You are on page 1of 14

Web

So Near, but what a year

Ballina Team that faced Youghal in the Munster IHC Final in Mallow on Sunday 17th November 2013

On November 17th, Ballinas Hurling year came to a close in Mallow. While there was dissapointment that a Munster championship did not come to the parish, there was also great pride. The year turned out to be a great for the club. The North & County Intermediate Hurling Championships were won for the first time. The club also won its first County Minor Hurling Championship adding to the North title. An All-ireland came to the parish in June, when the Under-14 camogie team won Division 4 of the Feile. At Juvenile level Our under-12 hurlers & under-14 footballers won north titles. In the handball alley, many County, Provincial & All-Ireland titles were won. Intermediate Since our last edition, the only game played was the Munster Final in Mallow against Cork Premier Intermediate Champions Youghal. This was Volume 4 December 2013

a close game through-out, Youghal scored a goal at either end of the first half, while in between Ballina dominated most of the half. Half-time: Ballina 1-7, Youghal 2-6 Youghal started the second half stronger, outscoring Ballina 3 points to 1. Ballina kept battling and a goal midway through the second half, left the bare minimum between the sides. However Youghal regained control and went to record a 3-point victory. Well done to Youghal on their victory. Since then they have won the All-Ireland Quarter Final against Saint Gabriels of London in London. Best of luck to Youghal in the All-Ireland semi-final in January. Well done to the Ballina Intermediate Panel & Backroom team. From the start of the year, they have represented themselves, their families, the club and the county with skill, determination sportsmanship & honour. They have made many people very happy and proud with their efforts over the year. Congratulations to all of you. Continued on Page 2... Page 1

ballina.gaatipperary

@ballinagaa

Web

Whats In the Review


So Near, but what a year .......................................... 1 Whats In the Review................................................ 2 2013 Club Officers .................................................... 2 Scoreboard of the Year ............................................. 3 A seasonal message from the Chairperson. ............. 4 Second Level Schools ................................................ 4 Ballina Camogie Club ................................................ 5 Picture Gallery from Mallow .................................... 5 Action Photos from Mini Game at half-time in Mallow ...................................................................... 6 Ballina Handball Club ................................................ 6 Fundraising ............................................................... 7 Ballina people to the fore....Michael Fenton............ 8 Club AGM................................................................ 10 Juvenile Club ........................................................... 11 2014 Events ............................................................ 12 Keep up to date ...................................................... 12 Blast from the Past: ................................................ 13 Christmas Gift Ideas................................................ 14
From Page 1...

Thomas Collins & Donal Kent Compete with Youghal players in the Munster Final.

That means that the curtain has come down on the year, but we still have to work hard to make sure we build on the successes of 2013.

2013 Club Officers


2013 Adult Club Officers Chairperson Secretary Treasurer PRO Sarah Devane John Gleeson Caroline McKeogh Carmel Bradshaw sarahdev26@hotmail.com secretary.ballina.tipperary@gaa.ie cazmckeogh@gmail.com pro.ballina.tipperary@gaa.ie 2013 Juvenile Club Officers Chairman Secretary Eamonn Power Eileen Breen egpower71@gmail.com ballinagaajuv@eircom.net Treasurer Sharon Donnelly sharon.odonovan@odonovaninsurances.com

The club also received a huge amount of goodwill & good luck message from club members and other clubs. These were texts, tweets, facebook message etc & thanks to each of you. Intermediate Hurling League & Under-21 Hurling Championship Dissapointly Ballina, were unable to field in the Quarter Finals of these competitions against Clonakenny (Co IHL QF) & Portroe (North Under21HC QF).

Volume 4 December 2013

Page 2

ballina.gaatipperary

@ballinagaa

Web

Scoreboard of the Year


Date
Sun 17/02/13 Sat 23/02/13 Sat 03/03/13 Sat 09/03/13 Wed 20/03/13 Sat 23/03/13 Sun 07/04/13 Fri 19/04/13 Sat 20/04/13 Wed 24/04/13 Sat 27/04/13 Wed 01/05/13 Sat 04/05/13 Mon 06/05/13 THU 16/05/13 Sun 19/05/13 Thu 23/05/13 Sun 02/06/13 Fri 21/06/13 Thu 27/06/13 Sat 29/06/13 Tue 09/07/13 Thu 11/07/13 Sat 13/07/13 Thu 18/07/13 Sat 20/07/13 Sat 03/08/13 Tue 06/08/13 Sat 10/08/13 Mon 19/08/13 SUN 25/08/13 Tue 03/09/13 SUN 15/09/13 Sat 21/09/13 Sun 22/09/13 Sat 28/09/13 Sun 06/10/13 Sat 12/10/13 Sun 13/10/13 Sun 20/10/13 Sun 27/10/13 Sat 02/11/13 Sun 03/11/13 Sun 10/11/13 Sun 17/11/13 Sat 23/11/13 Sun 24/11/13

