U.S.

CONGRESSMAN MIKE HONDA | 17TH DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

2013 Year in Review
Congressman Mike Honda
Representing the 17th District of California
14
28.08

23

50.94

Si
Silicon

V
Valley

ALVISO • CUPERTINO • FREMONT • ! MILPITAS • ! NEWARK • ! SAN JOSE ! • ! SANTA CLARA • ! SUNNYVALE

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to serve you in Congress. I work each day for all residents of California's 17th district, and will continue to fight for good jobs, a strong innovation economy, and even greater educational opportunities for our children. I hope you read what my staff and I have been working on this year, both in Washington and here in Silicon Valley. Please don't hesitate to contact my office to let me know what's on your mind or if I am able to help you with a federal agency. And thank you again for allowing me to represent you – remember, I'm here for you!

i

118.7

16

32.06

87

223.02

10

20.18

Sn
127.60

S
Service

unnyvale

W ORKING WITH C ONSTITUENTS

Fr
Fremont

Ne
Newark

21

44.95

Te
78.96

Sc
Santa Clara
63 151.96

Services
25 54.94

chnology

Se
276

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing 6 12.11

n Jose

Mt

Ir
Immigration

C
Cupertino

Working in Congress is more than writing law—it’s also about delivering services to the residents of the district. Whether resolving a problem with a federal agency or facilitating tours of the U.S. Capitol, this past year has a number of remarkable stories of success and improvements. The end goal is to better serve the residents of the 17th District in 2014 and beyond.

ilpitas

S ECTION 1: C ORE S ERVICES

How I Can Help You
C ORE S ERVICES
1. 2. Assist you with a federal agency; Contact on your behalf: the Internal Revenue Service, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service, Veterans Administration, and more; Host events, town halls and office hours to connect you with federal officials and resources; Nominate you to a military academy; Connect students with federal financial aid resources; Provide internships in any of my offices for students and recent graduates; Request a tour on your behalf, including the White House, U.S. Capitol and the U.S. Supreme Court; and,
Receive Response from Agency
The agency concludes action on your case.

A Discussion Continues
After agencies respond, I work with you and your family to resolve the issue.

Begin a conversation
I make contact with the agency and review the status of your request.

3. 4. 5. 6. 7.

Contact you
My staff or I will contact you about your case.

Sign Privacy Release Form
I need your permission to work on your case, and contact federal agencies on your behalf.

Reach out
Contact me and my staff about your concerns.

Casework
(!k!s"w"rk|) n. Social work directly concerned with individuals
3

8. Request and process a flag to be flown over the U.S. Capitol, and many more services.

S ECTION 2: C ASEWORK

Success Stories
Immigration Casework: 2013
My staff in the San Jose office handles all constituent casework, and is always available to hear your concerns, contact a federal agency on your behalf, and provide advice when appropriate. Year in Review • 661 cases opened • 697 cases closed • 1,400 requests processed • 4,500 letters written on behalf of constituents • 245 agencies and officials contacted • 6,800 hours worked ! John A CFO had an employee with H1-B visa on delay in a foreign consulate. The employee was essential and asked for my help. My staff worked with Consulate and the visa was approved within an incredible 14-day period. Simranjit A minor when her father naturalized, she unsuccessfully tried to get her N600 certificate after her father, who lost his documents, had died. My staff was able to get Citizenship and Immigration Services to process a Freedom of Information Act request so she could get proof of citizenship.! !! Mark Mark’s wife and daughter were being discriminated against throughout their immigration review. My staff

Nearl y 700 cases resolv ed thi s year !
intervened and the family was reunited, and allowed for the daughter to begin school in the U.S. ! Harleen When Harleen filed a visa for her husband she was told she was approved but heard nothing back for 5 months. My staff worked to get her husband’s visa approved with an amazing five-day turnaround. ! Maria A lawful permanent resident, her sons were still being petitioned to become lawful permanent residents. My staff inquired and Maria immediately received the employment authorization and her sons were able to start work. ! Judy She and her wife were able to complete the immigration process, and obtain a green card as a spouse, after I

4

petitioned the Department of Homeland Security to recognize same-sex marriages for the purposes of immigration. Parkkash He filed for renewal of his employment authorization document but the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS) claimed there were applications errors so his case was delayed by several weeks and he lost his job. As the sole breadwinner, this put his family at server financial risk. My staff sent an expedited request to USCIS, and his case approved within a few short weeks, allowing his family to regain their financial footing. Anonymous A boy came to the U.S. on a visitor visa as a child and was out of status until his mother was able to adjust her status and applied for her son to adjust as well.!Due to logistical issues the son’s application was never completed. As the son applied to graduate school his status became problematic. My staff made sure he was issued the necessary green card so he could attend graduate school. Xizhi Xizhi petitioned for her husband from China. The process took a long time and XJ was very concerned. Ultimately, my staff were able to move the petition to the interview stage at the embassy. However, Xizhi experienced marital distress and verbal abuse by her husband. She returned to China to try to resolve the problem, but was abused there as well. She quickly returned to the U.S. and asked that my staff immediately stop the immigration process. My staff acted quickly to protect her from an abusive husband.

Shazaan Shazaan’s husband waited almost two years to get his permanent residence application approved, which was undergoing extensive background checks. Staff requested an expedite of the permanent resident status that was approved in less than a month.

Taxes
Mark After the IRS erroneously levied a $34,000 tax against his closed company, my staff and I worked with the IRS for four months until his entire penalty was abated.

Social Security
Peter A veteran mistakenly billed $6,000 by the VA because their records incorrectly showed that he had Medicare A & B coverage, when he only had Part A. My staff worked with the VA to ensure that his claims were reevaluated for payment.

Veterans and Military
Joseph A veteran with ALS, he waited over 18 months for a response for benefits from the VA. With the work of my staff, Joseph received an increase from $3,800 to $7,200 per month and retroactive benefits of $52,900.
5

David ! David’s claim filed for service-connected disability related to Agent Orange was stalled.!My staff intervened and David was awarded service-connected at the 10 percent rate, monthly VA compensation payments of $229.00 and a retroactive payment of $3,369.00 within 5 to 10 business days. ! John A veteran, had his VA claim pending. After my staff intervened, he was awarded a retroactive payment of $18,001 and recurring monthly compensation of $1,930.00. Patrick An Army veteran who was honorably discharged, was not issued his Korea Defense Service Medal or his Vietnam Gallantry Medal. My staff sent an inquiry to the National Personnel Records Center, and the NPRC issued the medals, which I presented to Patrick. ! Stacey Stacey, n honorably discharged veteran, used her GI Bill after leaving service, but temporarily withdrew from her academic program. Despite notifying the VA of her deferment, the VA mistakenly issued another payment to her school, which was returned, but not properly processed. The VA began debt collection against Stacey, which negatively affected her credit score. My staff sent an inquiry with evidence to the VA, who acknowledged and corrected the mistake.!! Andre Andre, a former Sergeant First Class, re-enlisted in the CA National Guard and was told by his recruiter that he qualified

for a bonus and the student loan repayment program if he reenlisted, but the CAARNG told him he was not qualified and demanded he pay back the bonus and loan repayment. My staff intervened and were able to cancel his debt of over $27,000.

