You are on page 1of 20

www .el l e.co.

z a

TRAVEL DIARIES FOUR FASHION INSIDERS SECRETS

SOUTH AFRICA

SAS IT GIRLS

FRENEMIES
THE NEW RIVALRY

on being famous

EXCLUSIVE

WE CELEBRATE LOCAL FASHION

Tarina
PATEL

Inside the most enviable wardrobe

Star

SHI NE with the seasons best ACCESSORIES + beauty update how to wear the new METALLICS

JULY 2013 R29.95 (VAT INCL)

style

Visual Enhancement

TRANSFORM YOUR SKIN IN 4 WEEKS*?


NEW

What if a foundation could

AFTER 4 WEEKS*

AFTER 8 WEEKS*

NEW VISION OF HIGH PERFECTION


Lancme combines two expert steps in one foundation to reconcile perfect coverage and natural nish: 1/ Skin Correcting Foundation naturally evens out the skin tone awlessly and visibly improves pores and ne lines day after day. 2/ Precision Spot Corrector immediately corrects spots, dark circles and imperfections.
Arlenis wears the shade 13 - Sienne.

Receive your complimentary consultation and sample of Visionnaire by visiting your nearest Lancme Counter.
One per customer please. While supplies last.
Consumer Advisory Number 0861 001 085

Flaunt 6285

www.moroccanoil.com | 011 305 1600

BEYOND BEAUTIFUL HAIR


An Innovative Hair Care Line Sold In Salons Worldwide

July 2013

122

BEAUTY
26 the trend complexion perfection. 28 beauty eds top 5 this months favourite finds. 90 nail this metallic nails. 96 beauty masterclass glamorous star-style hair. 98 memoir diary of a hot mess. 101 beauty time 10 It girls share their must-have products. 102 health the truth about alcohol. 104 beauty guru Katie Holmes collaborates with Bobbi Brown. 107 ELLE Beauty Awards round 3: foundations and concealers. 108 beauty banter ELLE beauty eds mission to bring sexy back.

90
FEATURES
31 ELLE culture whats on our radar. 35 ELLE man celebrity musings. 36 celebrity the fabulous life of Tarina Patel. 40 celebrity SA celebs talk fame. 44 report fandom. 48 psychology in search of meaning. 50 relationships frenemies.

LIVING
112 travel designer packing. 118 food signature dishes. 119 city swap two ELLE Belles swap cities. 122 dcor metallics. 123 hot spot where Joburg goes to meet and greet.

FASHION
17 22 23 24 25 54 64 70 79 edits the new embellishment. accessories metallics. accessories statement earrings. industry insider Thithi Ntetas life of fashion. style reporter captures star style. out of the ordinary South Africas top collections. style for less accessories. blanc all-white winter style. shops clutch bags.

REGULARS
8 10 12 14 88 124 126 127 128 elle.co.za eds letter ELLE inbox contributors subscribe to ELLE ELLE club address book horoscopes showstopper

ON THE COVER
Tarina Patel wears Chlo dress, her own. Photography: Justin Polkey at Indels. Hair: Jeanette Genis. Make-up: Algria Ferreira.

PHOTOGRAPHS: JUSTIN POLKEY AT INFIDELS AND RICHARD KEPPEL-SMITH / STILLS: SUPPLIED

54

online

Watch this!

ELLEs Poppy Evans takes you behind the scenes of her fashion shoot Out of the Ordinary on page 54. For standout local design, watch this ELLE TV production.

Nail the trend


Let your ngers do the talking this season with our pick of the top nailart trends right now.

Style diary

Blogger, stylist and wardrobe consultant Thithi Nteta shares ve days and ve different outts with us.

this month on
The ELLE Club is denitely one you want to join with tickets to a hit musical, luxury beauty hampers, discounted offers and this quilted biker jacket from Metropolis all up for grabs this month.

.CO.ZA What ELLE wears


Ever wondered what the ELLE team wears to work? Go to elle.co.za to get your x of our working wardrobes, shot by style reporter in association with BlackBerry Trevor Stuurman.

