You are on page 1of 18

Over 200 Free Online Educational Resources (v.2.0) Warning: Very long post.

Please open in a new browser tab. Here is decades' worth of knowledge freely available online for those who love to learn. Links that fit under multiple categories are listed only once. What are your favorite sites to learn from? What sites would you add to this list? (View the original post for any future updates: http://goo.gl/8HLFw) CONTENTS: I. Top Picks II. Universities and Higher Education (updated to v.2.0 on 1/27/12) III. General Collections (updated to v.2.0 on 1/27/12) IV. How-to & DIY V. Studying with Peers VI. Online Books, eBooks, & Journals VII. Computers, Software, & Programming (updated to v.1.2 on 1/26/12) VIII. Science & Math (updated to v.2.0 on 1/27/12) IX. Logic, Words, & Memory X. Languages XI. Music (updated to v.1.2 on 1/26/12) XII. History XIII. Business, Economics, Finance, & Investing (updated to v.1.2 on 1/26/12) XIV. Food, Nutrition, & Cooking XV. Survival Tips XVI. Documentaries (updated to v.2.0 on 1/27/12) XVII. Other

=========== I. TOP PICKS Khan Academy http://www.khanacademy.org/ Academic Earth - Online courses from the world's top scholars http://academicearth.org/ TED - Technology, Entertainment, & Design http://www.ted.com/ MIT Open CourseWare http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/

Stanford Engineering Everywhere http://see.stanford.edu/see/courses.aspx Open Yale Courses http://oyc.yale.edu/ About U. - Collection of free online courses from About.com http://u.about.com/ Wikiversity http://en.wikiversity.org/wiki/Wikiversity:Main_Page YouTube EDU http://www.youtube.com/education?b=400 The Open University - Study at the OU http://www3.open.ac.uk/study/ http://openlearn.open.ac.uk/ University of the People www.uopeople.org University of Reddit http://ureddit.com/ Open Culture - The best free cultural & educational media on the web http://openculture.com/ VideoLectures - Exchange ideas & share knowledge http://videolectures.net/ CosmoLearning - Free educational website with thousands of courses & documentaries http://www.cosmolearning.com/

================================ II. UNIVERSITIES & HIGHER EDUCATION Lecture Fox - Free university lectures http://lecturefox.com/ Faculty Project - The best professors from the world's leading Universities http://facultyproject.com/ More Open Courses: OCW Search - Find free university courses online

http://www.ocwsearch.com/ Open Courseware Consortium http://www.ocwconsortium.org/ Harvard Extension School - Computer Science & Technology http://computerscience1.tv/2010/spring/ Johns Hopkins University http://ocw.jhsph.edu/ Kaplan University http://ocw.kaplan.edu/ Notre Dame http://ocw.nd.edu/ Princeton's Institute for Advanced Study http://video.ias.edu/all Tufts http://ocw.tufts.edu/ Utah State http://ocw.usu.edu/ Google in Education http://www.google.com/edu/index.html ArsDigita University - Computer science and math lectures http://aduni.org/courses/ UC Berkeley Webcast - Central service for online video & audio for learners around the globe http://webcast.berkeley.edu/ UC Berkeley Video Courses - Free education online http://education.jimmyr.com/ Capilano University http://ocw.capilanou.ca/ Carnegie Mellon Open Learning Initiative http://oli.web.cmu.edu/openlearning/ Delft University of Technology http://ocw.tudelft.nl/courses/ Rice University Connexions - A place to view and share educational modules