Families & Passports
! David David needed documents certified by the Cuban Public Interest Section to marry a woman from Cuba. Within weeks staff were able to obtain a direct contact who was able to process David’s documents. Sarah Sarah got a job in Spain then sent in her FBI background check uncertified, which could have prevented her from obtaining the necessary visa. An expedited request was sent to the FBI and the State department, allowing her keep her teaching position. Michelle Michelle was robbed of her naturalization certificate, birth certificate and passport. My staff expedited her replacements so she could travel on time. Jose Jose is a U.S. citizen who grew up in Mexico. He was having trouble applying for a passport because he lacked adequate personal records. My staff worked to get the U.S. Passport Office to reconsider his application and issue his passport.
6

Supporting Constituents Abroad
In December, I welcomed the return of Vietnamese-American college student Anna at San Francisco International Airport.! An American citizen and undergrad at UC Davis, Anna had been studying abroad in Vietnam since August, but was prevented from returning to the U.S. at Tan Son Nhat Airport in Ho Chi Minh City when local authorities accused her of affiliating with pro-democracy causes. She had been held and interrogated by Vietnamese immigration officers for nearly a week before finally being allowed to return home to the Bay Area. Some of the key freedoms Americans enjoy in this country are the freedoms of speech and assembly. The fact that Anna was detained on suspicion of disagreeing with the Vietnamese government shines a light on the country's troubling overall human rights record. I will continue to fight for the rights of all people to live and speak freely, whether that be though improved diplomatic efforts, increased funding for international aid, or a comprehensive immigration policy that welcomes those in desperate need of political asylum. When Anna’s situation was first brought to my attention my staff immediately contacted State Department officials, American Citizen Services, and the U.S. consulate in Ho Chih Minh City to vigorously advocate for her release, as well as support and reassure Anna.
7

118.7

16

32.06

87

223.02

10

20.18

Sn
127.60

S
Service 21 44.95

M Y P RIORITIES & ! A CCOMPLISHMENTS

Fr
Fremont

Ne
Newark

unnyvale

Te
78.96

Sc
Santa Clara
63 151.96

Legislation
25 54.94

chnology

Se
276

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing 6 12.11

n Jose

Mt

Ir
Immigration

C
Cupertino

ilpitas

Through my legislative work, I have 3 6.94 represented the interests of all of the residents of the 17th District. This agenda builds upon my past record of Legislation enacting legislation. As a Senior Member on the House Appropriations Committee, I am applying my years of experience in Congress and at the state and local level to guide the work of federal agencies and direct funding to programs that best address the needs of our communities.

Li

Economy | Supporting the Innovation Economy of Silicon Valley
21 44.95
16 32.06

04

265.12

87

289

Rf
Reform 192.22 9 18.98

Sc
Santa Clara
25 127.60
31 34

S
Service 78.96
63 151.96 25

Fr
Foreign Affairs 54.94

Ir Os
118.7
2

F
Families 4.00

Te
Technology
25 54.94

Se
San Jose
25 68 54.94 167.26

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing

Osmium migration

0

13

276

Sn
78.96

He
Health Care
16 32.06

Mn
Manufacturing

Mn Er
Manufacturing Earth

Ir
Immigration

Mt
Milpitas

unnyvale

0

L EGISLATION | E CONOMY

Protecting the Middle Class
I NTRODUCED
1. Strengthening Social Security Act (H.R. 3118) 2. Responsible Debt Ceiling (H.R.233) 3. Scaling Up Manufacturing Act (H.R.616) 4. Market Based Manufacturing Act (H.R.615) 5. Entrepreneur-inResidence Act (H.R. 3559) 6. Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Act (H.R.341)
103 262.11

Preserving Social Security for Generations
I introduced the Strengthening Social Security Act, with Rep. Linda Sanchez, which would increase benefits for current Social Security beneficiaries while making Social Security stronger for future generations by: eliminating the cap on how much of an individual’s earnings can be paid into Social Security; changing the benefits formula to increase payments by about $70 a month; and, adopting a Mike Honda: higher cost of living adjustment to “Scrap the Cap!” better reflect the rising cost of healthcare for seniors. This legislation will ensure that benefits keep up with today's rising costs, and that current and future retirees regain the security of aging with dignity. There is no doubt that the program needs structural improvements, and the fairest, simplest way to keep it solvent is to

Lr
Leadership
25 54.94

Mn
Manufacturing

Video provided by the Alliance for Retired Americans. East side of U.S. Capitol. October 3, 2013.

10

require all Americans – regardless of income level – to contribute equally.

The 17th District would receive $7,000,000 more per month in Social Security benefits from my bill.
I held a press conference in August announcing the legislation, and dozens of members have since signed on as co-sponsors. The bill also has the support of numerous community and advocacy organizations, including Social Security Works, AFL-CIO, AFSCME, Campaign for Community Change, Paralyzed Veterans of America, UAW, ARC, Alliance for Retired Americans, National Education Association, United Steelworkers, Senior Citizens League, MoveOn.org, Progressive Change Campaign Committee, and Democracy for America.

To that end, I’ve created introduced the Market Based Manufacturing Incentives Act which creates a non-partisan commission of industry leaders to designate the next disruptive products that will change markets and makes each of these products eligible for a consumer tax credit, provided they are manufactured domestically. This creates a clear incentive for companies to locate manufacturing facilities in the U.S. and is a cornerstone of the House Democrats’ “Make It in America” platform.

Tax Reform
I introduced the VITA Act of 2013 (H.R.341) to ensure that low-income individuals take advantage of existing ladders of opportunity to reach underserved taxpayers. The VITA Act would result in millions more families accessing vital tax credits Congress enacted to help them, such as the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), the Child Tax Credit (CTC), and the American Opportunity Tax Credit (AOTC).

Restoring Manufacturing
I introduced the Scaling Up Manufacturing Act of 2013 which would defray the cost of manufacturing in the United States for startup companies by providing a 25 percent tax credit on expenditures toward the construction, purchase, or lease of their first manufacturing facility in the U.S. Manufacturing is critical for our 21st Century economy.