B U CL

@ELLEMagazineSA ELLEMagazineSA ELLEMagazineSA


8 JULY 2013 | ELLE.CO.ZA

PHOTOGRAPHS: JUSTIN POLKEY AT INFIDELS, TREVOR STUURMAN AND SUPPLIED / STILLS: SUPPLIED

TAG Heuer Boutiques; Sandton City & V&A Waterfront. Also at selected ne jewellers nationwide. For further information please call 011.669.0500. www.picotandmoss.co.za

eds world

@JACKIEELLESA
RED VALENTINOS OUR JULY COVER STAR RUNS IN THESE HEELS!

TOP: MY RIGHTHAND PERSON MAYBE CORPACI GETTING IN THE MOOD WITH A FLORAL HEADPIECE FOR OUR BLANC SHOOT (PAGE 70) RIGHT: MOODBOARD INSPIRATION FOR THE ISSUE

the SHINE factor


When It girl became part of the ELLE vocabulary I was at first a little concerned { highlight } about focusing on the girl everyone wants to be. I thought it may perhaps encourage My favourite SA celeb role models based on fickle values instead style is @SCOOPof the style and substance that are part MAKHATINI and parcel of ELLEs DNA. But then I love his prints and I got to meet some of our It girls (who the African flair. WEAR A RING were nominated by you) over an editors ON EVERY #STARSTYLE FINGER breakfast earlier this year and it made me Team Ruffy appreciate that we have the real deal in our country, celebrities whose It-factor is THE BLOGGER BEHIND MENSWEAR firmly grounded in savvy style and smart minds. LABEL PIECES BY Exploring the idea, I realised the attraction our July cover PAP, SIYABONGA NGWEKAZI star, Tarina Patel has, lies in the fact that she reminds me FEATURED HIGH IN THE #STARSTYLE of the 1927 film aptly titled It that starred Clara Bow as a STAKES. HE GETS fusion of femme fatale and a touch of material girl. Elinor OUR VOTE TOO Glyn, who wrote the original novel and the subsequent screenplay, defined the It girl for us by not only describing the liberated new woman of the jazz age but also alluding to the power of female sensuality. Its no wonder that Bow became the original It girl. Our July issue is packed with star style and style stars as well as a good dose of reading to challenge your views of fandom, frenemies and the potential pitfalls of living on the edge. Perhaps we are all dreaming of a better life but ask yourself, do you really want to be the girl everyone wants to PS A sneak peak be, or would you rather be the star you are? at the inspiration for our August issue, Love, celebrating all-out glamour and the appeal of modern classics.

ELLE INBOX

CARINE ROITFELD WORE WHITE SHOES TO THE PARIS SPRING/ SUMMER 2013 SHOWS, REAFFIRMING THE ALLURE OF WHITE. WE LOVE THESE SPORTS-INSPIRED LACE-UPS, R619, TOPSHOP

Follow me on Twitter @JackieELLESA

The winners of our next ELLE BEAUTY


AWARDS presented by Stuttafords will be announced in March 2014. Until then, you could win fabulous Stuttafords beauty hampers with ELLE Club and on elle.co.za when you vote for your favourites.
10 JULY 2013 | ELLE.CO.ZA

PHOTOGRAPHS: JACKIE BURGER, TARRYN OPPEL, MAYBE CORPACI AND SUPPLIED

Store U73, Sandton City Sandton Drive Tel +27 11 783 7316/7/8
www.dorefashion.co.za

opinion
1

TRENDING AT ELLE HQ
#RisingStar2013 #BastilleFestival #KarenMillenJoburg #StarStyle #ELLESAItGirl #EmbellishedCollar #MetallicNails #LindiweSuttleKamikazeArt

This month

{ on Instagram }
(1) How beautiful is @JACKIEELLESAS Victorian, hand-embellished collar? 3 #STYLESPY (2) We were so impressed by Lee-Ann Liebenbergs fabulous 20s apper fashion at #THEGREATGATSBY premiere! (3) What do we think of the hi-tops trend, yay or nay? The verdict was yay! (4) The #ELLEBELLES at @ ELLERMANHOTEL in Cape Town.