Competition
Nth U21BFC Grp 1 Rd 1 Nth U21BFC Grp 1 Rd 2

Co IHL Grp 2 Rd 1
Nth U21BFC Grp 1 P/O

Co IHL Grp 2 Rd 2
Nth U21BFC S-final

Co IHL Grp 2 Rd 3 Nth JBHL Grp 1 Rd 2 Nth MAFC Grp Rd 2 Nth MAFC Grp Rd 3 Co IHC Grp 3 Rd 1 Nth MAFC Grp Rd 1 Co IHC Grp 3 Rd 2 Nth JBHL Grp 1 Rd 3 NTH MAFC FINAL Nth JBHL Grp 1 Rd 4 Nth JBHL Grp 1 Rd 1 Nth JBHL Grp 1 Rd 5 Co IHC Grp 3 Rd 3 Nth MBHC Grp 1 Rd 1 Nth JBHC Grp 2 Rd 3 Co IHL Grp 2 Rd 5 Nth MBHC Grp 1 Rd 2 Nth JBHC Grp 2 Rd 1 Nth MBHC Grp 1 Rd 4 Co IHC Grp 3 Rd 5 Nth JBHC Grp 2 Rd 2 Nth MBHC Grp 1 Rd 5 Nth IHC S-final Nth MBHC Q Final NTH IHC FINAL Nth MBHC S-final NTH MBHC FINAL Nth JBHC Grp 2 Rd 5 Co IHC Q Final Co IHC S-final Co MBHC S-final Nth JBHC S-final CO IHC FINAL CO MBHC FINAL Munster IHC Q Final NTH JBHC FINAL Munster IHC S-final Nth U21BHC Rd 1 MUNSTER IHC FINAL Nth U21BHC Q Final Co IHL Q Final

Venue Moneygall Lorrha Ballina Ballina Templetuohy Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Newport Moneygall Dolla Dolla Templederry PORTROE Ballina Shallee Toomevara Tipperary Town Dolla Kilcolman Bansha Ballina Portroe Borrisokane Drombane Newport Ballina Dolla Puckane NENAGH Puckane DOLLA Kilcolman The Ragg Drombane Gortnahoe Nenagh SEMPLE STADIUM SEMPLE STADIUM Bruff NEWPORT Nenagh Portroe MALLOW Puckane

Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina BALLINA Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina BALLINA Ballina BALLINA Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina Ballina BALLINA BALLINA Ballina BALLINA Ballina Ballina BALLINA Ballina Ballina

Score 1-08 V 5-10 W/O V Scr 1-17 V 0-13 4-11 V 2-06 0-09 V 3-15 0-04 V 1-07 W/O V Scr 1-17 V 2-08 W/O V Scr 2-06 V 2-09 0-13 V 0-12 2-13 V 2-06 3-15 V 0-15 0-08 V 2-17 2-03 V 2-09 2-10 V 0-14 3-13 V 1-13 2-16 V 2-16 W/O V Scr 0-12 V 1-13 3-16 V 2-09 W/O V Scr 2-16 V 0-09 4-22 V 1-09 0-21 V 1-12 W/O V Scr W/O V Scr 1-12 V 1-09 4-19 V 4-16 2-18 V 2-14 1-20 V 1-11 2-14 V 0-06 1-16 V 0-15 2-06 V 0-12 2-21 V 2-12 0-19 V 2-11 1-16 V 0-09 3-18 V 2-16 (AET) 3-12 V 0-20 3-12 V 3-10 1-12 V 0-14 1-10 V 0-16 3-19 V 0-15 0-04 V 7-21 2-10 V 2-13 Scr V W/O Scr V W/O