C OMMUNITY R ECOGNITION
“A vocal advocate for...Social Security for today’s and tomorrow' retirees.”
Karen Friedman, Executive Vice President of Pension Rights Center

“A tireless leader for preserving Social Security.”
Max Richtman, President , National Committee to Preserve Social Security & Medicare

11

Technology | Bringing Silicon Valley Innovation to Washington
21 44.95
16 32.06

04

265.12

87

289

Rf
Reform 192.22 9 18.98

Sc
Santa Clara
25 127.60
31 34

S
Service 78.96
63 151.96 25

Fr
Foreign Affairs 54.94

Ir Os
118.7
2

F
Families 4.00

Te
Technology
25 54.94

Se
San Jose
25 68 54.94 167.26

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing

Osmium migration

0

13

276

Sn
78.96

He
Health Care
16 32.06

Mn
Manufacturing

Mn Er
Manufacturing Earth

Ir
Immigration

Mt
Milpitas

unnyvale

0

L EGISLATION | T ECHNOLOGY

Bringing Innovation to Washington
A CCOMPLISHMENTS
1. PATENT Jobs Act (H.R.2582) 2. Excellence in Cybersecurity Act (H.R.2556) 3. Defense Appropriations Act creates broad base of semiconductor suppliers 4. Norman Y. Mineta San Jose Intl. Airport received $3 million in federal funding
103 262.11

A Permanent U.S. Patent Office in San Jose
Early in 2013, the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) began the site selection process for the permanent Silicon Valley office. Unfortunately, budget sequestration hit the agency, and the resulting uncertainty put the process on hold. I introduced legislation (H.R. 2582) to exempt USPTO from sequestration and sought to repeal sequestration through an amendment in the Appropriations Committee, and I am continuing those efforts to enable USPTO to have the resources it needs to operate the office. Commerce, Justice, Science Appropriations Subcommittee Chairman Frank Wolf met with USPTO officials and encouraged them to think outside the box and find creative solutions to opening the permanent office even in the face of sequestration. In November, such a solution was found, and I am excited that the permanent office should be opening in San Jose City Hall by the end of 2014.

Lr
Leadership
25 127.60

Te
Technology

Cybersecurity: An Imperative
I have been a part of the vigorous debate in Congress about the best way to improve security of online systems while balancing privacy concerns. Working with industry and local governmental stakeholders,

13

I developed and introduced the Excellence in Cybersecurity Act (H.R. 2556), which would establish five regional and industry-specific Centers of Excellence nationwide, bringing together stakeholders from academia, government, and the private and non-profit sectors to analyze threats and develop best practices. I have also been an outspoken critic of the National Security Agency’s surveillance of electronic communications by Americans, and am an original cosponsor of the USA FREEDOM Act to curtail blanket data collection.

Supporting the Semiconductor Industry
Through my role on the House Appropriations Committee, I secured language in the Defense Appropriations Act that aims to foster the participation of a broad base of suppliers in the DOD’s Trusted Foundry Program in order to maintain a healthy and vibrant industrial base that can serve as a trusted supply chain for semiconductor microelectronics for the Defense Department. This follows on my efforts to provide federal support to the domestic semiconductor manufacturing equipment industry as it undertakes the research and development that will be needed for the transition to larger 450 mm wafers.

Drawing the Line on Government Surveillance
By Rep. Mike Honda. Published Dec. 12, 2013. The Huffington Post. Earlier today, eight of the country's leading technology firms unveiled a website and released five principles for regulating online surveillance by governments worldwide. I applaud AOL, Apple, Facebook, Google, LinkedIn, Microsoft, Twitter, and Yahoo for presenting their case on this very important topic. The revelations that have come out about the National Security Agency's PRISM program are disturbing. The scale and scope of the collection of information about electronic communications and telephone calls that originate and pass through the United States is truly astounding. I have long been concerned that the measures put in place

Mike tours NASA’s Ames Research Center with NASA Administrator

Video provided by NASA. May 20, 2013.

14

Education | Investing in the Future
21 44.95
16 32.06

04

265.12

87

289

Rf
Reform 192.22 9 18.98

Sc
Santa Clara
25 127.60
31 34

S
Service 78.96
63 151.96 25

Fr
Foreign Affairs 54.94

Ir Os
118.7
2

F
Families 4.00

Te
Technology
25 54.94

Se
San Jose
25 68 54.94 167.26

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing

Osmium migration

0

13

276

Sn
78.96

He
Health Care
16 32.06

Mn
Manufacturing

Mn Er
Manufacturing Earth

Ir
Immigration

Mt
Milpitas

unnyvale

0

L EGISLATION | E DUCATION

Ensuring Excellence in Education
A CCOMPLISHMENTS
1. 2. The Stepping up to STEM Act (H.R.1089) The Elementary STEM Content Coach Act (H.R. 1090) Elementary Educator STEM Content Coach Act (H.R.1090) Educator Preparation Reform Act (H.R.2172) Sandra Day O’Connor Civic Learning Act (H.R. 1802) Strengthen and United Communities with Civics Education and English Development Act (H.R. 1258) 103 262.11

Equity and Excellence Commission Report
On February 2, 2013 the Equity and Excellence Commission, a commission I created through the appropriations process, released the report entitled “For Each and Every Child.” This groundbreaking report (1) provides advice on the disparities of meaningful education opportunities that students face, (2) focuses on financial systems at the state, and (3) federal level and makes bold recommendations to increase equity in education for every child. You can learn more about the commission and read the report.

Lr
Leadership
63 151.96

3.

4. 5.

Eu
Education

6.

16

Fostering STEM Education
On March 12, 2013, I introduced two pieces of legislation to encourage and foster the growth of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) education. The Stepping up to STEM Act (H.R.1089) and The Elementary STEM Content Coach Act (H.R. 1090). These pieces of legislation would increase research of STEM programs and enhance the quality of STEM instruction in our schools.

and--it’s my hope--research could then be shared with other teachers and scaled up.

An Hour of Code
In December, I hosted an "Hour of Code" with a diverse group of high school juniors and seniors in celebration of Computer Science Education Week. Recognized by Congress and celebrated since 2009, the week-long event is a way to generate interest in coding and online technology among students with little to no experience in the area. The students and I spent the hour programming code for the popular Angry Birds smartphone game.

An IDEA: Equity in Education
We will not achieve equity in education simply from equal funding. There are many students who need additional resources in order to receive equal opportunities. To truly grant all students equal opportunities, children from low income households, English language learners, and students with disabilities need special accommodations and assistance. That is why I strongly support strengthening IDEA, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (H.R.2161), and this year I requested to fully fund IDEA through the Appropriations Committee, Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and Related Agencies.