http://cnx.org/ Stanford on iTunes U - Stanford-related digital audio content http://itunes.stanford.edu/content/overview.html UC Irvine http://ocw.uci.edu/ UC San Diego Podcasts http://podcast.ucsd.edu/ University of Chicago's Mind Online - Thought-provoking samples of critical thinking & debate http://news.uchicago.edu/multimedia University of Colorado, Colorado Springs http://www.uccs.edu/~math/vidarchive.html University of Massachusetts http://ocw.umb.edu/ University of Michigan http://open.umich.edu/education University of Southern Queensland http://ocw.usq.edu.au/ University of Sydney - Podcast episodes http://sydney.edu.au/podcasts/2011.php University of Virginia - Podcasts & webcasts http://www.virginia.edu/uvapodcast/ University of Washington - Computer Science & Engineering http://www.cs.washington.edu/education/course-webs.html Utah Valley University - Online courses & open educational resources http://open.uvu.edu/ YouTube Channels: Stanford http://www.youtube.com/stanford Stanford Class Central - YouTube summaries of Stanford's online courses http://www.class-central.com/ UC Berkeley http://www.youtube.com/user/UCBerkeley

University of New South Wales http://www.youtube.com/user/UNSWelearning Yale http://www.youtube.com/yalecourses India's NPTEL http://www.youtube.com/user/nptelhrd

====================== III. GENERAL COLLECTIONS Udemy - Take and build online courses on any subject http://www.udemy.com/ Free Video Lectures - 800+ Online Courses and 19,000+ Videos from Top 30+ Universities on 35+ Categories http://freevideolectures.com/ 100 Intro Open Courses on Everything You've Ever Wanted to Learn http://www.bestcollegesonline.com/blog/2010/05/12/100-intro-open-courses-on-everything-youve-everwanted-to-learn/ Annotum (formerly Google's Knol) http://annotum.org/ IncrediCampus - Lectures and preparation/admission advice for college & graduate schools http://www.incredicampus.com/ Learners TV - Thousands of downloadable video lectures on liberal arts, science, engineering, and more http://www.learnerstv.com/ Online Education Database - 200 free online classes to learn anything http://oedb.org/library/beginning-online-learning/200-free-online-classes-to-learn-anything Infoplease - All the knowledge you need http://www.infoplease.com/ MERLOT - Multimedia educational resource for learning and online teaching http://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/ 101 Online Self-improvement Resources

http://www.pickthebrain.com/blog/101-self-improvement-resources/ Alison - 300 free online courses at certificate or diploma level (sign-up required) http://alison.com/

============== IV. HOW-TO & DIY WikiHow - The how-to manual that you can edit http://www.wikihow.com/ How Stuff Works http://www.howstuffworks.com/ Wonder How To http://www.wonderhowto.com/categories/ Instructables http://www.instructables.com/ Make Magazine http://www.makezine.com/ How-to Help & Videos for Dummies http://www.dummies.com/ VideoJug - Get good at life http://www.videojug.com/ How to Create a Book in Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Help:Books Let's Make Robots http://letsmakerobots.com/

==================== V. STUDYING with PEERS Open Study - Study together http://openstudy.com/ P2P University - Learn anything with your peers http://p2pu.org/en/

Study Blue - Your digital backpack http://www.studyblue.com/

================================== VI. ONLINE BOOKS, eBOOKS, & JOURNALS Google Books http://books.google.com/ WikiBooks - Open-content textbooks collection that anyone can edit http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Main_Page Project Gutenberg http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page Planet eBook - Home of free classic literature http://www.planetebook.com/about.asp Open Book Project http://openbookproject.net/ The Free Library http://www.thefreelibrary.com/ Many Books - Ad-free eBooks http://www.manybooks.net/ WorldCat - Collections & services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide http://www.worldcat.org/ iBiblio - The public's library and digital archive http://www.ibiblio.org/ LibriVox - Free public domain audiobooks http://librivox.org/ The Assayer - Web's largest catalog of books whose authors have made them available for free http://theassayer.org/ Amazon.com Free eBook Collection http://www.amazon.com/b/ref=amb_link_85650291_15?ie=UTF8&node=2245146011 Scribd - Reading and publishing evolved http://www.scribd.com/ Textbook Revolution - Student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials

http://www.textbookrevolution.org/index.php/Main_Page Directory of Open Access Journals http://www.doaj.org/ eReaderIQ - Recent non-public domain freebies & price-drop alerts http://www.ereaderiq.com/ Longform - New and classic non-fiction articles curated across the web http://longform.org/ Flatworld Knowledge - The first and largest publisher of free & open textbooks http://www.flatworldknowledge.com/