Opposition Moneygall/Clonakenny Lorrha/Dorrha Ballinahinch Moneygall/Clonakenny Moyne/Templetuohy Ballinahinch Gaels Ballybacon/Grange Kilruane MacDonaghs Nenagh ire g Newport Gaels Moyne/Templetuohy Inane Rovers Drom/Inch Templederry Kenyons NEWPORT GAELS Portroe Ballinahinch Toomevara Saint Marys Clonmel Silvermines Newport Galtee Rovers/Saint Pecaun Portroe Nenagh ire g Borrisokane Father Sheehys Ballinahinch Burgess Ballinahinch Lorrha/Dorrha SHANNON ROVERS Shannon Rovers Gaels BURGESS Portroe Clonakenny Lattin/Cullen Gaels Ballybacon/Grange Silvermines MOYNE/TEMPLETUOHY SEAN TREACYS/EMLY Dromin/Athlacca (Limerick) TEMPLEDERRY KENYONS Saint Brendans (Kerry) Ballinahinch Gaels YOUGHAL (CORK) Portroe Clonaenny

Volume 4 December 2013 ballina.gaatipperary

Page 3 @ballinagaa

Web

A seasonal message from the Chairperson.


In what has been a truly memorable year for Ballina I would just like to congratulate all Ballina players for their commitment to the Club over the past year at every level both juvenile, camogie and adult. The club is in a very healthy position and does I believe have huge potential going forward.We are a very strong presence in our community and must continue to be so by always being welcoming and inclusive. A special word of thanks and appreciation to our Intermediate panel and their Management team who have given us such entertainment and pride and joy in their achievements. We look forward to calling them the Senior team from now on. Thanks too to our county winning Minor teammany of whom will surely feature on our senior team in years to come. Our supporters have also starred this year...thank you all! including our under age players who provided the guards of honour. On behalf of all the club officers I would like to take this opportunity to thank all coaches, mentors, parents and everyone involved with any club teams for their hard work and dedication. Wishing everyone in Ballina and Boher a happy Christmas, safe driving and a prosperous and healthy New year. Regards Sarah Devane (Chairperson)

Second Level Schools

Ballina players have been busy with local schools in the Munster Under-18 B Hurling Championship. The majority of players have backboned the St. Annes team which have reached the Quarter Finals. Of course there was an interest in Nenagh & Newport progress too. Below is a brief look at the results to date. Results: St Annes Killaloe 6-12 Nenagh CC 1-6; St Annes Killaloe 1-14 Borrisokane 1-9; Borrisokane 219 Nenagh CC 3-14; St Annes Kilaloe 4-17 P AC Mallow 4-11; Ac P Mallow 2-14 Nenagh CC 2-14; Rice College Ennis 1-13 St. Annes Killaloe 0-10; St Marys Newport 4-17 Borrisoleigh 2-9; St Annes CC 1-18 Abbey CBS 0-09; Newport 6-15 Roscrea C.C. 1-8
Group A St Annes Killaloe Borrisokane CC Ac Phadraig Mallow Rice College Ennis Abbey CBS Nenagh CC Played 5 5 5 5 5 5 Points 8 7 6 4 4 1 Group B St. Marys Newport Roscrea CC Borrisoleigh Col Treasa Kanturk MICC Dunmanway Played 4 4 4 4 4 Points 8 6 4 1 1 Senior B Hurling Quarter Finals: A: Borrisokane CC V Cashel CC B: St Caimins Shannon V Kilmallock C: St. Josephs Tulla V St Marys Newport D: St Annes Killaloe V Roscrea CC Harty Cup Quarter Final: A: Ard Scoil Ris V Our Ladys Templemore B: Dungarvan CBS V Hamilton HS Bandon C: Charleville CBS V Doon D: Thurles CBS V St Francis College Rochestown Harty Cup & Senior B Hurling Semi-finals: Winner A V Winner B; Winner C V Winner D

Anyone attending Munster GAA Post-Primary Schools matches can send updates or results via Twitter to @MunsterGAA The new school AstroTurf at St. Annes is proving a great addition to facilities locally and has been used by the Ballina club, Intermediates and Minors in the latter stages of their championships.
Volume 4 December 2013 ballina.gaatipperary Page 4 @ballinagaa

Web

Ballina Camogie Club


Left to Right: Katie Dunne, Eimear OBrien, Lucy McEvoy, Aoife Graham, Maeve Gilmartin, Hannah Finnerty, Leah OBrien, Hazel McMahon.