Technology-Enabled Innovation Partnerships Grant Act
Recognizing the need for more STEM funding in the classroom, I introduced the Technology-Enabled Innovation Partnerships Grant Act (H.R. 3325) to create grants to fund innovative uses of technology in the classroom and provide money for research regarding the implementation of technology in the classroom. The Department of Education would administer the grants,

17

Veterans | Honoring Service & Sacrifice
21 44.95
16 32.06

04

265.12

87

289

Rf
Reform 192.22 9 18.98

Sc
Santa Clara
25 127.60
31 34

S
Service 78.96
63 151.96 25

Fr
Foreign Affairs 54.94

Ir Os
118.7
2

F
Families 4.00

Te
Technology
25 54.94

Se
San Jose
25 68 54.94 167.26

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing

Osmium migration

0

13

276

Sn
78.96

He
Health Care
16 32.06

Mn
Manufacturing

Mn Er
Manufacturing Earth

Ir
Immigration

Mt
Milpitas

unnyvale

0

L EGISLATION | V ETERANS

Ensuring Access to Benefits
A CCOMPLISHMENTS
1. Military Family Leave Act (H.R.1333) 2. GI Bill Tuition Fairness Act (H.R.357) 3. Homes for Heroes Act (H.R.384) 4. Veterans Mental Health Accessibility Act (H.R.1725) 5. Veterans E-Health & Telemedicine Support Act (H.R.2001) 6. Victims of Agent Orange Relief (H.R. 2519)
103 262.11

Lr
Leadership
16 32.06

I would like to personally thank all veterans and their families for their service to our country. I strongly believe that it is America’s duty to provide them with the care they deserve. That is why I have been a strong advocate for programs that assist veterans here at home. I am also a proud member of the Congressional Work for Warriors Caucus, which contacts servicemen and women while they are still abroad to begin preparing them for reintegration into the civilian workforce.

Reducing the Backlog
As a member of the House Appropriations Committee, I am proud to announce that I helped secure funding and provide direction to the VA and the Department of Defense to reduce the VA benefits backlog and push for greater access to medical and mental health services for all our nation’s veterans. Working with a bipartisan group of colleagues, we secured $343.6 million to develop a new electronic health system that will dramatically ease the claims process, and additional funding to hire more claims processors. This is especially important for our district, as the VA Oakland Regional Office still has 73% of its claims pending for more than 125 days, an unacceptable backlog that must be corrected.

S
Service

19

Aiding the Vulnerable
I am also proud to announce that the VA awarded $2.8 million in grants to aid homeless and at-risk veterans and their families in Silicon Valley. The funding will be spread across three organizations in the region – the Emergency Housing Consortium of Santa Clara County, Goodwill Industries of Santa Clara County, and Abode Services in Fremont. I will continue to fight for you in Washington.

Grant expedited in the full year and a half after filling his claim. Joseph approached my office in early July of this year asking for assistance navigating the VA process. I am happy to say that I was able to intervene on his behalf. Working with the VA, I was not only able to get Joseph’s eligibility for specially adapted housing recognized, but was also able to secure him an increased monthly VA benefit – it has nearly doubled – and a retroactive payment of over $50,000. I know that these benefits will make a world of difference to him and his family.

Serving Veterans
As your Representative in Congress, I am pleased to provide an array of services for veterans, ensuring you receive the benefits you are entitled. For the past thirteen years, it has been my honor to work on behalf of veterans and their families, and I would like to share as an example the story of a veteran I recently helped. Joseph of Santa Clara Joseph is an 82 years old veteran who has lived in Santa Clara for the last 50 years. He proudly served in the U.S. Marine Corp from 1951-1953, receiving an honorable discharge. Unfortunately, four years ago he was diagnosed with Amytrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), a terminal illness also known as Lou Gherig’s disease. His ALS has caused him to lose his upper extremity functions and confined him to a wheelchair. Although he has a 100% disability rating from the VA, he had been unable to get his Special Home Adaptive

Coffee & Casework with Veterans
In November, I held a veterans’ roundtable to talk with them about their concerns, get to know them, as well as provide them with resources from veterans service providers. After discussing the issues impacting veterans and their families, caseworkers were on hand to help them with claims and access to other resources they Mike shakes hand with a veteran at his Coffee & Casework Event. November 16, 2013. had earned.

20

Immigration | Fighting for Reform that Strengthens Our Economy
21 44.95
16 32.06

04

265.12

87

289

Rf
Reform 192.22 9 18.98

Sc
Santa Clara
25 127.60
31 34

S
Service 78.96
63 151.96 25

Fr
Foreign Affairs 54.94

Ir Os
118.7
2

F
Families 4.00

Te
Technology
25 54.94

Se
San Jose
25 68 54.94 167.26

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing

Osmium migration

0

13

276

Sn
78.96

He
Health Care
16 32.06

Mn
Manufacturing

Mn Er
Manufacturing Earth

Ir
Immigration

Mt
Milpitas

unnyvale

0

L EGISLATION | I MMIGRATION

The Time is Now
A CCOMPLISHMENTS
1. Startup Act 3.o (H.R. 714) 2. Reuniting Families Act (H.R.717) 3. Strengthen and Unite Communities with Civics Education and English Development Act (H.R.1258) 4. Fairness for HighSkilled Immigrants Act (H.R.633) 5. Filipino Veterans Family Reunification Act (H.R.966)
103 262.11

Lr
Leadership
77 192.22

Ir
Immigration

Since coming to Congress, I have continuously led the effort to our broken immigration system so that it is comprehensive and invests in America’s future. I believe in an immigration system that respects the dignity of immigrant communities and recognizes their contributions to America’s economy and culture. As the son of strawberry sharecroppers, I understand the barriers and struggle facing immigrant individuals and families everywhere. I know we can make Silicon Valley, and our nation, stronger by upholding our values and principles and honoring the entrepreneurial spirit of the American dream.

Startup Act 3.0 | Strengthening Our Economy
I know that immigration reform is critical to advancing Silicon Valley’s and our nation’s technological innovation and economic global competitiveness. I understand that enhancing the employment-based visa categories, including higher caps on H-1B visas and foreign students with advanced U.S. degrees in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields, not only makes sense, but doing so makes dollars and cents for our district and nation. That is why I support the Startup Act 3.0, which would promote economic growth by encouraging investment in startup companies and offering

22

permanent residence to entrepreneurs who create jobs in the U.S. I know that the immigrants’ spirit is the story of entrepreneurs. I also cosponsored the Attracting the Best and Brightest Act, which would create a green card category for persons with advanced degrees in STEM.

