO "FORESTOUR", Gr¹dy Woniecko 11/11, tel. +48 86 47528-64, forestour1@poczta.onet.pl, www.forestour1.republika.pl HAJNÓWKA "HAMAK-TUR", ul. Celna 17/2, tel. + 48 22 835-78-34, kom. gsm + 48 601-816-058, biuro@hamak-tur.pl, www.hamak-tur.pl; PTTK Oddzia³ w Hajnówce, ul. 3 Maja 37, tel./fax +48 85 682-27-85, Biuro Turystyki Przyrodniczej, ul. Na³kowskiej 9, tel. +48 85 682-38-55, +48 85 682-41-58; "¯UBR", ul. 3 Maja 60/6, tel. +48 85 682-26-21; "PROJEKT 7", ul. Fabryczna 19, kom. +48 501-475-115; LESZCZEWEK "TROJAN", Leszczewek 26, kom. gsm.+48 603-599-959; £OM¯A "SKATUR", ul. Senatorska 23, tel./fax: +48 86 216-26-50, biuro@skatur.lomza.info, www.skatur.lomza.info; "BALTICA TRAVEL", ul. Wojska Polskiego 1 15, tel. +48 86 216-54-86, www.baltica2webpark.pl, "TOMI TOURIST", Al. Legionów 7a, tel./fax +48 86 216-66-52, tel. +48 86 216-44-53, biuro@tomitourist.pl, www.tomitourist.pl; "GILDA", Al. Legionów 7, tel. 00 48 86 216-53-28, fax + 48 86 216-41-47, gilda@pro.onet.pl; Maria M³ynarska, Aleja Legionów 44, tel. +48 86 216-42-08, +48 86 216-42-09; PTTK, ul. W ojska Polskiego 1, tel. +48 86 216-47-18, fax +48 86 216-64-42; "PODRÓ¯NICZEK", ul. Konstytucji 3 Maja 5/27, tel./fax +48 85 218-81-99, e-mail: podrozniczek@hi.pl, www.podrozniczek.4lomza.pl; "JOANNA", ul. W³ókiennicza 9, tel. +48 86 216-29-88; "BIEBRZA", ul. Dworna 35, tel./fax +48 86 216-29-65, tel. +48 86 216-3 1-86 ,biebrzatravel@4lomza.pl, "ROBIN", ul. Bema 37, tel. +48 86 21 5-35-31, www.rpbin.4lomza.pl; RACZKI "ROSPUDA", ul. Wita Stwosza 1, gsm + 48 604-180-082, www.rospuda.pl; SIEMIATYCZE Biuro Podró¿y i Turystyki, ul. 11 Listopada 39, tel. +48 85 65564-00 STARY FOLW ARK "FORMA-T",Stary Folwark 55b, tel. +48 87 563-71-23, www.forma-t.com.pl; "AZYL", Stary Folwark 19, tel. +48 87 563-77-22, +48 87 567-09-59 SUWA£KI PTTK, ul. Koœciuszki 37, tel./fax +48 87 566-79-47, +48 87 566-59-61, pttk@suwalki-turystyka.info.pl, www.suwalki-turystyka.info.pl/pttk; "AGROUNIVERSAL", ul. Ch³odna 12, tel./fax: +48 87 566-54-95, +48 87 565-34-99, www.agrouniversal.pl; "JAÆWING", ul. Lityñskiego 10/4, tel./fax +48 87 56623-09; "GROMA-TOUR", ul. Koœciuszki 86, tel./fax +48 87 566-27-04; Licencja "ORBIS", ul. Noniewicza 48, tel./fax +48 87 566-38-38, tel. +48 87 566-59-16, tel. +48 87 566-42-65, www.orbis.suwalki.pl; KNIEJA, ul. 1 Maja 25, tel./fax +48 87 566-57-24,knieja@su.home.pl, www.knieja.home.pl; "DOROTATRAVEL", ul. Utrata 2C, tel. +48 87 565-08-00, fax +48 87 565-08-90, kom gsm +48 605-789-110; "WIGRY", ul. Koœciuszki 84, tel./fax +48 87 566-32-89, wigry@suwalki.com, www.suwalki.com/wigry; Suwalska Izba RolniczoTurystyczna, ul. Koœciuszki 45, tel./fax +48 87 566-58-72, tel. +48 87 566-5494, sirt@suwalki-turystyka.info.pl, www.suwalki-turystyka.info.pl; SZURPI£Y Agencja Turystyki Niekonwencjonalnej, Szurpi³y 17, tel. +48 87 56834-77, gsm +48 87 602-679-087