This is a photo of players and friends who are part of the Ballina U12 team, after their recent semi-final defeat in the county championship. This was the last game that Hannah Finnerty played for Ballina, as her family have now moved from the area. Best wishes to Hannah on family. No other Camogie news at the moment I think everyone is enjoying the off season break.

Picture Gallery from Mallow

Dissapointed Ballina Panel after Munster IHC Final

Section of the large crowd in Youghal

Ballina Juvenile players await the arrival of the Ballina team in Mallow

Volume 4 December 2013 ballina.gaatipperary

Page 5 @ballinagaa

Web

Action Photos from Mini Game at half-time in Mallow

Ballina Handball Club


Well done to Declan Gleeson who won county Junior B singles (40 X 20) title on November 26th in Ballinahinch. In a close match he beat David O Brien (Ballinahinch) 21/16, 14/21, 21/20. The final of the Michael Monaghan Tournament also took place recently in the Alley.

Volume 4 December 2013 ballina.gaatipperary

Page 6 @ballinagaa

Web

Fundraising Friends of Ballina


We are continuing to get great support from our Friends of Ballina GAA contributors. This scheme remains open and people are always welcome to join. Reminder to any PAYE contributors that the club can benefit from a significant tax rebate bonus if they complete the forms sent out with their acknowledgement letters and return them to the club. Please contact a committee member if additional forms are required.

Strictly Come dancing


Think you can dance? Well your big opportunity has arrived. The club is holding a Strictly Come Dancing event in March next year in partnership with Portroe GAA Club. We need dancers to take part, so contact club officers if interested. Training/Practice begins in January.

Ballina GAA & Ballina / Boher Parish Lotto


16/12/2013 JACKPOT 7,000.
200 is added each week if the jackpot is not won. There will be 3 additional 30 Lucky Dip winners Lucky Dip: 11/11/2013: Numbers Drawn: 02 / 04 / 05 / 21 Lucky Dip: 1. Peter Rogers, C/O Seanchaoi; 2. Tommy Collins C/O McKeoghs; 3. Noda OBrien, C/O TJs 4. Margaret Kennedy, Ballina; 5. Joe Kerin , On Line Winner

Lotto Venues December 2013 / January 2014


16/12: Mills, Ballina; 23/12: No Draw; 30/12: JDs, Ballina; 06/01: Liam ORiains, Ballina; 13/01: Roundhill, Boher; 20/01

Variety Concert
Recent 30 Lucky Dip Winners
09/12/2013: Numbers Drawn: 02 / 06 / 17/ 25 Lucky Dip: 1. Buddy Rose; 2. Brian Kenny; 3. Sadie McKeogh; 4. John Joe McKeogh; 5. Olivia McDonald, On Line Winner 02/12/2013 Numbers Drawn: 11 / 12 / 16 / 19 Lucky Dip: 1. Kathleen Moylan, C/O Roundhill; 2. Padraig Ryan, Inchamore; 3. Darragh Mollaghan C/O Brian Boru on the Hill; 4. Tracey Gleeson, Grange; 5. Fr Ted ORahelly, On Line Winner 25/11/2013 Numbers Drawn: 08 / 18 / 24 / 26 Lucky Dip: 1. John Daly, C/O JDs; 2. Pat Lyons, Cullina; 3. Denis Crowley C/O TJs; 4. Sean Collins, C/O Collins Chemist; 5. Olivia McDonald, On Line Winner 18/11/2013 Numbers Drawn:

Sincere thanks to Sadie Scanlan and the Boru Singers for organising a lovely evening's entertainment at Brian Boru on the Hill on 7th December with all proceeds to Ballina Field development. The Boru singers will sing carols in the Milk Market in Limerick on Saturday December 21st at 11am,all proceeds to Alzheimer's and Ballina GAA.