A More Perfect Union | Reuniting Families Act
For too long has our immigration system been an exclusionary tool to keep families apart. That is why, in the past four Congresses, I have led by introducing the Reuniting Families Act (RFA) to reduce the visa backlog for legal immigrants and ensure our families – all our families – can be reunited. Additionally, this bill would eliminate discrimination in immigration law against same-sex binational permanent partners and their families who are seeking to reunite. Samesex couples and families faced separation or deportation because of the U.S. immigration laws, before the Supreme Court decision United States v. Windsor, that declared Section 3 of the Defense of Marriage Act as unconstitutional. Prior to the decision, I was a pioneer in fighting for comprehensive immigration reform that included the recognition of same-sex binational couples and their families in the United States. As Vice Chair of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus, I successfully led an effort to urge the Department of Homeland Security to provide written policy recognizing

LGBT partnerships as family relationships when exercising prosecutorial discretion in removal proceedings. As the Immigration Taskforce Chair of the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus, I continue to work with Senate and House leadership, the Administration, the Congressional Hispanic, Black and Progressive Caucuses, to ensure that all families remain the cornerstone of our immigration system, and to champion immigration reform that strengthens our economy and supports the labor needs of U.S. businesses and Silicon Valley.

Safeguarding the American Dream
I have been a leading champion for DREAM students. In 2010, as a member of the DREAM Whip Group, a group composed of key congressional immigration figures, I have worked steadfastly with my colleagues, Congressional leadership, CAPAC Members, and the Administration to ensure passage of the Development, Relief and Education for Alien Minors (DREAM) Act in the House. Despite challenges, I continue to advocate on behalf of DREAM students. I have

23

urged the Administration to ensure that DREAM-eligible students and other low-priority individuals are not deported. I also support President Obama’s leadership and compassion in implementing Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA), which shields over a million young immigrants from deportation. This landmark decision was a clarion call to Congress to rise and do its part to make the dreams of the young, hardworking, and high-achieving DREAM students a reality.

(SUCCEED) Act, which will provide opportunities for new Americans to gain the vital English skills needed to succeed and contribute to our economy. This legislation will help our economy remain competitive, protect our workers, and incentivize immigrant integration through English and civics education. As a senior Member of the Appropriations Committee, I continue to fight to protect those programs, which positively and inclusively support new citizens and their integration, while holding accountable those programs that threaten our civil rights and justice.

Working with President Obama
I have continued to lobby the Obama Administration on immigration, meeting with President Obama, Leader Pelosi and Valerie Jarrett, Senior Advisor to the President. I continue to put pressure on Speaker Boehner to bring the immigration bill to the floor, and I have participated in immigration rallies on the National Mall, supported the Fast 4 Families Movement, and written multiple Op-Ed’s featured on The Hill, The Huffington Post, Politico, and Mercury News to shed light on the important issues surrounding immigration reform.

Mike speaks on the House Floor about Citizenship Day

Protecting New Citizens
The immigrants’ pursuit of the American Dream ultimately strengthens our nation’s social and economic fabric. That is why, I have introduced the Strengthen and United Communities through Civic Education and English Skills
24

Reform | Creating an Open, Efficient & Responsive Government
21 44.95
16 32.06

04

265.12

87

289

Rf
Reform 192.22 9 18.98

Sc
Santa Clara
25 127.60
31 34

S
Service 78.96
63 151.96 25

Fr
Foreign Affairs 54.94

Ir Os
118.7
2

F
Families 4.00

Te
Technology
25 54.94

Se
San Jose
25 68 54.94 167.26

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing

Osmium migration

0

13

276

Sn
78.96

He
Health Care
16 32.06

Mn
Manufacturing

Mn Er
Manufacturing Earth

Ir
Immigration

Mt
Milpitas

unnyvale

0

L EGISLATION | R EFORM

Transforming Government 3.0
A CCOMPLISHMENTS
1. Digital Accountability and Transparancy Act (H.R. 2061) Constitutional Amendment to overturn Citizens United (H.J.Res. 34) Streamlined and Improved Methods at Polling Locations and Early (SIMPLE) Voting Act (H.R.50) Disclosure of Information on Spending on Campaigns Leads to Open and Secure Elections (DISCLOSE) Act (H.R.148) 103 262.11

Lr
Leadership
104 265.12

2.

I believe transparency and integrity are essential elements for Congress. I supported legislation to overhaul Congressional ethics and prevent insider trading by Members of Congress. When the country’s economy entered a recession, I voted against cost-of-living allowances (COLA) for Members of Congress. When the House Republicans funded a law firm to support the unconstitutional Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) before the U.S. Supreme Court, I fought against the use of taxpayer dollars to defend the discriminatory law—I don't believe in using taxpayer dollars to defend ideological and unconstitutional laws.

3.

Rf
Reform

Opening Government, Increasing Transparency
As a member of the Congressional Transparency Caucus, I cosponsored the Digital Accountability and Transparency Act (DATA) —bipartisan legislation that standardizes and publishes the U.S. government's wide variety of reports and data compilations related to financial management, procurement, and assistance. The DATA Act will create better transparency for taxpayers and citizens; improve federal management by illuminating waste and fraud; and reduce compliance costs by automating the creation of reports by grantees and contractors. One of only ten cosponsors, I helped pass this legislation through the House, 388-1. As an appropriator from Silicon

4.

26

Valley, I fought for legislation to standardize government data into application programming interfaces (APIs) so civil society can create innovative applications and websites for the public. I have testified before the powerful House Administration Committee about how Congress can do its business better, and I’ve pushed for Congress to centralize its computing resources to increase efficiency and harness the power of cloud computing.

I am the only member to have won an award in all Gold Mouse competitions hosted by the Congressional Management Foundation, since it first began in 2001. I created the New Media Caucus to encourage and improve the dialogue with constituents, and, just this year, hosted telephone town halls and Twitter Crowdhalls.

Fighting Special Interests
Having learned the lessons of the 2000 Presidential Election, I have led by strengthening America’s elections while protecting voting rights. I supported legislation to create a federal holiday for Election Day, offer no-excuse vote-by-mail to all states, and reform overseas voting procedures for members of the armed services and overseas citizens. A tireless advocate for clean elections, I have cosponsored the DISCLOSE Act and the Fair Elections Now Act, which would have created public financing for elections and shed light on corrosive influence of special interests. Responding to the Roberts Court, I supported a constitutional amendment to overturn Citizens United and declare that corporations are not people. I believes transparency and integrity are essential elements for Congress. I supported legislation to overhaul Congressional ethics and prevent insider trading by Members of Congress. When the country’s economy entered a recession, I voted against cost-of-living allowances (COLA) for Members of Congress.