======================================= VII. COMPUTERS, SOFTWARE, & PROGRAMMING W3Schools - The world's largest web development site http://www.w3schools.com/ Google Code University http://code.google.com/edu/ The New Boston - Step-by-step tutorials for multiple coding languages http://thenewboston.org/ UDacity - CS 101 http://www.udacity.com/ PHP Academy http://www.youtube.com/user/phpacademy Better PHP http://www.youtube.com/betterphp NetTuts+ - A large collection of coding tutorials http://nettuts.com/ Tutorial Guide - The site for all your tutorial needs http://www.tutorialguide.net/ Codecademy - Fun & interactive way to learn how to code http://www.codecademy.com/ Free Technology Academy - High quality educational material based on free software & open standards http://ftacademy.org/

Higher Computing for Everyone - Writing basic programs http://www.highercomputingforeveryone.com/ HTML 5 Please http://html5please.us/ Rails for Zombies http://railsforzombies.org/ Ruby Warrior - Open source game to teach Ruby language http://www.trybloc.com/courses/ruby-warrior/chapters/beginner#/1 Got API - Documentation search engine http://start.gotapi.com/ Coding Bat - Online code practice in Java & Python http://codingbat.com/ Lynda - Online software training videos http://www.lynda.com/ Intro to Linux http://www.reddit.com/r/Ubuntu/comments/bbnkp/ive_tinkered_in_ubuntu_before_but_its_the_primary/c0l zpwk Stack Overflow - Q&A for professional and enthusiast programmers http://stackoverflow.com/ DZone - Fresh links for developers http://www.dzone.com/links/index.html Project Euler - A series of challenging mathematical & computer programming problems http://projecteuler.net/ Photoshop & Graphics: Tutorial Hero - Photoshop & Flash tutorials http://www.tutorialhero.com/ PSD Tuts+ http://psd.tutsplus.com/ Photoshop Tutorials http://photoshoptutorials.ws/ Graphic Tutorials http://www.graphictutorials.net/

Photoshop Pack Graphic Design Resources http://www.photoshop-pack.com/ PSD FanExtra Tutorials http://psd.fanextra.com/category/tutorials/ Vandelay Design - Photoshop Tutorial Hall of Fame http://vandelaydesign.com/blog/design/photoshop-tutorial-tutorials/ Grokking the GIMP http://gimp-savvy.com/BOOK/index.html Video CoPilot - Tutorials for VFx & motion graphics http://www.videocopilot.net/tutorials/

================== VIII. SCIENCE & MATH Google Scholar - Stand on the shoulder of giants http://scholar.google.com/ Scirus - The most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web http://www.scirus.com/ Cite Seer X - Access scientific and scholarly knowledge http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/ getCited - Academic database, directory, & discussion forum http://www.getcited.org/ National Science Digital Library - Explore, share, create http://nsdl.org/ Science Magazine Podcasts http://www.sciencemag.org/multimedia/podcast/ National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning - Science, Engineering, & Technology http://www.nptel.iitm.ac.in/ KQED's Quest - Explore science, nature, and environment stories from Northern California and beyond http://science.kqed.org/quest/ Freelance Teacher - Videos on physics, chemistry, math, & biology http://www.freelance-teacher.com/videos.htm