Volume 4 December 2013 ballina.gaatipperary

Page 7 @ballinagaa

Web

Ballina people to the fore....Michael Fenton


Michael Fenton is a Ballina man, living in Dublin. He is a great supporter of the club. He is also a past president of the Tipperary association in Dublin. We asked him for some thoughts of Ballina, GAA in general and the people he met while involved with the Tipperary association. Family: Married grandchildren. Family: Came to Dublin in 1958 and have been living in Raheny, Dublin since 1975. Playing Career: I never hurled with the Ballina team. I left Ballina immediately after Leaving Cert and dont remember there being an underage or juvenile section in the club at that time. As I went to Secondary school in Limerick my hurling was confined to what is now Michael Hurleys field with my brothers and our neighbours the McKeoghs and sometimes Paddy Hurley. After leaving Ballina I first moved to Mayo and then to Dublin and hurled with teams in both areas but other interests took over which precluded me from continuing with the hurling. I wasnt really much good anyway. My earliest memory of hurling in Ballina was when the hurling field was up OBriens lane with people like Gerry Gough, Francie Hannon, Leo Mahoney and the Collins brothers. The Hawk Daly from Killaloe and Jimmy Cooke from Gortna always seemed to be the referees. Being in Dublin and Volume 4 December 2013 ballina.gaatipperary to Irene, 3 children, 4

Ballina being a far away place when you didnt have a car. I missed most of the Gerry McKeogh era but did see him play for Tipp in Croke Park. Since I am spending more time now in Ballina I have followed the teams closely over the last few years and remember the present Minor lads winning in Semple Stadium as U12s and I have supported them since then as I have the Intermediates. In Raheny, my near neighbour was Jackie Gilroy, the Dublin footballer from the 60s who was later Chairman of St Vincents and masterminded their move back to Marino from their then base in Raheny. Through Jackie I got dragged along to the St Vincents GAA Club. Jacks son Pat went on afterwards to win an All Ireland football medal with Dublin and was manager when Dublin again won in 2011. When Pat was a young fellow playing in our cul de sac he was a much better hurler than footballer but at that time hurling did not have the draw or profile in Dublin that it has now. My grandchildren now play with the Naomh Barrog club in Dublin which has a very active underage section. Favourite Hurler: This is almost impossible for me as I have been at Tipp matches since the early 50s. I remember well cycling to Birdhill and getting the train to Limerick for those great clashes between Tipp and Cork. Cork had men like Christy Ring, Josie Hartnett and Willie John Daly while Tipp had Tony Reddan, John Doyle, Tommy Doyle and Pat Stakelum. Then in later years Tony Wall, Mick Roche, Liam Devanney, then on to Donie Nealon, Jimmy Doyle, Babs Keating. They were followed by Nicky English, Pat Fox, Bobby Ryan, Tommy Dunne, Declan Ryan and the Bonners before our recent lads Brendan Cummins, Eoin Kelly and Noel McGrath. In recent years I have become a good friend of John Fenton (no relation) of Midleton and Cork, a real hurling man. Even Solomon could not pick a favourite there. Favourite Footballer:

Page 8 @ballinagaa

Web From a Tipperary perspective it has to be Declan Browne, otherwise Paudi O Se of Kerry. Favourite Handballer: No hesitation The Collins brothers Connie and Anthony. Best and worst GAA moments: Best moment divided between Munster final replay in Killarney in 1987 and winning All Ireland in 2010. Worst moment has to be the Munster final in Centenary Year 1984 and the late late Seanie O Leary goal. Like many Tipperary hurling followers I have an affinity with Munster Rugby even though I never played the game. I did play competitive hockey and cricket in Dublin and will still watch cricket on television, especially late at night. The 20 Over game can be very exciting. Favourite other sports person: Paul McGrath. A disaster when off the rails but otherwise the nicest and most obliging person you could meet, apart from being one of our greatest ever soccer players. Other Hobbies: Concerts, grandchildren. Ballina GAA Club: Ballina and Tipperary mean everything to me and the success of the Ballina teams this year has been fantastic. What an honour to be in Semple Stadium when they won the Intermediate title after so many years of trying and to see the smiles and the tears of the supporters who had followed them through thick and thin. I have been a camp follower of the present minor team since they were U12 and this year I Volume 4 December 2013 ballina.gaatipperary Theatre and playing with think I only missed one match in their hurling championship. They put pressure on the heart towards the end of the campaign but the victory in the final together with the Intermediate win must rank as the my best memory of watching Ballina. The future looks bright and the club, the mentors and officials can be justifiably proud. I also believe that Ballina GAA is providing a major social service to the local community. Looking at it slightly from the outside I see the club as being the glue that keeps the community together and is the main factor in integrating the very many new families who have settled in Ballina with the long established locals. Just ask yourself the question, what sort of community would you have if the local GAA club didnt exist. Ballina GAA can be proud of its achievements. Tipperary Association Dublin. The Association was set up in the 1930 to be a social and focal point for Tipperary people living in Dublin. While we are now a very mobile society I remember when I came to Dublin in the late 50s, you got back home only twice a year. Times were very different and consequently there was a very large population of Tipperary people in the city, many of them in the licensed trade.