Closing the Digital Divide
Through my leadership on a bipartisan committee, the Working Group for a Working Congress, hosted by the National Institute for Civil Discourse, I am helping identify ways to create incentives for constructive engagement and improvements to the political environment. Increasing sound policy advice is critical for Congress, too. To that end, I have cosponsored legislation to reestablish the Office of Technology Assessment, an organization of STEM policy advisors for Congress defunded in the late ‘90s. I know that Congress needs sound policy advice from technologists and scientists.

Washington, Meet Silicon Valley
Pioneering new technologies for Congress, I have implemented the same policies for which I’ve publicly supported. In 2009, and again in 2013, I was the first congressman to use crowdsourcing to design of my website— leading to numerous awards.

27

Embracing New Technologies
I hosted my first Crowdhall, an online town hall that let’s me host conversations with my constituents on a variety of topics. I also had the opportunity to make extensive use of Google Hangouts, both on air and privately, to stay in touch with stakeholders on important issues facing the district and our nation. Finally, I launched my Google Plus page, to provide another forum to inform my constituents and hear from them on the issues they care about most.!

Live-Tweeting Congress
Taking part in regular Twitter town halls, hosting telephone town halls for nearly 100,000 residents of Santa Clara and Alameda Counties, and streaming panel discussions like my Excellence and Equity town hall, I am not just informing my constituents of my work – I am engaging them. I believe that people expect transparency and responsiveness from their representatives in Washington, and I am doing my best to have those conversations. I have been overwhelmed by the responses to my social media posts about a wide variety of topics, and carry those opinions with me to Congress.

Reaching Out
Through newsletters, powering invite lists with Eventbrite, and monthly surveys, I have had a record-breaking year in constituent contact. And I haven’t stopped at the email inbox. With regular updates on Facebook, Google Plus, and Twitter, I am making it easier than ever for my constituents to learn about my activities in Washington and Silicon Valley. To continue connecting with my constituents, I recently launched “Silicon Valley Through Your Eyes,” a social media photo contest that provides a fun way for people to share what Santa Clara and Alameda Counties means to them.

28

Families | Celebrating Diversity
21 44.95
16 32.06

04

265.12

87

289

Rf
Reform 192.22 9 18.98

Sc
Santa Clara
25 127.60
31 34

S
Service 78.96
63 151.96 25

Fr
Foreign Affairs 54.94

Ir Os
118.7
2

F
Families 4.00

Te
Technology
25 54.94

Se
San Jose
25 68 54.94 167.26

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing

Osmium migration

0

13

276

Sn
78.96

He
Health Care
16 32.06

Mn
Manufacturing

Mn Er
Manufacturing Earth

Ir
Immigration

Mt
Milpitas

unnyvale

0

L EGISLATION | F AMILIES

Towards a More Inclusive Society
A CCOMPLISHMENTS
1. Passed Violence Against Women Act of 2013 2. Start Strong for America’s Children Act (H.R.3461) 3. Declaring October as National Anti-Bullying Month (H.Res.398) 4. Employment NonDiscrimination Act (ENDA) (H.R.1755) 5. Paycheck Fairness Act (H.R.377) 6. Fair Minimum Wage Act (H.R.1010)
103 262.11

Preventing Violence Against Women
I ardently fought to end the cycle of violence by supporting the reauthorization of the Violence Against Women Act, which includes updated protections for Native American women, immigrant women, and provides specialized support and resources for LGBT, religious and ethnic communities.

Lr
Leadership
9 18.98

F
Families

Working Against Bullying
From our classrooms to the workplace to even our homes, bullying affects people of every age, income level, ethnicity, and sexual orientation in this country. As the founder of the Congressional Anti-Bullying Caucus, it is my sincere hope that we use October as a month to raise awareness of how to combat bullying – and to support each person's right to be who he or she is without being shamed, judged, or attacked. A student is bullied on the playground every seven minutes in America, and each year 3 million kids are absent from school because they are afraid of being bullied.!In a disturbing and growing trend,
30

Mike, an alumnus, inside San Jose High, May 13, 2013. (Josie Lepe, Bay Area News Group)

recent studies show that 42% of children have been bullied online. My resolution had 46 co-sponsors from both parties.! The Congressional Anti-Bullying Caucus, which I founded in 2012, boasts a bipartisan membership of 58 members and growing.

funding for background checks and licensing, and supporting solutions focused on mental health, and regular Americans rather than special interests. Just this year, I participated in three gun buyback events, resulting in thousands of firearms being taken off our streets.

Fighting Discrimination against LGBTQ
I have repeatedly supported congressional efforts to pass the Employment Non-Discrimination Act (ENDA). I am an proud original cosponsor of H.R.1755 which would prevent employers from discriminating against workers on the basis of sexual orientation or perceived sexual orientation. In addition to co-sponsoring the bill every session it has been introduced since I entered Congress, I have also served on the ENDA WHIP team. I have worked closely with the Transgender community to push back on discriminatory pilot licensing requirements placed on Transgender pilots--working directly with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), the White House, and stakeholder groups to put an end to this policy. I wrote a public multi-member letter on the same topic.

Raising the Minimum Wage
Even in the Silicon Valley, where so many of our jobs are high paying, we have seen the inequality in income grow in recent years, even the cost to cover just basic needs has grown. I believe that jobs in our economy should pay a livable wage, and I am proud to be an original cosponsor of the Fair Minimum Wage Act (H.R. 1010), which proposes a variety of approaches to increasing the minimum wage to ensure that workers can afford live and participate in our economic growth.