FHSST - Free high school science texts in physical sciences & math http://fhsst.org/ Free Science Lectures - Free Science Videos & Lectures http://www.freesciencelectures.com/ Physicist TV - Collection of science & documentary videos http://www.physicisttv.com/ Educated Earth - Videos on astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, math, physics, and more http://www.educatedearth.net/ cK-12 Flexbooks http://www.ck12.org/flexbook/ Paul's Online Math Notes http://tutorial.math.lamar.edu/ Reddit's List of Useful Online Math Resources http://www.reddit.com/r/math/comments/bqbex/lets_list_all_the_useful_free_online_math/ Math, Better Explained http://betterexplained.com/ Astronomy & Outerspace: Space Engine - Free space simulation software http://en.spaceengine.org/ Google Sky http://www.google.com/sky/ NASA for Students http://www.nasa.gov/audience/forstudents/index.html Scale of the Universe - Interactive Flash Animation http://www.scaleoftheuniverse.com/ Statistics: Vassar Stats - Concepts and applications of inferential statistics http://faculty.vassar.edu/lowry/webtext.html StatSoft Electronic Statistics Textbook http://www.statsoft.com/textbook/stathome.html Connexions Collaborative Statistics http://cnx.org/content/col10522/latest/

Handbook of Biological Statistics http://udel.edu/~mcdonald/statintro.html

========================= IX. LOGIC, WORDS, & MEMORY Mind Tools - Memory improvement techniques http://www.mindtools.com/memory.html The Nizkor Project - List of logical fallacies http://www.nizkor.org/features/fallacies/index.html Wikipedia's List of Logical Fallacies http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies Wikipedia's List of Figures of Speech http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Figure_of_speech Tool Kit for Rhetorical Analysis http://grammar.about.com/od/rhetorictoolkit/Tool_Kit_for_Rhetorical_Analysis.htm KnoWord - Expand your vocabulary http://knoword.org/ Vocabulary.com - Learn new words & explore language http://www.vocabulary.com/ Brain Workshop - A Dual N-Back Game http://brainworkshop.sourceforge.net/ Argument Mapping Tutorials http://austhink.com/reason/tutorials/ Philosophy Bites - Podcasts of top philsophers http://www.philosophybites.com/

============= X. LANGUAGES Basic Composition - Reading & Writing http://www.basiccomposition.com/ BBC Languages - Beginner courses in multiple languages

http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages/ Foreign Service Institute Language Courses http://fsi-language-courses.org/Content.php Language Guide - Foreign language vocabulary, grammar, & readings http://www.languageguide.org/ eLanguage School - Free foreign language lessons online http://www.elanguageschool.net/ Free Online Language Courses via About.com http://distancelearn.about.com/od/onlinecourses/a/freelanguage.htm DuoLingo - Learn a language for free & simultaneously translate the web http://duolingo.com/ Babel Nation - Learning languages online for free http://www.babelnation.com/ Transparent Language - Language learning software & resources in over 100 languages http://www.transparent.com/language-resources/languages.html Survival Phrases - Learn essential travel phrases, tips, and insights http://survivalphrases.com/ Talk to Me in Korean http://talktomeinkorean.com/ Chinese Toolbox - Software for learning Chinese through reading http://www.chinesetoolbox.com/ LiveMocha - World's largest language learning community http://www.livemocha.com/ American Sign Language (ASL) University http://www.lifeprint.com/asl101/lessons/lesson01.htm Handspeak - Sign language http://www.handspeak.com/ Signing Savvy - Your sign language resource http://www.signingsavvy.com/index.php

======== XI. MUSIC

Berklee Shares - Free music lessons from Berklee College of Music http://www.berkleeshares.com/ Music Theory - Lessons, exercises, & tools http://www.musictheory.net/ Ear Training & Music Theory Software http://www.trainear.com/ Basic Music Theory http://www.howmusicworks.org/ About.com Music Education - Music theory http://musiced.about.com/od/musictheory/u/musiced_musictheory.htm Teoria - Music Theory Web http://teoria.com/ Ultimate Guitar - Lessons, techniques, & styles http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/ Justin Guitar - The best guitar instruction on the web http://www.justinguitar.com/ Chorder - Chord fingering and guitar resources http://www.chorder.com/guitar-chords/ Funk University - Assembly of Music's Finest http://www.thefunkuniversity.com/ Play Bass Now - Lessons, licks, and low notes http://playbassnow.com/ How to Play Piano http://www.howtoplaypiano.ca/