ELLE INBOX

{ highlight }
Its our #StarStyle issue and so we asked: Which South African celebritys style do you like most and why? Here is what you said. BABONGILE MATYLIA: Olivia Palermo for her girly yet chic look. Minimal style thats not in your face but definitely noticeable. #StarStyle REFILOE MOROTOLO: I really love @NandiMngomas style! I think she does sophisticated, sexy, edgy African chic really well. MBALI NKOSI: @ShashiNaidoo elegance meets hip style ! OWETHU MENTOOR: I am in love with @LindiweSuttles style. Not only for her uniqueness, but for her love of fashion and her street looks. LEHLOGONOLO MOLEPO: @TerryPheto. Her style is simple but edgy, trendy and classy, and shes always smiling. Representing us girls with curves! MASOZI L MISI: Dineo Moeketsi for celebrity with style! Shes the epitome of simple and elegant sophistication. She works it!

Welcome to the world of ELLE. This is where we report from inside ELLE HQ, and pick the highlights from #ELLEINBOX
TEAM ELLE
Every month, one ELLE Belle will answer questions from our followers @ELLEMAGAZINESA and this month its beauty editor Lynette Bothas turn. Q: @NAMIBIAAFRICA Will freckles ever go away? A: A daily moisturiser with an SPF helps fade them, but why would you want to? They add character! Q: @IRINADOMAN Can you get rid of dark circles under the eyes? A: Yes! Use an eye cream that specically targets dark circles. Q: @KAT_WITH_A_KAY What is the best daily facial lotion to prevent ageing? A: Try Este Lauder DayWear Advanced Multi-Protection AntiOxidant Cream SPF 25, R595. Two did-you-knows about Lynette: I love animals and bubbly. Beauty cheat? Facial wipes and dry shampoo. Both are must-haves!
12 JULY 2013 | ELLE.CO.ZA

inbox

JUST IN OUR INBOX


US-based SA artist Conor McCreedy has talent and fame and hes using both to help save Africas lions through the sale of PAL (Protecting African Lions) bracelets. Talks are also underway for Virgin Atlantics Joburg-London eet to wear his signature McCreedy Blue to bolster in-ight sales. Go to conormccreedy.com
@TeamRuffy wins 30ml Carolina Herrera Eau de Parfum Sublime EdT for contributing to Jackie Burgers #ELLEInbox moment of the month (page 10). To stand a chance to win 30ml Carolina Herrera Eau de Parfum Sublime EdT, watch our Twitterfeed on 17June and Tweet us!

PHOTOGRAPHS: JUSTIN POLKEY AT INFIDELS, HOLLY MEADOWS AND SUPPLIED

contributors
EDITOR JACKIE BURGER jackie@ellemag.co.za EDITORS ASSISTANT Maybe Corpaci maybe@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2510 DEPUTY EDITOR Jenna Barenblatt jenna@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2537 CONSULTING CREATIVE DIRECTOR Loretta de Goede loretta@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2514 ACTING FEATURES EDITOR Erla Rabe erla@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2515 MANAGING EDITOR Pam Hothi pam@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2546 SENIOR COPY EDITOR Jessica Baxter jessica@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2506 SUBEDITOR Candice Quinton candice@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2409 FASHION FASHION DIRECTOR Poppy Evans poppy@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2532 FASHION EDITOR Tarryn Oppel tarryn@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2526 FASHION ASSISTANT Sheena Bagshawe sheena@ellemag.co.za, 011 280 3847 CONTRIBUTING FASHION STYLIST Luisa Rodrigues, 021 469 2527 FASHION INTERNS Meagan Dill, Anneke Gazendam, Anna Lane, Nicole Newman and Mira Leibowitz BEAUTY BEAUTY EDITOR Lynette Botha lynette@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2517 BEAUTY ASSISTANTS Araffa Mpungwe araffa@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2507 Sarah Hoberman sarahh@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2517 ART SENIOR DESIGNER Aqeela Galvaan aqeela@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2513 JUNIOR DESIGNER Ziyaad Bassier ziyaad@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2502 FREELANCE JUNIOR DESIGNER Nadine Van Driel nadinev@timesmedia.co.za FEATURES & WEBSITE ONLINE EDITOR Holly Meadows holly@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2530 FEATURES WRITERS Sarah Koopman (CT) sarah@ellemag.co.za, 021 469 2534 Relwe Boikanyo (JHB) relwe@ellemag.co.za, 011 280 5482