Supporting Gun Safety
For my entire career, I have fiercely fought to enact common sense gun safety reform laws. As a Senior member of the Commerce Justice Science (CJS) Appropriations subcommittee, I have been a leader in supporting the rights of law enforcement agencies to track guns, pushing for a renewed, tighter assault weapons ban, urging increased

31

Health Care | Ensuring Coverage for All Americans
21 44.95
16 32.06

04

265.12

87

289

Rf
Reform 192.22 9 18.98

Sc
Santa Clara
25 127.60
31 34

S
Service 78.96
63 151.96 25

Fr
Foreign Affairs 54.94

Ir Os
118.7
2

F
Families 4.00

Te
Technology
25 54.94

Se
San Jose
25 68 54.94 167.26

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing

Osmium migration

0

13

276

Sn
78.96

He
Health Care
16 32.06

Mn
Manufacturing

Mn Er
Manufacturing Earth

Ir
Immigration

Mt
Milpitas

unnyvale

0

L EGISLATION | H EALTH C ARE

Protecting Health, Expanding Access
A CCOMPLISHMENTS
1. Health Innovation and Marketplace Technologies Act (H.R. 2363) 2. Fought for over $34 million in funding for Department of Viral Hepatitis, Center for Disease Control 3. Requested that the Center for Disease Control review its tuberculosis funding 4. Viral Hepatitis Testing Act (H.R.3381)
103 262.11

Eradicating Viral Hepatitis
I reorganized the Congressional Hepatitis Caucus in 2013, which is a bipartisan group of Members of Congress committed to the eradication of viral hepatitis diseases through education, advocacy and legislation. I supported a World Hepatitis Day event at the White House where Dr. Howard Koh of the Department of Health and Human Services announced the department’s renewed commitment to the Viral Hepatitis interagency report and their plan to eradicate hepatitis. Additionally, as co-chair of the Congressional Hepatitis Caucus I sponsored several briefings and a testing event at the Capitol for Members of Congress and their staff to get screened, and learn about the importance of screening as part of eradication. I am currently working with my fellow co-chairs on key legislation to provide additional federal funding for new programs for hepatitis screening, testing and education. I also serve as an honorary board member for both the Hepatitis B Free Santa Clara County and San Francisco.

Lr
Leadership
2 4.00

He
Health Care

Focusing on Minority Health
As Chair Emeritus of the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus (CAPAC), I have been working closely with my

33

colleagues in the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC), and the Congressional Hispanic Caucus (CHC), formally known as the Tri-Caucus, to address health disparities that affect many Americans of color. Over the past few years, the Tri-Caucus has introduced the Health Equity and Accountability Act every session on Congress. Based on previous health disparities legislation and introduced with the strong support of health experts, this bill attempts to address the underlying causes of disparities in health status and health care in minority populations by expanding health coverage, removing language and cultural barriers, improving workforce diversity, supporting and expanding programs that will reduce health disparities, improving data collection, ensuring accountability, and strengthening health institutions that serve minority populations.

nearly 100 people in attendance, of all generations, including high school students. At the town hall, I heard from many constituents about their experiences and concerns about Medicare including increased prices, the affect of the Affordable Care Act, and adequate access. My staff was on hand to help constituents with their individual issues, and myself and the panelists answered questions and addressed concerns.!

Promoting the Affordable Care Act
As the Chair Emeritus of the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus, I have continued to advocate for adequate access to care and healthcare enrollment support for that is culturally appropriate and is language accessible. In September, I met with CMS Administrator Marilyn Tavenner!!to stress the need for more translated ACA and enrollment materials. Most recently, I held a town hall in Fremont to bring Covered California, health experts, and community members together, to answer questions about the Affordable Care Act enrollment process in the district. In November, I hosted an online Crowd Hall with Covered California enrollment issues and concerns
34

Preserving Social Security and Medicare
In November, I hosted a Social Security and Medicare town hall in Fremont where I brought experts and community activists to speak on a panel about the future of both our nation’s Social Security and Medicare programs. I was pleased to see

Environment & Transportation | Sustainable Growth
21 44.95
16 32.06

04

265.12

87

289

Rf
Reform 192.22 9 18.98

Sc
Santa Clara
25 127.60
31 34

S
Service 78.96
63 151.96 25

Fr
Foreign Affairs 54.94

Ir Os
118.7
2

F
Families 4.00

Te
Technology
25 54.94

Se
San Jose
25 68 54.94 167.26

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing

Osmium migration

0

13

276

Sn
78.96

He
Health Care
16 32.06

Mn
Manufacturing

Mn Er
Manufacturing Earth

Ir
Immigration

Mt
Milpitas

unnyvale

0

L EGISLATION | E NVIRONMENT & T RANSPORTATION

Conserving for Future Generations
A CCOMPLISHMENTS
1. 2. End Polluter Welfare Act (H.R.3574) Grants for Renewable Energy Education for the Nation (GREEN) Act (H.R.2368) Super Pollutant Emissions Reduction Act (H.R.1943) Fracturing Responsibility and Awareness of Chemicals (FRAC) Act (H.R.1921) Closing Loopholes and Ending Arbitrary and Needless Evasion of Regulations (CLEANER) Act (H.R.2825) 103 262.11

Lr
Leadership
68 167.26

As a former science teacher, I believe that energy policies shape the health of our economy and quality of life. I’ve helped establish the U.S. House of Representatives Sustainable Energy and Environment Coalition (SEEC). Through my work at SEEC, I am working to ensure that Congress addresses climate change while creating clean energy jobs.

Preserving Open Spaces

3.

Er
Earth

4.

5.

This year we celebrated the 40th anniversary of the Mid-peninsula Regional Open Space District and the 20th!anniversary of the Santa Clara County Open Space Authority. Together, they now protect more than 78,000 acres in two counties. I am proud to have created the Santa Clara County Open Space Authority and to have worked with the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District (MROSD) to enable public access to Mt. Umunhum, home of the former Almaden Air Force Station site.

Supporting Green Energy and Efficiency
Using less energy and green energy is good for the environment and for the economy, which is why I cosponsored two important pieces of

36

legislation, the End Polluter Welfare Act, which stops tax cuts for the fossil fuel industry and the GREEN Act, which supports grants for training workers for clean energy systems. I have also been continuing my work to try to improve the energy efficiency of consumer electronics by using my position on the House Appropriations Committee to including language in the Fiscal Year 2014 Energy and Water Appropriations Act to examine and educate the public about the benefits of “smart electronics.”

A Voice for Action on Climate Change
Throughout the year, I have stood in support of President Obama’s plan to fight climate change, and have been outspoken advocate of the need to act now on climate because of the changes we are already seeing around the world, and have opposed efforts to expand the use of greenhouse gas emitting fossil fuels such as the Keystone XL pipeline.