Former Tipperary hurler Tony Wall with Michael Fenton in Croke Park

Page 9 @ballinagaa

Web The Association also had the purpose of hosting Tipperary teams that appeared in All Ireland Finals, because the County Board at that time did not have the finances that are available today. It is a tradition that has continued to the present day and we host teams in all grades and codes on Finals day. I have been a member of the Association for many years and served as President for a period of six years. Two highlights of my time as President are dear to me, one was hosting the senior team with the McCarthy Cup in front of 1200 guests in the Burlington Hotel in 2010 and the other was welcoming the Minor hurlers with two Ballina members Mikey Breen and Steven O Brien in 2012. Steven had also been our guest the previous year with the victorious footballers but to have two on the one team and their families and supporters from Ballina at the function was very special for me. The Association also organises the Tipperary Person of the Year Award and also the Hall of Fame Award. The winners in both catagories represent some of the finest in the Business, Cultural and Sporting life of the county. Barrett long serving Secretary of the Tipperary County Board and Alan Quinlan the Munster and Irish rugby player. We were also privileged to have winners in the same year Fr Alec Reid the now famous Peace Priest who has just died and Seamus O Riain the former President of the GAA. We were honoured to be invited by President McAleese to a reception in Aras an Uachtarain with Seamus to celebrate his award. The President and Fr Reid were friends from their time together in Clonard Monastery in Belfast. Mary and Martin McAleese are huge hurling fans and know everything about the game. I am proud to be from Ballina and I love the people and the place.

Club AGM
The club AGM will be held on Friday 10th January 2014 at 8pm in the club house. Nomination/Motion forms will not be posted out this year, instead they can be downloaded from the Clubs website from Decemeber 19th 2013. Visit www.ballina.tipperary.gaa.ie for more details. If you do not have access to the internet, please ask a friend/family member to visit the website and download a form from there. Keep an eye on the website for Juvenile/Camogie AGM dates, as well as the date for the presentation night. Ballina delegates recently attended the North & Tipperary Conventions. We wish all the officers elected at these events the very best for 2014. A number of motions were discussed and you can follow these on www.tipperary.gaa.ie

Donie Nealon, Michael Fenton & Alan Quinlan

Winners included business people Tony Ryan and Louise Kennedy, sports people Tony Wall, John Doyle, Babs Keating, Mick Kinnane, Nicky English and Jimmy Butler Coffey. John Lonergan former Governor of Mountjoy prison, Tommy Volume 4 December 2013 ballina.gaatipperary

Page 10 @ballinagaa

Web

Juvenile Club
Ballina Juvenile club held a very successful presentation night in the Lakeside Hotel on Friday 29th November (before the Late Late toy show). A large crowd of players, parents, coaches, officers & supporters attended on the night. A special presentation was made to Len Gaynor in recognition of his work as scholl coach with Ballina & Boher National school.

The guuest of honour on the night was Ballina Intermediate Hurler Pat Cosgrove. Pat presented medals to the various winning teams Nad special awards were also presented the various players of the year listed below.

U6 Special Merit Award 2013: Thomas Shanahan U7 Most Improved Hurler 2013: Darragh Ryan U7 Hurler of The Year 2013: Charlie Grace U8 Most Improved Hurler 2013: Paddy Bradley U8 Hurler of The Year 2013: Zach Egan U10 Most Improved Hurler 2013: Jack Grace U10 Hurler of The Year 2013: Cathal O'Donnell U10 Footballer of The Year 2013: Ian Larkin U11 Hurler of The Year 2013: David Grace U11 Footballer of The Year 2013: Josh Egan U12 Hurler of The Year 2013: Corey Ryan U12 Footballer of The Year 2013: Leon Kerin-Galvin U12 Special Merit Award 2013: Luke Kennedy U14 Special Merit Award 2013: Conor Bourke U14 Special Merit Award 2013: Eoghan Power U14 Special Merit Award 2013: Marc Loughran U16 Most Dedicated & Improved Player 2013: Louis Kennedy U16 Players' Footballer of The Year: Patrick O'Donovan U16 Players' Hurler of The Year: Terry O'Halloran

Volume 4 December 2013 ballina.gaatipperary

Page 11 @ballinagaa

Web

Keep up to date
Our PRO Carmel Bradshaw is a very busy lady & thanks to her work you can keep up to date with the activities in the club. Her notes appear weekly in the local Nenagh Guardian. Our websit e: www.ballina.tipperary.gaa.ie is kept up to date. We have a facebook page: ballina.gaatipperary which always has plenty of activity, photos & posts. Our twitter account (@ballingaa) also provides brief snippets of games. For up to date GAA news in Tipperary including Fixtures & Results you can visit www.tipperary.gaa.ie or www.north.tipperary.gaa.ie. The national website is www.gaa.ie

2014 Events
We have some trailers of timber to raffle in January/February. There will be a medal presentation night for our Intermediate and minor teams in February. We propose to Bike for Ballina again over the June weekend. With Ballina Killaloe celebrating the Brian Boru millennium in 2014 there are lots of of exciting sporting and cultural events planned, An opportunity here for the. Club to get involved and run an event of our own. This New Year's Eve celebrations are being organised to welcome in the Boru millennium....volunteers are needed to run (not very far) with torches early evening on New Year's Eve...it would be great to have Ballina players involved.

Thanks:
A big thanks to everyone who supplied material for this newsletter, especially Carmel Bradshaw, Paddy Collins, Sarah Devane, Michael Keely, John Gleeson, Peter King, Elaine OConnor, Eamonn Power & Ronnie Power. Thanks to those who suppplied photos & completed profiles. We hope to run this newsletter again in January and any named photos or articles you wish to see included should be emailed bealanathareview@gmail.com or to any club officer clearly marked Beal An tha Review Any observations or feedback on this issue can also be emailed to the same address. Please feel free to email this newsletter to any member of the wider Ballina GAA community whom you feel would be interested or print it for those not on email. As we approach Christmas & the New Year, we want to thank you all for supporting the club financially, vocally or through your effort on or off the field. We can look forward to 2014 with confidence, knowing that there are challenges ahead, but these will be faced and overcome with hard work. Happy Christmas & New Year to you all.
Volume 4 December 2013 ballina.gaatipperary Page 12 @ballinagaa

Web

Blast from the Past:

Ballina 1969 Under-13 County Hurling Champions: Back Row (L-R): Pat Herlihy, Tommy Mills, Tommy OBrien, John Joe Larkin, Jerry Durack, Paddy McCormack, Pat Hurley, Pat Floyd. Middle Row (L-R): Paddy Hickey, John Sheehy. John Conroy, Pat Floyd, Tom Larkin, Brendan Finch, John Sullivan, Eamon Eames. Front Row (L-R): Pat Conroy, Anthony OBrien, Paddy McKeogh, Pat Rohan (Captain), John Ryan, Michael Hurley, John Barry, Michael McKeogh Extreme Front (L-R): Noel Conroy, Michael Collins, Toms OBrien, Michael Rohan, Michael Larkin. Missing from photo Michael Gleeson. In the county final of that year Ballina beat Cashel King Cormacs. If anyone has any particular memories of that game or championship, we would love to hear them. We would also appreciate any other photos from the past and the details behind them.

Volume 4 December 2013 ballina.gaatipperary

Page 13 @ballinagaa

Web

Christmas Gift Ideas


At Christmas approaches and youre looking for a gift, here are a few gift ideas. The Egans were amongst the most recent to buy a sod. You can do likewise at www.ballina.tipperary.gaa.ie/buyasod It will help the club & make a great present for someone. Another great Christmas gift, is a 3 DVD set of the county Intermediate & Minor Hurling final as well as the Munster Intermediate Hurling Final. Commentary is by always entertaining Shane Ryan. At 20 for the set, these are a must have for any Ballina supporter. The Annual Tipperary yearbook is also out at present. The yearbook at 10 will also have a Ballina review included.

NOW
Contact Caroline McKeogh (Treasurer) or Volume December 2013 any 4club officer
ballina.gaatipperary

Page 14 @ballinagaa

Related Interests