DALLAS BAR ASSOCIATION October 19, 2005 Honorable Arlen Specter, Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 711 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 Honorable Patrick Leahy, Ranking Minority Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 433 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 Dear Senator Specter and Senator Leahy: By now, certainly you and your fellow Senators are aware that Harriet Miers was the first female lawyer to be hired by her law firm, where she eventually rose to the position of President. She was also the first woman to be elected President of the Dallas Bar Association (“DBA”), and first woman President of the State Bar of Texas. Additionally, she rose to the ranks of leadership and great respect within the American Bar Association. She has been a litigator for more than 30 years, successfully handling complex commercial matters for a variety of clients, including Microsoft, the Walt Disney Co., and the President of the United States. This was preceded by a prestigious clerkship with a United States District Judge. While serving as President of the Dallas Bar is only a one-year term, it involves many years of commitment and dedication. Most DBA Presidents (including Ms. Miers) served on the Board of Directors at least 6 years in advance of their Presidency, and a year afterward. Ms. Miers served in influential leadership positions within the DBA from 1980-1986 and remained active after that time. Ms. Miers is a lawyer’s lawyer, with a wealth of experience in commercial litigation. She is a fair and studious lawyer of great integrity. As DBA Past Presidents, we come from a variety of backgrounds and political affiliations. We have all known and worked with Ms. Miers for many years and remain impressed by her depth of knowledge of the law, and her unrelenting work ethic, as well as her commitment to the constitutional principles that make our nation great. The Past Presidents of the Dallas Bar Association listed below wholeheartedly support the nomination of Harriet Miers to the United States Supreme Court. Respectfully,

Via Facsimile (202) 228-1229

Via Facsimile (202) 224-9516

John L. Estes

Louis J. Weber Jr.

Charles P. Storey

Robert Edwin Davis

Honorable Arlen Specter Honorable Patrick Leahy October 19, 2005 Page 2

Darrell E. Jordan

Kenneth J. Mighell

W. Mike Baggett

Jerry Lastelick

Peter S. Vogel

Mark A. Shank

Robert A. Gwinn

Ralph C. “Red Dog” Jones

Nancy A. Thomas

Vincent W. Perini

Jim Burnham

Brian D. Melton

George C. Chapman

Molly Steele

Rhonda Hunter

Orrin L. Harrison III

Hon. Robert W. Jordan

Timothy W. Mountz