LUISA RODRIGUES, freelance stylist and writer, is lending her eye and expertise to the always-on-the-go ELLE fashion team.

I cant start a day without an alarm. Who is the most famous person you have met? Folk musician Sixto Rodriguez. What is your current obsession? Reeses

Peanut Butter Cups.


Name the five celebrities (dead or alive) you would most like to dine with?

Christopher Walken, Mitch Hedberg, Bill Hicks, Russell Brand and Alec Baldwin. If you could
dress any celeb for a red carpet event, who would it be and for which event?

TAMARA ROTHBART, a former ELLE features director, wrote our cover story on page 36. She likes strong coffee, served in a glass, Mediterranean style.
Who is the most famous person you have met?

ADVERTISING SENIOR ACCOUNT MANAGER (JHB) Beverly Mwallo beverly@ellemag.co.za, 011 280 5528 SENIOR ACCOUNT MANAGER (DBN & CT) Charlotte Nutman nutmanc@timesmedia.co.za, 021 469 2492 ACCOUNT MANAGER (CT) Marion Kritzinger kritzingerm@timesmedia.co.za, 021 469 2475 JUNIOR ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (JHB) Lerato Matoko matokol@timesmedia.co.za, 011 280 5165 ACCOUNT MANAGERS (JHB) Derynne Klaver derynne@ellemag.co.za, 011 280 5538 Thalia Pallotta tpp@futurejhb.co.za, 011 485 3378 PRODUCTION MANAGER Pam Moodley moodleyp@timesmedia.co.za, 011 280 5064 MARKETING MARKETING MANAGER Jacelize du Preez jdpolivetree@mweb.co.za MARKETING ASSISTANT Precious Zungu zungup@timesmedia.co.za, 011 280 5289 CIRCULATION MANAGER Shaun Smith smithsh@timesmedia.co.za, 011 471 4186 NEWSSTAND SPECIALIST Jabulani Mkhize mkhizej@timesmedia.co.za, 011 471 4017 SUBSCRIPTIONS MEDIA CIRCULATION SERVICES 0860 123 300 ONLINE mysubs.co.za/ELLE SUBSCRIPTIONS SPECIALIST Reshal Kara 011 471 4067

I would dress myself for the annual Met Costume Gala. Thank you very much. Who would be your dream interviewee? My late grandfather. He was a shoemaker. Id ask him to tell me his life story and teach me his trade. What
song is currently taking up all your headspace? Ising

Forest Whitaker. We were in a bar in London and spent two hours chatting. I was a little tipsy and kept calling him Florence. What
is your current obsession?

GENERAL MANAGER: MAGAZINE DIVISION Mike Tissong ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER Jocelyne Bayer DEPUTY BUSINESS MANAGER: MAGAZINES Claire Morgan morganc@sahomeowner.co.za PA TO BUSINESS MANAGER Candice Lenders lendersc@timesmedia.co.za, 011 280 3422 MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTANT Shaniel Ramguthy ENQUIRIES POSTAL ELLE SA, PO BOX 15793, VLAEBERG 8018 EDITORIAL 021 469 2500 ADVERTISING 011 280 5681 MARKETING 011 280 5871 DISTRIBUTION Astrid Anderson 011 248 3542 TRADEMARK NOTICE The ELLE trademark and logo are owned in Canada by France-Canada Editions et Publications, Inc. and in the rest of the world by Hachette Filipacchi Presse (France), each LAGARDERE ACTIVE Group companies. ELLE is used under license from the trademark owners.

My inability to shake my sugar addiction. Name


the five celebrities (dead or alive) you would most like to dine with? Alain de

a lot of theme tunes the Cheers one is on repeat right now. Which celeb wardrobe
would you most like to call your own? Id rather claim

Botton, Henry Miller and Anas Nin (as a couple), Gabriel Garca Mrquez and the cast from 3rd Rock From the Sun, in character.
Who is your dream interviewee? Anyone with a good story to tell. What song is currently taking up all your headspace? I have

LAGARDRE ACTIVE SAS CEO LAGARDRE ACTIVE Denis Olivennes CEO FRENCH & INTERNATIONAL MAGAZINE PUBLISHING DIVISIONS Bruno Lesouef EXECUTIVE VICE-PRESIDENT INTERNATIONAL Franois Coruzzi BRAND MANAGEMENT: ELLE Valrie Toranian, Franck Espiasse INTERNATIONAL DIRECTOR: ELLE Valria Bessolo Llopiz DIRECTOR OF EDITORIAL COPRODUCTIONS Cristina Romero DIRECTOR OF INTERNATIONAL PUBLISHING LICENSES & SYNDICATION Mickael Berret PRINT SYNDICATION TEAM MANAGER Mathilde des Nos COORDINATOR Nadine Loustalot DIGITAL SYNDICATION COORDINATOR Samia Babaci LAGARDRE GLOBAL ADVERTISING Nelly Streichenberger nelly.streichenberger@lagarde-active.com BRAZIL Olivier Capoulade ocapoulade@altinamedia.com CANADA Dana Francoz dana.francoz@publicitas.com CHINA Wendy Lin wendy.lin@publicitas. com.cn FRANCE - BELGIUM Philippe Leonard philippe.leonard@lagarde-active.com GERMANY Julia Meinhold julia.meinhold@burda.com GREECE Katerina Vellini k.vellini@global-media.gr HOLLAND Peter Landsheere peter. landsheere@publicitas.com HONG KONG Mariam Wang mariam.wang@publicitas.com INDIA Rachna Gulati rachna.gulati@publicitas.com ITALY Robert Schoenmaker rschoenmaker@hearst.it JAPANMayumi Kai kai-pbi@ gol.com KOREA Jun-Won Suh sinsegi-2@sinsegimedia.info MALAYSIA Audrey Cheong audrey.cheong@publicitas.com MEXICO Arturo Contreras arturo.contreras@publicitas.com MIDDLE EAST Ivan Montanari ivanmontanari@ hotmail.com SCANDINAVIAKarin Sdersten karin.sodersten@aller.se SINGAPORE Peggy Thay peggy.thay@ publicitas.com SPAIN Melinda Snider msnider@hachette.es SWITZERLAND Philippe Girardot philippe.girardot@ adnative.net THAILAND Steven Fong TURKEY Emin Tan Bilge tanbilge@medialdt.com steven.fong@publicitas.com UK Amandine Dufour amandine.dufour@lgalondon.co.uk USJeffrey Molinaro jeffrey.molinaro@publicitas.com POSTAL 124 RUE DANTON, 92300 LEVALLOIS - PERRET, FRANCE WORLDS LEADING FASHION MAGAZINE - 43 INTERNATIONAL EDITIONS
Argentina - Belgium - Belgie - Brazil - Bulgaria - Canada - China - Croatia - Czech Rep. - Denmark - France - Finland - Germany - Greece - Holland - Hong Kong - Hungary - India - Indonesia - Italy - Japan - Korea - Mexico - Norway - Oriental - Poland - Portugal - Quebec - Romania - Russia - Serbia Singapore - Slovenia - South Africa - Spain - Sweden - Taiwan - Thailand - Turkey - Ukraine - UK - US - Vietnam

a celebs bank balance and do my own shopping. The good stuff is mostly on loan to them for events anyway. I play for keeps. Favourite pastime? Naps on the couch while watching reality TV shows. I wont say which ones. But its bad.

Leonard Cohens Sisters of Mercy on my brain. Which


celeb wardrobe would you most like to call your own? I cant think of one

ELLE (ISSN 1025-9791) July 2013. Editorial contributions are welcome and should be sent to The Editor, ELLE, PO Box 15793, Vlaeberg 8018. All due care will be taken with material submitted, but the magazine and publishers cannot be held responsible for loss or damage. ELLE assumes no responsibility to return unsolicited editorial, graphic or other material. All rights in letters and unsolicited editorial and graphic material will be treated as unconditionally assigned for publication and copyright purposes and material will be subject to ELLEs unrestricted right to edit and comment editorially. ELLE is fully protected by copyright and nothing may be reprinted in whole or part without written permission from the publisher. While reasonable precautions have been taken to ensure the accuracy of advice and information given to readers, the editor, publisher and proprietor cannot accept responsibility for any damage or inconvenience that may arise therefrom.

14 JULY 2013 | ELLE.CO.ZA

PHOTOGRAPHS: SUPPLIED

in particular but there are many Id like to ransack. Celebrity crush? I dont have any. I enjoy people, famous or not. My interest has never been channelled towards celebrity.

ELLE SOUTH AFRICA is published by Times Media Ltd under licence with HACHETTE FILIPACCHI MEDIAS GROUP (HFM). ELLE is a registered trademark of Hachette Filipacchi Presse S.A. France (HFP). In Canada, the ELLE trademarks (denomination and logo) are owned by France Canada Editions et Publications Inc

Gorgeous skin is as important as the air I breathe.


Redi Tlhabi
DJ and Presenter

Experience radiantly smooth, even toned skin within 2 weeks


Caring for skin since 1870 70
VERVE VA12910305

To find out more from our skin care experts visit

facebook.com/Vaseline ne

SWAROVSKI.COM

2012 SWAROVSKI AG

Enquiries: 021 486 2800

STATEMENT SPARKLE, ORNATE TEXTURES AND OVER-THE-TOP OPULENCE


BLUMARINE

edits

Let it shine
PHOTOGRAPH: PICTURENET

Designers have given us a treasure trove of spoils to adorn ourselves with this winter. Theres nothing like a little, actually a lot, of sparkle to lift your spirits. From pearls, crystals and beading to embroidery, appliqu and giant jewels its time to relook at embellishment. Its grown up, and so have we.

edits
N VI N LA

Roberto Cavalli

N VI N LA

Chanel

the inspiration
by POPPY EVANS

18 JULY 2013 | ELLE.CO.ZA

R. Cavalli

These clothes are decorative and ostentatious this is excess at its best. We saw jackets dripping with pearls at Balmain, Mary Katrantzou used printed embellishments, and Dolce & Gabbana chose to embellish pieces from clutch bags to capes. Marc Jacobs started off at his own label with sequins galore, but took fancy-wear to the next level at Louis Vuitton with giant appliqu and oversized beads. Miuccia Prada also embellished her retro-inspired collection, and she followed suit at Miu Miu with giant mirror discs. Matthew Williamson gave us neon-coloured gemstones; Marni ruched floral appliqu; Versace incorporated heavy metalware; and Roberto Cavalli and Blumarine gave us shimmery textures and sequins. Some designers chose to really push the boat out with accessories in the form of giant statement necklaces at Lanvin and Dsquared2, bejewelled gloves at Blugirl and glitter-covered heels at Just Cavalli. Its a new era for adornments; in the words of Rihanna, Shine bright like a diamond!

ALL THAT GLITTERS Hello GLAMOUR, and


welcome back to the runway! This seasons collections saw a whole new breed of over-the-top OPULENCE

Just Cavalli

Michael Kors

E LC DO & A N BA AB G

Related Interests