=========== XII. HISTORY Teacher Resources - Western Civilization (52 half-hour video programs) http://www.learner.org/resources/series58.html Metropolitan Museum of Art - Timeline of Art History http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/

========================================= XIII. BUSINESS, ECONOMICS, FINANCE, & INVESTING Investopedia http://www.investopedia.com/ Google Advisor https://www.google.com/advisor/home Google Finance http://www.google.com/finance MarketWatch by WSJ http://www.marketwatch.com/ Main Street - Business & financial headlines & advice http://www.mainstreet.com/ Stanford University's Entrepreneurship Corner http://ecorner.stanford.edu/ Value Based Management - Methods, models, and theories http://www.valuebasedmanagement.net/ Ludwig von Mises Institute - Austrian economics and praxeology http://mises.org/ Foundation for Economic Education http://www.fee.org/ Library of Economics and Liberty http://www.econlib.org/

============================ XIV. FOOD, NUTRITION, & COOKING Good Eats Fan Page http://www.goodeatsfanpage.com/GEFP/index.htm Jamie's Home Cooking Skills http://www.jamieshomecookingskills.com/ Chef Todd Mohr's Web Cooking Classes (YouTube) http://www.youtube.com/user/ChefToddMohr

Nutrition Data - Self nutrition data; know what you eat http://www.nutritiondata.com/ Nutrition.gov - Smart nutrition & practical tips http://www.nutrition.gov/ Choose My Plate via USDA http://www.choosemyplate.gov/ The World's Healthiest Foods http://whfoods.org/foodstoc.php Calorie King http://www.calorieking.com/ Start Making Choices - Simple ideas for living healthier on a budget http://www.startmakingchoices.com/index.jsp Eat Right Nutrition Tips http://www.eatright.org/Public/content.aspx?id=206

================ XV. SURVIVAL TIPS Off Grid Survival - Wilderness and urban survival skills http://offgridsurvival.com/ Backwoods Magazine - Self reliance and self sufficiency http://www.backwoodshome.com/index.html Survival Topics - Your online survival kit http://www.survivaltopics.com/ Wilderness Survival - Free info covering all aspects of survival http://www.wilderness-survival.net/ Discovery's Worst-Case Scenario Video Clips http://dsc.discovery.com/videos/worst-case-scenario/

================== XVI. DOCUMENTARIES Documentary Wire

http://www.documentarywire.com/ Factual TV - The documentary film video store http://www.factualtv.com/ Documentary Heaven - Food for your brain http://documentaryheaven.com/ Surf the Channel http://www.surfthechannel.com/cat/61482.html DocuWatch - Free streaming documentaries on Art, History, Science, and more http://www.docuwat.ch/watch-documentaries/ Documentary Tube - Watch full-length documentaries online for free http://www.documentarytube.com/ Documentary Log - Watch hundreds of the most interesting, popular, and full-length documentaries http://www.documentary-log.com/ Documentary Stream http://www.documentarystream.com/ Documentary Storm - Free streaming documentaries http://documentarystorm.com/ Top Documentary Films - Watch free documentaries online http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/ Movies Found Online - Free movies & documentaries http://www.moviesfoundonline.com/documentaries.php Quick Silver Screen - Movies & documentaries http://www.quicksilverscreen.ch/videos?g=5&mt=1 MVGroup Forums - An education in P2P (sign-up required) http://forums.mvgroup.org/ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MVGroup

========== XVII. OTHER Advanced Yoga Practices - Directory for Main Lessons http://www.aypsite.com/MainDirectory.html Creative Live - A live, worldwide creative classroom http://www.creativelive.com/

Collapse this post

More photos from Johnathan Chung - Comment - Hang out - Share +1 1 share - Mishel Johns