AUGUSTÓW Licencja "ORBIS", Rynek Zygmunta Augusta 22, tel. +48 87 6432 6 - 13 , f a x + 4 8 8 7 6 4 3 - 3 9 - 13 , e - m a i l : a u g u s t ow @ p o s t . p l , www.pbp.augustow.pl; PTTK, ul. Nadrzeczna 70a, tel. +48 87 643-38-50, tel./fax +48 87 644-74-69, e-mail: szekla@szekla.com.pl; "¯AK-TOURIST", ul. Mostowa 5, tel./fax +48 87 643-41-54, e-mail: augustow@zak-tourist.com.pl; "SZOT", ul. Konwaliowa 2, tel./fax +48 87 643-43-99, tel. +48 87 644-67-58, szot@pro.onet.pl, www.szot.pl; Przedsiêbiorstwo Produkcyjno-Us³ugowoHandlowe, ul. Nadrzeczna 62a, tel. +48 87 644-75-40, "ELA-TRAVEL", ul. ¯abia 3a , te l. /f ax +4 8 87 64 3- 55 -0 0, s: el at ra ve l@ po cz ta .o ne t. pl , www.netta.pl/elatravel/; "DOM NAUCZYCIELA ZNP", ul. 29 Listopada 9, tel. +48 87 643-40-93, fax +48 87 643-54-10, augustowdnznp@hot.pl, www.dn.augustow.pl; "STREFA", ul. Koœciuszki 42, kom. gsm +48 604-476-971; "SIROCCO", ul. Obroñców Westerplatte 9/18, tel. +48 87 643-00-84, sirocco@formica.pl, www.siroccokajaki.pl; "SZEKLA-PORT PTTK", ul. Nadrzeczna 70A, tel./fax: +48 87 643-38-50, email: biuro@szekla.pl, www.szekla.pl; "CAMPA", ul. Obroñców Westerplatte 9/36, tel./fax +48 87 643-00-85, biuro@campa.pl, www.campa.pl BARG£ÓW KOŒCIELNY "ZOOBI-TOUR", ul. Polna 13, tel. +48 87 642-40-05, e-mail : zoobi-tour@atlasnet.pl, www.zoobi-tour.com.pl BIA£OWIE¯A PTTK, ul. Kolejowa 17, tel. +48 85 681-22-95, fax +48 85 681-2624, pttkbialowieza@.wp.pl, www.pttk.bialowieza.pl; "RYŒ", ul. Krzy¿e 22, tel./fax: +48 85 681-22-49,tel. +48 85 681-24-83; "DWÓR SOPLICOWO", ul. Krzy¿e 2A, tel./fax +48 85 681-22-05, tel. +48 85 681-28-40, soplicowo@dworsoplicowo.pl, www.dwor-soplicowo.pl; "IWA", ul. Olgi Gabiec 6, tel. +48 85 681-23-03 BIA£YSTOK "OMEGA TRAVEL", ul. Œw. Rocha 14a lok.9, tel. +48 85 746-02-27, fax +48 85 744-64-68, e-mail: biuro@omegatravel.com.pl, www.omegatravel.com.pl; "DYLI¯ANS", ul. Waryñskiego 6 lok.18, tel./fax: +48 85 744-63-32, tel. +48 85 652-29-76; "BIACOMEX", ul. Elewatorska 11/1, tel.fax:+48 85 661-28-66, tel./fax: +48 85 661-27-33, transport@biacomex.pl, www.biacomex.pl; "BIAL-TUR", ul. Krakowska 17, tel. +48 85 742-43-51, +48 85 744-52-52, fax +48 85 745-55-99, e-mail: biuro@bialtur.pl, www.bialtur.pl; "HOLIDAY TRAVEL", ul. Sienkiewicza 3, tel./fax +48 85 743-5 1-13, tel. +48 85 653-76-46; "ELLA-TUR", ul. Lipowa 5 1/11, tel./fax +48 85 744-50-42, tel. +48 85 652-04-71, ellatur@poczta.onet.pl; "NATURE TRAVEL", ul. Wyszyñskiego 2/1, tel. +48 85 744-45-62, fax +48 85 7 44-45-34, e-mail: nattrav@masuren.travel.pl, www.masuren.travel.pl; "JUNIOR", ul. Sienkiewicza 22, tel./fax: + 48 85 74157-20, tel. + 48 85 653-76-87, e-mail:biuro@junior.bialystok.pl, www.bialowieza.net.pl; "EUREKA", ul. Warszawska 57, tel./fax +48 85 743-2876, tel. +48 85 732-40-31, www.eureka.bialystok.pl; "CLASIC TRAVEL AGENCY", ul. Towarowa 16/67, tel./fax +48 85 732-58-78; "INVEST-NORD", ul Grochowa 11, tel./fax +48 85 651-95-95, tel. +48 85 652-00-88, invest@investnord.com.pl, www.investnord.com.pl; Biuro Podró¿y i Turystyki, Al. Pi³sudskiego 2a, tel./fax +48 85 651-58-53; Regionalna Dyrekcja Lasów Pañstwowych w Bia³ymstoku, ul. Lipowa 51, tel. +48 85 652-04-71, tel. + 48 85 744-63-35; Spó³dzielnia Us³ug Socjalnych, ul. Lipo wa 4, tel./fax +48 85 741-30-24; "IMPERIA", ul. Lipowa 32a/36, tel./fax +48 85 744-54-67; Bia³ostockie Przedsiêbiorstwo Us³ug Socjalnych Budownictwa, ul. Antoniuk Fabryczny 40/48, tel./fax +48 85 654-24-52; "RAMIS-BORT", ul. Œw. Rocha 13/15 lok.11 5, tel. +48 85 744-64-49, fax +48 85 746-00-24; "ALMATURBIA£YSTOK", ul. Zwierzyniecka 12, tel. +48 85 742-89-43, fax +48 85 744-8488, bialystok@almatur.pl, www.almatur.pl; "NOWATOR", ul. Sk³odowskiejCurie 13, tel. +48 85 742-63-36, fax +48 85 742-69-56, www.nowator.com.pl; "SIGMA", ul. Œw. Rocha 10a lok.11 1, tel. +48 85 744-62-86; "ROYAL", ul. Lipowa 19/21 lok. 114, tel./fax +48 85 744-50-50, www.royal-tour.pl; "WIKTORIA", ul. Wyszyñskiego 2 lok.47, tel. +48 85 744-43-58, fax +48 85 745-16-35, wiktoria_travel@poczta.onet.pl, www.wiktoria.travel.pl; "STANLEY SPORT T R A V E L " , u l . N i e d Ÿ w i e d z i a 5 6 a , t e l . + 4 8 8 5 74 3 - 4 7 - 4 3 , jurekkodej@poczta.onet.pl; "GAJA TRA VEL", ul. Pla¿owa 85/1, tel./fax +48 85 740-66-61, tel. +48 85 740-66-60; "JUVENTUR" s. c., ul. Boh. Monte Cassino 5, tel. +48 85 742-78-31, fax +48 85 742-74-17; "OMEGA", ul. Sienkiewicza 18, tel. +48 85 743-62-72, +48 85 742-50-81; "UŒMIECH", ul. Œw. Andrzeja Boboli 90/21, tel. +48 85 663-41-12; "KOSMOS" ul. Lipowa 51 lok. 25, tel. +48 85 7 44-

ACCOMMODATION
(classified)

AUGUSTÓW WARSZAWA***, ul. Zdrojowa 1; tel. +48 87 643-36-57, e-mail:
hotel_warszawa@hot.pl, www.hotelaugustow.home.pl; WOJCIECH***, ul. Wojciech 15, tel. +48 87 644-72-37, fax +48 87 643-73-27, e-mail: ecebe@augustow-wojciech.pl, www.augustow-wojciech.pl BIA£OWIE¯A BIA£OWIESKI***, ul. Waszkiewicza 218 B; tel. +48 85 7 44-43-80, e-mail: incoming@hotel.bialowieza.pl; www.hotel.bialowieza.pl; ¯UBRÓWKA****, ul. Gabiec 6; tel./fax +48 85 681-25-70; e-mail: recepcja@hotel-zubrowka.pl, www.hotel-zubrowka.pl; Kemping U MICHA£A*, ul. Krzy¿e 11, tel. +48 85 681-27-03 BIA£YSTOK GO£ÊBIEWSKI****, ul. Pa³acowa 7, tel. +48 85 743-54-35, e-mail: bialystok@golebiewski.pl, www.golebiewski.pl; CRISTAL***, ul. Lipowa 3; tel. +48 85 742-50-61, e-mail: cristal@cristal.com.pl, www.cristal.com.pl; GROMADA**, Al. Jana Paw³a II 77; tel. +48 85 651-16-41, www.gromada.pl, www.hotel-gromada-lesny.com.pl; MOSiR**, ul. Wo³odyjowskiego 5; tel. +48 85 742-26-29; TURKUS**, ul. Jana Paw³a II 54, tel. +48 85 651-32-78, www.jard.pl; BETON-STAL*, ul. 27 Lipca 24/1; tel./fax +48 85 675-06-01; Szkolne Schronisko M³odzie¿owe, Al. Pi³sudskiego 7b, tel. +48 85 652-42-50, e-mail: ssm@ssm.bialystok.ids.pl, www.ssm.bialystok.ids.pl; TRIO***, ul. Hurtowa 3, tel. +48 85 745-40-50, fax +48 85 742-08-34, hotel@hotel3trio.pl, www.hotel3trio.pl

BIELSK PODLASKI UNIBUS **, ul. Widowska 4; tel./fax +48 85 730-03-02, email: recepcja@unibus.com.pl, www.unibus.com.pl.

£OM¯A GROMADA ***, ul. Rz¹dowa 1a; tel. +48 86 216-54-51, e-mail:
polonez@gromada.pl, www.gromada.pl.

PI¥TNICA Motel ZACISZE **, 18-421 Pi¹tnica Poduchowna, ul. Stawiskowska
51; tel. +48 86 219-27-77, e-mail: info@motel-zacisze.com, www.motelzacisze.com. SUWA£KI DOM NAUCZYCIELA **, ul. Koœciuszki 120, tel. +48 87 566-69-00, www.domnauczyciela.suwalki.pl. STARY FOLW ARK Kemping PTTK* (Oœrodek turystyki wodnej. Sezonowy), Stary Folwark 55; tel. +48 87 563-77-27; Z£OTORIA U DELFINY**, tel. +48 85 719-29-52, fax +48 85 719-18-22, e-mail: stacjapaliwnalewajko@wp.pl, www.nalewajko.pl The complete list of accommodation possibilities is available in the evidences of Municipal Offices throughout the province.

CONTACTS
HORSEBACK RIDING
(STABLES)
BIA£ORZECZKA K.GIB: tel. +48 87 516-53-51; BIERNATKI: stadnina koni, Biernatki 7, tel. +48 87 644-54-82, gsm +48 0600 948-711; LESZCZEWO: Wigierski Oœrodek Turystyki Konnej - tel.+48 87 563-70-46; P£OCICZNO TARTAK: Gospodarstwo Agroturystyczne, tel. +48 87 567-13-17, gsm +48 0603 165-390, "Hossa Wigry", tel. +48 87 563-92-63; PODNOWINKA: tel. +48 87 641-96-68; SUWA£KI: Oœrodek JeŸdziecki "Ortus", ul. Reymonta 149, tel. +48 87 567-4705; ¯ARNOWO: Oœrodek JeŸdziecki, ¯arnowo I 36, tel. +48 87 644-79-97, gsm +48 0691 540-147, www.stadnina.zarnowo.site.pl HORSEBACK TRAIL OF THE KNYSZYNSKA FOREST FOLWARKI TYLWICKIE: Gospodarstwo Agroturystyczne "JAWORINA", Folwarki Tylwickie 73, gsm +48 0609 208-830; KOPCE: Gospodarstwo Agroturystyczne "PIEÑKI", Kopce 62, tel. +48 85 717-99-88, gsm +48 0605 044-114; KONDYCJA: Kondycja-kolonia tel. +48 85 718-3 1-97; LIPOWY MOST: Oœrodek Rekreacyjno-Wypoczynkowy "Golf Park", Lipowy Most, tel. +48 0505 025-150; KOPNA GÓRA Kopna Góra - leœniczówka tel. +48 85 713-1 5-77, +48 0691 693437; Oœrodek Szkoleniowo-Rekreacyjny Akademii Medycznej, tel. +48 85 71831-53, +48 0607 341-108; SURA¯KOWO "Ritowisko", Sura¿kowo 37, tel. +48 85 710-87-60, gsm +48 0502 762-642, gsm +48 0501 273-103, www.ritowisko.com; SUPRAŒL Oœrodek JeŸdziecki MKS "Sprz¹œla", ul. Bia³ostocka, tel. +48 85 718-38-54; STUDZIANKI JeŸdziecki Klub Sportowy "Ocean Studzianki", gsm +48 0603 381-117; CZARNA WIEŒ KOŒCIELNA ul. ks. Szapela

24

HORSEBACK TRAIL OF THE AUGUSTOWSKA FOREST

(k. koœcio³a), tel. +48 85 710-25-02, 710-90-49; JUROWCE Klub JeŸdziecki "Kres", ul. Lipowa 29, tel. +48 85 749-12-90, gsm +48 602 673-1 74; LEÑCE Leñce-kolonia 32, tel. +48 85 651-65-65; 85 719-75-75; KRYNICE Stadnina Koni "Krynice", tel. +48 85 749-10-08, gsm +48 0602 369-140 OTHER STABLES AND HORSEBACK RIDING CENTERS BUDZISKO Budzisko 8, tel. + 48 87 568-10-86; GIENIUSZE Klub JeŸdziecki "Bik", tel. +48 85 711-18-65; GRZÊDY leœniczówka, tel. +48 86 261-90-60; IGNATKI Klub JeŸdziecki Bia³ystok, Kleosin, ul.JeŸdziecka tel. +48 85 663-29-094, gsm +48 0609 462-504; KISIELNICA Oœrodek Hipoterapii "Kisielnica", tel. +48 86 21915-10, gsm +48 0606 231-270; KOŒCIUKI Oœrodek "Mierzynek", Koœciuki kolonia 33a, tel. +48 85 719-34-13; MARKOWSZCZYZNA Klub JeŸdziecki "ELAM", Markowszczyzna 2, tel. +48 85 650-42-92, gsm +48 0501 79 1=218, 0508 073-80; Towarzystwo Mi³oœników Jazdy Konnej, Markowszczyzna 18, tel. +48 85 868-40-86, 732-73-20; NIEWODNICA KOŒCIELNA Klub JeŸdziecki "Dafne", ul.Topole 1, tel. +48 85 663-24-18, gsm +48 0604 410-955; Trejgo Barbara, ul. D¹browskiego 4, tel. +48 85 663-25-52; PENTOWO tel. +48 85 718-16-29; POMYGACZE Rancho Margerita, Pomygacze 43, tel. +48 85 650-5019; STACJA LEWICKIE Oœrodek Hodowlano-JeŸdziecki "Kmicic", tel/fax +48 85 676-26-34; TUROŒÑ KOŒCIELNA Szwadron Kawalerii im.Dywizji "Zaza", tel. +48 0604 560-334

TOURIST EQUIPMENT RENTALS
AUGUSTÓW: AGA-TO, ul. Wojska Polskiego 14a, tel. +48 87 644-54-72, +48 0505
639-466, bicycles, rollers; KANU, ul. Zarzecze 8a, tel/fax +48 87 643-25-30, gsm +48 0603 602-825; NECKO, ul. Chreptowicza 3/39, tel/fax +48 87 644-5639, 643-02-22, gsm +48 0603 378-903, kayaks, parachutes; MOSiR, ul. Tytoniowa 1, tel. +48 87 643-37-91, tourist equipment, cable-car for water skiers; PPHU, Jan Wojtuszko, ul. Nadrzeczna 62a, tel. +48 87 644-75-40, kayaks; SZEKLA-PORT, ul. Nadrzeczna 70a tel/fax +48 87 643-38-50, tourist equipment, SZOT, ul.Konwaliowa 2 tel/fax +48 87 643-43-99, 644-67-58, sport equipment, TRAMP, ul. Nadrzeczna, tel/fax +48 87 644-65-08 kayaks, canoe, yachts, water sports equipment. BIA£OWIE¯A: AT "Zimorodek", ul. Waszkiewicza 2, tel. +48 85 681-24-57, gsm +48 0604 187-894, bicykle, service; BUT PTTK, ul. Kolejowa 17, tel. +48 85 681-22-95, www.pttk.bialowieza.pl, bicycles; GAWRA, zajazd, ul. gen.Polecha 2, tel. +48 85 681-28-04, www.gawra.bialowieza.pl, bicycles; UNIKAT, ul. Waszkiewicza 39, tel/fax +48 85 681-27-41, www .unikat.bialowieza.pl, bicycles; ZSL, boarding school, Park Dyrekcyjny, tel. +48 85 681-27-01, bicycles. BIA£YSTOK: BTC "KAJAK", ul.Piastowska 17/71, tel. +48 85 732-67-88, gsm +48 0604 122-194, kayaks; CARO, ul. Rubonowicza 4, tel. +48 85 675-49-26, car rentals; INTER-CAMPING-TRANS, ul.Wiewiórcza 66, tel. +48 85 743-49-95, camping cars; MOSiR, ul. Wo³odyjowskiego 5, tel. +48 85 742-26-29, fax. +48 85 742-80-43, water sports equipment, ice-skates; PLUS, ul. Upalna 86/27, tel. +48 0601 827-788, cars; RO PTTK, ul. Waryñskiego 30, tel/fax +48 85 744-5650, toursit equipment. DROHICZYN: Markiewicz Andrzej, tel. +48 85 655-75-24, water sports equipment. DZIKIE: Narwiañski Lowland Skiing Center, tel. +48 85 719-12-99, crosscountry skis. FR¥CKI: PTTK, harbor, tel. +48 87 643-455, tourist equipment GAWRYCH RUDA: M£ODZIE¯OWY OW, tel. +48 87 563-93-15, water sports equipment; PTTK, harbor, tel. +48 87 563-92-60, tourist equipment; U JAWORA, Gawrych Ruda 40, tel. +48 87 565-02-60, 566-94-18, water sports equipment. GONI¥DZ: OKSiW, Stary Rynek 23, tel. +48 86 272-00-021, kayaks.

HAJNÓWKA: OSiR, ul. Dziewiatowskiego 2, tel. +48 85 682-36-95, tourist
equipment; ORZECHOWSKI, ul. Pi³sudskiego 14, tel. +48 85 682-27-58, fax. +48 85 682-23-94, bicycles. JELENIEWO: SZELMENT, tel. +48 87 568-32-71, fax. +48 85 568-34-00, tourist equipment. KUROWO:NPN, tel. +48 85 718-14-17, kayaks, sailing boats,. LIPSK: M-GOK, Rynek 23, tel. +48 85 642-35-86, kayaks, rafts,. £APY: OKF, ul. Leœnikowska 18, tel.+48 85 715-24-75, kayaks, ice-skates, tents. £OM¯A: PTTK, ul. Wojska Polskiego 1, tel/fax. +48 862166442, tourist equipment. NAREWKA: OSiR, +48 85 685-80-62, bicycles. OSOWIEC: BPN, Osowiec-Twierdza 8, BPN, tel. +48 865 272-06-20, 272-06-21, kayaks, Siemiatycze: MOSiR, ul. Nadrzeczna 29, tel. +48 85 656-10-44, fax. 6552665, tourist equipment, SOKÓ£KA: MOSiR, ul.Wodna 20, tel. +48 85 711-25-67, water sports equipment. STARY FOLW ARK: FORMA-T, Stary Folwark 55b, tel. +48 87 5653968, tourist equipment; PTTK Oddzia³ Suwa³ki, tel.+48 87 5637727, 5665961, www.suwalki.pttk.pl, tourist equipment SUPRAŒL: Fiedziukiewicz Zdzis³aw, ul. Cieliczañska, tel. +48 857183918, gsm 0607341108, kayak. SURA¯: TPSiO, Tadeusz Ho³owienko, ul. Pi³sudskiego 22, tel. +48 85 650-35-64, kayaks SZTABIN: ul. Karola Brzostowskiego 7, tel. +48 85 0607 601-415, e-mail: diodak5@op.pl, kayaks. SUWA£KI: HOBBIT s.c.,ul.Chopina 4/89, tel. +48 85 567-88-97, www.hobbit.suwalki.com.pl., kayaks; POTOK, ul.Daszyñskiego 9b/13, tel/fax. +48 85 567-24-01, kayaks; SIRT, ul.Koœciuszki 45, tel. +48 85 566-5494, bicycles; TANDEM, ul. Koœciuszki 130, bicycles. TURTUL: SPK, tel. +48 87 569-18-01, tel/fax. +48 85 569-18-02, bicycles, crosscountry skis, UHOWO: KAYLON, ul. Kolejowa 8, tel. +48 85 715-53-08, 0600335866, kayaks, canoe, transport. WIZNA: Borawski Zenon, ul.Czarnieckiego 109, tel. +48 85 219-60-76, kayaks.

INDOOR SWIMMING POOLS
AUGUSTÓW: Sports and Recreation Center - ul. Sucharskiego 15, tel. +48 87
643-67-59; “Atlantis” - aquapark "Delfin" hotel, ul. Turystyczna 81, tel. +48 87 644-31-12, www.hotel-delfin.com.pl; BIA£YSTOK: Municipal Center of Sports and Recreation - ul. W³ókiennicza 4, tel. +48 85) 652-35-61; ul. Mazowiecka 39c, tel. +48 85 742-46-7 4; ul. Stroma l, tel. +48 85) 663 66 88; ul. Zwyciêstwa 28m, tel. +48 85 651-19-36; ul. Baranowicka 203, +48 85 741-8019; Tropicana (indoor swimming pool) - hotel Go³êbiewski - ul. Pa³acowa 7, tel. +48 85 743-54-35; BIELSK PODLASKI: Municipal Swimming Pool "Wodnik", ul. Kazimierzowska 3B, tel. +48 85 731-99-50 do 69; SIEMIATYCZE: ul. Nadrzeczna 29, tel. +48 85 656-10-44; SOKÓ£KA: ul. Mariañska 31, tel. +48 85 711 25 71; SUWA£KI: ul. Wojska Polskiego 2, tel. +48 87 565-02-36; ZAMBRÓW: Municipal Swimming Pool "Delfin" - ul. Wyszyñskiego 6B, tel./fax +86 276-1 0-69, www.basendelfin.com.pl

AVIATION TOURISM
BIA£YSTOK FLYING CLUB: ul. Cio³kowskiego 2, tel. +48 85 742-60-19, fax +48 85 742-85-92 (motorglides, sport planes, gliders); SUWA£KI FLYING CLUB: ul. Wojczyñskicgo l, tel. +48 87 566-52-29, email:aerosuw@az.suwalki.tpsa.pl; BALLOON CLUB ASSOCIATION:
Bia³ystok, ul. Krakowska 9a, tel. +48 85 745-72-58, gsm +48 0602 176-1 73,

WATER TOURISM
SHIP TRIPS ON WIGRY LAKE:: gsm +48 0602 633-092, www.wigry.war.pl; GONDOLA TRIPS: : Port Gondoli - Augustów, ul. Portowa l, gsm +48 0606 997625, 0605 064-339;

BUG: Siemiatycze, tel. +48 85 655-70-60. RAFTING: GONI¥DZ: ECO-TRAVEL, ul. Koœciuszki 26/11,tel. +48 0604 304-221,
e-mail: eco-travel@biebrza.com,www.biebrza.com/eco-travel; HAMULKA (k. D¹browy Bia³ostockiej): tel. +48 85 712-90-09; SZTABIN: "Agroturystyka nad Biebrz¹", ul. Polna 50, tel./fax +48 87 641-21-79, www.agroturbiebrza.fr.pl, email:agroturbiebrza@interia.pl

CABLEWAY
OGRODNICZKI k. SUPRAŒLA: "Stok", tel. +48 85 718-35-1 4.

ICE RINK
BIA£YSTOK: MOSiR ul. 11 Listopada 28, tel. +48 85 742-82-3