You are on page 1of 3


Shiva tattva - the very principle of the supreme divine object, the divine "Self", the first creative movement of the Inexpressible and Indescribable. 2. Shakti tattva - the bliss of Shiva, expressed by the experience of the Self in the dynamics of existence, which is bliss. Shiva and Shakti tattvas are one whole. 3. Sadashiva tattva - the experience "I am this entire world", "I am this entire universe". 4. Ishvara tattva - "the universe is my own manifestation". The difference between sadashiva tattva and ishvara tattva is that the former accentuates "I", and the latter "all the universe".

5. Shuddhavidya tattva - The Suddha Vidhya or Supreme knowledge is known as sakti" . The experience "I am I, this universe is this universe. I am Shiva, this universe is a fruit of duality (2) The Subtle body (7 tattvas) 6. Maya tattva. Beginning with this level, the true divine nature is hidden. On this plane "I" and "this" are seen not as all, but as something definite, separate from others. Maya is all that causes duality. It enables the existence of the next five tattvas, five veils covering the one who experiences. 7. Kala tattva. Under the influence of this veil the one who experiences /feels that he is not capable of everything, that he cannot

do everything in the world. 8. AVidya - limitation of knowledge. Because of this veil there is a feeling, "I do not know everything in the world, I know only something definite". 9. Raga - this tattva causes a feeling of incompleteness. "I am incomplete and experience dissatisfaction because of that. To gain completeness and contentment, I must have this and do that". 10. Kaala - this tattva places a time limit on existence. Due to this veil a feeling of "the past", "the present" and "the future" appears, as well as a feeling of the finiteness of existence. 11. Niyati - this tattva causes a feeling of localisation in space, "I am here, and not in

some other place, and certainly not in every point of infinite space". 12. Purusha tattva - the very principle of the existence of a limited, separate creature, a separate subject, a separate somebody who experiences. (3) The Gross body (24 elements) 13. Prakriti tattva - the principle of the existence of objectivity, a separate experience. Another name for this tattva is "nature". These are followed by tattvas of the mental equipment of living beings. 14. Ahamkara - the principle of ego. However, unlike purusha, this principle is connected with objectivity rather than subjectivity: "I did this, I didn't do that, I will have to do something else".

Emphasising on "I" or the self factor beyond the required limit 15. Buddhi - the intellect. This is what enables us to analyse and make decisions 16. Manas - the mind. This is what enables us to think. For example, "This is a table", "I am eating an apple", etc. These are followed by tattvas of sensory perception. 17. Tvak - Sense of Touch. 18. Chakshu -Sight 19. Srotra.- Hearing 20. Jihva- Sense of taste. 21. Graana -Sense of smell. Next are the five powers of action: 22. Vaak- Speech 23. Paani-Movement 24. Paadha - Direction. 25. payu -Creation.

26. upastha -Discrimination. These are followed by five tanmatras, or principles of the existence of five material elements: 27. Sabhda- Sound. 28. Sparsa-Touch. 29.Rupa- Colour. 30. Rasa- Taste. 31. Gandha -Smell. And the manifestation ends with five material elements: 32. Akaasa- Ether. 33. Vaayu- Air. 34. Agni- Fire. 35. Salila- Water. 36. Prithivi Earth.