A New Look at Climate Change
By Michael Honda and Michael Shank December 9th, 2013. Reuters. The annual United Nations climate change talks, which concluded last month in Warsaw, unfortunately found little common ground on carbon. The talks broke down over the world’s richest nations’ inability to agree with the poorest on how to address the financial costs of global climate change. While disappointing, it’s not surprising. Developed countries like the United States and the nations of the European Union, which have wielded the largest carbon footprints over the past decades, are not as often the victims of climate-related disasters. In fact, the countries facing the most severe effects of climate change are often the poorest and most underdeveloped. They are forced to confront not only natural destruction but economic ruin. Consider the Philippines, now recovering from Super

Delivering Transportation Solutions
This year, the Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport received more than $3 million in federal funding for runway-related construction and improvements that are vital to the economic growth of Silicon Valley. As a member of the House Appropriations Committee, I was proud to help deliver this funding, as well as funding for continued construction of the BART extension to Silicon Valley in 2014. I am also working to support innovative transit solutions, and I included language in the Fiscal Year 2014 Transportation, Housing and Urban Development Appropriations Act encouraging the Federal Transit Administration to demonstrate the proof of concept for emerging transit technologies such as personal rapid transit.
37

Foreign Affairs | Respecting an International Community
21 44.95
16 32.06

04

265.12

87

289

Rf
Reform 192.22 9 18.98

Sc
Santa Clara
25 127.60
31 34

S
Service 78.96
63 151.96 25

Fr
Foreign Affairs 54.94

Ir Os
118.7
2

F
Families 4.00

Te
Technology
25 54.94

Se
San Jose
25 68 54.94 167.26

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing

Osmium migration

0

13

276

Sn
78.96

He
Health Care
16 32.06

Mn
Manufacturing

Mn Er
Manufacturing Earth

Ir
Immigration

Mt
Milpitas

unnyvale

0

L EGISLATION | F OREIGN A FFAIRS

Towards a More Inclusive Society
A CCOMPLISHMENTS
1. Women, Peace & Security Act of 2013 (H.R. 2874) 2. Relief for Victims of Typhoon Haiyan (H.Res.408) 3. Fought for release and return of VietnameseAmerican student from Vietnamese government 4. Led on letter to President Obama asking to reconsider military action in Syria
103 262.11

Women, Peace & Security
As a former Peace Corps volunteer and former Chairman of the Congressional Progressive Caucus Peace & Security Taskforce, I know firsthand how critical women's perspectives and empowerment are to achieving a more peaceful world. That is why I worked with Senator Boxer and my colleagues Reps. Jan Schakowsky and Eddie Bernice Johnson to introduce the Women, Peace & Security Act of 2013 (H.R. 2874) to ensure the full implementation of the U.S. National Action Plan on Women, Peace & Security by building in a role for Congressional oversight.

Lr
Leadership
87 289

Fr
Foreign Affairs

Providing Relief in the Philippines
Immediately since the impact of the calamitous Typhoon Haiyan which hit the Philippines, I have been wholly engaged with humanitarian response and recovery efforts. I introduced H.Res.408 along with Rep. Speier to express condolences and support for assistance to the victims of the typhoon; hosted a Google Hangout briefing with USAID officials and key Filipino-American leaders to discuss the U.S. humanitarian assistance; and urged Secretaries Kerry

39

and Hagel and Administrator Shah to incorporate specialized protections for women and girls in the wake of the typhoon.

Avoiding Intervention
I was pleased by President Obama’s response to Rep. Barbara Lee and my request, along with a number of our colleagues, to give Congress the opportunity to fully debate any involvement in Syria and seek authorization for any military action. The Syrian crisis requires a long term diplomatic commitment and broad international support.

live and speak freely, whether that be though improved diplomatic efforts, increased funding for international aid, or a comprehensive immigration policy that welcomes those in desperate need of political asylum. When Anna’s situation was first brought to my attention my staff immediately contacted State Department officials, American Citizen Services, and the U.S. consulate in Ho Chih Minh City to vigorously advocate for her release, as well as support and reassure Anna. Alongside my colleagues in Congress, as a member Congressional Caucus on Vietnam, I continuously raised concerns to the Obama Administration about human rights abuses in Vietnam.

Supporting Constituents Abroad
In December, I welcomed the return of Vietnamese-American college student Anna at San Francisco International Airport.! An American citizen and undergrad at UC Davis, Anna had been studying abroad in Vietnam since August, but was prevented from returning to the U.S. at Tan Son Nhat Airport in Ho Chi Minh City when local authorities accused her of affiliating with pro-democracy causes. She had been held and interrogated by Vietnamese immigration officers for nearly a week before finally being allowed to return home to the Bay Area. Some of the key freedoms Americans enjoy in this country are the freedoms of speech and assembly. The fact that Anna was detained on suspicion of disagreeing with the Vietnamese government shines a light on the country's troubling overall human rights record. I will continue to fight for the rights of all people to

Key Recognitions
This year I’m pleased to announce several recognitions from prestigious organizations for my work in foreign affairs. • 2013 JACL Congressional Award for Outstanding National Leadership for Asian Pacific Islander Native Hawaiian Americans; • Champion for Children for 2013 for supporting health, educational outcomes, and well-being of children; • 2013 Good Food Champion by the Food Policy Action, for my unwavering record to fight domestic and international hunger, and to support food safety and nutrition.

40

118.7

16

32.06

87

223.02

10

20.18

Sn
127.60

S
Service 21 44.95

H OW TO R EACH M E AND M Y S TAFF

unnyvale

Te
78.96

Sc
Santa Clara
63 151.96

Connect
Fremont

Fr

Ne
Newark

chnology

25

54.94

Se
276

Eu
Education
77 192.22

Mn
Manufacturing 6 12.11

n Jose

You can reach me or my staff at either of my San Jose or Washington offices, at office hours in Fremont and Newark, along with a toll-free number. In addition, you can call, write, email, Tweet, post or walk in to any of my offices.

Mt

Ir
Immigration

C
Cupertino

ilpitas

17 TH D ISTRICT

Connect
California's 17th Congressional District is located in the heart of Silicon Valley. The unique and enterprising region draws residents from all around the globe. Many decades of immigration have transformed the ethnic make up of the

region. Languages other than English are spoken in nearly half the households in the 17th District. Vast ripples of technological advancement have distinguished the area's vigorous economic history. The 17th District, once an agrarian super power, is now a leader in many robust technological fields. As the only Asian-majority district in the continental United States, the 17th District is one of the most diverse in the nation, leading the way for innovation and prosperity.

Alviso •! Cupertino

• ! Fremont

• !Milpitas

• ! Newark

•! San Jose

• ! Santa Clara

• ! Sunnyvale

Office Locations
San Jose Office
2001 Gateway PL , Suite 670W San Jose, CA 95110 (408) 436-2720

Fremont Mobile Office

Washington, DC Office
1713 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 (202) 225-2631

Newark Mobile Office San Jose Office

Fremont Mobile Office
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. | 1st, 2nd, 3rd Friday every Month Fremont Main Library | 2400 Stevenson Blvd, Fremont (855) 680-3579

Newark Mobile Office
10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. | 4th Friday every Month Newark Library | 6300 Civic Terrace Ave, Newark (855) 680-3579

Honda.House.gov

1

2

3

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful